Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 23 Apr 2018, 11:08
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Cannot use Grub4dos with ext4 formatting [solved]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Author Message
frourio

Joined: 04 Jan 2017
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sat 21 Jan 2017, 23:50    Post subject:  Cannot use Grub4dos with ext4 formatting [solved]  

Hi all,

I'm trying to write a bootloader with Grub4dos to an ext4 formatted partition and I seem to be missing some library. (For Tahrpup 6.0.5)

Attatched are the screenshots showing my process, including error dialogue boxes.

The final error message in grub4dosconfig.log is:

Quote:
Writing... /mnt/sdc1/menu.lst
Installing grldr ...
‘/usr/lib/grub4dos/grldr’ -> ‘/mnt/sdc1/grldr’
cp: cannot stat ‘’: No such file or directory
Failed to install extlinux.
ext4-problem.png
 Description   
 Filesize   12.04 KB
 Viewed   251 Time(s)

ext4-problem.png

ext4-problem2.png
 Description   
 Filesize   10.53 KB
 Viewed   249 Time(s)

ext4-problem2.png

ext4-problem3.png
 Description   
 Filesize   13.83 KB
 Viewed   241 Time(s)

ext4-problem3.png


Last edited by frourio on Mon 23 Jan 2017, 21:15; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LazY Puppy


Joined: 21 Nov 2014
Posts: 2007
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat 21 Jan 2017, 23:56    Post subject:  

Quote:
I'm trying to write a bootloader with Grub4dos to an ext4 formatted partition and I seem to be missing some library. (For Tahrpup 6.0.5)

Are you sure it isn't tahr64 6.0.5?

Just asking as we had that confusion in the Kupfer topic...

Edit:

Probably it is a bug in grub4dosconfig.

Actually checked the Tahr Puppies 602, 605 and 64 605. All of them include extlinux in /sbin.

Edit2:

File /usr/lib/grub4dos/chain.c32 isn't included in 602, 605 and 64 605.

_________________
RSH

"you only wanted to work your Puppies in German", "you are a separatist in that you want Germany to secede from Europe" (musher0) Laughing

No, but I gave my old drum kit away for free to a music store collecting instruments for refugees! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
frourio

Joined: 04 Jan 2017
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sun 22 Jan 2017, 00:09    Post subject:  

LazY, yes! My bad. 64 bit.

So nothing I can do in that case?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LazY Puppy


Joined: 21 Nov 2014
Posts: 2007
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun 22 Jan 2017, 01:45    Post subject:  

I don't know.

Never tried to install grub4dos to ext4 partition. Usually I'm using ext2 for boot partitions as I'd multiple cases of Puppy not booting from ext3. So, my boot partitions are ext2 and my data partitions are ext3. No ext4 in use at all.

_________________
RSH

"you only wanted to work your Puppies in German", "you are a separatist in that you want Germany to secede from Europe" (musher0) Laughing

No, but I gave my old drum kit away for free to a music store collecting instruments for refugees! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1027

PostPosted: Sun 22 Jan 2017, 02:09    Post subject:  

Do you think it might be related to this bug I reported in Xenial pup?

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=916504#916504
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LazY Puppy


Joined: 21 Nov 2014
Posts: 2007
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun 22 Jan 2017, 02:13    Post subject:  

I'm currently not running tahr64 605, so I can't check its version. Though, tahr 602 has extlinux 4.05.

Code:
root# extlinux --version
extlinux 4.05  Copyright 1994-2011 H. Peter Anvin et al
root#

_________________
RSH

"you only wanted to work your Puppies in German", "you are a separatist in that you want Germany to secede from Europe" (musher0) Laughing

No, but I gave my old drum kit away for free to a music store collecting instruments for refugees! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10307
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 22 Jan 2017, 02:53    Post subject:  

See if chain.c32 is in /usr/lib/syslinux

I can not run Tahrpup64 on this computer, but I used Tahrpup 6.0.5 (32bit) and Grub4dos config worked OK on a ext4 partition.
I installed to a USB flash drive partition formatted ext4.

Just to make sure something is not wrong with the file system.
Run Gparted and do a check on the ext4 partition.

To fully understand.
sdc1 is on what type device?
Any other operating systems on it?
Are you using the default settings when running Grub4dos config or selecting something in the options?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
frourio

Joined: 04 Jan 2017
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sun 22 Jan 2017, 19:19    Post subject:  

Quote:

See if chain.c32 is in /usr/lib/syslinux


The "syslinux" directory doesn't even exist with /usr/lib.

Quote:
Just to make sure something is not wrong with the file system.
Run Gparted and do a check on the ext4 partition.


Not sure what kind of check you meant, but I checked the properties of the partition. Anything specific I'm looking for?

Quote:
sdc1 is on what type device?


USB

Quote:
Any other operating systems on it?


On the device's other partition, another Linux distro. (Not Puppy.)

Quote:

Are you using the default settings when running Grub4dos config or selecting something in the options?


I do the following:

1. Load Grub4dos
2. Select "SHOW PBS" (Button at the bottom.)
3. Choose my desired ext4 partition (sdc1 in this case)
4. Do NOT select any other options
5. Then press OK.

Next message is:

"Some components are lacking to perform this function..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10307
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jan 2017, 04:12    Post subject:  

Quote:
2. Select "SHOW PBS" (Button at the bottom.)

That could be the problem.
I never do that.
That PBS stuff has never worked very well.

For a USB flash drive I just select the usb drive.
Select "search only within this device" option.
Let Grub4dos config do the rest.

This will put Grub4dos on the first partition and the MBR of the device.
That is where it works the best.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked

Last edited by bigpup on Mon 23 Jan 2017, 04:28; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10307
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jan 2017, 04:16    Post subject:  

Quote:
On the device's other partition, another Linux distro. (Not Puppy.)

Grub4dos config does a good job of finding other Linux installs and making a boot menu entry, but it is not 100% all the time.
There are a few Linux operating systems it may not do correctly. The major ones usually work.
The only ones I have had problems with, had their boot stuff in a very strange location, that Grub4dos config was not looking in.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10307
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jan 2017, 04:23    Post subject:  

Quote:
Just to make sure something is not wrong with the file system.
Run Gparted and do a check on the ext4 partition.



Quote:
Not sure what kind of check you meant, but I checked the properties of the partition. Anything specific I'm looking for?


If you have the drive partition not mounted.
Run Gparted.
In the list of partitions it finds.
Right click on the partition and select check.
This does a check of the file system of that partition.
If anything is wrong, it will correct, and report what it did.
If it does find errors and corrects them. Run it again until no errors are found.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
frourio

Joined: 04 Jan 2017
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jan 2017, 14:49    Post subject:  

Yup. That was it bigpup. The PBS option. (One shouldn't use it in this case.)

You nailed it. Nice one!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LazY Puppy


Joined: 21 Nov 2014
Posts: 2007
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jan 2017, 15:54    Post subject:  

PBS = Partition Boot Sector?

I also never used this option. Probably someone should make a suggestion to shinobar (wasn't it created by shinobar?) just to remove that option from the GUI.

_________________
RSH

"you only wanted to work your Puppies in German", "you are a separatist in that you want Germany to secede from Europe" (musher0) Laughing

No, but I gave my old drum kit away for free to a music store collecting instruments for refugees! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10307
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jan 2017, 21:02    Post subject:  

frourio,

Good to see it worked. Very Happy

Please edit the subject in your first post and add solved.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
frourio

Joined: 04 Jan 2017
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jan 2017, 21:15    Post subject:  

Done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0956s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0076s) ][ GZIP on ]