Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 17:08
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Muppy 007-212
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 6 [87 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4782
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jan 2007, 04:18    Post subject:  

Mark - I finally got it loaded, but there are serious problems with the keyboard. Neither the option for the UK nor (save us all!) the US are responding correctly, possibly not loading properly. The numerals are only obtainable by holding down the shift key and I couldn't set my network because I couldn't find the full stop (point, period). There were a lot of strange symbol keys present, but these didn't seem to correspond to any recognisable European or Asian script. This is fairly fundamental, probably meriting an incremental version issue rather than a patch? Indeed, I cannot d/l any patches until it's fixed.
[ If you need a selection of UK keyboards, let me know how many! I may have a French one somewhere, too. ]

Otherwise it is totally brilliant and you deserve a lot of congratulations. Glad to see the TuxRacer has become de rigeur at last - apart from Solitaire, and this one I don't know why small distro writers bother with some of the other cr*p listed under their token games offerings. Waste of space in many cases.

But, but, but - once you manage to refine and debug everything, I would strongly advise that you reinstate the full install to HD option. This one really is worth it. This facility should make it viable on an even larger range of HW.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jan 2007, 04:24    Post subject:  

strange, I ran it on a notebook with US-layout yesterday.
Will investigate later, must leave now.
Anyone else has this problem?
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4782
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jan 2007, 07:15    Post subject:  

Stranger and stranger. Seems to be some machine-specific issues, possibly associated with memory capacity? My biggest, fastest machine runs OK with everything loaded including KDE, but lesser beasts seem to give a range of different issues, including k/b mis-function, lock-ups, etc. Initial selections can give some strange behavior, too, but not reproducibly. Await the results from additional testers. But it's still terrific and rivals the major distros now.
In the meantime, it would be helpful to have an assessment of the minimum memory requirement for the full monty, please.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jan 2007, 08:14    Post subject:  

I ran it on a notebook with I think 256 MB (don't have it here).
It ran fine, but I used a 500 MB swap-partition.
Older Muppy-versions freezed the computer without swap, when I ran OpenOffice.
(when the memory-bar in Icedock reached maximum).

So on low-memory machines, a swap-partition seems to be a "must".

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4782
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jan 2007, 09:05    Post subject:  

Thanks for that, Mark. In the interests of speed of testing, I loosened all the HD cradles to run the CD, so no swap. Assumed those machines had enough main memory. Perhaps not. Bigger, does, of course, bring its own penalties! Perhaps a warning is needed in the initial boot screen so that new converts don't get a bad impression?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
polux


Joined: 15 Dec 2006
Posts: 11
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jan 2007, 12:55    Post subject:  

Im running Muppy 007 from CD in 2 laptops. One is a Compaq Presario, AMD Athlon XP2000, 500 RAM, no Hard Disk and with a US Keyboard, the other is a IBM T41 with German keyboard.

No problems with the keyboard layouts in both. Everything works Ok. Smile

I love my Muppy Twisted Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jam


Joined: 14 Jul 2006
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jan 2007, 14:23    Post subject: Muppy007 Service Packs  

Mark,

Can't see Muppy007 service packs when using the PSI installer. I can install manually so it's no big deal, but I'm spoiled using PSI! Smile

_________________
Jam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4782
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jan 2007, 14:58    Post subject:  

Apart from laptops, which I tend to avoid, there's a simple answer to using the full version of Mark's masterpiece. Fit one older CD drive to read and boot from and fit a more modern DVD/CD-RW/DVD-RW for running, saving, watching, burning stuff. Ideally, choose an older drive made after ~1997 with a speed >x20 if you want to boot to a CD-RW/DVD-RW image, but almost anything will boot to a CD-R. Nobody wants old CD drives any more so they can be canabilised from the local skip/tip/dumpster; around 50% are likely to be still working!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jam


Joined: 14 Jul 2006
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jan 2007, 16:32    Post subject: VESA / Xorg Auto-Detect  

Mark,

Would it be possible to auto-detect whether to use Xvesa or Xorg depending on the graphics card? There are problems using Xvesa with Intel chipsets, yet Xorg works just fine so I was wondering if it would be possible to revert to Xorg if an Xvesa functionality probe fails.

_________________
Jam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1101
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Fri 19 Jan 2007, 05:51    Post subject: Muppy 007 trayicons
Subject description: does not display application icon
 

Hi Mark,

Congratulations again on a great version of puppy. It is running very fast on my 400MHz processor with 192MB RAM and 500MB swapfile. Faster than Puppy 2.13. and also KDE is extremely usable for the first time ever on this PC

I wonder what I am doing wrong here with the icewin trayicons. Even if I associate an application-specific icon with the shortcuts contained in the /root/trayicons folder, they do not appear in the icewin tray even after having been refreshed using the >> and << buttons. Not an urgent problem. Have a good day! Very Happy

Best regards

tronkel (Jack)

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 19 Jan 2007, 13:03    Post subject:  

you must right-click the ">>" button.
This opens a drag-area (right-click to close it).
Drag programs on it, then left-click on ">>" and then "<<".
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
primalphunk

Joined: 04 Nov 2006
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Fri 19 Jan 2007, 15:46    Post subject:  

Looks good but like Sage I have been unable to get the correct keyboard map(US in my case) to load.

peace,
James
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 19 Jan 2007, 16:08    Post subject:  

ah I see, I think it the keyboard-wizard has a bug with UTF-settings.

Please type in a consolewindow:

export LANG=C
input-wizard


If it works then, I'll add it to the servicepack.
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1101
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Fri 19 Jan 2007, 16:46    Post subject: Icewin trayicons
Subject description: problem with application icons
 

Quote:
you must right-click the ">>" button.
This opens a drag-area (right-click to close it).
Drag programs on it, then left-click on ">>" and then "<<".
Mark


I tried what you suggested Mark, but the only application icon that appears after using the drag area and the >> and << buttons, is the generic puppy cog-wheel icon.

Is there any linux command I could use that would refresh the configuration relating to associated program icons for the traybuttons perhaps?

I wonder if anyone else has experienced this problem.

Thanks

tronkel (Jack)

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 19 Jan 2007, 17:07    Post subject:  

ah I see, it uses the globicons from rox 1.2.

Workaround: edit:
/usr/local/MU-rox-traybuttons/resource/run-mu_rox_traybuttons

replace line 14:
Code:
globicons = readfiletolist("/root/Choices/ROX-Filer/globicons")


with:
Code:
globicons = readfiletolist("/root/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/ROX-Filer/globicons")


I will have to add a check, that finds out if rox1 or rox2 is activated.
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 6 [87 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0796s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0087s) ][ GZIP on ]