Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 17 Dec 2017, 23:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Business
Puppy now has a home-grown weather forecast utility!
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 4 [58 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 11295
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Thu 28 Jul 2016, 23:57    Post subject:  

Hi David.

In terminal, type
Code:
meteo h
it will tell you the basics.

Get back to me if there are still hazy points.

~~~~~~~~~~
In short you type
meteo city type-of-terminal

Instead of the name of a city, you can use longitude and latitude coordinates, a
postal code, or an IATA airport code. But let's keep it simple for now.

Example
Code:
meteo Cardiff 1
will show the weather for the city Cardiff, in Wales, using the minimalist st terminal
(in which the ANSI colors show nicely on black background with white type).

If you type
Code:
meteo Cardiff 2
you'll get the same weather info for the same city. However it will be displayed
using urxvt, in basically two colors over a transparent background. A few of the
original colors may randomly seep through, but not all. For some reason (great
mystery, this; I have not figured out why), urxvt intercepts some of the ANSI colors.

IHTH. BFN.

~~~~~~~~~~
PS. I'll give some thought to the menu portability issue you mentioned.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1016
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2016, 18:53    Post subject: meteo h terminal results
Subject description: Tahr Pup 584
 

G'day/jour musher0,

I installed your latest weather pet in a Full TahrPup-5.8.4. There was an earlier version already installed which I just left.

I ran meteo h in this Pup's terminal and first had a blue window of problems, followed quickly by a black background window that looked like the expected help window. Screenshots attached.

With my wrrt.EN.lst symlink from sda5 in place, I ran the weather program and there was no problem, apart from the initial message about my terminal configuration which required an <Enter> press..

David S.
meteo_h_consolestart.png
 Description   
 Filesize   88.88 KB
 Viewed   455 Time(s)

meteo_h_consolestart.png

meteo_h_console2.png
 Description   
 Filesize   230.75 KB
 Viewed   441 Time(s)

meteo_h_console2.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 11295
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2016, 22:56    Post subject:  

Hi David.

I installed 666philb's TahrPup-6.0.5 on this machine and guess what? I'm getting the
same warning you're getting before the litlle st terminal shows the weather report!!!
I think we better report this quirk to phil.

I also got the same error messages as you got when using the main urxvt terminal.
Which means the urxvt the TahrPup is using does not have the full complement of
perl libraries that it needs.

I double-checked and the $TERM variable is correctly set. So... Again, these
weirdnesses should be reported to phil in the TahrPup 605 thread.

In practice, if we just have to press the Enter key an extra time to get the report,
it's not so bad, is it?

For a minute there, you had me worried: I thought I had done something serious and
that the entire heavens were going to open and pour their contents on my head.
(Sorry for the bad humor!) Twisted Evil But as it turns out, it's not my script, it's some
quirk in the TahrPup.

I'm glad you found a way to get your personalized menu working, BTW.

BFN.
Terminal_Warning.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   10.77 KB
 Viewed   430 Time(s)

Terminal_Warning.jpg


_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Wed 03 Aug 2016, 00:15    Post subject: For Ice-cream POS, or tan creams  

Musher0, tu l'as mis en categorie 'business' pour les marchands de glaces, ou de crèmes à bronzer ?
T'as vu, en Business class, ya que moi qui répond, mais on a de la visite.
Business.jpg
Description  Pffee, nos businessmen n'ont pas de puppy. Les programmeurs, si !
jpg

 Download 
Filename  Business.jpg 
Filesize  50.56 KB 
Downloaded  127 Time(s) 

_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 11295
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 13 Aug 2016, 20:28    Post subject:  

Hello all.

Please find attached a version 3.8b.

I only added the capacity to change the colors of the main title and underscores
from dark to light, and a call to the "GTK chtheme" utility if you find it necessary.

I kept it very simple because I didn't want to transform this weather script into an
art gallery or a fashion runway. There are only two color sets: bisque and snow for
dark GTK themes OR SaddleBrown and orange for light GTK themes. Of course
with some GTK themes, either color scheme will be fine.

I tested those colors a bit and they seem to fit in and maintain readability with
pretty much any theme. The color change can be controlled directly from the menu.
(Please see screen captures.)

It's sort of an on and off switch. From a terminal, simply type:
Code:
meteo c

If you're not satisfied with the color result, do it again and the original colors will
be re-displayed.

I hope you'll enjoy these small changes. BFN.

~~~~~~~~~~~~
Due to forum attachments limitations, the pet archive has been split in two. To
reassemble the pet archive please type in terminal:
Code:
cat WorldWeather-3.8b.xa?.pet > WorldWeather-3.8b.pet
and then to install click on WorldWeather-3.8b.pet.
light-or-dark_2016-08-13(2).jpg
 Description   Light color scheme for main title and underscores.
 Filesize   56.31 KB
 Viewed   366 Time(s)

light-or-dark_2016-08-13(2).jpg

light-or-dark_2016-08-13(3).jpg
 Description   Dark color scheme for main title and underscores. Please note that the color of the
font and the font of the regular entries themselves are controlled by the GTK theme.
 Filesize   51.55 KB
 Viewed   361 Time(s)

light-or-dark_2016-08-13(3).jpg

WorldWeather-3.8b.xaa.pet
Description  First part. Don't forget to reassemble the two parts, We install the reassembled pet, not its parts! ;)
pet

 Download 
Filename  WorldWeather-3.8b.xaa.pet 
Filesize  189.45 KB 
Downloaded  121 Time(s) 
WorldWeather-3.8b.xab.pet
Description  Second part
pet

 Download 
Filename  WorldWeather-3.8b.xab.pet 
Filesize  189.45 KB 
Downloaded  114 Time(s) 

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1442
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2016, 10:28    Post subject:  

Dear musher0,

Looks very good and, since I use a light theme, it works nicely. Thanks. Smile

With kind regards,
vovchik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 11295
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2016, 14:26    Post subject:  

Hi, vovchik.

Thanks for the thanks! Smile BFN.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1016
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Tue 18 Oct 2016, 20:11    Post subject: BIG weather in one Pup
Subject description: Terminal issue in this Pup?
 

G'day musher0,

Including your world-weather in most of my Pups (both Full & Frugal), I have had a strange response from just one version of TahrPup-6.0.2 where the terminal window that opens to display the weather report is bigger than the display.

All other Pups are "normal" where the terminal window takes up more than half the display but does not go 'off the edge' (see attached screenshots).

In every Pup, I still have to press <Enter> as I first get the message about the terminal set-up not being completely correct.

The over-size terminal window with over-size font has a red 'X' top left (see screenshot) but I don't know which program this is, so don't know if I can fix this problem with a config edit for this one terminal package (e.g. reduce the font size).

The over-size terminal appears as soon as I choose a location from the menu and get that terminal 'error' message - so it is not just too big when displaying the weather report itself.

With the demise of the weather-forecast widgets due to changes by yahoo and accuweather Crying or Very sad , your world-weather package is very useful as a desktop-clickable, stand-alone detailed weather report/forecast.

So I'm hoping there is a simple fix and explanation for this one-off behaviour.

If you need more information about this oddity, please ask.

Thanks,
David S.
BIGweather.png
 Description   Over-size terminal display with weather in tahrpup-6.0.2
 Filesize   59.8 KB
 Viewed   259 Time(s)

BIGweather.png

normalWeather.png
 Description   normal terminal display in all other Pups
 Filesize   196.38 KB
 Viewed   257 Time(s)

normalWeather.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mfb

Joined: 22 Mar 2016
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2016, 17:58    Post subject:  

davids45,

At TahrPup-6.0.2 > Menu > Utility you may find “Urxvt Terminal Control (see Urxvt screen shot)" where you can make type size and other changes.

If “Urxvt Terminal Control” is not found in TahrPup (or another pup) it may be downloaded from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=97337

If (as per the Output screen shot) all you want is your Chatswood, Australia weather forecast with a plain (i.e. less coloured) view and the second column titled “Noon” instead of “Afternoon” then merely open your Urxvt full screen and:

to show the forecast in metric units type (or copy and paste)
Code:
curl wttr.in/Chatswood


or, to show the forecast in imperial units type ( or copy and paste)
Code:
curl wttr.in/Chatswood?u


EDIT: before using either of the code lines above - I found (by trial and error) some "Urxvt Terminal Control" settings which work well on my desktop are :

Text.White - Background.Black - Font.DejaVu Sans Mono:Bold - Size.14 - Width.126 - Height.42
.
Urxvt.png
 Description   
 Filesize   129.16 KB
 Viewed   265 Time(s)

Urxvt.png

Output.png
 Description   
 Filesize   112.33 KB
 Viewed   274 Time(s)

Output.png


Last edited by mfb on Sun 30 Oct 2016, 06:02; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1016
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2016, 00:58    Post subject:  

G'day mfb,

Thanks for your reply to my query.

I'm interstate visiting grandchildren but when back in Sydney next week, I will try your suggestion to fix the problem with that Tahrpup on my desktop computer.

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4750
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2016, 02:26    Post subject:  

OMG - fantastic musher! I really didn't expect it to work for my location (Auckland, NZ) but it did! And in colour! (although the colour doesn't show too well in my screenie) Haha, very clever. Only complaint is it thinks New Zealand is part of Asia - we are actually part of "Oceania". Nowhere near Asia. Small detail.

I will let you know if it gets the weather wrong and I get wet...
Smile
Auckland_weather.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   88.95 KB
 Viewed   146 Time(s)

Auckland_weather.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 11295
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2016, 02:35    Post subject:  

Hi guys.

Sorry for clocking in late, but this utility is not working anymore for me...

A "cobbler's son" tale perhaps, or maybe the webmaster decided to put my
url on the black list for testing his utility too frequently.

I have to see what's wrong up here before I can provide any insight on
the problems you are experiencing at this time.

BFN.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1016
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2016, 19:38    Post subject: Iterum mea culpa
Subject description: Two versions of weather gave oversize terminal
 

G'day,

Thanks mfb for your post about my too-big problem but it was not the fix I needed.

I found the problem of the oversized terminal window with world weather was being caused by me (as usual Rolling Eyes ) - I had two versions of world-weather loaded in this Frugal Tahrpup Embarassed .

One (the first I had loaded in this Pup) was running from symlinks to my data partition.

The other I had added recently to my 'all programs' sfs that I boot with all my Frugals.

So when I changed to the updated sfs for this tahrpup frugal, there were two copies in the system Shocked .

When I deleted the symlink version and ran just the sfs version, the weather display returned to normal (compare today's screenshot with earlier post).

David S.
weather_sfs_only.jpg
 Description   weather rreport now fits screen with only one version running
 Filesize   145.18 KB
 Viewed   90 Time(s)

weather_sfs_only.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 4 [58 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Business
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0624s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0105s) ][ GZIP on ]