Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 19 Nov 2017, 08:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Quirky Pyro64 version 0.5 (alpha) -- and Pyro32
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 9 [123 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8312
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 28 May 2017, 21:44    Post subject: Re: Ye olde Minimum Profit
Subject description: 3.3.18b -> 5.2.10
 

L18L wrote:
L18L wrote:
Then compiled 5.2.10
Quote:
The reason that I did not use that version, is could not figure out how to fix the <home> and <end> keys. They did not move the cursor to beginning and end of a line.

No problem here:
Key labelled "Ende" moves cursor to end of line
Key labelled "Pos1" moves cursor to beginning of line
without any configuration, OOTB.

That was using a standard external keyboard.
With my convertible Acer Aspire R3-131T I had to hold additionally Fn key (the key between Ctrl and window)
SOLVED?


Oh, I see, haven't tried that. There must be a place for fiddling with the key bindings, like the old mprc?

_________________
http://barryk.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 3431
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Mon 29 May 2017, 04:22    Post subject: Re: Ye olde Minimum Profit
Subject description: 5.2.10
 

BarryK wrote:
There must be a place for fiddling with the key bindings, like the old mprc?

There is: /usr/share/doc/mp-5/index.html
and I have found $HOME/.mprc

EDIT
.. and there is also a menu
mp-5_goto.png
 Description   go to bol
go to eol
 Filesize   36.73 KB
 Viewed   1054 Time(s)

mp-5_goto.png


Last edited by L18L on Mon 29 May 2017, 04:42; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 3431
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Mon 29 May 2017, 04:38    Post subject: Ye olde Minimum Profit
Subject description: problem with 5.2.10
 

mp-5 is really nice under X.

But without X, Ctrl Alt F2, (we do need it in console mode for configuring X) I get:
Code:
mp-5
No usable driver found: exiting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8312
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 29 May 2017, 06:46    Post subject: Re: Ye olde Minimum Profit
Subject description: 5.2.10
 

L18L wrote:
BarryK wrote:
There must be a place for fiddling with the key bindings, like the old mprc?

There is: /usr/share/doc/mp-5/index.html
and I have found $HOME/.mprc

EDIT
.. and there is also a menu


I don't think that $HOME/.mprc works with the mp 5.x series, only the 3.x series.

_________________
http://barryk.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 3431
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Tue 30 May 2017, 04:34    Post subject: Re: Ye olde Minimum Profit
Subject description: 5.2.10
 

BarryK wrote:
I don't think that $HOME/.mprc works with the mp 5.x series, only the 3.x series.

Yes I see, you are right.

Quote:
But without X, Ctrl Alt F2, (we do need it in console mode for configuring X) I get:
Code:
mp-5
No usable driver found: exiting.

Maybe this is just because my wrong configuration

Fatdog has mp-5.2.8
Quote:
mp: This editor in this package can use terminal or gtk.

Tested OK.

But translations (in all versions) is a night mare
They have minimum-profit.mo
and seem to use only mpsl files in /usr/share/mp5/lang
e.g. de.mpsl
Code:

/* Built by po2mpsl - Don't modify, change the .po file instead */
__I18N__ = {
   "" => "Project-Id-Version: Minimum Profit\nReport-Msgid-Bugs-To: \nPOT-Creation-Date: 2006-01-11 06:09+0100\nPO-Revision-Date: 2006-05-28 13:19+0100\nLast-Translator: Ronny Steiner <Post@SIRSteiner.de>\nLanguage-Team: \nMIME-Version: 1.0\nContent-Type: text/plain; charset=UTF-8\nContent-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit\n",
   "&File" => "&Datei",
   "&Edit" => "&Bearbeiten",

I have been starting to use our momanager,
use symlink mp-5 to minimum-profit
and got po and mo updated
but .mo is not used by the program.

No more wondering why they do not have more languages translated Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 3431
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jun 2017, 06:13    Post subject: Quirky Pyro64 version 0.2 (alpha)
Subject description: accelerated modesetting
 

Thought I share this, too.....

Remember, this is for the famous poulsbo graphics (read more at http://www.linuxjournal.com/content/more-poulsbo-gma500-intel-and-community from 2009, but puppy is for Old computers, isn't it) which does need boot cmdline parameter:
drm_kms_helper.edid_firmware=edid/<bult-in or home made>

In the past I was stuck with the resolution from that boot parameter.
So I have been trying a "home made" EDID file.

Using get-edid:
Code:
# get-edid
This is read-edid version 3.0.1. Prepare for some fun.
Attempting to use i2c interface
Looks like no busses have an EDID. Sorry!
Attempting to use the classical VBE interface
Illegal instruction
#
...and I had some fun.

A solution was found on the web using python.
Used it just to see that a "home made" EDID file works.
Wrote a shell script get-edid.sh
Used it just to see that this "home made" EDID file also works.

It worked,
but with the one resolution only,
no change of resolution seemed to be possible.

Then I unplugged VGA cable and used HDMI, success!
Tested also in Fatdog64 switching resolutions with zarfy.

At last I changed back to boot with built-in EDID file
and
guess what ?
No home made EDID file needed at all. (and no get-edid.sh uploaded)
1280x960.png
 Description   xwininfo is lying
 Filesize   60.44 KB
 Viewed   874 Time(s)

1280x960.png

1920x1080.png
 Description   RestartX fixes this of course
 Filesize   43.56 KB
 Viewed   877 Time(s)

1920x1080.png


Last edited by L18L on Wed 07 Jun 2017, 12:27; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 3431
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jun 2017, 09:58    Post subject: Re: Quirky Pyro64 version 0.2 (alpha)
Subject description: get EDID by get-edid.sh
 

L18L wrote:
No home made EDID file needed at all. (and no get-edid.sh uploaded)


Anyway, here it is: my get-edid.sh. Maybe it will become useful.

not at: https://duckduckgo.com/?q=get-edid
capture23327.png
 Description   have fun
 Filesize   14.03 KB
 Viewed   833 Time(s)

capture23327.png

get-edid.sh.gz
Description  click to unzip
then click to run
creates file myEDID in actual folder
gz

 Download 
Filename  get-edid.sh.gz 
Filesize  1.29 KB 
Downloaded  30 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4755
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 08 Jun 2017, 20:28    Post subject:  

Note to L18L

I tried your script on fatdog64
Code:
# ./get-edid.sh

Hit ENTER to close this window

   EDID:
      00ffffffffffff0022f08c3101010101
      0b19010368331d782ae595a656529d27
      105054a10800d1c081c0a9c0b3009500
      818081000101023a801871382d40582c
      4500fd1e1100001e000000fd00323c1e
      5011000a202020202020000000fc0048
      5020323378770a2020202020000000ff
      0036434d353131305a4c370a202000ab

tail is not 0005; aborted.


__________________________________________________

reference info
https://software.intel.com/en-us/articles/custom-resolutions-on-intel-graphics

https://ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.php/t-1744465.html

https://www.x.org/wiki/FAQVideoModes/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 3431
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jun 2017, 04:24    Post subject: get-edid.sh
Subject description: bug
 

don570 wrote:
I tried your script on fatdog64
Code:
# ./get-edid.sh

Hit ENTER to close this window

   EDID:
      00ffffffffffff0022f08c3101010101
      0b19010368331d782ae595a656529d27
      105054a10800d1c081c0a9c0b3009500
      818081000101023a801871382d40582c
      4500fd1e1100001e000000fd00323c1e
      5011000a202020202020000000fc0048
      5020323378770a2020202020000000ff
      0036434d353131305a4c370a202000ab

tail is not 0005; aborted.


__________________________________________________

reference info
https://software.intel.com/en-us/articles/custom-resolutions-on-intel-graphics

https://ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.php/t-1744465.html

https://www.x.org/wiki/FAQVideoModes/


Thank you for trying that script
That check_tail is completely false (nobody is perfect )
Please get rid of it by commenting that line:
Code:
# check tail
#[[ "${EDIDhex:252:4}" = "0005" ]] || die "tail is not 0005"


Anyway, main result of my findings for me and for now is:
Code:
Me don't need no
 custom resolution
We don't need no
 myEDID
not at first boot
Laughing

Thanks for your bug report and for thereference info
I think that especially /software.intel.com is stuff for BarryK (I am just a hacker)

EDIT
https://software.intel.com/en-us/articles/custom-resolutions-on-intel-graphics wrote:
Of course, now that I have, it's entirely possible the Intel chipset software guys will come up with an easier way.

Or the fatdog quirky and puppy guys are comig up Question Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 3431
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Mon 03 Jul 2017, 08:36    Post subject: qsync  

18n completed
tested & translated
qsync.png
 Description   
 Filesize   52.89 KB
 Viewed   675 Time(s)

qsync.png

qsync.gz
Description  qsync
gz

 Download 
Filename  qsync.gz 
Filesize  2.09 KB 
Downloaded  25 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8312
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jul 2017, 05:28    Post subject: Re: qsync  

L18L wrote:
qsync 18n completed
tested & translated


Thanks for that, have put it into woofQ.

_________________
http://barryk.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1251
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Sun 22 Oct 2017, 21:57    Post subject:  

Hi, when you get to it I'm taking it you'll add pyro64 somewhere here.

However, i'm wondering;

With all the new book-sized notebooks with 10" Touch Screens coming out with Atom low power processors but still only 2gig of ram still (saves a control chip and space on the mboard, which is now a premium), and using ssd instead of a HD, plus with only win10 32bit being installed even though the atoms are usually 64bit (processors are but some of the interface hardware is only 32bit), if it's time to think of a x86 32bit puppy again, and with oe being capable of x86 as well as x86-64, well....

Maybe a Quirky Pyro32 would be better than a Pyro64 for at least the low end of these?

I'd also like to see a ISO package again unless someone would like the challange of creating a Generic .img to .iso utility application.

regards
scsijon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8312
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 23 Oct 2017, 07:02    Post subject:  

scsijon wrote:
Hi, when you get to it I'm taking it you'll add pyro64 somewhere here.

However, i'm wondering;

With all the new book-sized notebooks with 10" Touch Screens coming out with Atom low power processors but still only 2gig of ram still (saves a control chip and space on the mboard, which is now a premium), and using ssd instead of a HD, plus with only win10 32bit being installed even though the atoms are usually 64bit (processors are but some of the interface hardware is only 32bit), if it's time to think of a x86 32bit puppy again, and with oe being capable of x86 as well as x86-64, well....

Maybe a Quirky Pyro32 would be better than a Pyro64 for at least the low end of these?

I'd also like to see a ISO package again unless someone would like the challange of creating a Generic .img to .iso utility application.

regards
scsijon


I am surprised that notebooks with win10 32-bit are still being released. I thought that that was long-gone.

But, there is no need for a pyro32 if the cpu supports 64-bit. Though, if the UEFI-firmware is 32-bit, that might be a problem.

I could build a pyro64 that will boot on either 32-bit or 64-bit UEFI-firmware, I think.

_________________
http://barryk.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1251
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Wed 25 Oct 2017, 00:36    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
scsijon wrote:
Hi, when you get to it I'm taking it you'll add pyro64 somewhere here.

However, i'm wondering;

With all the new book-sized notebooks with 10" Touch Screens coming out with Atom low power processors but still only 2gig of ram still (saves a control chip and space on the mboard, which is now a premium), and using ssd instead of a HD, plus with only win10 32bit being installed even though the atoms are usually 64bit (processors are but some of the interface hardware is only 32bit), if it's time to think of a x86 32bit puppy again, and with oe being capable of x86 as well as x86-64, well....

Maybe a Quirky Pyro32 would be better than a Pyro64 for at least the low end of these?

I'd also like to see a ISO package again unless someone would like the challange of creating a Generic .img to .iso utility application.

regards
scsijon


I am surprised that notebooks with win10 32-bit are still being released. I thought that that was long-gone.

But, there is no need for a pyro32 if the cpu supports 64-bit. Though, if the UEFI-firmware is 32-bit, that might be a problem.

I could build a pyro64 that will boot on either 32-bit or 64-bit UEFI-firmware, I think.


Hi,

Having a 'look' at two of the newies this afternoon (while in adelaide) and pre-public release late next month, and the only thing that seems 64bit is the cpu, everything else is 32bit framed including the chipsets and windows uefi. And their definately running windows10-32bit. Their both with only 2gig of ram too so I wonder if their just using up component sets.

Not sure how this will affect you, but as their 'framed' for the Secondary/TAFE/University in-classroom market......, but I think it should be considered.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1251
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Sat 28 Oct 2017, 03:26    Post subject: You asked for packages for pyro64 as pet's / sfs's?  

Maybe for those of us that don't use seamonkey, include thunderbird for mail?;

Add tupi2d magic (small and simple to use 2d animation package) and it's extensions/plugins for inkscape, (they are all on sourceforge). It's that easy to use a 10yr old can quickly learn to use it; I'm also still looking for a good stable standalone 3D wire-animation package to replace eion from (siag);

Add filezilla for large number of packages transfers;

Add qt5 as a standalone .sfs, there is an awfull lot of good packages that need qt to run;

Add src2pkg so anyone can at least try to build simple pets. Sometimes it works and sometimes not nowadays, I suspect it's internal vs external package versions or a path problem, maybe amigo could be asked to see if he can fix it for pyro64 as he created it;

And a request, can we have a menu item called Development added, usefull for our dev tools to live in and could be also used for test runs if packages and the like to see if they work before a completely built package/packageset into the 'live' tree.

Mind you i'd also love to be able to tie these last two to use a chroot and isolated in their own partition/x.sfs, but that would take some rework;

Also have a look at Flatpak (.org), code on github. It looks slimilar to androids system, both a package maintainer and building base in one. LGPL-2.1.

And that should be enough of a headache from me. I hope to be back at my T2 building in a fortnight, i'll upload all built packages to my site as first step in case they are of use to anyone else.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 9 [123 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0909s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0068s) ][ GZIP on ]