Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 23:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Micro Muppy 002 (12 MB-Iso with Xvesa)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jan 2007, 10:02    Post_subject:  

I updated the iso.
isolinux.cfg was missing the parameter ramdisk_size=29000

Burned a CD, and can boot from it.

But on my desktop, all the USB-modules for my mouse are unused.
I tried 2 different mice on different controllers, so there must miss a module.
I load them in /etc/rc.d/rc.local0

Hope we can sort this out.
On my laptop, the USB-mouse works.

On boot, you have a 1000 second timeout now, and can choose to use acpi or not.

Mark

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6689
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jan 2007, 11:01    Post_subject:  

yeh!

i put the ramdisk_size=29000 in and it boots with qemu now. thanks mark, i'll play with it more tomorrow.

cheers
muggins
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jan 2007, 11:37    Post_subject:  

I removed more music-libs from /usr/local/lib/
Now the iso is only 12.2 MB Smile

If you don't need the supplied applications, you could gain another 2-3 MB.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jan 2007, 12:45    Post_subject: wonder what I am doing
Sub_title: something missing in config file
 

MU wrote:

Burned a CD, and can boot from it.


Confused wonder what I am doing

- tried the new iso and this time did not boot (something missing in config file was the error message - I assume from grub

I'll get there . . . Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jan 2007, 12:48    Post_subject:  

Any idea on minimum resource requirements, esp. memory? cpu?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Philh

Joined: 17 May 2006
Posts: 100
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jan 2007, 14:30    Post_subject:  

In Puppy 109
/etc/mousedevice psaux
/etc/mousebuttons 5

readlink /dev/mouse
/dev/psaux

In micromuppy
/etc/mousedevice input/mice
/etc/mousebuttons 5

and changing to psaux made no difference.


I also tried on a usbflash drive with wakepup today and had to add ramdisk_size=29000 to make it start otherwise I got kernel panic.

Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
amish

Joined: 24 Sep 2006
Posts: 616

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jan 2007, 15:13    Post_subject:  

i see transparency in jwm in the screenshot?

that's possible?

_________________
sadly, it is not possible to separate politics from free software. free software - politics = unfree software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jan 2007, 15:37    Post_subject:  

the last update had broken the iso again, as I made that on a second computer.
Here I now had to modify the initrd-editor (set the pad-value to 900 from 600).

I tested this new iso now in qemu, and it works.
Sorry Lobster.
Please try again.

Phil:
I must make more tests, to solve that issue, have no idea atm.

Amish:
I added transset, and a utility to set windows transparent.

Sage:
According to the picopup-thread, picopup seems to run on 486.
But the things I added, might run on a Pentium only.
It uses a 29 MB-ramdisk, so 32 MB might be sufficient.
Please try it Smile

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jan 2007, 16:18    Post_subject:  

Ok, in qemu my mouse works like this (qemu uses PS/2 emulation)

On the startscreen choose:
3: exit

Then type:
echo psaux>/etc/mousedevice
rm -f /dev/mouse
ln -s /dev/psaux /dev/mouse
xwin


I will add a menu-point for that later.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jan 2007, 18:03    Post_subject:  

uploaded version 002.

Changes:
- startscreen lets you choose between USB or PS/2 mouse
- JWM "power off" should work now.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5037
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jan 2007, 21:13    Post_subject:  

Mark; Looks like what I was messing with about 6 months back, very interesting.
It's a tough call, build up or strip down, each has it's advantages.
I got kdrive running on PicoPup, but I don't have MU's ability at making apps. work.

I'm running EmptyCrust-1.0.7, here's the info:
/etc/mousedevice = psaux
readlink /dev/mouse = /dev/psaux


I posted a problem I'm having jumping from the bootup Save & Squash to new ones.
Before login the boot ones have no user settings or working apps. for security.
I hope it can be done without rebooting, otherwise I'm in for a major rework.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jan 2007, 21:22    Post_subject:  

MU wrote:
Amish:
I added transset, and a utility to set windows transparent.

Yum! Is this available for Icewm as well? It would be great to have that feature in the new CE version, as part of the beautification efforts.

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jan 2007, 22:18    Post_subject:  

transset:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=596325826&t=6547

It does not work with the original Xvesa in Puppy, just with xorg or the recompiled xvesa from micro muppy.
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4779
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jan 2007, 23:02    Post_subject: Fun, apps and programming  

This is pure fun - X and file manager work and the file manager can load applications!

Time to learn PuppyBasic, the included programming language, and to search for PuppyBasic applications. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jan 2007, 23:35    Post_subject:  

MU wrote:
transset:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=596325826&t=6547

It does not work with the original Xvesa in Puppy, just with xorg or the recompiled xvesa from micro muppy.
Mark

Thanks, Mark. It works fine. Can this be made the default condition for Inactive windows? If so, how would that be achieved?

Thanks again
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0848s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0164s) ][ GZIP on ]