Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 13 Nov 2019, 11:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
MintPup (Trusty LTS)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 23 [334 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 21, 22, 23 Next
Author Message
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat 08 Aug 2015, 09:22    Post subject:  

otoshan wrote:
This command i need write manually after every login. I tried to add it in startup fille but not works. Any idea?
Code:
export GSETTINGS_SCHEMA_DIR=$PREFIX/usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas/

Try to add it in /home/puppy/Startup/localhost-fix
I'm not sure about this $PREFIX variable. I guess it is part of variety script and should be executed from variety script.
But if it works as separate command after login it should work in script inside /home/puppy/Startup
Or as user puppy copy /etc/skel/.profile in /home/puppy and try to add the line in /home/puppy/.profile
If nothing above works try inside /etc/environment (I think you don't need export inside /etc/environment).

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
otoshan

Joined: 10 Jun 2015
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sat 08 Aug 2015, 10:04    Post subject:  

I tried all variants, it doesn't works.
Here have small script.
https://www.mail-archive.com/glade-devel@lists.ximian.com/msg01942.html
I tried to add in /etc/environment is this the right place? Because again no result. Also i don't have path /lib/pkgconfig
Code:
PREFIX="$( cd "$( dirname "${BASH_SOURCE[0]}" )" && pwd )"

export PKG_CONFIG_PATH=$PREFIX/lib/pkgconfig/
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$PREFIX/lib/

export GSETTINGS_SCHEMA_DIR=$PREFIX/usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas/
export PATH=$PREFIX/bin:$PATH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat 08 Aug 2015, 10:56    Post subject:  

Sorry otoshan.

I don't feel competent enough to help you in this situation.
You have already 1,1Gb remastered module and you are trying to use some script suggested for compiling glade to change wallpapers with variety.
Don't add it in /etc/environment or anywhere else because most probably you will break the system and other programs will stop work.

If you need this script to start changing wallpapers with variety it should be included in some variety script and started from variety script. Maybe inside /home/puppy/.config/variety/scripts/set_wallpaper before hsetroot (but I'm not sure about this also).

Read my previous post about variety how I made it start without exporting anything with symlink iinside variety folder. If the path to the variety folder is changed and it is not inside /opt anymore - find the new location and create the symlink there. Then you shouldn't need to export any commands.
Also read in the same post the quote from variety author about using feh with OpenBox and other small WM:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=859434&sid=8fff9bb5e366f7a6e97d4988384079bd#859434

Experimenting the way you do it now to make variety work could break other progams and scripts in your system.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4157
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 08 Aug 2015, 11:16    Post subject:  

Hi otoshan,

I didn't follow everything and have no knowledge about variety, but noticed this from variety output:

Code:
GError: Error when getting information for file ‘/home/puppy/Pictures': No such file or directory


Sorry, if this is just to simple, but did you try to create ‘/home/puppy/Pictures' and see what happens?

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat 08 Aug 2015, 11:30    Post subject:  

otoshan wrote:
Code:
PREFIX="$( cd "$( dirname "${BASH_SOURCE[0]}" )" && pwd )"

export PKG_CONFIG_PATH=$PREFIX/lib/pkgconfig/
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$PREFIX/lib/

export GSETTINGS_SCHEMA_DIR=$PREFIX/usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas/
export PATH=$PREFIX/bin:$PATH

In any case this script does nothing useful for you.
The PREFIX= determines the current directory. In your case it is /home/puppy when you open terminal:
Code:
PREFIX="$( cd "$( dirname "${BASH_SOURCE[0]}" )" && pwd )"
$PREFIX
bash: /home/puppy: Is a directory

Then export GSETTINGS_SCHEMA_DIR=$PREFIX/usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas/ will export /home/puppy/usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas/ and you don't have such directory with sure.
The real gsettings schemas are inside /usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas/

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4157
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 08 Aug 2015, 12:47    Post subject:  

Hi otoshan, Toni,

Quote:
otoshan wrote:
This command i need write manually after every login. I tried to add it in startup fille but not works. Any idea?
Code:
export GSETTINGS_SCHEMA_DIR=$PREFIX/usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas/

Try to add it in /home/puppy/Startup/localhost-fix
I'm not sure about this $PREFIX variable. I guess it is part of variety script and should be executed from variety script.
But if it works as separate command after login it should work in script inside /home/puppy/Startup


As Toni wrote, I think also that if running from command line and it works:
Code:
export GSETTINGS_SCHEMA_DIR=$PREFIX/usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas/

It should work also at login if you put this command in a script from ~/Startup

But better forget about $PREFIX, it will be ignored because there is no such general environment variable PREFIX, so maybe just try to put in a script in ~/Startup,(untested):
Code:
#!/bin/bash
export GSETTINGS_SCHEMA_DIR=/usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas/


And make sure it's executable, btw.

Also, this could be required:
Code:
sudo glib-compile-schemas /usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas


Hope it helps.

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat 08 Aug 2015, 15:36    Post subject:  

Thanks Fred.

Using the information from otoshan and you here is how to install variety in MintPup.
Tested step by step and works in fresh MintPup install with Jwm. Should work with OpenBox and IceWm too.

1. Boot as user puppy (the example is for the included user account but works the same for root).
2. Start Wallpapers GUI from the desktop icon and click Stop Wallpapers button.
3. Comment out the line for rox pinboard in ~/startup and save (from IceWm you must repeat this step because startup is symlink to different WM file):
Code:
#/usr/bin/rox -p ${HOME}/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/ROX-Filer/pinbd &

4. Download 06-DEVX-Python-add-PPA-repo.squashfs:
http://kazzascorner.com.au/saintless/MintPup/Extra-modules/06-DEVX-Python-add-PPA-repo.squashfs
5. Load 06-DEVX-Python-add-PPA-repo.squashfs.
6. Add ppa repo for variety:
Code:
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:peterlevi/ppa

7. Unload 06-DEVX-Python-add-PPA-repo.squashfs.
8. Update the repository list:
Code:
sudo apt-get update

9. Install variety and hsetroot:
Code:
sudo apt-get install variety hsetroot

10. Start variety by typing (copy/paste):
Code:
export GSETTINGS_SCHEMA_DIR=/usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas/
/usr/bin/variety

11. Set variety as you like and close the program.
12. Add hsetroot line in /home/puppy/.config/variety/scripts/set_wallpaper (at the end is OK but leave one more empty line and save):
Code:
hsetroot -fill "$WP" 2> /dev/null


13. Download the attached archive and extract variety-start script in ~/Startup (/home/puppy/Startup in this example).
Just in case make sure the extracted script has the correct owner. For user puppy type (copy/paste):
Code:
sudo chown -R puppy:puppy /home/puppy/Startup

The script has this content:
Code:
#!/bin/bash

export GSETTINGS_SCHEMA_DIR=/usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas/
/usr/bin/variety


14. Exit X and startx.

Now variety will change the wallpapers according to the settings you made and you will see taskbar icon to change the settings.

I hope in the future this will answer the question how to install and use variety in MintPup.

Toni
variety-start.tar.gz
Description  Extract in $HOME/Startup and change the correct owner.
gz

 Download 
Filename  variety-start.tar.gz 
Filesize  212 Bytes 
Downloaded  290 Time(s) 

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
otoshan

Joined: 10 Jun 2015
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sat 08 Aug 2015, 17:04    Post subject:  

Yes, i confirm it works! Thanks Toni, Fred.

When Chromium is in fullscreen a part is under openbox taskbar.
http://i.imgur.com/iqAJZ3y.png

Also i don't know is this bug from openbox or conky, but i want to report when wallpaper is changed for 4-5 seconds conky use background from previous wallpaper.
http://i.imgur.com/xCt2gDt.jpg

Edit: Would be great Toni if in RemasterDog has skip prompt or ask before copying for "Create module" and "Delete squash folder". I mean, these questions is need confirmation. In large operating system copying requires more time and until i saw that copying is complete passed unnecessary time.

Last edited by otoshan on Sat 08 Aug 2015, 19:04; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 3200

PostPosted: Sat 08 Aug 2015, 17:30    Post subject:  

otoshan wrote:

When Chromium is in fullscreen a part is under openbox taskbar.
http://i.imgur.com/iqAJZ3y.png

Also i don't know is this bug from openbox or conky, but i want to report when wallpaper is changed for 4-5 seconds conky use background from previous wallpaper.
http://i.imgur.com/xCt2gDt.jpg


Yes, I've played around with different window managers too, and had similar problems with conky and wallpapers. Trouble is, distribution builders have no option but to limit themselves to one or a few window manager possibilities in terms of getting everything stable and tested. As soon as you change window manager or wallpaper changing mechanisms a whole slew of new issues do, it seems to me, always tend to need to be addressed - which is a big job sometimes. Even icewm gave a lot of problems during original development of DebianDog, because of small but critical timing issues, which caused background wallpapers not not show through or for other windows to show through to the foreground when we don't want them to. Hopefully someone has time to figure it all out, but I think any major change like wm and so on does tend to need to be dealt with on a case by case basis.

So I guess we need various specialists, who are familiar with their preferred wm/wallpaper-changer combinations to sort out the issues best they can and report back their findings/solutions. I doubt Toni can sort out all such extras himself, though I must say he does a good job trying!

I haven't been using Chromium so haven't encountered the issues otoshan highlights about that.

Having read the posts, I am curious about variety though, which is why I looked up its ppa yesterday (prior to Toni's comments about DEVX add-apt-repository command availability) for manual installation into sources.list. How does it compare to using 'nitrogen' in terms of functionality and resource usage? In other words, is it worth changing over to that in my own openbox set up (baring in my these outstanding conky/Chromium issues with using it)?

William

EDIT: on my own machine, on the whole, I do tend to stick with JWM/Rox pinboard combination, since it is enough for me, but conky is nice to display sometimes (especially when you can so easily toggle it on and off, and I like Fred's dogradio which has conky as a dependency)

_________________
github mcewanw
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2015, 01:25    Post subject:  

Hi otoshan.
otoshan wrote:
When Chromium is in fullscreen a part is under openbox taskbar.
http://i.imgur.com/iqAJZ3y.png

Looks different on my system using the last openBox setup packages from Fred.
Click here for screenshot
And it is not full screen in both screenshots from you and me. Press F11 and chromium-browser will hide the taskbar.
Maybe something installed later in your system is the cause of the problem but I can't say what exactly.

Quote:
Also i don't know is this bug from openbox or conky, but i want to report when wallpaper is changed for 4-5 seconds conky use background from previous wallpaper.
http://i.imgur.com/xCt2gDt.jpg

I don't think we can fix this. The only fix I can suggest is to setup conky to use color like in the screenshot here.

Quote:
Edit: Would be great Toni if in RemasterDog has skip prompt or ask before copying for "Create module" and "Delete squash folder". I mean, these questions is need confirmation. In large operating system copying requires more time and until i saw that copying is complete passed unnecessary time.

I don't recommend such option. Both prompts are needed. In my opinion you can clean many files from chrome-browser and other programs inside $HOME/ and you can also remove the locale files you don't need.
You can easy edit /opt/bin/remaster-mint-cli script to do what you like or I can do it for you but it is better to do some more celaning in $HOME/ before remastering. In time you will get huge cache files from browsers and other programs included in your main module.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2015, 01:42    Post subject:  

Hi William.
mcewanw wrote:
Having read the posts, I am curious about variety though, which is why I looked up its ppa yesterday (prior to Toni's comments about DEVX add-apt-repository command availability) for manual installation into sources.list. How does it compare to using 'nitrogen' in terms of functionality and resource usage? In other words, is it worth changing over to that in my own openbox set up (baring in my these outstanding conky/Chromium issues with using it)?

Just quick tested yesterday but I can say variety has many options. Like check and download new wallpaper every few minutes and auto change wallpaper with time interval (even every few seconds). I guess using the option to auto-download new wallpapers will result in more resource usage.
But I'm only guessing because I don't know much about variety or nitrogen.

Edit: I forgot to add variety adds 124Mb to MintPup fresh install with all needed python dependencies.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4157
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2015, 02:53    Post subject:  

Hi, otoshan

Quote:
When Chromium is in fullscreen a part is under openbox taskbar.


Probably can be fixed;
From menu > Openbox > Tint2 panel > Edit config file
Find the line: strut_policy = none (under Panel autohide section)
and comment it out, (if it is not already) so becomes this:
Code:
# strut_policy = none


Quote:
Also i don't know is this bug from openbox or conky, but i want to report when wallpaper is changed for 4-5 seconds conky use background from previous wallpaper.

It can be because of variety, didn't test your setup.

When I change wallpaper from terminal, like this:
Code:
mint ~ # hsetroot -fill /opt/docs/pictures/01.jpg
mint ~ # hsetroot -fill /opt/docs/pictures/04.jpg
mint ~ # hsetroot -fill /opt/docs/pictures/06.jpg

The background from conky changes also, also when I use nitrogen for changing wallpaper.
(menu > Set Wallpaper)

What you can try is to disable nitrogen in the autostart.sh script, it could conflict with variety:
Menu > Openbox > Autostart Config and comment out the nitogen line:
Code:
# nitrogen --restore &

And logout and back in.

Nice that you are testing my openbox setup, btw!
These days I don't have time to make improvements, I will later.

Edit:
Btw, what I see from terminal output on your remasterdog screenshot looks really bad.
(broken pipe) I'm not sure you can trust the created remastered module, don't know what's wrong though, sorry.

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2015, 05:06    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
Edit:
Btw, what I see from terminal output on your remasterdog screenshot looks really bad.
(broken pipe) I'm not sure you can trust the created remastered module, don't know what's wrong though, sorry.

Good observation Fred, I didn't notice the messages. We could have the same problem in DebianDog. I will explain what is the problem in my opinion.

Otoshan,
I can reproduce the same broken pipe message but only sometimes and only from user account. Never from root account.
The good news is comparing the result with broken pipe message and without broken pipe message the working folder is the same in both cases.
Check in your remastered module if you can find:
/var/spool/mail link
/var/spool/plymouth folder
/var/lib/dpkg/info/zlib1g:i386.symbols file

If you have them there is no problem with the remastered module caused by remasterdog script broken pipe messages.

Now the reason for the problem in my opinion:
remasterdog and remastercow use /opt/bin/gsu-root script with ktsuss line. I think for some reason ktsuss doesn't work well all the time in MintPup (possible in DebianDog also). Maybe because of the progressbar without the latest fix from Fred included yet. Or maybe I did something wrong editing the script for MintPup. I don't know yet.

When you have time replace /opt/bin/gsu-root with the attached gsu-root in archive.
The change inside the script is from:
Code:
#!/bin/sh

if [ "`whoami`" != "root" ]; then
ktsuss -u root "$@"
else
"$@"
fi

to.
Code:
#!/bin/sh

if [ "`whoami`" != "root" ]; then
gsu "$@"
else
"$@"
fi


Or with the same result you can simply run remasterdog from terminal instead from menu typing:
Code:
remasterdog

You don't need to type sudo. There will be prompt window to type user password instead root password.

if you don't get broken pipe messages anymore I will add this in fixes post and make new deb-package to fix /opt/bin/gsu script or menu files for remasterdog and remastercow.

And I recommend you to use "sudo /opt/bin/remaster-mint-cli" instead the GUI version till we have confirmation the fix works.

Toni
gsu-root.tar.gz
Description  Extract the archive in /opt/bin to replace old gsu-root
gz

 Download 
Filename  gsu-root.tar.gz 
Filesize  177 Bytes 
Downloaded  245 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2015, 11:10    Post subject:  

This post is mostly for me and Fred but anyone interested to help is welcome.

Using mintpup yad GUI installer as user started from menu entry will ask for root password (ktsuss -u root). It is the same in DebianDog.
Few days ago we found progress bar bug and it is connected with the problem (mintpup installer has the same bug as debdog-installer included in debdog iso).
Running from user account mintpup GUI installer from menu entry or using ktsuss results in broken pipe messages at the end of copying. But starting the script from terminal by typing remasterdog will use the gsu line included in the script and we have no more broken pipe messages:
Click here for screenshot
Using ktsuss with remasterdog two times results in different number broken pipe error lines as you can see in the screenshot above (and sometimes without broken pipe messages).
Typing remasterdog (using gsu line in the script) results with no broken pipe error messages.

Comparing the result from all three working folders shows using ktsuss cleans /var/log files but using gsu doesn't clean /var/log files (which was the first indication remasterdog has some problem for fixing):
Click here for screenshot

Removing the /var/log files from gsu started remasterdog and comparing the folder size shows only one file more in one of the ktsuss started remasterdog working folders:
Click here for screenshot

Because I think its is important to know why one file more is included in one of the working folders I did some searching and the extra file is broken symlink to /tmp socket file (which is normal since I use geany or dillo sometimes while remastering):
Click here for screenshot

In general I can say mintpup installer is safe to use from user account in any way but it is recommended to start it from terminal instead from menu entry till we have some solution for this issue.

Now what is the situation with DebianDog remasterdog script.
I made frugall install from latest DD-Wheezy-Jwm iso and tested remasterdog with ktsuss as user puppy without installing or upgrading any packages:
Click here for screenshot

Then upgraded the packages with latest fixes:
http://kazzascorner.com.au/saintless/DebianDog/DebianDog-Wheezy/Packages/Included/debdoginstallscripts_1.0.4_i386.deb
http://kazzascorner.com.au/saintless/DebianDog/DebianDog-Wheezy/Packages/Included/debdogmountscripts_1.0.3_i386.deb
http://kazzascorner.com.au/saintless/DebianDog/DebianDog-Wheezy/Packages/Included/yad_0.28.1_i386.deb
http://kazzascorner.com.au/saintless/DebianDog/DebianDog-Wheezy/Packages/Included/remaster-scripts_1.0.3_i386.deb
Then tested latest fixed remasterdog with ktsuss -u root command from terminal:
Click here for screenshot
And from menu entry (which uses the same ktsuss command):
Click here for screenshot
The result is never ending broken pipe messages using user account and ktsuss to start latest remasterdog. I didn't wait more than few minutes but seems the old remsterdog works better using ktsuss from user account in DebianDog.

I don't know what to suggest at the moment but I think the progress bar mistery continue. Maybe we can use gsu instead ktsuss and this seems to resolve the problem but I'm not sure about that.

Suggestions and thoughts about this strange problem are welcome.
If I have to make suggestion now it is to use simple cli remastering scripts without progress bar and without background process.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4157
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2015, 13:46    Post subject:  

Toni wrote:
This post is mostly for me and Fred but anyone interested to help is welcome.

Using mintpup yad GUI installer as user started from menu entry will ask for root password (ktsuss -u root). It is the same in DebianDog.
Few days ago we found progress bar bug and it is connected with the problem (mintpup installer has the same bug as debdog-installer included in debdog iso). ..
......


Hopefully I'm right being optimistic, I can't see a real problem, see my answer in DebianDog thread :

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=859928#859928

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 23 [334 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 21, 22, 23 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0898s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0155s) ][ GZIP on ]