Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 07 Dec 2019, 14:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
XenialDog (Ubuntu 16.04 'Xenial Xerus' LTS, 32-bit)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 34 of 69 [1024 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, ..., 67, 68, 69 Next
Author Message
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 3541
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Sat 01 Apr 2017, 12:02    Post subject: Foxitreader & Question re Master PDF Editor  

Hi ruffwoof & All,

Foxitreader, discussed here, http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=936553&sid=95e20102ed20f3ec8f649e8198e405ea#936553 worked OOTB under XenialDog64. I would expect similar results in other "Dogs".

Mine is in an external folder /mnt/home/pup-apps/foxitreader. So to start it under XenialDog64 I browsed to that folder and clicked the wrapper named FoxitReader.sh.

Under Puppies, I start it via menu having built a pet which creates such menu entry. I do this with all applications I frequently run from "external" folders. These pets consists only of a bash script on the path pointing to the executable; an icon in /usr/share/pixmaps and a desktop file in /usr/share/applications. I wonder if there is an easy way to convert those Puppy Pets to create menu entries under Dogs. Alternatively, to build debs for that purpose.

An older version of Master PDF Editor than rufwoof linked to wouldn't run under XenialDog64. I think it has Qt 4x as a dependency. I noticed that, from the link rufwoof provided, the 64 bit versions names included a reference to QT5 while the 32 Bit versions did not. In the former, is Qt5 included in the 64bit version?, In the 32 bit versions, is a separate install of Qt still required? and if so, which version?

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3669

PostPosted: Sat 01 Apr 2017, 12:43    Post subject:  

Sorry Mike I can't help. I just downloaded and installed the .deb and then ran fix dependencies and Debian took care of it all. I seem to recall it saying that libqtprint or something like that was needed after installing the .deb before it would run, but can't recall the exact detail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4204
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 01 Apr 2017, 13:32    Post subject:  

Hi Max2017,

Quote:
I am trying to use an encrypted savefile, but I can't get it to load on reboot.
....
....


Welcome and congratulations!! Your first post and you found a real bug!!
There's a fix if you have a frugal install and using porteus-boot :

Added to Changes and fixes list
Quote:
Bugfix for when using encrypted savefile:
If XenialDog is frugally installed and using "porteus-boot":
https://github.com/DebianDog/xenialdog/wiki/Porteus-boot
Replace initrd1.xz in the "casper" folder with the one from Here and encrypted savefile should work.


And thanks for reporting.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Max2017

Joined: 01 Apr 2017
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat 01 Apr 2017, 17:43    Post subject: Encypted savefile not working? device-mapper, dm-crypt  

Hi Fred,
I'm more than impressed by your quick response. If me finding bugs helps not just me but also you and others, I'm glad to help. Smile

I just tested your bug fix. It works like a charm on the 32bit-version. Actually, I'm typing this from my frugal installation with porteus-boot.

Just two more questions:
1. Could you also provide a fix for the 64bit-version?
2. Your bug fix (naturally) doesn't survive a kernel upgrade. Any workaround for that? I don't mind getting my hands dirty myself if pointed into the right direction.

From what I see so far, I'm already a fan. I'll have this doggy running the next weeks. If feedback is welcome, I won't hold back.

Cheers, Max
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 3200

PostPosted: Sat 01 Apr 2017, 18:47    Post subject: Re: Foxitreader & Question re Master PDF Editor  

mikeslr wrote:
Hi ruffwoof & All,

Foxitreader, discussed here, http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=936553&sid=95e20102ed20f3ec8f649e8198e405ea#936553 worked OOTB under XenialDog64. I would expect similar results in other "Dogs".


I also sometimes use Masterpdfeditor, but that's when I need a pdf editor on my system - it does indeed need qt. I am also a longtime user of Foxit Reader. However, my question would be: what is the advantage of Foxit reader (or any other "pdf reador" over using Firefox/Mozilla provide PDF.js, which in my tests works very well indeed (is opensource and continually being developed)? Different if you want or need a pdf editor, but that would not surely be expected in base iso. Since base iso comes with Firefox, it thus comes with inbuilt pdf reader, which I suspect many people don't realise can be used with locally-stored pdfs too (just needs activated and, optionally, filebrowser associations set as I described).

Main app most people use is probably their browser (so it is usually already running) - might as well benefit from the additional html5 js support/bloat in them - it's already there so no disadvantage to use anyway.

William

Sorry, wasn't long out of my bed so kept making typing errors and having to fix/repost!!!

EDIT: PDF.js is inbuilt into FIrefox, which works fine/out-of-the-box in default XenialDog32, but if you were using Palemoon it seems you need to add plugin:

https://addons.palemoon.org/addon/moon-pdf-viewer/

Personally, I've always had trouble with Palemoon (after using it for a while). I can't remember the details (maybe fixed?) but it used to start using a lot of RAM over time I think. Nobody else seemed to have the problem or at least didn't notice or didn't report it. I prefer Firefox original.

EDIT: Yes, just read in Palemoon release notes than pdf.js code was removed in Nov 2016 from main browser (ver 27), because their pdf.js code wasn't being maintained. That isn't the case for official pdf.js from mozilla, however, it is constantly being updated/maintained - last pdf.js github entry just 3 days ago and I haven't come across a pdf yet that it can't display correctly.

Of course, I can't say if Firefox will always come with inbuilt pdf reader, but it does just now, and it works. Users can install external pdf readers any time they like...

_________________
github mcewanw
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Sun 02 Apr 2017, 00:07    Post subject: Wireless antenna  

Wireless antennas not usable with xenialDog.. how to connect public wireless with my dongle ? Usual wireless just working half a day where i am living. Often i need to make active my dongle.
Often i bring my laptop in my car when weather is sunny. But Wifi is not serviceable unless a driver made available. rcrsn51 makes pets for some kernels for Puppy Linux. How can we get the same with XenialDog ?

_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1413

PostPosted: Sun 02 Apr 2017, 00:43    Post subject:  

Most wireless drivers are available if you know where to look.

Do you know what chipset you have? If not, the brand name and model information on your dongle?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4204
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sun 02 Apr 2017, 06:53    Post subject:  

Hi Max,

Quote:
Just two more questions:
1. Could you also provide a fix for the 64bit-version?
2. Your bug fix (naturally) doesn't survive a kernel upgrade. Any workaround for that? I don't mind getting my hands dirty myself if pointed into the right direction.

From what I see so far, I'm already a fan. I'll have this doggy running the next weeks. If feedback is welcome, I won't hold back.


1. Yes, I will, today or tomorrow
2. Well, if you mean when running "upgrade-kernel", it actually should create a initrd1.xz with encryption support, the script has inside: "CRYPTSETUP=Y update-initramfs ....
The CRYPTSETUP=Y command I forgot when creating initrd1.xz for the ISO

Basically creating initrd1.xz is rather simple (see more exact info in code below).
It comes down at:
- Generate initrd.img (with encryption) using update-initramfs (will be located then in /boot)
- Copy and extract just generated initrd.img and initrd1.xz into separate folders
- Replace content of lib/modules in (extracted) initrd1.xz with the content of lib/modules from (extracted) initrd.img
- Create new initrd1.xz

Here are the commands:

Code:
### Create porteus-boot initrd1.xz from generated initrd.img (in /boot) with encryption support

# Check for where initrd files are located (frugal install only)
if  [ ! -f /mnt/live/tmp/modules ]; then    # for casper-boot
# should be exact, parse from /proc/cmdline
live_dir=$(grep -o "live-media-path=.*" /proc/cmdline |sed 's: .*::' |sed 's:live-media-path=/::')
 if [[ -z "$live_dir" ]] ; then
 live_dir="casper/"
 fi

BASE="/cdrom/$live_dir"

else    # for porteus-boot
BASE="$(cat /mnt/live/etc/homedrv)"
fi

# Generate initrd.img with encryption support (in /boot) (CRYPTSETUP=Y does the trick)
CRYPTSETUP=Y update-initramfs -t -c -k $(uname -r)

# Create working directories
mkdir xencasper xenporteus

# Copy original initrd1.xz (from frugal install directory) to xenporteus folder
cp -af $BASE/initrd1.xz xenporteus/

# Copy the just generated initrd.img from /boot to xencasper/initrd.img
cp -af /boot/initrd.img-$(uname -r) xencasper/initrd.img

# Extract initrd.img...
cd xencasper/
zcat initrd.img | cpio -i -d
cd --

# Extract initrd1.xz...
cd xenporteus/
xz -dc initrd1.xz | cpio -i
rm -f initrd1.xz

# Now replace content of xenporteus/lib/modules with content of xencasper/lib/modules
rm -rf lib/modules/*
cp -a ../xencasper/lib/modules/* lib/modules/

# Create new initrd1.xz
find . -print | cpio -o -H newc 2>/dev/null | xz -f --extreme --check=crc32 > ../initrd1.xz

# Optional (uncomment below lines) copy (replace it) initrd1.xz to frugal install directory
# cd ..
# cp -af initrd1.xz $BASE/


Yes, feedback always very welcome!

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Max2017

Joined: 01 Apr 2017
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun 02 Apr 2017, 15:18    Post subject:  

Hi Fred,

thank you for your explanations. I'll keep on testing and post any findings.

Looking forward to the 64bit fix.

Take care. Max
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 3200

PostPosted: Tue 04 Apr 2017, 18:56    Post subject:  

Fred,

I'm currently preparing an sce package for dCorePup (dCore-xenial) to include some of the DebianDog utilities in it.

dCore comes with dpkg-deb (in wireless sce), so I'm testing out pet2deb (from XenialDog32) at the moment

EDIT2: deleted change code suggestion - I misunderstood (see my EDIT3 below).

I'm not on XenialDog32 just now, so can't test that there. Works on dCoreDog.

EDIT3: I realise now that from command line pet2deb (or pet2deb-convert) needs full absolute pathname of the pet to be converted... I had tried it just with the filename, and things got messed-up a bit. All working fine in both dCoreDog and XenialDog32 with that full pathname proviso.

William

EDIT: Note, that dCore-xenial seems to work well in terms of its package management compatibility with Ubuntu/Debian and mimics apt-usage to quite an extent (sce-import then sce-load, instead of apt-get install, and also has sce-ppa-add, sce-remove, sce-debpurge and sce-update and more). So it could be configured pretty much like XenialDog so the DD utils could prove to be quite handy in terms of 'puppyfying' it (I might also get round to xenialdog-style configured openbox on it eventually).

_________________
github mcewanw

Last edited by mcewanw on Tue 04 Apr 2017, 23:17; edited 5 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Tue 04 Apr 2017, 21:15    Post subject: Wicd to connect wireless  

i Like wicd , and josejp24 too . I created a topic about wicd not to disturb development of xenialdog.
_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 3200

PostPosted: Wed 05 Apr 2017, 06:26    Post subject:  

Fred,

I'm scratching my head because I can't see how the pet2deb script ends up with the .deb file in the same folder as the .pet file... It does though.

In the script, there is a cd $EXTRACT

and then every thing gets put in there

and then there is

dpkg-deb ./ ...

which would suggest to me that dpkg-deb would build the new .deb package inside that $EXTRACT directory somewhere (and not the one where the .pet is).

and after that there is a cd `dirname $FILE`, which takes system back to where the .pet is.

after which rm -fr $EXTRACT removes the whole build folder, which I feel would have included the .deb file (but doesn't seem to)? So how does the newly built .deb get into the folder where the original .pet is (which it does)?

I'd like to modify this script to not need fullpathname for the case where you are running pet2deb at the commandline from the same directory the .pet is in. Best of all (less restrictive) would be if it would work with either absolute or relative pathnames for where the dotpet is.

William

EDIT: OKay, I see it now - I was blind: It's because dpkg-deb code is:

Code:
dpkg-deb -b ./ "$FILE"-convert-to.deb


and $FILE contains the fullpathname of the original .pet.

_________________
github mcewanw
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 3200

PostPosted: Wed 05 Apr 2017, 08:07    Post subject:  

Fred,

I've sent you a modded pet2deb via PM for testing. Works with absolute or relative dotpet filenames - a bit more testing would be good, but seems fine - left most of the existing script untouched; just look for lines with mcewanw at end of them.

The mod makes pet2deb more intuitive IMO for commandline use and better for associating files with some filemanagers (fluff on tinycore, in my case, which otherwise needed a `pwd'/filename construct in making right-click file association commands, which was a bit of a pain that this mod cures).

William

_________________
github mcewanw
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed 05 Apr 2017, 16:09    Post subject:  

mcewanw wrote:
Fred,

I've sent you a modded pet2deb via PM for testing.

Hi William.

In case you are interested pet2deb and pet2sfs are mine scripts with credits for the included code inside:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=783785&sid=853702cb8266606e41e2cef7f89fe7da#783785
I don't know what is the version you are using but both pet2deb and pet2sfs are GPL3. You don't need permission to modify them. Just include the GPL3 license in your mod.
Both have updated version for xz compressed debs.
https://github.com/MintPup/DebianDog-Wheezy/blob/master/scripts/pet2sfs.sh
https://github.com/MintPup/DebianDog-Wheezy/blob/master/scripts/pet2deb.sh

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 3200

PostPosted: Wed 05 Apr 2017, 16:11    Post subject:  

Thanks Toni. I'll take a look.

I have put License "GPLv3" alongside my mods to any of the existing scripts I work with.

William

EDIT: Had a quick look so far. One thing I feel we, or at least I, shoulld try to get away from using (eventually) is bash dependency. I want to move to my scripts being usable with busybox ash (and presumably dash) since bb/ash is what tinycore uses generally. Should be easy for simple scripts, but bigger programs (like my gtkdialog-apps) will often need a lot of work.

EDIT2: Personally, I have to say that, for system scripts, I prefer less restrictive licenses than GPL. License MIT (as used in scrot - despite it being quite a complex C source program), for example, is very unrestrictive and allows for forks to use more or less restrictive licenses as long as all credits are listed. Shell scripts are often quite simple really so often hard to license as original anyway in my opinion. I sometimes see two-line bash scripts with a GPL stuck on them, which becomes ridiculous. Credit where credit is due is vital though as are date marked mod details and name or source of the modifier IMO

_________________
github mcewanw
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 34 of 69 [1024 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, ..., 67, 68, 69 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1206s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0577s) ][ GZIP on ]