Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 25 Aug 2019, 20:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
BIT METER OS 0.7.6 (stable) & 0.8.0 (experimental)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 9 of 15 [223 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 Next
Author Message
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5287
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 20 May 2015, 04:36    Post subject:  

@davids45:-

G'Day, sport..!

Well, I hope you were able to follow my little tutorial there; I always attempt to write stuff like that as though I were an absolute beginner.....and need literal, step-by-step instructions to follow. There's a good bit of proof-reading and re-editing goes into it as a rule.

Re your query about including the ability to ask where the database file should be located... Hm. What we've been doing here is basically taking Rob Dawson's app, and, initially, re-packaging the original .deb files to work with Puppy's unique file-system. Geoffrey has then subsequently been further refining it to include start-up routines and various other things.....including the multi-use scenario for the BitMeter .db file; which, as you now know, finally works. All started off by your suggestion, 'cos although the idea had been floating around the back of my skull for the better part of the last year, I really didn't have a clue how to go about implementing it.

I know the GPL permits alteration of source coding, so long as that altered coding is then re-released for public use again; this, after all, is what keeps the whole idea of the GPL alive.....everybody gets to benefit from everybody else's modifications (!) I have NO idea if Geoffrey's up to that scenario, or whether there's a way that could be added in. I suspect not, because this is not something that everybody will want to do; I think this is simply one of those things that boils down to individual decision. No two people are going to have exactly the same set-up...

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

[Off-topic: davids45]

That's quite some set-up you have there, mate! Of course, you're quite right; no Pup needs much more than a couple of GBs to 'live in'.....even including the save-file/folder.

Like many people, I got used to the MS GUI-based way of doing things. I switched to Linux last year with the 'xpiry' of XP; no way was I paying MS any more of my hard-earned. Starting with the 'buntus ('easy' by Linux standards, but still needing loads of command-line work), I then tried lots of others, before discovering the 'Pups' in October. Magic! Here, at long last, was a system that incorporated ease-of-use along with GNU/Linux's much more powerful and versatile infrastructure. It was exactly what I'd been looking for.

I didn't know you could 'symlink' SFS's from a common partition; never gave it much thought, to be honest. I'm pretty sure you couldn't do that with PET's, since they're directly installed into the system. I have a few SFS's that are in use by all three of my Pups; I might experiment with that. Thanks for the tip.....and a wee bit more knowledge gained!


Mike. Smile

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11268

PostPosted: Wed 20 May 2015, 04:57    Post subject:  

my 'shared' sfs ... _uni are sfs 3 and any can use... _xxx are specific to a pup, _sfs4 are shared sfs4 ...no boot manager. One 10GB partition for all distros..seems plenty. No boot manager stuff.

Xp is great...might use it more when I stop using 2000 Smile

are we drifting.

Seems like you need to make a HOW-TO thread for the sharing...it will get lost here.

mike
shared.png
 Description   
 Filesize   44.7 KB
 Viewed   355 Time(s)

shared.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5287
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 20 May 2015, 09:34    Post subject:  

Afternoon, Michael.

So how do you go about 'sharing' SFS's between multiple Pups? As I said to David, I wasn't aware you could sym-link them...

I use the same Skype, LibreOffice and Teamviewer SFS's on all three of my Puppies. Should I be able to store these in the 'Common Data' partition I've set up, and run them from there.....as opposed to having all three of them loaded in three different locations?

I would be curious to know if this is possible.....


Mike 2 Mike. Smile

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11268

PostPosted: Wed 20 May 2015, 10:58    Post subject:  

Well in my case the initrds pick up anything that has _uni.sfs in the name or _sfs4.sfs .

In your case would not the boot manager be able to use a common pool of sfs as long as your frugal installs were on the same partition or is that not possible now? Seems wasteful if not and symlinking..ok a workaround as long as you are not on fat/ntfs.

Do additional sfs have to be in a folder now or not?

I end up asking more questions than answering

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5287
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 20 May 2015, 12:30    Post subject:  

Hm. Doubt that would work for me. I have three partitions, each with its own frugal install, y'see. Anyway, if I'm right, don't SFS's have to be in the same partition as where they're being used, because of this loading 'on-the-fly' business?

I don't think my idea of having the SFS's in a completely separate partition, and then symlinking back to where I want to use them, would work.....for that very reason.

You can't 'load' a sym-link, can you?


Mike 2 Mike. Confused

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11268

PostPosted: Wed 20 May 2015, 12:35    Post subject:  

well I use my own sfs loader which does not care where they are... but i got the impression you have to have the sfs either in the (root of) same partition or in the same install folder now..if the latter then you are stuck with the duplication.
One of those features lost with newer pups it seems. Sad

Symlink should work IF you are using posix filesystem..eg ext2/3/4

Also the fancy bootmanager should really get a handle on this...not exactly rocket science.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5287
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 20 May 2015, 15:32    Post subject:  

Hah! You weren't by any chance a UNIX engineer, or lecturer, in a former existence.....were you? Laughing

Mike 2 Mike.

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 20 May 2015, 15:35    Post subject:  

To add some additional ideas with a "REAL World" you can test without having to envision, externally, how it works; rather seeing it LIVE in front of our eyes, try either of these 2 distros whose author (@TaZoC) and inspiration (@Dry Falls) provide for community users. (Only for 64bit PC users)

Download, create a DVD, and boot LIve to see one method of SFS management of things outside of the base system: Get, either,
The booting PC shows and guides, so that you understand what is being set for your system's at desktop. Again, I strongly encourage you to boot the DVD Live, to insure you witness this, on your 1st time use.

As such, it helps us to see to understand one obvious method of SFS management understanding while never changing the old PUPPY model of SFS use.

Hope these observations will help in understanding the several possibilities of the current discussion. Be careful as you can easily become TOO comfortable in what these provides.

This is an FYI.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11268

PostPosted: Wed 20 May 2015, 15:42    Post subject:  

Quote:
Hah! You weren't by any chance a UNIX engineer, or lecturer, in a former existence.....were you?

would you believe an Air Traffic Engineer and had little or nothing to do with computers past playing with BASIC in the TANDY store Very Happy

Well my sfs loader is basically what is used in slax..simple and elegant..you just right click and load the file... if there is space it loads to ram otherwise from where it is. Its system at boot module loading just requires the sfs to be in one of two folders... but sharing would not make sense in that case.
puppy used to load sfs in the root of the install partition so sharing was sort of possible but had a naming restriction..I simply added to that to give the uni (universal) option.

lighthouse like my pups expand the ability to load many sfs which has been in there since puppy 2.16 but never really exploited in the main releases...

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1226
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Wed 20 May 2015, 19:48    Post subject: Bitmeter working on 3+ Full Pups
Subject description: Using common .db file on sda5 (data partition)
 

G'day Mikes,

Blame me for this thread wandering from its well-intentioned beginning.

As Bitmeter is Rob D's work, he should be the one to make any substantial and inherent additions to it based on our experiences with it in Puppy.

Not sure if Windows users would be interested in what we like to do with our computers. Although I do recall some Windows programs did used to prompt for an install directory and working directory - when Windows was not so stable and you needed to keep your data on a separate 'drive' so the frequent re-installations of Windows were merely wastings of time and not data as well (ex-ME 'user' here Embarassed ).

At mikeb's suggestion, if I can't find one already started/done, I will start a new thread on How To (or initially How I) share files/packages/data between many Pups on a computer.

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2377
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Wed 20 May 2015, 21:01    Post subject:  

I'm working on a popup when the pet is installed, gives the options to move the database create a symlink and partition mount or just select an existing database and create a symlink and partition mount.

I'll finish it when I can, I'm working on it in between other projects, here's what it will look like.

You can try this too, remove the sleep 15 and at the top of the script before the network detect add "mount /dev/sdxx" sdxx is the partition the bitmeter.db is located, mine looks as this Example
Code:
#!/bin/sh
mount /dev/sdb1
IFCONFIG="`ifconfig | grep '^[pwe]' | grep -v 'wmaster'`"
while [ "$IFCONFIG" != "" ]; do
   sleep 1
    ping -c 1 8.8.8.8
    if [ $? -eq 0 ];then
      break
   else
      ping -c 1 www.google.com
      if [ $? -eq 0 ];then
         break
      fi
   fi
done
/etc/init.d/bitmeter restart
/etc/init.d/bitmeterweb restart
gui.png
 Description   
 Filesize   10.7 KB
 Viewed   293 Time(s)

gui.png


_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5287
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 21 May 2015, 08:27    Post subject:  

@Geoffrey:-

That's marvellous, Geoff. Take your time, and get it right; there's no rush. Sounds like it'll be quite a useful addition to the mix. I assume you'll be able to combine all these into a single .pet, will you? Because from what Rob said, once you've got something you're completely happy with, he's quite prepared to add it to the download links on the 'Code-Box' website.

Once that's done, I'll alter the OP to include a link to it in future, so that anybody who's interested can go straight to his web-site, and get a working, Puppy version from there. Or, if you'd prefer, we can just link straight to your .pet, and I'll simply include a link to Rob's site, so that anyone who's interested can have a look through his other utilities; I know folk on the forums do run other distros apart from Puppy.....some of them look quite useful. Up to you.

If you're happy with the idea of a link, I'll request that credits be given to those who've made it all possible..! Wink

BTW: I assume you've got something like a DropBox account (or similar), yes?


Mike. Smile

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2377
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Thu 21 May 2015, 23:44    Post subject:  

Here's one that gives the option to move the database so other pups can use it, or symlink an existing database to use.

It also installs an older version of libpcap.so.0.8 for those pups that don't have libpcap included, or creates a symlink to a existing version of libpcap.

Thanks mikeb for the older libpcap.

It's pretty straight forward, select the option and navigate to the bitmeter.db or the drive where it should be stored and press the button to apply it,
a message will popup and the gui will close if all went well, or press the Quit button for a normal unaltered install.

Please test this, best to start without a previous bitmeter installed, it might have problems writing the symlink if one already exist.

As always, use at your own peril.
bitmeteros-0.8.0-all-32bit-pups.pet
installgui.png
 Description   
 Filesize   21.29 KB
 Viewed   282 Time(s)

installgui.png


_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions


Last edited by Geoffrey on Fri 22 May 2015, 06:41; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11268

PostPosted: Fri 22 May 2015, 01:08    Post subject:  

Quote:
Thanks mikeb for the older libpcap.

actually thank you for putting lots of patience ideas and time into this...my contributions have been a little fragmented really.

But I love this app Smile

ps I think its javascript as the main bloat for ebay and no gzip to keep it neat.

Keep it in topic mike...do it ..do it....gnnnnrrrrr

Hurts to behave doesn't it Very Happy

Juicy

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1226
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Sat 23 May 2015, 19:58    Post subject:  Bitmeter-0.8 with link option to a shared .db file
Subject description: tested in several Pups & browsers
 

G'day Geoffrey,

This morning, I ran your modified pet in some of my Pup Frugals (new Bitmeter installs in every case) and had no real problem with recent Pups. Linked them all to the same .db file on my data partition which responded and ran well in almost every case.

Pups successfully Bitmetered:
Vivid
Unicorn
Slacko
Wheezy
Quirky702
Precise
Chromebook-Precise
Tahr-583

Older Pups - no pop-up message but Bitmeter runs OK with its new and empty /var/lib/bitmeter db file:
Lupu-kernel-2.6.33E
Upup-Exprimo-kernel-3.2.14
dpup-Exprimo-k2.6.39
icePup-kernel-2.6.38

- - but stopping Bitmeter in these old Pups with an edit of /etc/init.d/bitmeter to './bitmeter stop', then deleting the db file in /var/lib/bitmeter/ and creating a symlink to the data partition db file, then restarting Bitmeter with /etc/init.d/bitmeter to './bitmeter start', and all is good. So is this no-dialog-box a kernel thing or something in the PPM that installs the pet, or ?

Browsers successfully Bitmetering:
Seamonkey
Firefox
Chrome
Chromium
Palemoon

Browsers needing something (java?) to show Bitmeter graphics (text is there):
Dillo
IE under wine
- so not really an issue with these two.

I must have been feeling confident as I did not back up my .db file before doing this. Shocked

So, many thanks for the Pet improvement. Very Happy

When do we get Bitmeter-0.9? Laughing

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 15 [223 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0867s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0228s) ][ GZIP on ]