Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 18 Aug 2019, 03:11
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to find the bandwidth my wifi is using?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [33 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12442
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 04 May 2015, 20:01    Post subject:  

RX - Received data

TX - Transmitted data

rcrsn51 wrote:
If you are using Wary 5.3, those RX/TX numbers are not going to be reliable. There was a long-standing bug in the usage monitor once the values got large. It was only fixed in very recent Puppies.

Remember how big before they start reading wrong?

He may not be dealing with really big amounts.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12627
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 04 May 2015, 20:10    Post subject:  

The discussion about network_tray is here. IIRC, the critical number is 2 GB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12442
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 04 May 2015, 21:16    Post subject:  

So, do you think this pet would fix his version?
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=807923#807923

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxwannabe

Joined: 02 May 2015
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Mon 04 May 2015, 21:46    Post subject:  

Thanks very much everyone for the helpful info, I only get 1 gig per month so I guess the tray stats will be fine for me. ("she" by the way).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12442
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 04 May 2015, 21:48    Post subject:  

Just make sure it starts the count over (resets to 0) at the beginning of the new month.
_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxwannabe

Joined: 02 May 2015
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Mon 04 May 2015, 22:09    Post subject:  

Thanks for that tip bigpup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5249
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Tue 05 May 2015, 19:12    Post subject:  

Hi, linuxwannabe.

I hear ya; I know exactly where you're coming from. OK, so WE have a 20GB/month allowance.....but it soon goes. With only 1 GB/month you must REALLY have to watch your usage like a hawk...

I use an app called BitMeter OS. You can get a graphical, minute by minute readout. You can get a daily, monthly and yearly summary....updated in real-time. You can set alarms, calculate usage, and all sorts of other bits and bobs...

I have a mate, for whom I installed Ubuntu to replace a very sick Vista install. He, too, uses a Huawei dongle (a 7-yr old K3565), so he uses this as well. He also has a 1 GB/month data limit.

This is NOT a 'Windows program'. It's written for ALL platforms, including Linux. I'm using this in Tahrpup 6.02; don't know if it'll work in Wary, but hell, it's gotta be worth a try.

When it's installed, you monitor it via a tab in your browser.....so I have it book-marked, and it's the first tab I open when I fire Chromium up. And don't worry about that; it works in ALL browsers. You can get it from here:-

http://codebox.org.uk/pages/bitmeteros/downloads

Don't bother with the experimental version (0.8.0); go for the stable version (0.7.6). You'll want the Linux 32-bit download. It comes as a .deb file, but that's OK, because it should install with no problems. Just click on it in your Downloads folder, same as you would for any .pet.

When you've installed it, open up your browser, and enter this in the address bar:-

localhost:2605/index.html

This is because it 'listens' on port 2605. All things being equal, BitMeterOS should show up within a few seconds. When it does, BOOKMARK it.....and put it on your bookmarks bar, somewhere near the start; or somewhere you can find it, easily.

It's not a RAM hog; uses somewhere in the region of about 800k-1 MB. If you're like me, and play around with multiple distros, of whatever Linux flavour (I run Xubuntu, Mint 17, and Slitaz among others...it works with them all), then save it where you can re-use it! If you need to, download both 32- AND 64-bit versions; it really is an invaluable tool.

Rob Dawson, the founder and maintainer of CodeBox, used to have an add-on for this, which would allow you to monitor usage between multiple OS's, but it's deprecated nowadays, and no longer under development.

Hope this helps!


Regards,

Mike. Smile

Note: See where I have it saved on the bookmarks bar... This is the 'Summary' tab.
BM.O-S1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   42.52 KB
 Viewed   173 Time(s)

BM.O-S1.jpg


_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxwannabe

Joined: 02 May 2015
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Tue 05 May 2015, 20:01    Post subject:  

Wow_Mike_that_bitmeter_sounds_and_looks_fantastic!
Seems_very_similar_to_the_managment_utility_on_the_hauwei_stick.
Thanks!

(Sorry,_busted_spacebar)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12442
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 05 May 2015, 21:02    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh,
Thanks for this BitMeter OS program.

How about you posting a topic about it in the Additional Software section of the forum? Very Happy Idea

Network section, maybe Idea


It did make a menu entry in menu->Network, but as you state that is not the way to run it.
When clicked on, It did start the default browser , but just a blank page.
Wonder if there may be a way to make that work. Idea

I think I fixed the menu entry. Very Happy Idea

I opened the file /var/lib/bitmeter/runweb.sh in a text editor.
I changed the first line to this:
Code:
WEB_URL=localhost:2605/index.html


Now when you click on the menu entry for BitMeter OS it opens the default browser (Firefox) to the BitMeter OS screen.

Edit:
Not sure what would happen if Firefox was not on this computer.
This line in runweb.sh, not sure what it would do if I did not have Firefox.
Code:
BROWSER=$(which gnome-www-browser || which x-www-browser || which firefox || which www-browser)

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Moat


Joined: 16 Jul 2013
Posts: 965
Location: Mid-mitten

PostPosted: Tue 05 May 2015, 21:38    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Mike Walsh,
Thanks for this BitMeter OS program.


+1

Appears to be working great with Firefox 37 on Precise 5.7.1. So simple. Neat! Cool

@ bigpup - Thanks, the menu entry fix works here as well!

Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5249
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 06 May 2015, 04:40    Post subject:  

@bigpup, moat (and linuxwannabe):-

I'm glad other folks find it useful! Be nice if I could take the credit for this, but I am in no sense of the word a programmer. All I did was dig it up, out of a lengthy (and as I recall, quite involved) Google Search. Rob Dawson, the guy responsible for BitMeterOS, has a few other rather nifty utilities on his site; it's well worth a look.

bigpup, I've never bothered with trying to start it from the menu. The way I've always done it, it gets installed along with printer utilities and that kinda thing when I do a new install. I then get my browser up & running, and because of the way most of them work these days, it's there on the bookmarks bar straightaway. Soon as I fire the browser up (whichever one I'm using that day), it's the first thing I open after signing in.

That's it.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quote:
Mike Walsh,
Thanks for this BitMeter OS program.

How about you posting a topic about it in the Additional Software section of the forum? Very Happy Idea

Network section, maybe. Idea


Not a bad idea, actually. I don't know too many people who are lucky enough to have an unlimited data-plan; most of us tend to have a cap of some kind imposed on us by our ISPs. Yah; I'll have a re-organise of that post, and tidy it up a bit; my way of writing is NOT to everybody's taste, I know! Leave it with me.

Regards,

Mike. Smile

Last edited by Mike Walsh on Wed 06 May 2015, 05:02; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11267

PostPosted: Wed 06 May 2015, 05:00    Post subject:  

Ah ha... so an answer for the lazy Very Happy

Well had to make the folder /var/lib/bitmeter and rename /var/lib/bitmeter/bitmeter.db.new to bitmeter.db
Then ran bmcapture and bmws directly since i dont have the debian daemon crap ) a quick hack of the start scripts would fix that) and it works a treat... as you say its a tiny webserver taking very little..the browser interface does but you only need that when you want to check.

A quick test in something like lucid but i get the feeling it would work on older.

Also I guess the data is in bitmeter.db so if that was shared (a symlink for example) then logging would happen regardless of system.

Mike is impressed... Smile

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5249
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 06 May 2015, 05:20    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:
Ah ha... so an answer for the lazy Very Happy

Mike is impressed... Smile

Mike


Morning, Michael.

I was, too, when I first found Rob Dawson's CodeBox site; there's quite a few nifty utilities on there. Worth a look.

Takes a LOT to impress you, doesn't it? Laughing

I tend to take the path of least resistance; don't know the first thing about programmimg, If there's an easy way of doing something.....I'LL find it. Rolling Eyes

This one's more useful than most.


Mike to Mike.

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11267

PostPosted: Wed 06 May 2015, 05:27    Post subject:  

Code:
Takes a LOT to impress you, doesn't it? Laughing

not really...its just I don't hide it when I am not impressed Very Happy

Perhaps it's to do with where I hang out Wink

Well this bunny is a keeper.....

mike

ps unlimited bandwidth at the house but 3g on the boat....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5249
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 06 May 2015, 07:53    Post subject:  

Hey, Mike.

What d'you reckon to the idea of making a 'Network' section article about it? I reckon there'll be a few other people out there could be interested in this; and we ALL spend time in the browser, don't we?

I mean, that's where your bandwidth goes, after all...

(Need to get the "grand old man's seal of approval", don't I?) Laughing


Mike to Mike. Very Happy

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [33 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1504s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0416s) ][ GZIP on ]