Remote desktop client that remembers settings

Stuff that has yet to be sorted into a category.
Message
Author
Brian C
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu 09 Feb 2006, 04:19

Remote desktop client that remembers settings

#1 Post by Brian C »

My company is moving to RDP, and I'm glad that Puppy has an Remote Desktop client built in, but it's annoying to have to enter my settings every time I start it. I'm using the Remote Desktop RDP client, as the entry "Rdesktop RDP client" does nothing when I click on it.

Is there an RDP client for Puppy that will save my settings?

User avatar
WhoDo
Posts: 4428
Joined: Wed 12 Jul 2006, 01:58
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

Re: Remote desktop client that remembers settings

#2 Post by WhoDo »

Brian C wrote:Is there an RDP client for Puppy that will save my settings?
...or, alternatively, a way to make the existing RDP client recall settings?

I'm in the same canoe as Brian C. I use RDP client all the time to access work from home, where I am often doing development work. I prefer accessing everything from Puppy these days, but putting the settings in every time, while not difficult, does wear a bit thin after a while.

BTW, Brian, I think you'll find that Rdesktop is the engine that is driven by Remote Desktop. One won't work without the other.

Brian C
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu 09 Feb 2006, 04:19

#3 Post by Brian C »

Ah, thanks for the clarification on Rdesktop. I wondered why there was a dead link in the menu.

Letting the current RDP client remember settings would be preferable, as I just found out that it's the only Linux RDP client I've tried that lets me pass my local HDD on to the remote server as a drive.

User avatar
rarsa
Posts: 3053
Joined: Sun 29 May 2005, 20:30
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Remote desktop client that remembers settings

#4 Post by rarsa »

Brian C wrote:Is there an RDP client for Puppy that will save my settings?
Here is what I do:

For example. Assuming that you want to connect to a server called "devserver":

1. Create a text file with the name of your connection. e.g. devserver. The name is not important it will just be a mnemonic for you.
2. Open that file with a text editor such as geany or leafpad and put the rdesktop command there. for example:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
rdesktop -g 1024x768 devserver -K
Of course here you will put whatever parameters you want. If your connect to your server using an numeric IP, just put it instead of the server name. e.g.

Code: Select all

rdesktop -g 800x600 10.100.56.189 -K
3. Make that file executable

Code: Select all

chmod +x devserver
4. If you want, drag that file to the desktop for easy access and assign a nice icon ;)

Thats it. Actually I have a folder with one script per server I connect to.

To see all the different options you can use in that command, open an rxvt console and type

Code: Select all

rdesktop -h
[url]http://rarsa.blogspot.com[/url] Covering my eclectic thoughts
[url]http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48[/url] Covering my Linux How-to

User avatar
WhoDo
Posts: 4428
Joined: Wed 12 Jul 2006, 01:58
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

Re: Remote desktop client that remembers settings

#5 Post by WhoDo »

rarsa wrote:To see all the different options you can use in that command, open an rxvt console and type

Code: Select all

rdesktop -h
Thanks, rarsa. I remember this discussion from an earlier thread but I couldn't find it again. I've marked this one for later use now.

Much appreciated.

Brian C
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu 09 Feb 2006, 04:19

#6 Post by Brian C »

I'm having trouble getting the commands to work. When I enter them, the terminal spits out the same output as when I do "rdesktop -h". Here's what I'm trying:

rdesktop -u:user -p:password server:port

User avatar
WhoDo
Posts: 4428
Joined: Wed 12 Jul 2006, 01:58
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

Dumb bunny

#7 Post by WhoDo »

Ok, I've got everything I need sorted EXCEPT how to set up RDP client so my local drives are available.

I've tried various permutations of the -r option to no avail. Guess I'm just a dumb bunny. Anyone using this who can let me know the correct syntax?

All help greatly appreciated.

Cheers

User avatar
WhoDo
Posts: 4428
Joined: Wed 12 Jul 2006, 01:58
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

#8 Post by WhoDo »

Brian C wrote:I'm having trouble getting the commands to work. When I enter them, the terminal spits out the same output as when I do "rdesktop -h". Here's what I'm trying:

rdesktop -u:user -p:password server:port
Nope, that won't work. Here is my working syntax:

Code: Select all

rdesktop -f -a 16 servername -u  username -p password 
Note there are no colons and color depth is specified as bits rather than number of colors.

Hope that helps, Brian.

User avatar
HairyWill
Posts: 2928
Joined: Fri 26 May 2006, 23:29
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Remote desktop client that remembers settings

#9 Post by HairyWill »

WhoDo wrote:I remember this discussion from an earlier thread but I couldn't find it again. I've marked this one for later use now.

Much appreciated.
I think you mean
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=12221
Will
contribute: [url=http://www.puppylinux.org]community website[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6c3nm6]screenshots[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6j2gbz]puplets[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/57gykn]wiki[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/5dgr83]rss[/url]

User avatar
HairyWill
Posts: 2928
Joined: Fri 26 May 2006, 23:29
Location: Southampton, UK

mapping local disks to rdesktop server

#10 Post by HairyWill »

WhoDo wrote:Ok, I've got everything I need sorted EXCEPT how to set up RDP client so my local drives are available

Code: Select all

rdesktop -a 15 -f -k en-gb -r disk:test=/root kangaroo.ecs.soton.ac.uk
mounts my local root as a drive called test on the remote machine.
Will
contribute: [url=http://www.puppylinux.org]community website[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6c3nm6]screenshots[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6j2gbz]puplets[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/57gykn]wiki[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/5dgr83]rss[/url]

Brian C
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu 09 Feb 2006, 04:19

#11 Post by Brian C »

That disk-mounting line works for me. Thanks, guys, I'm all set now!

User avatar
WhoDo
Posts: 4428
Joined: Wed 12 Jul 2006, 01:58
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

#12 Post by WhoDo »

Yeehah! Correct on both counts, HairyWill. Much appreciated.

Cheers

User avatar
rarsa
Posts: 3053
Joined: Sun 29 May 2005, 20:30
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

#13 Post by rarsa »

Just FYI...

I worked yesterday on improving the remotedesktop GUI.

I didn't have time for the final touches but here is the changelog. This is the time for your wish list:

- Cleaned up the interface a little bit: Use a clean header image, aligned entry fields, Reduced and fixed the size of the window
- Added the option to save and load a profile.

Things that I may add if there is the interest:
- Keep a list of the most recent profiles used for easy access
- Ability to specify a default profile

I hope I'll finish it tonight.
[url]http://rarsa.blogspot.com[/url] Covering my eclectic thoughts
[url]http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48[/url] Covering my Linux How-to

User avatar
rarsa
Posts: 3053
Joined: Sun 29 May 2005, 20:30
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

#14 Post by rarsa »

I'd appreciate if you can test the improved RemoteDesktopClient and give me your opinion.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=92220

Was that what you had in mind?
[url]http://rarsa.blogspot.com[/url] Covering my eclectic thoughts
[url]http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48[/url] Covering my Linux How-to

User avatar
WhoDo
Posts: 4428
Joined: Wed 12 Jul 2006, 01:58
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

#15 Post by WhoDo »

rarsa wrote:Was that what you had in mind?
Oh, ya! That's it exactly! Works a treat, too. I can have lots of profiles and load the one I need at any time! I love it!

Thanks rarsa. Much appreciated.

Cheers

Brian C
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu 09 Feb 2006, 04:19

#16 Post by Brian C »

The profile save/load feature is just what I need. It'd be nice if it would save my password, but of course that's a security hazard. Thanks!

hankyknot
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat 25 Mar 2006, 00:26

sorta kinda got it with one noob question

#17 Post by hankyknot »

Ok so I opened a terminal windows, typed in the instrauctions


rdesktop -f -a 16 servername -u username -p password

(with appropiate parameters) hit enter and it worked like a charm.

So I opened leafpad, copied the line into there and saved it with the filename of the terminal server.

What now, how do I make it executable? I know this thread mentions chmod but where to I input that? Do I need anything else in my script or just this command?
Opening my mind...
...by closing my Windows.

hankyknot
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat 25 Mar 2006, 00:26

Gee I might just be getting the hang of this

#18 Post by hankyknot »

Ok so I managed to figure out the chmod thing, navigate to the folder where the script was, right click and select Window>Open Terminal Here then run the chmod script.

Ran the now exectueable file with no extra stuff in it, just the one line and it connected with no problems at all.
Opening my mind...
...by closing my Windows.

hankyknot
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat 25 Mar 2006, 00:26

Lupu rdp client?

#19 Post by hankyknot »

So its 3 years on and were upgrading our linux boxes to lupu but I see no RDP client.

Is there one that I've missed or do I have to go get one?
Opening my mind...
...by closing my Windows.

Mark_C
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat 28 Aug 2010, 16:36

#20 Post by Mark_C »

I am running Lucid Puppy 5.1.1
I use rdesktop-1.4.1.pet from version 3, it seems to work fine.
If you load up puppy 3 in your package manager it should be in there.


Mark

Post Reply