Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 20 Apr 2014, 10:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How do I share my internet connection?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [36 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
ecomoney


Joined: 25 Nov 2005
Posts: 2183
Location: Lincolnshire, England

PostPosted: Mon 18 Dec 2006, 03:59    Post subject: Client Machine  

Thanks for that. What would I have to do on the client machine (the one the internet is being shared to), to enable this. I cant see a mention of another port in the script (where the net is sent "out" to).
_________________
Puppy Linux's Mission

Sorry, my server is down atm!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
bobbyok

Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon 18 Dec 2006, 04:17    Post subject: Internet Connection Sharing  

Hey Ecomoney,
I'm on the XP laptop now sharing internet with my Puppy machine in the back room. Worked flawlessly. I had to go to control panel..network connections..and then properties of my lan connection. Go to the Internet Protocol {TCP/IP} properties and set up ip addresses and dns manually. Just takes a sec and you're up and going.
Athlon xp1700+
768 megs ram
AOpen AON325 10/100
netopia wireless router

Compaq Ipaq 3670
SanDisk 128 meg combo wireless

compaq presario 2100
athlon 2600+
960 megs ram
dell truemobile 1300 wireless
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
John Doe

Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 1689
Location: Michigan, US

PostPosted: Mon 18 Dec 2006, 05:03    Post subject:  

Great vid Ecomoney

made me think a lot. Thanks for that!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ecomoney


Joined: 25 Nov 2005
Posts: 2183
Location: Lincolnshire, England

PostPosted: Mon 18 Dec 2006, 07:00    Post subject: Connection  

Hi Bobby

I havnt used Windows XP for over two years now, how would the same thing be done using puppy? Would it be "static IP' under the ethernet wizard? What would I set it to, and whats "dns"...sorry complete networking newb here. Good news that it can be done at last though!

Cheers John

_________________
Puppy Linux's Mission

Sorry, my server is down atm!

Last edited by ecomoney on Mon 01 Jan 2007, 09:39; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
bobbyok

Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue 19 Dec 2006, 02:40    Post subject: Internet Connection Sharing  

Hey Ecomoney,
Sorry it's taken me so long to respond. Got busy. I had to bring the laptop to the back room and wire it to my router. My laptop wireless adapter isn't puppy compatable.....yet.
Anyway..Puppy to Puppy internet sharing turned out to be a peice of cake. Here's what I did:
First- Set up your server machine{the one with the modem and either the firewall enabled sharing or the modified rc.local}.
Second- Fire up your client machine and go to the network wizard. Click on eth0{or whatever your eth is designated}. Click on static IP.
Enter your IP address = I use 192.168.0.10 for the laptop. This will be the IP address of your client machine...click ok. Enter your netmask = should pop up 255.255.255.0 automatically..click ok. Enter your default router = the IP address of your server machine. I have a very simple home network so mine is 192.168.0.1...click ok. Enter the IP address of a nameserver for resolving DNS names = the primary DNS IP of your internet service provider...click ok. That's it. Go to googling!
In my case I use att worldnet. I typed worldnet primary dns into google and the DNS numbers popped right up in the search. You can find most DNS numbers by going to your ISP's support webpage or simply call them and ask.
Whew..It took me longer to type this than it did to get the computers connected.

TO THE REAL PUPPY NETWORK GURU's OUT THERE:
The server/client setup here works well for me but you guys probably could come up with an easier setup than this{GUI maybe?}. Look it over and do your magic!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bobbyok

Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue 19 Dec 2006, 23:53    Post subject: Internet Connection Sharing  

This setup also works from a XP{server} to a Puppy{client} arangement. The DNS IP address still has to be entered on the Puppy machine. I'm in Puppy now sharing with a XP machine. Same setup thru network wizard. DHCP..I dunno.. Probably easier but beyond the bounds of my very limited networking expertise.
Bobby
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ecomoney


Joined: 25 Nov 2005
Posts: 2183
Location: Lincolnshire, England

PostPosted: Wed 20 Dec 2006, 01:23    Post subject: Great Stuff
Subject description: Thank you
 

Thank you Bobbyok, I wish I had talked to you sooner I would have saved me a lot of time. This was some months ago now.

It seems that puppy already has all of the software dependencies of a good firewall and router, all it needs is someone to incorporate the right wizards to automate it, I definetely agree with you.

I can see from my work a great opportunity for Windoze users to use puppy as a router/firewall/internet security product with just a few simple addons or the built in wizard. If for example they have just purchased a new computer to run Vista and want to find a use for the old one. After a while they would begin to wonder why their internet router runs faster, more reliably and without all the hassles of their all singing and dancing windoze box, and hopefully look into open source further!!!

There are already linux distros to do this, like smoothwall, but puppy has the advantage of making the older pc into a fully functional computer as well as a NAS box (network attached storage) and a print server which smoothwall cannot do without considerable tweaking. Puppy can work an similar kind of specs to smoothwall.

Something else that would be useful, would it be possible to share the connection out of several network cards at once? this way several other boxes could share a connecton just by adding a cheap ethernet network card. Wireless sharing would be nice to have too, as it would allow a cheap £10 wireless card and a old puppy pc to create a wireless hotspot, rather than about £50 for a dedicated router. In a business sense this would make it profitable for recyclers to use puppy to turn old pc's into internet connection sharing machines.

This feature needs a good developer to take it on Very Happy

_________________
Puppy Linux's Mission

Sorry, my server is down atm!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
RobertB


Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 145
Location: Big D

PostPosted: Wed 20 Dec 2006, 09:55    Post subject: Re: Great Stuff
Subject description: Thank you
 

ecomoney wrote:
Something else that would be useful, would it be possible to share the connection out of several network cards at once? this way several other boxes could share a connecton just by adding a cheap ethernet network card. Wireless sharing would be nice to have too, as it would allow a cheap £10 wireless card and a old puppy pc to create a wireless hotspot, rather than about £50 for a dedicated router. In a business sense this would make it profitable for recyclers to use puppy to turn old pc's into internet connection sharing machines.

I'm not sure it's all that useful to stuff more than two ethernet cards into a box. You can get a switch for under $10 US (about 20 pence UK at current exchange rates Smile ), so all you have to do is plug the "output" into the hub/switch and you're all set. I'm worried that multiple cards will eventually start fighting over IRQ's and such, causing more headaches than they solve. Better to get those expert Puppy trainers working on giving Puppy basic firewall capability -- I love the idea of having Puppy start out as just a firewall, and then when Vista goes down (again) the always-loyal pup is ready to step in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bobbyok

Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed 20 Dec 2006, 13:42    Post subject: Internet Connection Sharing  

I tend to agree with RobertB. Probably better to stick with only one net card{2 if you have cable or DSL} and a switch or wireless router. I'm using an old netopia 802.11G wireless router set in bridge mode with Puppy. I gave $1.99 for the router at a local thrift store. I can share internet all over my house, the yard, and even into the back pasture...lol. Pretty cheap hotspot setup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ecomoney


Joined: 25 Nov 2005
Posts: 2183
Location: Lincolnshire, England

PostPosted: Wed 20 Dec 2006, 16:03    Post subject: Conversion Problems  

While were on the subject of economics, there are places in the world where 20 uk pence is worth about the same as ten dollars of their local currency, and plenty of places where its actually worth more. http://www.finfacts.com/biz10/globalworldincomepercapita.htm 2 dollars is about a months average wage in some places.

As much as I know a bit about economics, what would be the technical issues regarding using multiple network cards?

_________________
Puppy Linux's Mission

Sorry, my server is down atm!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
daftdog


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 120
Location: Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 23 Dec 2006, 04:48    Post subject:  

bobbyok, thanx for the linuxforum link. I have been trying to share an internet connection for a couple of months now. I did as they said on the linuxforum and got both computers on the internet straight away.
And it is such a simple solution!
Thanx again.

_________________
"We are monkeys with money and guns." Tom Waits
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ecomoney


Joined: 25 Nov 2005
Posts: 2183
Location: Lincolnshire, England

PostPosted: Sun 07 Jan 2007, 09:07    Post subject: Sharing Woes  

Quote:
First- Set up your server machine{the one with the modem and either the firewall enabled sharing or the modified rc.local}.
Second- Fire up your client machine and go to the network wizard. Click on eth0{or whatever your eth is designated}. Click on static IP.
Enter your IP address = I use 192.168.0.10 for the laptop. This will be the IP address of your client machine...click ok. Enter your netmask = should pop up 255.255.255.0 automatically..click ok. Enter your default router = the IP address of your server machine. I have a very simple home network so mine is 192.168.0.1...click ok. Enter the IP address of a nameserver for resolving DNS names = the primary DNS IP of your internet service provider...click ok. That's it. Go to googling!


ok, I tried the setups with entering the ip addresses manually on the client machine. Im posting from my server machine now.

Just a few hints:-

You need to go into the ethernet configuration wizard and test both ethernet ports before the firewall wizard will recognise them, otherwise it bombs out with an error at the end.

you will need to use a special type of ethernet cable (crossed) to cennect this way, you can tell this if the clear plugs on the end of the cable colours are wired up differently rather than looking the same.

Questions

How do I find the ip address of my "client machine", is this the computer that the internet is connected through, i.e. between my modem and the pc I want to share the connection to. Do I put the Modems IP in? I did an "ifconfig" in a prompt but there isnt an ip addres for "eth1" (eth0 is my dhcp modem connected card and eth1 my connection to the client machine).

And yes, we do need a puppy networking guru to make a simple script for this!

_________________
Puppy Linux's Mission

Sorry, my server is down atm!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4767
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 07 Jan 2007, 12:31    Post subject:  

All a little deja vu, perhaps, but I picked a powered hub out of a skip (even <20p) in the road outside an office being rewired for teraHetrz interconnects, no doubt, some years ago and forgot about it. When I switched to broadband - bingo - a wired network. Haven't bothered even to set up my wireless router yet. Most larger hubs (mine is 8-port) will have a push-button cross-over switch for one of the ports - useful for adding even more hubs, PCs, etc. Wired networks don't have to worry about interception, WEP, WPA, etc - like the stinger missile everything is wire-guided to the target. Make sure you use splayed-contact RJ-45 plugs if making up your own patch leads from (old recycled?) solid core TP cable, which is now back in favour on account of better stability, whatever that means.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bobbyok

Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun 07 Jan 2007, 15:20    Post subject: Sharing Woes  

Hi Ecomoney,
Good hints! The client IP isn't something you find..it's something you assign. Say your server IP is 198.162.0.1..then your client IP can be anything from 198.162.0.2 to 198.162.0.254. Each client you add will be the same except for the last number{192.168.0.X}.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
polux


Joined: 15 Dec 2006
Posts: 11
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Sun 07 Jan 2007, 15:42    Post subject:  

It would be great if this post could be moved to the How To's section. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [36 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0773s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0080s) ][ GZIP on ]