Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 24 Oct 2017, 07:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Some websites seem to overload the computer
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [34 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 12674
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 07 May 2017, 22:15    Post subject:  

So, does this website bog down Internet Explorer? I don't have a version of Windows that I'd risk connecting to the Internet, let alone use to browse the Web.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 272
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Mon 08 May 2017, 09:33    Post subject:  

Hello belham2

Is there a reason why your list does not include fatdog64 710? When I reviewed various puppies to run on my Intel Braswell N3150, 18 months ago the fatdog DOTconfig was the closest to what I thought was needed. It works fine on my Athlon II X2 240 as well.

I have not seen any kernel specific issues with recent kernels that would cause the rendering efficiency of a browser to deteriorate.

I just tried the Autoblog URL, that flash posted, with my Athlon II X2 240 and fatdog64 710 and its stock 4.4 kernel. Also my N3150 with Xenialpup64 7.0.7 and kernel 4.8.7

I was using Vivaldi 1.9 with libffmpeg.so replaced with the "extras" version so that HTML5 H.264 would work. I don't have flash installed.

The issue with that site is that it is playing HD video in the page or in a pop-up window using software decoding.

The Athlon II had about 70% cpu load the N3150 was about 40% cpu load, but were otherwise OK. They are both pretty low end systems apart from the lower clocked versions you may get in laptops.

I think more than one page open like that one would overload the system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 272
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Mon 08 May 2017, 10:22    Post subject:  

One thing that will wreck rendering with the RS880G GPU that is on AM3 motherboards is this
https://lists.freedesktop.org/archives/amd-gfx/2016-November/003474.html
The RS880G GPU is so feeble that glamor is much slower than EXA at 2D rendering. It's in xf86-video-ati not the kernel, and I don't think it has happened on anything that I use, though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 12674
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Mon 08 May 2017, 19:58    Post subject:  

So you're calling my motherboard a piece of crap? Them's fighting words. Laughing

Seriously, you were a bit terse. Could you explain a bit more?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
souleau


Joined: 23 Oct 2016
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Tue 09 May 2017, 06:39    Post subject:  

I use NoScript as well, so I do not suffer from any script based lag.

However, one thing that does still happen regularly, is that my browser grinds to a halt because there are animated gifs loading.

It seems to be a popular thing nowadays to show small smippets of video footage in the form of animated gifs in webpages. When there are multiple instances of these animated gifs loading, Firefox refuses to respond to anything.

So what I did now, is that I went to the about:config page, I then searched for the image.animation_mode entry, and changed its setting from normal to none.
This way, the animated gifs will not play inside the browser anymore, and when I do want to view them, I can always download them and look at them in ViewNoir.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TechnoShaman


Joined: 10 May 2017
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed 10 May 2017, 01:10    Post subject: mmm
Subject description: ouch
 

I have an AMD e1-2100 apu with 998mhz dual core can I can watch netflix at full framerate in full hd... Cool
Maybe you should allow cookies to be set per domain,allow java per domain,disable flash,delete all possible remote access tools in your machine,reflash your bios with a new,clean version(hackers might have messed with it),clean all your cache regularly,delete all temporary files,and, on the flash side of things, reflash all your hardware with clean firmware!
Laughing
Also, check control groups, disable all protocols not needed for the web (which is pretty much everything but http and https),check your services file in /etc (and check more things over there), delete ssh if you're not using it and, most of all, get paranoid ! XD
Hope that helps... Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1258

PostPosted: Wed 10 May 2017, 17:14    Post subject:  

YES. Facebook, for instance, kills my Pentium M CPU with supermegaslowness every time. I was chatting mostly on discord lately, which is fast enough, so the Facebook lag hits me even harder recently. Think I'll switch to http://m.facebook.com or http://iphone.facebook.com because www.facebook.com is becoming a monstrosity, or newer Firefox is, or both... not sure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 272
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Thu 11 May 2017, 08:13    Post subject:  

Flash wrote:
So you're calling my motherboard a piece of crap? Them's fighting words. Laughing

Seriously, you were a bit terse. Could you explain a bit more?

Hello flash

I have an Athlon II X2 240 with a cheap ASrock motherboard with RS880G chipset, that I built in 2010, and I still use every day. belham2 has similar hardware, which is why I thought I would comment.
However my motherboard was the only cheap one with sideport RAM for the GPU, and I installed dual channel DDR3 1600 RAM too.
Some examples of performance deterioration since then...

One of my tests is playing back 1080 H.264 interlaced recordings with YADIF 2X deinterlacing, all in software. That has been possible from fatdog 520 and 64 bit puppies onwards, but not fatdog 710.
It's not fatdog's fault, it's VLC 2.2.x which gives lots of "frame too late to display" errors, but VLC 2.1.x is OK. It's not a kernel or ffmpeg problem because recent MPV builds are more efficient than ever.
(note: 64bit can consistently do 50% higher framerate than 32bit on this hardware)

Phoronix "upgraded" its forum software a while ago, and now the presto versions of Opera (11.62 on win2k 12.16 on fatdog) have real problems just scrolling the page, and it is just text, like this forum. Opera seems to have to redraw the whole page every time it moves it, but Vivaldi 1.9 on fatdog 710 can scroll it smoothly running on the same hardware.

I tested glamor a while ago since "accelmethod" is easily set via a .conf file, but its performance was bad compared with EXA and video playback was hopeless. I expect that AMD were considering hardware like the Trinity/Richland APUs when they decided to change the default for r600. The RS880G has 40 shaders at 500MHz while Trinity/Richland has 128 to 384 shaders running at 720MHz, so their GL performance will be about an order of magnitude better. We need to remember to override the default when it changes to glamor.

It is hard enough to get software engineers to test their code on obsolete hardware when they are being PAID to do it. I think people who develop free software are entitled to work on whatever takes their fancy, so it is inevitable that performance on older hardware will not be optimised.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 12674
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 11 May 2017, 10:05    Post subject:  

Thank you. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
redandwhitestripes

Joined: 02 Jan 2009
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Wed 17 May 2017, 08:41    Post subject:  

It happens to me, too, but then I am using a truly ancient Compaq Presario 2500.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3057
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 17 May 2017, 14:44    Post subject:  

redandwhitestripes wrote:
It happens to me, too, but then I am using a truly ancient Compaq Presario 2500.


Yah, but you do have an excuse; that Mobile P4 only has SSE2's, so it's limited by that.

At least you've got a separate graphics card.....even if it's only an ATI Mobility Radeon. My old Inspiron 1100 has a desktop P4.....and the Intel 'Extreme' integrated graphics chip. Horrible device!!

Even so, QtWeb runs pretty well, all things considered.....


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 1217
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Wed 17 May 2017, 16:10    Post subject:  

I had some fun with Flash's BIG truck page...
Diamondville Atom N270 2Gb mem (DDR2-667) Eth0 at 6Mb/s

FF27: 30seconds to fully load and operate.
ABE, Better Privacy, RedirectCleaner
*** Edit: websites use their own fonts ***

FF45.8esr 120seconds to fully load and operate
AdBlockUlt only... social media links still displayed after "blocking" them explicitly. Only 19 items in ABU !!!
*** Edit: websites CANNOT use their own fonts ***

Both have same general About configs, except 45.8esr HAS to have much more falsed/disabled.

It would appear at first blush that older browsers that cannot deal with new "end-arounds" in coding are therefore "Blissfully Ignorant" and just skip over the offending code.

No monetization here, eh??

Just for grins
8Geee

_________________
Linux user #498913
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1190

PostPosted: Thu 18 May 2017, 13:35    Post subject:  

Thanks to everyone who responded in this thread. I hadn't realized, as the change has been quite a awhile now, that I didn't use add-ons anymore. Well, a quick install of "QuickJava" and also "Ublock Origin", and things are back to being bearable. Some of these websirtes today are just atrocious with javascripts. I am talking to you, Yahoo!! No wonder you never made it off the dungpile and had to be bought---gulp---by an old telco.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 1217
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Thu 18 May 2017, 16:11    Post subject:  

have to agree Belham, yahoo has become the bloated infected whale that beached itself at VZ's door. There won't be any improvement... Rolling Eyes

oops... forgot... keep an eye on that UO binary file size (gdmap)... it swells.

_________________
Linux user #498913
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
noalternative

Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Tue 20 Jun 2017, 01:22    Post subject:  

Flash wrote:
Here's a website that bogged down my computer (Quirky Werewolf 64 with SeaMonkey.) Apparently, that website is dedicated to wretched excess in every possible way.


I am using the latest version of firefox on a xenial based puppy. The website loaded ok for me, but I am using native firefox tracking protection.

http://lifehacker.com/turn-on-tracking-protection-in-firefox-to-make-pages-lo-1706946166

Should work in mozilla browsers like seamonkey and pale moon too, but you may have to add the setting.

I have some late 90s era computers that need that and noscript to load some pages. Noscript puts a stop to it too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [34 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1492s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0095s) ][ GZIP on ]