Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 26 Sep 2017, 05:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Slacko64-6.3.0
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 16 [238 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 14, 15, 16 Next
Author Message
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 11 Nov 2015, 19:29    Post subject: Slacko64-6313 running Live on Intel desktop  

This post pertains to the 6131 ISO obtained from the@Ally mirror.

On an Intel desktop, Live operations is fast, smooth. And the new desktop layout took no time to understand its objective.

What a work of Art! Very professional desktop, background, etc.
Code:
# uname -a
Linux Slacko646313Helen 4.1.11 #1 SMP Mon Oct 26 11:19:32 EST 2015 x86_64 Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.06GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
# free
             total         used         free       shared      buffers
Mem:       3065688       498244      2567444       272012        42404
-/+ buffers:             455840      2609848
Swap:      4290556            0      4290556
# samba -V
Version 4.1.20
Will try the CD on the "problem" AIO PC, next.
Update on the "problem" AIO PC: LAN issues have disappeared! Now, this PC can be used for local and internet WAN needs, again using SLACKO64.
Update 2 - I was premature in the LAN service. It only last for about 1/2 minutes when it stops allowing traffic in/out of the PC. Further, SWAP is not found at boot. Thus, all 3 issues reported earlier, remain. I did have my fingers crossed. This AIO is my newest and fastest of the bunch in the house. I am hopeful that Slacko64 can be its main OS distro. Wondering if the problem is the kernel or some other issue where the distro is mis-reading the UEFI firmware on boot, leading to the problems upon arrival at FirstRUN???

Update 3 - Tried boottime puppy "pfix=fw_drv". No change to any issue.

Funny it works on most of the 64bit distros, but not this one. And its the newest PC in the house; the only one which embodies UEFI.
Code:
# echo "This is a pristine boot on AIO-touch using same CD as used with a desktop PC"                                                                                         
This is a pristine boot on AIO-touch using same CD as used with a desktop PC
# uname -a
Linux puppypc18539 4.1.11 #1 SMP Mon Oct 26 11:19:32 EST 2015 x86_64 Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G2020 @ 2.90GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
# free
             total         used         free       shared      buffers
Mem:       3910220       508484      3401736       267040        43132
-/+ buffers:             465352      3444868
Swap:            0            0            0

Thanks for all the contributions that is allowing this distro to evolve. It all appears to be coming together beautifully.

Edited: To provide Updates

P.S. Did anyone else see the contribution by @RufWoof to give this distro the ability so that other PCs on the LAN can boot without the use of any local peripherals; namely no HDD/USB/SD/DVD/etc is used to boot the LAN PC swiftly. That package should be in the Repo, if someone can PET it. Idea

Last edited by gcmartin on Thu 12 Nov 2015, 03:13; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2111

PostPosted: Wed 11 Nov 2015, 21:46    Post subject: Re: Slacko64-6313 running Live on Intel desktop  

gcmartin wrote:
P.S. Did anyone else see the contribution by @RufWoof to give this distro the ability so that other PCs on the LAN can boot without the use of any local peripherals; namely no HDD/USB/SD/DVD/etc is used to boot the LAN PC swiftly. That package should be in the Repo, if someone can PET it. Idea

It's 'simply' a (weird) remaster. Wary 5.3 barebone with just XVesa, so a good chance that it will load straight to desktop and net connect, added to a Tahr 6.04 kernel - so wide range of hardware supported.

Ally's kindly already mirrored it (thanks Ally).

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=871518#871518

Once the small barebone pup (Wary 5.3) has loaded to desktop there's a script in the root directory that first runs a remaster (without needing a CD/ISO) and makes that boot image available for other PC's on the same LAN to boot from, flashes through in seconds as it throws the compression of the remastered initrd (with puppy sfs inserted into that) to the background - whilst it downloads the latest firefox and a Wary 5.5 full blown image from the 'Cloud'. Once booted the client can then become a server to boot other PC's from (prior server can become a client of one of its prior clients).

In effect Wary 5.5 running a late kernel. Old but still good in many respects. Runs the latest firefox, Skype works fine, older but still good (and stable) Abiword etc. I've just been watching BBC iPlayer for instance on this old clunker and XVesa holds up well. With Libre sfs loaded even some of my largest Libre Calc spreadsheets with loads of graphs/images display/run fine. On later hardware it's very fast.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6706
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu 12 Nov 2015, 01:50    Post subject:  

Manual frugal upgrade from 6.0.8.1 to 6.1.3.1.Appears to be pretty problem free.

Code:
# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Slacko64 Puppy, version 6.1.3.1

Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GT218 [GeForce 210] (rev a2)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
  Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1024x768x16
  Depth (bits, or planes):              24
  Modules requested to be loaded:       dbe

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
  Driver loaded (and currently in use): nouveau
  Loaded modules: dbe dri2 exa extmod fb glx kbd mouse shadowfb

Actual rendering on monitor:
  Resolution:  1440x900 pixels (381x238 millimeters)
  Depth:       24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video



Code:
# inxi -Fff
System:    Host: puppypc29574 Kernel: 4.1.11 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.2 Distro: Slacko64 Puppy 6.1.3.1
Machine:   Mobo: ASUSTeK model: M5A97 LE R2.0 version: Rev 1.xx serial: 150545593600028
           Bios: American Megatrends version: 2601 date: 03/24/2015
CPU:       Hexa core AMD FX-6300 Six-Core (-MCP-) cache: 12288 KB
           Clock Speeds: 1: 1400.00 MHz 2: 2000.00 MHz 3: 1400.00 MHz 4: 3000.00 MHz 5: 1400.00 MHz 6: 1400.00 MHz
           CPU Flags: 3dnowprefetch abm aes aperfmperf apic arat avx bmi1 clflush cmov cmp_legacy
           constant_tsc cpb cr8_legacy cx16 cx8 de decodeassists extapic extd_apicid f16c flushbyasid
           fma fma4 fpu fxsr fxsr_opt ht hw_pstate ibs lahf_lm lbrv lm lwp mca mce misalignsse mmx
           mmxext monitor msr mtrr nodeid_msr nonstop_tsc nopl npt nrip_save nx osvw pae pat pausefilter
           pclmulqdq pdpe1gb perfctr_core perfctr_nb pfthreshold pge pni popcnt pse pse36 rdtscp
           rep_good sep skinit sse sse2 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm svm_lock syscall tbm tce topoext
           tsc tsc_scale vmcb_clean vme vmmcall wdt xop xsave
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GT218 [GeForce 210]
           X.org: 1.14.3 drivers: nouveau (unloaded: vesa) tty size: 80x25 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Audio:     Card-1: AMD/ATI [Advanced Micro Devices ] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) driver: snd_hda_intel Sound: ALSA ver: k4.1.11
           Card-2: NVIDIA High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel
Network:   Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: 1c:87:2c:5a:bb:e2
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1120.2GB (2.5% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: KINGSTON_SV300S3 size: 120.0GB
           2: id: /dev/sdb model: WDC_WD10EZEX size: 1000.2GB
Partition: ID: swap-1 size: 8.60GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
RAID:      No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present
Sensors:   None detected - is lm-sensors installed and configured?
Info:      Processes: 132 Uptime: 6 min Memory: 487.9/7875.5MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 1.9.17



Code:
# free
             total         used         free       shared      buffers
Mem:       8064528      1447624      6616904       235160       116208
-/+ buffers:            1331416      6733112
Swap:      8396796            0      8396796


Looking good. Very Happy
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   66.33 KB
 Viewed   1521 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8656
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 12 Nov 2015, 03:10    Post subject:  

smokey01 wrote:
One finger tapping does not appear to be persistent between reboots on the mouse pad.


Hmm.. I just tested in 32 and 64 in 6.1.3.1 (and my latest testing) and works in all three across reboot.

Is the flsynclient.desktop file present in $HOME/.config/autostart?

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 1498
Location: lincoln, uk

PostPosted: Thu 12 Nov 2015, 07:04    Post subject:  

I'm currently typing from tahr64 but have a similar touchpad issue on reboot

I use lenovo laptops so have access to the 'mouse' (red tit), I hate touchpads so turn it off in the flsynclient, however when rebooted have to turn it off again, maybe a woof-ce thing?

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8656
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 14 Nov 2015, 18:37    Post subject:  

zigbert wrote:

- Will there be available a catalyst driver for Radeon HD 6550D (get correct resolution - now using vesa)?


Sigmund
The Zabuton icons are green


Are you sure it is using vesa? I hope not. Does screen res change after 'loading kernel modules' at boot screen? Then you are using ati or radeon.

EDIT: Ahh.. but maybe it wants modesetting driver. That works too! (You have to set it up in xorgwizard).


Ok.. I loaded up my radeon card (remember last year when there was a broken capacior on the board?) and it's not quite stable Sad . Apart from that it appears AMD catalyst driver doesn't support k4.1.11 (or even any 4 kernel Rolling Eyes )

However.. I got really crap res with the ATI Xorg driver too ... BUT found the solution. Cool

Here's a link for reference. https://wiki.ubuntu.com/X/Config/Resolution#Adding_undetected_resolutions

So you must know the happy resolution to continue..

Mine is 1600x1050. I don't know how on earth you can find this programmatically when the kernel already thinks your res is crap. ddcprobe may help but it didn't for me; its code is too old.

Once you have your res do this:

Code:
cvt 1600 1050 60 #60 is a good refresh point to start at for LCD


Here is mine
Code:
# cvt 1600 1050 60                                                     
# 1600x1050 59.96 Hz (CVT) hsync: 65.30 kHz; pclk: 140.00 MHz
Modeline "1600x1050_60.00"  140.00  1600 1704 1872 2144  1050 1053 1063 1089 -hsync +vsync


Now you must run xrandr to add the mode

Code:
xrandr --newmode "1600x1050_60.00"  140.00  1600 1704 1872 2144  1050 1053 1063 1089 -hsync +vsync


Now you must get your default display- it may be VGA-0 or DVI-0 or HDMI-1 or maybe something else. Run this:

Code:
# xrandr|grep -w 'connected'
VGA-0 connected 1600x1050+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm


So mine is VGA-0

Then tell xandr to store it all.. (only lasts for the life of the X session)

Code:
xrandr --addmode VGA-0 1600x1050_60.00


Now it's time to run it and see if it works..

Code:
xrandr --output VGA-0 --mode 1600x1050_60.00


Beauty.. it all works! (well maybe Rolling Eyes )

However the pinboard is a mess with tiled wallpaper and drive icons heading to the North Pole.

So we copy the bottom bit of code out of event-manager, glues it all together and make a script in ~/Startup. I called it 0xrandr

Code:
#!/bin/sh
xrandr --newmode "1600x1050_60.00"  140.00  1600 1704 1872 2144  1050 1053 1063 1089 -hsync +vsync
xrandr --addmode VGA-0 1600x1050_60.00
xrandr --output VGA-0 --mode 1600x1050_60.00
PID=`grep '/bin/ash.*/sbin/pup_event_frontend_d' <<< $(ps -eo pid,command) | awk '{print $1}'`
kill -9 $PID
echo 'ICONWIPE' > /tmp/pup_event_icon_change_flag
/sbin/clean_desk_icons
rox -p "$HOME/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin"
kill $(pidof pup_event_frontend_d)
pup_event_frontend_d &


So on each X restart we should get a nice desktop (well after a bit of clunking around).

HTH

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4737

PostPosted: Sat 14 Nov 2015, 20:34    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:

Are you sure it is using vesa? I hope not. Does screen res change after 'loading kernel modules' at boot screen? Then you are using ati or radeon.

EDIT: Ahh.. but maybe it wants modesetting driver. That works too! (You have to set it up in xorgwizard)...


Iguleder, akash_rawal and I worked on a kernel patch to improve usability of the framebuffer for use with Xfbdev on cards that don't use kernel mode setting here:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=78993
It automatically picks the highest supported resolution for the framebuffer which Xfbdev can then use.

On a couple of my video cards I get significantly better performance with xfbdev and tinygl than the latest Xorg drivers with Mesa... perhaps because the former will actually fit in CPU cache while the latter requires that I mount a partition just to build it, but that is pure speculation.

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8656
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 15 Nov 2015, 06:59    Post subject:  

Hi

Anyone want to test Skype?

http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko6414.1/skype-4.3.0.37.sfs

It's the same one FatDog64 uses. I stopped using skype ever since a MS account was required so my testing goes as far as seeing the UI.

32 bit libs are REQUIRED : http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko6414.1/32bit-libs-slacko6.sfs

Load 'em with sfs_load and tell me if it works.

I'm sure the data capture at the MS end works anyway.. Laughing

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8656
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 15 Nov 2015, 07:35    Post subject:  

2 Nvidia drivers are available.

http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko6414.1/nvidia_legacy-340.93-4.1.11-x86_64.pet

http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko6414.1/nvidia_old-304.128-4.1.11-x86_64.pet

If anyone wants to compile the latest and greatest for new cards feel free to do so and send me a link to the package - include the 32 bit libs.

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3209
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 15 Nov 2015, 12:05    Post subject: slacko64-6.1.0.1  

I'm running a manual frugal install of Slacko64 to a usb-3.0 SSD that
started with the 4.1.11 kernel and switched to the 4.2.5 kernel, it was
running on a Gateway desktop with Nvidia graphics card, now on HP
desktop with ATI graphics:

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Sun 15 Nov 2015 on Slacko64 Puppy 6.1.0.1 Linux 4.2.5 x86_64
0.0 VGA compatible controller: AMD/ATI [Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.] Redwood PRO [Radeon HD 5570]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: REDWOOD 01.00

X Server: Xorg Driver: radeon
X.Org version: 1.14.3
dimensions: 3840x1080 pixels (1013x285 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: X.Org
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on AMD REDWOOD
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 9.1.7

AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1045T Processor
Core 0: @800 1: @800 2: @800 3: @800 4: @800 5: @800 MHz

I have a file named 2monitors in /root/startup:
xrandr --output HDMI-0 --mode 1920x1080 --output HDMI-0 --mode 1920x1080 --right-of DVI-0

I have to run the wallpaper setter each boot to get it to display properly
(instead of squeezed on each monitor)

It's working great, I can run Nexuiz and on exiting returns to the
desktop as it should.

Anyhow, I like it Smile

Thanks.

Edit: Changed 2monitors, now:
xrandr --output HDMI-0 --mode 1920x1080 --right-of DVI-0
HPinstall.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   41.45 KB
 Viewed   1184 Time(s)

HPinstall.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8656
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 16 Nov 2015, 17:11    Post subject:  

Grab your hot copy of Slacko64 6.3.0 - the first official 64 bit Puppy Linux!


See main post.

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 673
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Mon 16 Nov 2015, 17:43    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Grab your hot copy of Slacko64 6.3.0 - the first official 64 bit Puppy Linux!

I did, and am using it now.

Thanks a lot!

Sheldon

_________________
Dell E6410: Slim Slacko 6, LuPu Super 2, Tahr
Dell D610: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2
Intel D865GBF: Tiny Windows 7, Puppy Linux 5.2
Acer Aspire One: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 275
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Mon 16 Nov 2015, 17:51    Post subject:  

The download link for VCU Richmond, VA USA does not seem to be working. Returns a '550 failed to change directory' error message.

The path is:
ftp://ftp.vcu.edu/pub/gnu+linux/puppylinux/puppy-slacko-6.3.0/
The ' + ' should be an ' _ ':
ftp://ftp.vcu.edu/pub/gnu_linux/puppylinux/puppy-slacko-6.3.0/


Edit: Maybe I've jumped the gun a bit, the mirrors for the 64-bit, don't appear to be fully set up yet. The iso at VCU is only 142 MB at present, some of the others don't have the 64-bit iso listed at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3209
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 16 Nov 2015, 19:24    Post subject: slacko64-6.3.0  

Manual frugal install to a usb-3.0 SSD, pc is an HP desktop:

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Mon 16 Nov 2015 on Slacko64 Puppy 6.3.0 Linux 4.1.11 x86_64
0.0 VGA compatible controller: AMD/ATI [Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.] Redwood PRO [Radeon HD 5570]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: REDWOOD 01.00

X Server: Xorg Driver: radeon
X.Org version: 1.14.3
dimensions: 3840x1080 pixels (1013x285 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: X.Org
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on AMD REDWOOD
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 9.1.7

AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1045T Processor
Core 0: @800 1: @2700 2: @2700 3: @2700 4: @800 5: @2700 MHz

Looks good,
Thanks.
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   42.75 KB
 Viewed   1014 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8656
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 16 Nov 2015, 20:10    Post subject:  

Sorry guys.. I had to reupload the iso. There was a fatal flaw in sfs_load - my fault.

So if you grabbed it before Tue Nov 17 00:04:24 UTC 2015 (Tue Nov 17 10:04:24 EST 2015 [Australian]) you'll have to delete and re-download.

I'll be putting this message in the main post.

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 16 [238 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 14, 15, 16 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0762s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0044s) ][ GZIP on ]