Problem updating Kodipup 64

Using applications, configuring, problems
Post Reply
Message
Author
Lassar
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue 08 Jul 2014, 20:01

Problem updating Kodipup 64

#1 Post by Lassar »

Have been trying to figure out, why addon updating in kodipup 64 fails.

It looks to me,that it is a directory permissions problem.

Kodi uses a data directory called .kodi

When I create a new folder named kodi, and copy the contents of .kodi over to this folder,
and rename this folder to .kodi, then addon updating succeeds.

This implies that it might be a folders permissions problem.

I don't know much about linux permissions.

Want to see if changing the permissions on the .kodi folder will fix this problem.

What command can I use, that will give the .kodi folder absolute permissions?

musher0
Posts: 14629
Joined: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 00:54
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

#2 Post by musher0 »

Hello Lassar.

Here's how to do it from terminal,
assuming your .kodi directory is at /root/.kodi.

I don't know much about kodi, so please check where the dir. should be.
However the following procedure is valid for any directory that you wish
to change the permission of.

Please read the code below and the comments -- and make sure that
you understand what it does -- before trying it out.

Code: Select all

cd /root # Go to your /root directory

mkdir -p .kodi # This command refreshes the .kodi directory (non destructive) # Optional

ls -lad .kodi # This command checks the current permissions for directory .kodi
drwx------ 2 root root 1024 jun 28 19:23 .kodi/

chmod -R 777 .kodi # This gives directory .kodi full permissions (read+write+execute for user, group and world).

ls -lad .kodi # We check the permissions again.
drwxrwxrwx 2 root root 1024 jun 28 19:23 .kodi/ # Result: directory .kodi now has full permissions.
If you want to limit the access permissions to the user only, meaning:
yourself, type

Code: Select all

chmod -R 700 .kodi 
If you want to limit the access permissions to yourself and your group
only, type

Code: Select all

chmod -R 770 .kodi 
IHTH. Keep us posted?

BFN.
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"You want it darker? We kill the flame." (L. Cohen)

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#3 Post by bigpup »

I suggest you post this in the Kodipup topic, so the person that developed Kodipup can see and respond to issues with Kodipup.
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

Lassar
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue 08 Jul 2014, 20:01

#4 Post by Lassar »

bigpup wrote:I suggest you post this in the Kodipup topic, so the person that developed Kodipup can see and respond to issues with Kodipup.
I developed kodipup.

.

Lassar
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue 08 Jul 2014, 20:01

#5 Post by Lassar »

Been doing some more research and testing.

It's definitely not permissions.


It looks like it could be file attributes.

Copying files from one directory to another, would not copy the file attributes.

I tried lsattr, and got "lsattr: Inappropriate ioctl for device While reading flags on /root/.kodi/system".


I can't even use lsattr to check this theory.

I guess, I will just have to do a hack to get addon updates to work.

theru
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu 23 Jul 2015, 16:40
Location: Heers, Belgium

#6 Post by theru »

You can use lsattr when you access the file directly:

Code: Select all

# lsattr /root/test
lsattr: Inappropriate ioctl for device While reading flags on /root/test
# lsattr /initrd/pup_rw/root/test
---------------- /initrd/pup_rw/root/test
When you cd to the directory containing the file first you can avoid having to type the full path

User avatar
perdido
Posts: 1528
Joined: Mon 09 Dec 2013, 16:29
Location: ¿Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.?

#7 Post by perdido »

Lassar wrote: I tried lsattr, and got "lsattr: Inappropriate ioctl for device While reading flags on /root/.kodi/system".
.
Thats the same error I get when running lsattr on a windows (fat32/ntfs) partition.

.

Post Reply