Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

READ-ONLY-MODE: PLEASE DO NOT POST NEW STUFF!
  New Forum: http://forum.puppylinux.com
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 13 Aug 2020, 00:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
tahrpup64 6.0.5 CE
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 47 of 58 [863 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, ..., 56, 57, 58 Next
Author Message
Snail

Joined: 18 Oct 2009
Posts: 334

PostPosted: Sat 24 Dec 2016, 03:13    Post subject: PPM Introduction  

In 6053, clicking on the button for the PPM Introduction that is in the Install Applications panel simply takes you to the Tahrpup64 jumping-off page. This is not all that helpful. Would it be better to go to the Howto for the PPM?

file:///usr/local/petget/help.htm

I would also like to suggest that the paragraph and link to Tahrpup's internal documentation should be at the very top of the Tahrpup64 jumping-off page, instead of right at the bottom, as it is at present. The current top link takes you to a very detailed but dated puppy website. The internal docs seem a lot better to me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
torgo

Joined: 09 Sep 2011
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Sun 25 Dec 2016, 01:49    Post subject:  

Sorry for the somewhat off-topic question, but seeing this I had to jump at the opportunity to ask...

prehistoric wrote:

The motherboard is an ASUS M2NPV-VM with integrated graphics most closely resembling early Quadros and sometimes designated as type 6150. Hardware-info describes this as NV4E.



Prehistoric - have you been able to get the component TV-out working in any version of Puppy? Or any version of Linux, for that matter?

I have three of these motherboards, and I'm wondering what it would take to get them to feed video through the component-out in Puppy, be it Precise or Tahr or Xenial or whatever. I haven't had any luck with it so far in Ubuntu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Mon 26 Dec 2016, 23:07    Post subject: lazpaint is an application for both 32 and 64 bits,  

lazpaint is an application for both 32 and 64 bits, but i fail to launch it on tahrpup64, whatever the version.
I rarely use 64 bits Puppy. Because applications are not fun, old
Could somebody make a pet or SFS for Lazpaint 64 bits ?
"Image editor, like PaintBrush or Paint.Net, written in Lazarus (Free Pascal)."
"LazPaint
LazPaint Yes I appreciate any help. I am developping under Windows, however I apply adjustements so that it works well on Linux as well." Puppy Linux 32 bits (Slacko, Racy, and OBprecise ok) had no trouble with last version, and previous too.
d'aligre.jpg
 Description   Colorized with Lazpaint
 Filesize   37.67 KB
 Viewed   1229 Time(s)

d'aligre.jpg


_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
James186282


Joined: 08 Sep 2009
Posts: 270
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Tue 27 Dec 2016, 16:06    Post subject:  

A belated Merry Christmas to you all.

I'm having problems with USB 3 on my machine. I "think" the driver I'm supposed to see for this is the xhci driver? It doesn't seem to appear if I look for it with lsmod. There is a pet floating around that worked the first time I installed it but after that I get solid (good) messages about it finding the hardware but then

xhci_hcd 0000:01:00.0: Timeout while waiting for setup address command
xhci_hcd 0000:01:00.0: Stopped the command ring failed, maybe the host is dead
xhci_hcd 0000:01:00.0: Abort command ring failed
xhci_hcd 0000:01:00.0: HC died; cleaning up
xhci_hcd 0000:01:00.0: Timeout while waiting for setup address command
xhci_hcd 0000:01:00.0: Abort the command ring, but the xHCI is dead.
usb 4-4: device not accepting address 2, error -108

Not sure if this is connected but directly after the hardware is found I get this warning
fusbh200_hcd: FUSBH200 Host Controller (EHCI) Driver
Warning! fusbh200_hcd should always be loaded before uhci_hcd and ohci_hcd, not after

I tried the hardware info program and it sees
USB Controller VIA tech inc VL80x xHCI USB 3.0 Controller (rev 03) (prog-if30 [XHCI])

_________________
Science is what we understand well enough to explain to a computer.
Art is everything else we do.
Donald Knuth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jlst

Joined: 23 Nov 2012
Posts: 571

PostPosted: Fri 30 Dec 2016, 17:09    Post subject: Re: tahrpup64 6.0.5.3
Subject description: testing iso
 

belham2 wrote:

I notice that in this new version the "openssl version" is still 'OpenSSL 1.0.1f 6 Jan 2014' (same as the previous Tahr64 pup). Isn't this several versions ago of the latest openssl??? Do you happen to have the latest, updated version of openssl complied for Tahrpup64 (it's sort of important nowadays given the attack vectors by hackers)? Maybe so that we can download the latest as a pet and easily install it? Or do each of us--gulp--have to download the 'devx' files and then attempt to compile the latest openssl version for ourselves?? Sad

Again, mucho thanks for the latest Tahr64 pup!


P.S. [Edit] Wait, I remember Peebee explaining to me awhile back the crazy scheme ubuntu uses when updating something. Even when they update it, they still leave the same number. So maybe the openssl 1.0.1f is the latest??? Dang, wish I understood this stuff better. Now I know why Peebee said it is so much easier to grasp in Slacko---and it is!!! Slacko (like debian & the dogs), makes it flippin' simple to understand if you have the latest version of something, especially something important like openssl. If anyone knows the answer about this 1.0.1f version in the latest tahrpup64, would appreciate any feedback


I noticed that in ubuntu and debian.. apps require a specific version of a lib... and because they're compiling newer libs without recompiling the apps that depend on them... they keep the same name and stuff..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 981

PostPosted: Fri 30 Dec 2016, 18:32    Post subject:  

removed - wrong thread
_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6735
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 31 Dec 2016, 03:29    Post subject:  

Quick manual frugal test install of Tahr64 6.0.5.3.All good so far.

Code:
root# inxi -Fxx
System:    Host: puppypc14195 Kernel: 3.14.79 x86_64 (64 bit, gcc: 4.8.4)
           Desktop: JWM 2.3.6 dm: N/A Distro: tahrpup64 6.0.5.3
Machine:   Mobo: ASUSTeK model: M5A97 LE R2.0 version: Rev 1.xx serial: 150545593600028
           Bios: American Megatrends version: 2601 date: 03/24/2015
CPU:       Hexa core AMD FX-6300 Six-Core (-MCP-) cache: 12288 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm) bmips: 42144.7
           Clock Speeds: 1: 1400.00 MHz 2: 1400.00 MHz 3: 1400.00 MHz 4: 1400.00 MHz 5: 1400.00 MHz 6: 3500.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GT218 [GeForce 210] bus-ID: 01:00.0 chip-ID: 10de:0a65
           X.org: 1.15.1 drivers: nouveau (unloaded: vesa) tty size: 68x23 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Audio:     Card-1: NVIDIA High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 01:00.1 chip-ID: 10de:0be3
           Card-2: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:14.2 chip-ID: 1002:4383
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: k3.14.79
Network:   Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 ver: 2.3LK-NAPI port: d000 bus-ID: 02:00.0 chip-ID: 10ec:8168
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: 1c:87:2c:5a:bb:e2
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1120.2GB (-)
           1: id: /dev/sda model: KINGSTON_SV300S3 size: 120.0GB serial: N/A
           2: id: /dev/sdb model: WDC_WD10EZEX size: 1000.2GB serial: N/A
Partition: ID: swap-1 size: 8.60GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
RAID:      System: supported: linear raid0 raid1 raid10 raid6 raid5 raid4
           No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present
           Unused Devices: none
Sensors:   None detected - is lm-sensors installed and configured?
Info:      Processes: 128 Uptime: 13 min Memory: 313.9/15931.2MB Runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: N/A
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.42 running in urxvt) inxi: 1.9.17



Code:
root# free
             total         used         free       shared      buffers
Mem:      16313540      1062376     15251164            0        97588
-/+ buffers:             964788     15348752
Swap:      8396796            0      8396796
root#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 362
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Sat 31 Dec 2016, 06:18    Post subject: Re: tahrpup64 6.0.5.3
Subject description: testing iso
 

belham2 wrote:
I notice that in this new version the "openssl version" is still 'OpenSSL 1.0.1f 6 Jan 2014' (same as the previous Tahr64 pup). Isn't this several versions ago of the latest openssl??? Do you happen to have the latest, updated version of openssl complied for Tahrpup64


You can install the latest version from the ubuntu Trusty repo or download the package and then click on it in rox filer to install it.

The last update was 23 sept 2016
http://packages.ubuntu.com/trusty/openssl

WARNING: Ubuntu packages have not been tested on Tahrpup64. Occasionally I try one and it breaks Puppy. So make a test copy of Puppy and try it on that first. Usually they work properly because they are compiled for the exact versions in Trusty Tahr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peppyy


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 443
Location: VT USA

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jan 2017, 18:32    Post subject: A couple questions
Subject description: odd behavior and printing photos
 

Hi All, Remember me? lol been using Puppy for years but the 64 bit has me a little befuddled.tahrpup64 6.0.5CE Fully updated and full hd install.

System HP Desktop A2512p Dual core/ intel/ intel graphics/ 4gb memory/ full install/ and the fastest times I have ever seen reported by hardinfo!

I built it to replace my better half's really old "XP" computer. and I only have a couple things to still workout.

#1 When right clicking a photo and setting it as desktop wallpaper it creates a new directory called x/x/x original. if you then set the desktop background from that folder it is called x/x/x Original Original and so on. Is this something I can change with rox or jwm or pinboard or other?

I downloaded Nathan's Wallpaper setter and it works well on 64 however it does not always show previews and it is tough for her to find the files she used to use without that.

#2 Is there a 64 bit image viewer available that allows her to print from the menu? I didn't want her to have to open Gimp every time and find the file she wants to print before printing a photo or Mandela etc. I have added the 32 bit libs but I can't seem to get any 32 bit apps to work. I noticed in the report that a lot were not installed. I think it was 400+ skipped files.
Edit: 400+ not 4000+
I will save my other questions for later, just wanting to keep the better half happy!

BTW, Great job on this version!

Perhaps I should start an up-to-date search engine?

_________________
Puppy Linux...
It just works!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 3913
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jan 2017, 20:08    Post subject: Maybe a solution to non-working PaDS pet  

If you've built applications by using debs available from Ubuntu repositories, you are probably familiar with Lazy Puppy's PaDS pet to combine debs into an SFS. My experience was that it didn't work under 64-bit Puppies.

I may have solved that problem: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=938515#938515

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 908
Location: Moorooka, Queensland

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jan 2017, 20:38    Post subject: Re: tahrpup64 6.0.5.3
Subject description: testing iso
 

LateAdopter wrote:
WARNING: Ubuntu packages have not been tested on Tahrpup64. Occasionally I try one and it breaks Puppy. So make a test copy of Puppy and try it on that first. Usually they work properly because they are compiled for the exact versions in Trusty Tahr

Dammit, don't I know that now - after my second plug-pull on a halted update of gcc from Ubuntu repositories in my TahrPup64 6.0.5. Found that it wasn't a simple hang when I rebooted into a kernel panic and a page of hieroglyphs. So that's what you get when trying to shoe-horn a FatDog64-710 sfs into TahrPup64 (I was grabbing steps latest R statistical environment offering, v3.1.3 from memory) by trying to stamp out spot-fire incompatibilities, rather than compile from source Sad So I had this brainwave (I know what you're thinking - please be gentle) - what if I replace the damaged (?) kernel with the latest update? I was using a save folder rather than savefile, and just like my earlier glibc brainfade, all my files are intact, so I assume my foot-shooting is limited to kernel issues. Any thoughts on such a recovery process?

_________________
Search engines for Puppy
http://puppylinux.us/psearch.html; Google Custom Search; http://wellminded.net63.net/ others TBA...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
peppyy


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 443
Location: VT USA

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jan 2017, 11:26    Post subject:  

I am running xnview mp on tahr 6.0.5 32 bit and tahr64 6.0.5 The 64 bit linux version worked very well.

Downloaded,extracted to My Applications and click on xnview.sh

I created a shortcut for the desktop and set it as my default image viewer.
So now the issue with photo management is solved.

Now running 3 full installs of Puppy Tahr on 3 different computers, 2 on 64bit and one 32. My latest is a full multimedia machine and although I can use rander to set my desired resolution for my widescreen TV, I am having issues making it stick on boot. Getting closer though. Very Happy

Created a script in my apps and linked it to startup, works however I would like to execute it at boot. On to more searches!

_________________
Puppy Linux...
It just works!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1743

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jan 2017, 07:10    Post subject:  

Hi 666philb (or anyone),

Is there any possibility you can take a look at this problem and point me to a remedy? I posted about it before here (mistakenly put it in the 32-bit thread):http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178&start=1515

I just did another fresh download and install of Tahr64 on a friend's machine here, and sure enough, this problem pooped up again with the latest Tahr64 release. Tahr64-latest release has done this now on 3 different (diff machines) installs. When Tahr gets to the desktop, and if you ever want to click the sd#1 drive icon on the bottom left, look at the error message that pops up....below is a pic of it. You click the icon, and up pops the error msg box saying:

"Arguments (usbdrv ext4) given for non-executable item /root/.pup_event/drive_sde_1"

(also plz check the other link above for more detailed picture---doesn't matter what the sd# is, the problem reproduces on all installs I've done, with different downloaded & md5-checked ISOs, on--as noted--diff machines)
shot1a.png
 Description   
 Filesize   227.87 KB
 Viewed   565 Time(s)

shot1a.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 3108

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jan 2017, 08:13    Post subject:  

belham2 wrote:
Is there any possibility you can take a look at this problem and point me to a remedy?

Rolling Eyes
(the above has a link)

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1743

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jan 2017, 13:25    Post subject:  

Hi Marv,

Are you referring to this reply in the Tahr32bit thread:

mavrothal
Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 2786

Please provide some more info.
Are you booting from the particular USB stick?
How is it formatted?
Does it used MBR or GPT?
Do other puppies work fine from the same USB stick?
What is the grub/grub2/grub4dos entry you boot with?
How come sd[a-d] do not appear and start with sde? ie what is that you have changed?
Does the the problem occurs if you boot with pfix=ram?
_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy

Anwsers:

1. booting from USB stick, SD card, and even HD install, Tahr64 keeps labelling stuff "sde#" (from two different ISO downloads now)

2. Ext 4 format device

3. MBT

4. Grub4dos

5. Standard grub4dos entry given by all (and, yes, this behavior occurs in ram too):

title Puppy Tahr64 (sde1)
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /puppy_tahr64_6.0.5.3.sfs
kernel /vmlinuz pmedia=usbflash pfix=fask (as noted above, even if pfix=ram, it still occurs)
initrd /initrd.gz

6. Behavior was not present in any previous version of 64bit Tahr (and it is not present in the new 32 bit version: only the new 64-bit version is displaying this....do I have a gremlin or something, even with diff ISO downloads and installs on various machines, that somehow "sde" desgination is showing up instead of "sda", causing the autogenerated mounting of the sd# partition to go haywire looking for "sda' and finding only "sde'???? I can't findin Tahr64 where in Tahr64 I can correct this, as we both know it can't be coming from the hardware (haha) Wink If it is, my systems are cooked and/or pwned or possessed by demons.


P.S. I will try a 3rd download & frugal install of the latest Tahr64 ISO later tonight, to see if it still displays this behavior. Maybe the first two separate downloads were not good, despite the md5 sums checking out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 47 of 58 [863 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, ..., 56, 57, 58 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1576s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0871s) ][ GZIP on ]