Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 30 Aug 2014, 18:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Use LILO (from another distro) to boot Puppy w/o CD
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Thu 19 Oct 2006, 01:43    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Off -topic - if wish to ask about any Puppy Cfgs - NOT how to implement them -
I.E. initrd.gz ~ or why /mnt was chosen for swap - where should this be posted ?

Probably the "users" section.

I actually haven't gotten around to installing Lilo in Puppy yet. The only reason I use it is because it's already there from my Vector install. I don't need Vector anymore though, so when I repartition my drive in the near future I'll have to install something. I plan to use Grub since it comes with Puppy. If I wind up not liking it I'll take a whack at Lilo.

Another thing to watch out for when chrooting is mounted (or unmounted) filesystems. Just because you have /dev/hdb2 mounted in Puppy doesn't mean it is in whatever you're chrooting into. Unless you mount it to the appropriate location in that distro from Puppy or chroot, that is.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gaston

Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat 09 Dec 2006, 17:47    Post_subject: Using lilo to boot Puppy w/oCD
Sub_title: more information need
 

See the next post.

Merci.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gaston

Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat 09 Dec 2006, 18:10    Post_subject: Puppy lilo boot
Sub_title: how to modify lilo
 

Using LILO (from another distro) to boot Puppy w/o CD

"Frugal Install," "Poor Man's Install," or "Option 1 install" using Lilo
These instructions will work for Puppy 1 and Puppy 2. I wrote it for 2, but for 1 you just replace 'initrd.gz' with 'image.gz', 'pup_xxx.sfs' with 'usr_cram.fs', and 'pup_save.3fs' with 'pupxxx'.

Step 1
First, you need to choose which partition to use with the pup_save.3fs file. You need to put pup_xxx.sfs (pup_202.sfs for Puppy 2.02) there. If you already have a pup_save.3fs file or devx_xxx.sfs file that you want to use, they go there too. They all neet to be at the top of that partition.

Does Puppy 1 and Puppy 2 mean frugal and full partition installation?
How do we place the files at the top of the partition?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Sun 10 Dec 2006, 01:26    Post_subject:  

Quote:
"Frugal Install," "Poor Man's Install," or "Option 1 install"

That part means for the "Frugal Install". I haven't done a full hd install, so I'm not sure how that would work. That's why my instructions are just for a frugal install.

Puppy 1 means Puppy 1.x.x, which would be like Puppy 1.0.5 or Puppy 1.0.8.
Puppy 2 means Puppy 2.xx, which would be like Puppy 2.02 or Puppy 2.11.


If you already have a save-file, you can just boot Puppy and go to /mnt/home to access the top level of the partition. Otherwise, you would boot from the live-cd and mount the harddrive with MUT (the icon that says "drives") or Pmount, which are also in the start menu under "utilities". Pmount should be in nearly all versions of Puppy, but MUT might not be in very old Puppies.

When MUT mounts a drive, it pops up a window with the top level in it. I think Pmount does too, but I'm not sure.

The files you need are on the cd. In MUT or Pmount, mount your cd. Then you can drag the files to the other window.


If you can't use a cd, it's more complicated. There are several threads about that already.

If you need more specific help, you'll need to tell me what version you want to install, and how you want to install it. Also, I apologize if any of this is unclear. It's past my bed time Wink

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gaston

Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun 10 Dec 2006, 11:44    Post_subject: Use LILO to boot Puppy w/o CD
Sub_title: the top of the partition
 

Pizzasgood wrote:
Quote:
"Frugal Install," "Poor Man's Install," or "Option 1 install"

That part means for the "Frugal Install". I haven't done a full hd install, so I'm not sure how that would work. That's why my instructions are just for a frugal install.

Puppy 1 means Puppy 1.x.x, which would be like Puppy 1.0.5 or Puppy 1.0.8.
Puppy 2 means Puppy 2.xx, which would be like Puppy 2.02 or Puppy 2.11.


If you already have a save-file, you can just boot Puppy and go to /mnt/home to access the top level of the partition. Otherwise, you would boot from the live-cd and mount the harddrive with MUT (the icon that says "drives") or Pmount, which are also in the start menu under "utilities". Pmount should be in nearly all versions of Puppy, but MUT might not be in very old Puppies.

When MUT mounts a drive, it pops up a window with the top level in it. I think Pmount does too, but I'm not sure.

The files you need are on the cd. In MUT or Pmount, mount your cd. Then you can drag the files to the other window.


If you can't use a cd, it's more complicated. There are several threads about that already.

If you need more specific help, you'll need to tell me what version you want to install, and how you want to install it. Also, I apologize if any of this is unclear. It's past my bed time Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Sun 10 Dec 2006, 18:25    Post_subject:  

I'm not sure what quoting me means.... Is it like saying, "Okay, sounds good!", or is it like saying "Eh? What?"

If you don't have the cd (or not cd drive) you can get the files you need by mounting the iso (assuming you have another os running on the computer).

First, you'd download the iso file (the file you burn to the cd). Then, if you're in linux, you mount it. Sunburnt wrote an app for that I believe. Otherwise you can use mount <isofile> /mnt/data -o loop. Then the files would be in /mnt/data. From Windows, there is a program called 'IsoBuster' that can extract files from an iso. I don't know about from things like BSD or Mac, but I think they would be similar to the mount command.

Maybe the phrase 'top of the partition' isn't clear enough? It means the top of the filetree. As in C: in Windows, or /mnt/home/ Puppy, or / in a normal Linux.

I'm out of ideas now, so you're going to have to do better than quoting my post if I haven't helped you yet. Neutral An explanation would be nice.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
cruzin


Joined: 30 Nov 2006
Posts: 173

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jan 2007, 23:23    Post_subject: Can grub be used also?
Sub_title: I tried but failed
 

I have grub for a loader in suse9.3. I ran into problems. When I start the computer I have the option of Linux, Windows or Puppy
When I choose Puppy I get the error (unrecognized device string) calling out (root /dev/ram0) error 11. Any clues? thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Wed 03 Jan 2007, 00:51    Post_subject:  

Grub can definitely work. I'm using it now. I don't know much about it though, and this thread should probably stick to Lilo.

There have been many posts about it, so I'd suggest doing a search to see if anything useful turns up. Otherwise feel free to start a new thread about it.

Note: It is a good idea to state how you have Puppy installed (i.e. full harddrive install or frugal harddrive install). That will affect what the menu.lst file should look like.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Gn2


Joined: 16 Oct 2006
Posts: 936
Location: virtual - Veni vidi, nihil est adpulerit

PostPosted: Wed 03 Jan 2007, 02:12    Post_subject:  

Cruzin

Grub Errors
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
TonshA

Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Fri 04 May 2007, 03:07    Post_subject:  

Hi.

I just wanted to report that this solution worked for me. Following PG's instructions to the letter.

I have a dual boot - WinXP & SamLinux2006 - and wanted to use a frugal install of Pizzapup 3.0.1 on a completely separate partition.

Trying to install Grub didn't work - neither Pizzapup nor SamLinux would boot up again. Kept getting kernal panic.

In the end, I re-installed SamLinux and searched the forum for these instructions (I knew I had seen them, but it took a while to pin them down). Everything worked fine!

Thanks PizzasGood!

DaveA

P.S. "Why 3 distros?" you may ask. Well, Pizzapup for me & the wife - quick and easy to use. SamLinux for the games for the kids - they love TuxRacer, SuperTux, Powermanga, TuxKarts & Wormux. And Windows for Personal Ancestral File (That's ALL - GRAMPS doesn't cut it I'm afraid).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0716s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0041s) ][ GZIP on ]