Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 22 Aug 2017, 13:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Adobe Flash Player Auto Updater
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 7 [100 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Author Message
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2845
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sat 13 May 2017, 18:53    Post subject:  

Hiya, Geoff.

Geoffrey wrote:
Easy fix, edit line 109 in /usr/bin/update_flash, change grep -A2 Linux to grep -A3 Linux.

make sure you delete the ~/.flash_update folder if it exists before running the script.

tell me if that fixes it for you...


Flamin' Adobe..! I wonder if they'll ever get tired of playing 'musical URLs'? Laughing

I'm running a slightly adapted version of your Auto-Updater; I've modified the target path to point to my remote data partition, from where I run all my browsers, sym-linked into all my Pups so I only run one instance of each.....using davids45's method.

I've got a single instance of PepperFlash linked into all the Chromium-based browsers.....so I figured it'd make just as much sense to have a single instance of FlashPlayer, sym-linked into every Pup at /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins, for the Mozilla-based ones, too.

Which works nicely.

I keep Pepper updated with a slightly adapted version of the modification sfs made to your original script, so's it'll work for Pepper:-

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=913162#913162

And it works beautifully.

----------------------------------------

Anyway, back to the matter at hand. I've substituted

Code:
grep -A3


...for

Code:
grep -A2


.....deleted /root/.flash_update, re-run Menu->Internet->Update Flash, and she's behaving herself again. (For the moment... Rolling Eyes Laughing )

So, go ahead and re-publish. Sorry to have put you through all that again...! (At least it's working once more.....for the time being.)

Thanks, Geoff. It's very much appreciated. I may be a wee bit 'sloppy' with some stuff in Pup.....but Flash is one thing I am strict about (and running around 10 Pups, it's a nightmare keeping on top of them all manually!) Automating it makes one less thing to worry about...


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2292
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Sun 14 May 2017, 18:42    Post subject:  

Fixed Adobe Flash Player Auto Updater, see first post for new package version 1.8
_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
EdD

Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 172
Location: Southside Virginia

PostPosted: Tue 30 May 2017, 10:00    Post subject:  

Geoffrey wrote:
Fixed Adobe Flash Player Auto Updater, see first post for new package version 1.8


removed the version on my slacko 6.3.0 and installed the new one. The 'download flashplayer update' pane stays empty, and no download starts. Sorry to say, it ain't working for me.

_________________
Dell optiplex 780, Intel Core 2 Duo CPU E7500 @ 2.93GHz, 4g RAM, w/ATI RV620 LE Radeon HD 3450. Currently running Slacko 6.3.0 32
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2292
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Tue 30 May 2017, 18:28    Post subject:  

EdD wrote:
Geoffrey wrote:
Fixed Adobe Flash Player Auto Updater, see first post for new package version 1.8


removed the version on my slacko 6.3.0 and installed the new one. The 'download flashplayer update' pane stays empty, and no download starts. Sorry to say, it ain't working for me.



The directory /root/.update_flash is most likely still in existence from the previous failed attempt, delete it and then it should work Wink

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bird Dog

Joined: 15 Jun 2014
Posts: 58
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sun 18 Jun 2017, 00:11    Post subject: Updating Flash  

I'm having problems updating Geoffrey's flash on my 32 bit computer. The update works great on my 64 bit computer (version 26.0.0.131). When I try to update on my 32 bit computer it says adobe flash update has already started. New Version for YUM for Linux.tar.gz for Linux.rpm for Linux. I click resume which is all I can do and it says download flash player update please wait but nothing happens. I also tried deleting the directory through the pfind program and uninstalled everything that said flash update and tried reinstalling like you mentioned above but still no joy.
I now have an older version of flash than what I started with. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
Bird Dog

_________________
Full install Precise 5.6.1, 5.7.1 retro on P3 866mhz & 1000mhz
Frugal Tahrpup 646.0.5 save folder on core2 quad Q6600 2 gigs ram & AMD 6 core 4 gigs ram, Frugal Tahrpup 6.0.5 CE save folder on P4 3.0 ghz 1 gig ram and Dell P4 Celeron 2.4 ghz 1 gig ram
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2292
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Sun 18 Jun 2017, 08:51    Post subject: Re: Updating Flash  

Bird Dog wrote:
it says adobe flash update has already started. New Version for YUM for Linux.tar.gz for Linux.rpm for Linux.


Sounds like you have what Mike Walsh experienced, download and install the latest version update_flash-1.8.pet from the first post,
make sure you delete the ~/.flash_update directory before running the updater.
I just tested the 1.8 version to be sure it's still working, worked fine.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bird Dog

Joined: 15 Jun 2014
Posts: 58
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sun 25 Jun 2017, 20:50    Post subject: Adobe Auto Updater  

Hi Geoffrey I tried deleting anything that had flash update while using pfind but some of the directories wouldn't delete, probably the ones that needed to be. Anyway that gave me an excuse to try Tahrpup 606 and then when I installed your flash update it worked fine. Thanks for your help.

Thanks
Bird Dog

_________________
Full install Precise 5.6.1, 5.7.1 retro on P3 866mhz & 1000mhz
Frugal Tahrpup 646.0.5 save folder on core2 quad Q6600 2 gigs ram & AMD 6 core 4 gigs ram, Frugal Tahrpup 6.0.5 CE save folder on P4 3.0 ghz 1 gig ram and Dell P4 Celeron 2.4 ghz 1 gig ram
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
autumnleaves

Joined: 07 Jan 2011
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Sat 15 Jul 2017, 11:51    Post subject:  

I have been labouring to get a working version of Tahrpup64 6.06 onto a machine, and after multiple reinstall and a couple of major issues, overcome with the help of forum members, I installed the updater (1.Cool so that I would no longer have to see the no flashplayer warning. It seemed to work well, so I set it to run on boot. But when I did a reboot, my mouse pad/keyboard (USB remote) were frozen. I discovered that unplugging and replugging the USB key restored mousepad function, but I still have no keyboard. Has anyone seen this before, and is it due to something the flashplayer updater may have changed?
Thanks for your assistance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2292
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Sun 16 Jul 2017, 03:07    Post subject:  

@autumnleaves,

The option for it to check at startup only creates a symbolic link in ~/Startup to the /usr/bin/update_flash.

This shouldn't affect your usb ports, there must be another problem.

This updater only downloads the 32bit version of flash, Getflashplayer might be a better option as it caters for 64bit http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=960815#960815

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
autumnleaves

Joined: 07 Jan 2011
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Sun 16 Jul 2017, 08:13    Post subject:  

Thank you for your reply, I wonder if the xorg.conf file might be affected. On the first reboot the Nvidia driver lost settings, but on a subsequent reboot correct resolution was restored.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 7 [100 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1853s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0129s) ][ GZIP on ]