Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 10 Dec 2018, 03:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
How to Install Brother Printers and Scanners
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 10 of 14 [210 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12360
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 07 May 2015, 17:07    Post subject:  

I cannot comment on the state of your network, but here is what I tested.

1. From my regular computer, I disconnected eth0.
2. I logged into my wireless router.
3.This got me an IP on my LAN, as usual.
4. I ran arp-scan --localnet
5. Even though I was now connected through wlan0 instead of eth0, it saw all the devices on the LAN, including a shared printer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Thu 07 May 2015, 17:13    Post subject:  

Should I want to, what steps would I take to delete the printer and reinstall entirely, including removing/reinstalling the DEBs...?
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12360
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 07 May 2015, 17:31    Post subject:  

You can delete the printer using CUPS. The two debs do not register in the PPM, so you would need to delete their files manually. But their content has ZERO side effects on a stable system.

IIRC, Carolina Vanguard has integrated Frisbee. If you are trying to disable it and use SNS instead, good luck to you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Thu 07 May 2015, 17:55    Post subject:  

Reinstalled the printer and the DEBs. No luck.

Caro Vanguard comes with SNS, Dougal's Network Setup, and Frisbee. Frisbee is enabled by default. I can't stand the interface. I've been using SNS on this system, in a nearly identical install, for about a year now. It's been fine.

Further suggestions, before I go bald?

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12360
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 07 May 2015, 18:04    Post subject:  

Before messing with IP4CUPS, set up the printer using the standard socket://aaa.bbb.cc.dd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Thu 07 May 2015, 18:32    Post subject:  

Did that too. Same result.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12360
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 07 May 2015, 18:34    Post subject:  

You know what my next suggestion will be. I made it when you had trouble with the scanner setup and you said it was too much work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Thu 07 May 2015, 18:37    Post subject:  

Don't have a cable long enough unless I drag out the USB 'active' cable that's actually too long -- and very strange besides. Not to mention I don't actually trust it.

So after the cable connection, what would be the next step? Wink

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Thu 07 May 2015, 18:55    Post subject:  

Alright... tell me, if it works over USB but not over WLAN, how does that help? Particularly given that Mom and I bought the printer specifically to be a whole-house network printer... Wink

If I understand it a little better... maybe I can be convinced Razz to drag out the 'active' cable (it has a stupid power-hogging signal booster in it) to see if the dang thing works...

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12360
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 07 May 2015, 19:05    Post subject:  

starhawk wrote:
Alright... tell me, if it works over USB but not over WLAN, how does that help?

It guarantees that you have the driver installed correctly. It then narrows the problem down to a networking issue.

You can buy a USB printer cable for $1. Why complicate the issue with a non-standard cable?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Thu 07 May 2015, 19:09    Post subject:  

I have plenty of standard cables that won't go the distance... literally. They're not long enough.

...and actually, come to think of it, that 'active' cable won't work. It's an extension... male 'a' to female 'a'. Printer takes a male 'b'.

Oh well, back to square one.

EDIT: oh, and I actually don't have the money to buy even a $1 cable right now. Not kidding, sadly.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Thu 07 May 2015, 20:40    Post subject:  

Hey, rc, I might be able to do this after all...

Mom used to have a Canon multifunction printer / scanner / copier / fax / Broadway stage (seriously, that thing is very big and very heavy) in here, about where that dang Brother is now. She insisted on it being USB connected to her computer at the time for reasons I neither recall nor care to. There's a bunch of boxes and crap left over from that era on the floor here (yay cluttertastic living spaces... not!) and I dug around and found what has to be about the world's longest USB printer cable. I'm not saying it works... I'm saying it may be long enough... if not, I've got a little extension cord that may help out as well. (Thankfully not an 'active' one -- IIRC, it came with a Kodak card reader that I gave away a few weeks ago. Kept the cord tho.)

Tell me how to do this and I'll see what I can arrange here.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Fri 08 May 2015, 11:58    Post subject:  

Seriously... I know how to put the cable in, of course, but I'm a little confused after that. Do I alter the current printer install (to what?)? or do I install a new printer?

Further, there are two identically-named drivers that show up natively in CUPS, and there's a third option of manually installing from /opt/brother/.../[...].ppd -- and I don't know which to try first, second, and third.

...so a little guidance here would be deeply appreciated.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12360
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 08 May 2015, 12:19    Post subject:  

This is a standard USB install - plug in the printer and let CUPS auto-detect it. If you are seeing two printers, it may be that CUPS detects it both as the direct USB device and as the networked device (if its WiFi is still turned on).

I don't remember how CUPS 1.3 handles this, but you should be able to tell one from the other.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Fri 08 May 2015, 12:21    Post subject:  

I'm seeing two /drivers/ tho. Identically named.

I can put a screenshot up if that would help.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 14 [210 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0695s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0212s) ][ GZIP on ]