Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 09 Dec 2019, 07:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Calibre - check for missing libraries? (Solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [28 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
bambuko


Joined: 14 Nov 2007
Posts: 562
Location: North Devon

PostPosted: Sun 05 Apr 2015, 04:24    Post subject:  Calibre - check for missing libraries? (Solved)  

Probably one of my more stupid questions, but I hope you will be gentle with me in the beginner's section Smile

I have self contained application that starts fine, but keeps crashing.
I suspect it is because something is missing in my Puppy (Tahrpup 6.0.2), because it runs perfectly fine in other, more bloated distros.

How can I check what is missing?

Last edited by bambuko on Tue 07 Apr 2015, 14:56; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8021
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sun 05 Apr 2015, 07:12    Post subject:  

Very Happy The suspense is killing me!

/var/log should have a few goodies too.

http://dedoimedo.com/computers/strace.html

http://www.thegeekstuff.com/2011/11/strace-examples/

This a binary you picked up or something <dare I ask> you've compiled?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bambuko


Joined: 14 Nov 2007
Posts: 562
Location: North Devon

PostPosted: Sun 05 Apr 2015, 08:37    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
Very Happy The suspense is killing me!
/var/log should have a few goodies too.
http://dedoimedo.com/computers/strace.html
http://www.thegeekstuff.com/2011/11/strace-examples/
This a binary you picked up or something <dare I ask> you've compiled?


Do I detect some piss taking Laughing
You may ask - but the answer would dissapoint you.

Thank you for the pointer for trace - I will try it and report later on today!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8021
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sun 05 Apr 2015, 08:39    Post subject:  

So what is this secret, self-contained binary?
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bambuko


Joined: 14 Nov 2007
Posts: 562
Location: North Devon

PostPosted: Sun 05 Apr 2015, 10:29    Post subject:  

Laughing ...
I am not doing well, even on most basic level Crying or Very sad
Code:
bash: strace: command not found


Not another senior moment? Embarassed
do I have to install the tool first?

Yes, I was being thick - found it Razz

and the big unveil Laughing

first result of tailing the application that causes me problems:
Code:
root# tail -f calibre_trace.txt
open("/usr/share/pixmaps/default/cursors/forbidden", O_RDONLY) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
open("/usr/share/pixmaps/default/index.theme", O_RDONLY) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
poll([{fd=3, events=POLLIN|POLLOUT}], 1, -1) = 1 ([{fd=3, revents=POLLOUT}])
writev(3, [{"5\1\4\0\31\0\340\1}\0\0\0\24\0\24\0007\0\6\0\32\0\340\1\31\0\340\1\f\0\0\0"..., 376}], 1) = 376
poll([{fd=3, events=POLLIN|POLLOUT}], 1, -1) = 1 ([{fd=3, revents=POLLOUT}])
writev(3, [{"\26\0\4\0\4\0\340\1\177\1\0\0KQ\22\0\20\0\v\0$\0\0\0applicat"..., 60}], 1) = 60
futex(0xbff9e7d0, FUTEX_WAIT_PRIVATE, 1, NULL) = -1 EAGAIN (Resource temporarily unavailable)
futex(0x9204e9c, FUTEX_WAKE_PRIVATE, 1) = 0
--- SIGSEGV {si_signo=SIGSEGV, si_code=SEGV_MAPERR, si_addr=0} ---
+++ killed by SIGSEGV +++
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bambuko


Joined: 14 Nov 2007
Posts: 562
Location: North Devon

PostPosted: Sun 05 Apr 2015, 10:41    Post subject:  

So, it is segmentation fault that is killing the application (which I knew already anyway) but is this helping me to find the cause? Don't know - need to do bit more reading or hope that someone more knowledgeable can make sense of it? Smile

It has been suggested that Qt crashing is the cause of my problems...
Is Qt included in the standard Tahrpup 6.0.2 or is this something I need to install?

Run it again to make sure the problem is repeatable (although I am pretty sure of it - same behaviour on three different machines with different versions of Tahrpup), and here the result:

Code:
root# ps -C calibre
  PID TTY          TIME CMD
 2824 tty1     00:00:05 calibre
root# strace -p 2824 -o calibre_trace.txt
Process 2824 attached
root# tail -f calibre_trace.txt
open("/usr/share/pixmaps/default/index.theme", O_RDONLY) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
poll([{fd=3, events=POLLIN|POLLOUT}], 1, -1) = 1 ([{fd=3, revents=POLLOUT}])
writev(3, [{"5\1\4\0\24\0\340\1}\0\0\0\24\0\24\0007\0\6\0\25\0\340\1\24\0\340\1\f\0\0\0"..., 376}], 1) = 376
poll([{fd=3, events=POLLIN|POLLOUT}], 1, -1) = 1 ([{fd=3, revents=POLLOUT}])
writev(3, [{"\26\0\4\0\4\0\340\1\177\1\0\0\33\325*\0\20\0\v\0$\0\0\0applicat"..., 60}], 1) = 60
futex(0x910febc, FUTEX_WAKE_PRIVATE, 1) = 1
futex(0xbfe9ec90, FUTEX_WAIT_PRIVATE, 1, NULL) = 0
futex(0x910febc, FUTEX_WAKE_PRIVATE, 1) = 0
--- SIGSEGV {si_signo=SIGSEGV, si_code=SEGV_MAPERR, si_addr=0} ---
+++ killed by SIGSEGV +++


and the summary of error calls (only, I edited out all good stuff):

Code:
root# strace -c /mnt/sdb1/calibre/calibre
% time     seconds  usecs/call     calls    errors syscall
------ ----------- ----------- --------- --------- ----------------
 37.35    0.000031           0      2158      1763 open
 21.69    0.000018           0       737       599 stat64
 10.84    0.000009           0       297        46 futex
  0.00    0.000000           0        14         9 access
  0.00    0.000000           0         2         1 mkdir
  0.00    0.000000           0         4         1 ioctl
  0.00    0.000000           0         6         1 statfs
  0.00    0.000000           0        27         2 _llseek
  0.00    0.000000           0       193         2 lstat64
  0.00    0.000000           0         2         2 bind
  0.00    0.000000           0         3         1 recv
  0.00    0.000000           0        12         6 recvmsg
------ ----------- ----------- --------- --------- ----------------
100.00    0.000083                  6389      2435 total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8021
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sun 05 Apr 2015, 15:24    Post subject:  

Despite what Calibre's site says, have you considered running the dated version in Tahr's repo?

In ~/.packages you'll see "layers-installed," "woof-installed."

Here's the current Calibre deps list:
Code:
python   2.7.1 not 3.x
Python Imaging Library   1.1.6
Qt   5.3.2
PyQt   5.3.1
python-mechanize   0.1.11
ImageMagick   6.5.9
xdg-utils   1.0.2
lxml   3.2.1
python-dateutil   1.4.1
cssutils   0.9.9
BeautifulSoup   3.0.5
dnspython   1.6.0
poppler   0.20.2
podofo   0.8.2

A quick observation suggests Tahr's only good for Qt 4.8.5.

I recall PhilB mentioning BeautifulSoup's in the devx.

ImageMagick's a pkg you'd have to add.

For anything else I'm unsure.

Lib versioning help.

_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<

Last edited by Semme on Sun 05 Apr 2015, 15:41; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bambuko


Joined: 14 Nov 2007
Posts: 562
Location: North Devon

PostPosted: Sun 05 Apr 2015, 15:40    Post subject:  

Thanks Semme,
That's rather more than I expected...
and adding all this just to run Calibre would probably change Puppy into Lardy Puppy Very Happy and I have no intention of inflicting cruelty on the poor animal.
I think I'll accept limitations of Puppy and love if for what it is.
I am also running PCLInuxOS and Calibre is perfectly happy there.

It was good lesson and thank you for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8021
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sun 05 Apr 2015, 15:50    Post subject:  

Like a significant other, not all the bases need to be covered, just the ones that matter most. Wink

This page for future reference >> http://www.cyberciti.biz/tips/linux-shared-library-management.html

One mo` >> http://www.yolinux.com/TUTORIALS/LibraryArchives-StaticAndDynamic.html

_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bambuko


Joined: 14 Nov 2007
Posts: 562
Location: North Devon

PostPosted: Sun 05 Apr 2015, 15:57    Post subject:  

Another great couple of links - thank you!
Yeah, I know my significant other for many years and I am still not sure which ones "matter most" Very Happy , so no chance with Linux - new and exciting but totally mysterious Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 2111
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Sun 05 Apr 2015, 21:44    Post subject:  

Download the linux calibre from

extract calibre to /mnt/home.
cd /mnt/home/calibre
click on calibre icon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bambuko


Joined: 14 Nov 2007
Posts: 562
Location: North Devon

PostPosted: Mon 06 Apr 2015, 04:24    Post subject:  

tlchost wrote:
Download the linux calibre from
extract calibre to /mnt/home.
cd /mnt/home/calibre
click on calibre icon


Question Question Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 2111
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Mon 06 Apr 2015, 05:29    Post subject:  

bambuko wrote:


Question Question Rolling Eyes


Sorry about the missing lienk...but you can find it the way I did .... search for calibre and go to their home page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bambuko


Joined: 14 Nov 2007
Posts: 562
Location: North Devon

PostPosted: Mon 06 Apr 2015, 09:22    Post subject:  

I wasn't the missing link I was questionning.... Laughing

Anyway... if you were trying to help, it would be useful to know what particular version of Puppy you are using, and how did you test it for "success"?
It would also be useful to know which version (2.23.0?) of Calibre did you install?

Did you also install all the dependencies Calibre needs for sucessful running (or only some of them? and if so, which ones?), or are you saying:
install Calibre, press calibre and Bob's your uncle foreverafter?

I have 2.22 installed on 6.0.2 and it repeatedly, reliably crashes after running for a bit (which can vary from few seconds, to few minutes, although usually few seconds is more likely).

It's always segmentation fault, broken pipe or something similar.
According to Kovid:
Quote:
...underlying problem is that Qt is crashing on your system


The fault repeats itself across three different machines and both Tahrpup 6.0 and 6.0.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 2111
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Mon 06 Apr 2015, 13:37    Post subject:  

bambuko wrote:

Anyway... if you were trying to help, it would be useful to know what particular version of Puppy you are using, and how did you test it for "success"?
It would also be useful to know which version (2.23.0?) of Calibre did you install?

I have used the method of extracting calibre to /mnt/home in Precise, Tahr and man other puppies. Since Calibre from the Calibre site is free standing, it simply works.

Quote:

Did you also install all the dependencies Calibre needs for sucessful running (or only some of them? and if so, which ones?),

If you do what I suggested, you are not installing calibre, simply using it as a stand alone application...so no need to install what Calibre needs, since it's already in the application.

Quote:
or are you saying: install Calibre, press calibre and Bob's your uncle foreverafter?


I have NEVER said install Calibre, I have NEVER said use any Calibre .pet or .sfs file. What I did say was extract the Calinre Archive to /mnt/home and run it

Quote:

I have 2.22 installed on 6.0.2 and it repeatedly, reliably crashes after running for a bit (which can vary from few seconds, to few minutes, although usually few seconds is more likely).


Don't install Calibre....do what I suggested....trust me, it works, it's a non-geeky solution.

The downside is the method eliminates all the joys of messing with dependencies, versions, secret handshakes, white socks and pocket protectors....it's almost as easy as WIndows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [28 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0586s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0064s) ][ GZIP on ]