Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 30 May 2020, 11:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Introducing April64 (and April i686 on page 12)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 22 of 23 [343 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 20, 21, 22, 23 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9354
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 09 Feb 2015, 20:31    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
@BarryK, the Hardinfo package you are using does not have the updates that @Kirk secured for this community several years back. Multiple PUPs use it. Is there a chance you could update WOOFQ/April's?


No.

I had to roll hardinfo back to an earlier version, as it was crashing.

The crash was reported a couple of times, either earlier in this thread or the "quirky 6.0" thread.

One of those changes has broken x86_64, so I was forced to go back to an earlier version.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9354
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 09 Feb 2015, 20:38    Post subject: Re: UEFI  

Volhout wrote:
Will it boot secure under UEFI ?


No.

I have experimented with UEFI booting, not secure boot though.

I decided there are too many hassles. I could comment a lot more about it, but am restraining myself.

April/April64 and upcoming Wary64 all require "legacy boot" to be enabled on the PC.

This is far simpler.

There are various sites on the Internet that explain how to do it.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5516
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 09 Feb 2015, 21:29    Post subject:  

Right-click-april64-6.9.6.pet
(untick downloader box to avoid app)
http://www.datafilehost.com/d/5d241b71

- full screen view of video using vlc
-improved gettext of baconrecorder
-right click of office files possible
-added icon of inkscape

Last edited by don570 on Tue 21 Apr 2015, 14:37; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1593
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Tue 10 Feb 2015, 00:27    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
Quote:
..worth adding redshift..

Unnecessary waste of byte space? Stand up and close the blinds? Turn around in your chair? Use calories, live longer?


thank you sage, but were talking about April here and not Wary, April has it's own standards.

By the way, there is a wary64 coming according to barry on his website http://bkhome.org/news/?viewDetailed=00169, and it's proposed to be going to be under 100meg if he can. I expect it will have it's own thread.

Last edited by scsijon on Tue 10 Feb 2015, 17:39; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 10 Feb 2015, 02:05    Post subject:  

Couple things
  • Hope WARY64 has its own separate thread.
  • Hope @BarryK has notice a couple posts in differing threads about use of SFSs at boot time to allow any user to boot into differing editions of a single distro. Closest OOTB solution is how @TaZoC did this, while @BattleShooter has exposed something he's found. Then, there are two other threads discussing methods tested where this is done (without calling it a single distro with several editions, yet this is in fact what they expose),

    If this kind of thing is a follow-on method of PUP evolution, it would be great as the developer(s) can now address editions for a given distro's release, via a singularity.
Hope this knowledge is helpful.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gnomic

Joined: 20 Aug 2010
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Tue 10 Feb 2015, 05:46    Post subject: 3g modem usage in Puppy  

At present I am getting on the internet via a 3G modem. Alas I have never been able to use a Puppy to do so. Used to the ease of use with the dread NetworkManager as seen in many distros which incorporates a database of ISPs from round the world thereby simplifying the task of working out what is required to be inserted in that multitude of boxes. Typically in a Puppy of late the modem is seen (usb_modeswitch is go) but remains unusable as I can't work out what to tell it to make it go. Is there some guide to Puppy 3g modem usage for dunces, or is there some hope that wvdial in April will be usable by mere mortals? Comments anybody? Perhaps somebody who has managed to make this go?

Two aspects here I think, how to make a specific modem model connect, and what ISP specific info is required. The only 3g dialer (aside from NM) I have seen which works for idiots such as myself is sakis3g.

The modem is a ZTE model, don't seem to be able to get the current Debian live session to tell me exactly what model, and the ISP is called 2Degrees here in Aotearoa.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9354
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 10 Feb 2015, 20:02    Post subject:  

Yes, Wary64 has it's own thread:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=97699

Wary64 6.98 (7.0RC) has been released.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
peterw

Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 429
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 11 Feb 2015, 10:06    Post subject: usb 3g modems
Subject description: Settings for 3g modems
 

Hi gnomic

If you have a Puppy with the Puppy Network Wizard then it is easy after you have done it once. This reference gives you the information you need. If you manage to use your 3g modem with a Ubuntu then the settings you want are the same.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=91082

As an alternative to 3g modems you can use an Android phone and tether you machine to it. I usually do this by a usb cable, but you can also make your phone as a wireless modem.

peterw
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Volhout

Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 547

PostPosted: Wed 11 Feb 2015, 10:38    Post subject: Re: UEFI  

BarryK wrote:
Volhout wrote:
Will it boot secure under UEFI ?


No.

I have experimented with UEFI booting, not secure boot though.

I decided there are too many hassles. I could comment a lot more about it, but am restraining myself.

April/April64 and upcoming Wary64 all require "legacy boot" to be enabled on the PC.

This is far simpler.

There are various sites on the Internet that explain how to do it.


Thank you for your response. I understand that this is currently outside the focus.

If my knowledge of the UEFI boot proces (secure) is correct this rules out all new Win8.1 systems as test platforms for April64. Enabling Legacy boot to boot April64 will disable booting into Microsoft (it is not possible to choose between Linux and Windows), unless Win8.1 is re-installed under Legacy boot.

I am not sure (honestly: too scared to try) if switching to Legacy boot makes you loose the pre-installed Win8.1 permanently. But even when not, modifying the boot method every time you change between OS'es is discouraging.... (exactly what Microsoft wants...I guess).

Please continue developing April64 and make it into a good product. When time comes, there may be a secure UEFI boot enabled version of it. I look forward to this time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper

Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1350
Location: England

PostPosted: Wed 11 Feb 2015, 15:50    Post subject:  

Re: the information problem reported above, two days ago, by BarryK see http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=827286#827286

Pup-SysInfo-2.5.2.pet (from radky) will provide most of Hardinfo's info, plus more.
It is available here (see the last app from the extensive list)
http://www.smokey01.com/radky/PupMates.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3721
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 11 Feb 2015, 21:22    Post subject: Introducing April64 (and April i686 on page 12)  

Installed to a 32gb sdhc card, pc is an Eee PC 701SD netbook.
video-info-glx 1.5.3 Wed 11 Feb 2015 on Quirky April 6.94 Linux 3.17.8 i686
2.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 915GM/GMS/910GML Express Graphics Controller (rev 04)
oem: Intel(r)915GM/910ML/915MS Graphics Chip Accelerated VGA BIOS
product: Intel(r)915GM/910ML/915MS Graphics Controller Hardware Version 0.0

X Server: Xorg Driver: intel
X.Org version: 1.16.2
dimensions: 640x480 pixels (169x126 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes


Intel(R) Celeron(R) M processor 900MHz
Core 0: @Intel(R) 1: @630 MHz

April 6.94 32bit runs well on this netbook.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   78.56 KB
 Viewed   741 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1593
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Thu 12 Feb 2015, 05:31    Post subject: MIDI?  

Does anyone know how to setup a midi interface and check it's connection on these beasts. I have the midi-usb cables and an old casio 110 for source/speakers, i'm just getting no response from the systems, so I suspect something is either missing ( like a driver) or set wrong.

The MIDI Interface is a Ashton usbmd.

And, no I don't totally know what I am doing in this case as my own keyboard has it all inside (usb) and is automatic set and just plain works.

The casio is set for midi i/o and works with Precise 571 so the problem doesn't seem to be on that end, it seems to be something with April.

Any ideas where to start would be appreciated as it's all suppose to be going down to my niece for her use at uni at the end of the month and i'd like to have April loaded for her to brag about. She is NOT getting mine!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9354
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 12 Feb 2015, 08:32    Post subject: Re: UEFI  

Volhout wrote:
BarryK wrote:
Volhout wrote:
Will it boot secure under UEFI ?


No.

I have experimented with UEFI booting, not secure boot though.

I decided there are too many hassles. I could comment a lot more about it, but am restraining myself.

April/April64 and upcoming Wary64 all require "legacy boot" to be enabled on the PC.

This is far simpler.

There are various sites on the Internet that explain how to do it.


Thank you for your response. I understand that this is currently outside the focus.

If my knowledge of the UEFI boot proces (secure) is correct this rules out all new Win8.1 systems as test platforms for April64. Enabling Legacy boot to boot April64 will disable booting into Microsoft (it is not possible to choose between Linux and Windows), unless Win8.1 is re-installed under Legacy boot.

I am not sure (honestly: too scared to try) if switching to Legacy boot makes you loose the pre-installed Win8.1 permanently. But even when not, modifying the boot method every time you change between OS'es is discouraging.... (exactly what Microsoft wants...I guess).

Please continue developing April64 and make it into a good product. When time comes, there may be a secure UEFI boot enabled version of it. I look forward to this time.


Enabling legacy boot does not disable Windows 8.1.

I have been through the exercise on a new UEFI Win8.1 Acer laptop, no problem.

I don't recall where, but I found a site with instructions. There is some kind of "fast boot" in Win8.1 that is supposed to be turned off. After that, hit the right key at bootup to launch what we used to call the "bios setup", and enable legacy boot.

I can't give any guarantees of course, but I have not read anywhere of enabling legacy boot causing Windows not to load.

EDIT:
Also, I don't have to change the "bios setup" anymore. The setup has a boot-check order, if a bootable usb or cd is not inserted, then it automatically boots Windows.

I purchased that Acer laptop recently, for a relative, but she has left it with me for awhile (actually, she has gone back to using her old laptop with Win7!). I am using it for testing.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9354
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 12 Feb 2015, 08:40    Post subject: Re: MIDI?  

scsijon wrote:
Does anyone know how to setup a midi interface and check it's connection on these beasts. I have the midi-usb cables and an old casio 110 for source/speakers, i'm just getting no response from the systems, so I suspect something is either missing ( like a driver) or set wrong.

The MIDI Interface is a Ashton usbmd.

And, no I don't totally know what I am doing in this case as my own keyboard has it all inside (usb) and is automatic set and just plain works.

The casio is set for midi i/o and works with Precise 571 so the problem doesn't seem to be on that end, it seems to be something with April.

Any ideas where to start would be appreciated as it's all suppose to be going down to my niece for her use at uni at the end of the month and i'd like to have April loaded for her to brag about. She is NOT getting mine!


You might be better off using Quirky Unicorn, with access to all the Ubuntu packages. Then you will have "off the shelf" solutions for midi.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5516
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 18 Feb 2015, 17:44    Post subject:  

When I tried to compile gimp 2.8.10 in April64
I got the following error
Code:
gimpfont.c:30:31: fatal error: freetype/tttables.h: No such file or directory


When I checked where this file should be located (in Precise Puppy)
It is located in /usr/include/freetype2/freetype/ttables.h (see image)



April64 apparently locates it one level up which causes the error.

______________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 22 of 23 [343 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 20, 21, 22, 23 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0873s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0122s) ][ GZIP on ]