Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 17 Sep 2019, 09:18
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Resurrection..!
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 18 of 19 [276 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Author Message
rokytnji

Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 2288

PostPosted: Wed 10 Dec 2014, 16:00    Post subject:  

rokytnji wrote:
Quote:
Is this it coming from the Dougal connection tool?


Yes. That is the gtk warning I mentioned. I paid attention to it because Barrys Simple Network Manager never asked for my password to connect so
putting 1 + 1 together I figured I got 2.

I will give it a spin later in the week again since you say to go ahead and say use it. I will use my Slack0 5.9.3 cd.


Booted up Tahr since my Slack0 is being borrowed today.

Code:
# inxi -zv7
System:    Host: puppypc14742 Kernel: 3.14.20 i686 (32 bit gcc: 4.6.4)
           Desktop: JWM git-976 dm: N/A Distro: tahrpup 6.0
Machine:   System: HP Pavilion 061 product: DM170A-ABA a350n v: 0nB1211RE101YALE 10
           Mobo: ASUSTeK model: Yale v: 1.xx
           Bios: American Megatrends v: 3.25 date: 04/27/2004
CPU:       Single core Intel Pentium 4 (-HT-) cache: 512 KB
           flags: (pae sse sse2) bmips: 5602
           clock speeds: min/max: 350/2800 MHz 1: 2800 MHz 2: 2800 MHz
Memory:    Array-1 capacity: 4 GB devices: 4 EC: None
           max module size: 1 GB (est)
           Device-1: DIMM0 size: 1 GB (Double-bank) speed: N/A
           type: SDRAM (Synchronous) bus width: 64 bits
           manufacturer: N/A part: N/A serial: N/A
           Device-2: DIMM1 size: 1 GB (Double-bank) speed: N/A
           type: SDRAM (Synchronous) bus width: 64 bits
           manufacturer: N/A part: N/A serial: N/A
           Device-3: DIMM2 size: 1 GB (Double-bank) speed: N/A
           type: SDRAM (Synchronous) bus width: 64 bits
           manufacturer: N/A part: N/A serial: N/A
           Device-4: DIMM3 size: 1 GB (Double-bank) speed: N/A
           type: SDRAM (Synchronous) bus width: 64 bits
           manufacturer: N/A part: N/A serial: N/A
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA NV18 [GeForce4 MX 440 AGP 8x]
           bus-ID: 01:00.0 chip-ID: 10de:0181
           Display Server: X.org 1.15.1 drivers: nouveau (unloaded: vesa)
           tty size: 80x25 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Audio:     Card Intel 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) AC'97 Audio Controller
           driver: snd_intel8x0 ports: d800 dc00 bus-ID: 00:1f.5 chip-ID: 8086:24d5
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k3.14.20
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL-8100/8101L/8139 PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter
           driver: 8139too v: 0.9.28 port: b400
           bus-ID: 02:0f.0 chip-ID: 10ec:8139
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8191SU 802.11n WLAN Adapter
           driver: r8712u usb-ID: 001-002 chip-ID: 0bda:8172
           IF: wlan0 state: N/A mac: N/A
           WAN IP: <filter> IF: eth0 ip: N/A ip-v6: N/A
           IF: wlan0 ip: <filter> ip-v6: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 160.0GB (1.3% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST3160021A size: 160.0GB serial: N/A
           Optical-1: /dev/sr0 model: LITE-ON DVDRW SOHW-832S
           rev: VS0G dev-links: dvd
           Features: speed: 40x multisession: yes
           audio: yes dvd: yes rw: cd-r,cd-rw,dvd-r state: running
           Optical-2: /dev/sr1 model: ASUS CD-S480/AH
           rev: 0.85 dev-links: cdrom
           Features: speed: 48x multisession: yes
           audio: yes dvd: no rw: none state: running
Partition: ID-1: swap-1 size: 2.15GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda3
           label: N/A uuid: N/A
RAID:      System: supported: linear raid0 raid1 raid10 raid6 raid5 raid4
           No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
           Unused Devices: none
Unmounted: ID-1: /dev/sda1 size: 7.54G fs: FAT (32 bit) label: N/A uuid: N/A
           ID-2: /dev/sda2 size: 42.40G fs: NTFS label: N/A uuid: N/A
           ID-3: /dev/sda5 size: 56.57G fs: FAT (32 bit) label: N/A uuid: N/A
           ID-4: /dev/sda6 size: 51.38G fs: FAT (32 bit) label: N/A uuid: N/A
Sensors:   None detected - is lm-sensors installed and configured?
Info:      Processes: 102 Uptime: 7 min Memory: 168.8/3654.8MB
           Init: SysVinit v: N/A runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: N/A
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.291 running in urxvt) inxi: 2.2.16
#


Quote:
Maybe you should use a connection manager that is still being maintained.


Well, I used Dougals Connection Manager since I have been using Puppy since 2008. Used add to list like the button in your screenshot and followed the prompts afterwards. As you can see. I am posting now. I am going to just make a save file and run this off of cd since this release is just a test release. I will do the dame with Slack0 5.9 also since it is not final yet. Just cd in ram runs since I have ram to spare.

Looks like the adapter is going to work like you said rcrsn51.
I guess my 1 + 1 don't add up to a hill of beans. Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5381
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 10 Dec 2014, 16:51    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Excellent. There are instructions here for setting up the firewall on a client machine to allow access to a print server. The same procedure would apply to your Samba server.


Many thanks. That's all working nicely, now....and no need to touch the firewall any more. It's usually the case that it's something easily overlooked (or misunderstood) that gums the works up.... In this case, I think, it was just getting the folder path correct. It was certainly easier than moving a nearly 19 GB folder to the default location...!

Regards,

Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12629
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 10 Dec 2014, 17:58    Post subject:  

rokytnji wrote:
Looks like the adapter is going to work

Excellent. So I guess you can buy a decent adapter for $3.25. Wink

How far from the AP are you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rokytnji

Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 2288

PostPosted: Wed 10 Dec 2014, 19:49    Post subject:  

Quote:
How far from the AP are you?


My shop to the router is about 200 feet away, through steel walls, then through stucco walls of my house.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11269

PostPosted: Thu 11 Dec 2014, 05:04    Post subject:  

Quote:
My shop to the router is about 200 feet away, through steel walls, then through stucco walls of my house.

fails to mention that the transmitter makes the local wildlife glow in the dark Wink

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5381
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 11 Dec 2014, 06:47    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:
Quote:
My shop to the router is about 200 feet away, through steel walls, then through stucco walls of my house.

fails to mention that the transmitter makes the local wildlife glow in the dark Wink

mike


Mike...!!

Mike.

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11269

PostPosted: Thu 11 Dec 2014, 06:54    Post subject:  

Well the sheep at rugby do.... 110KW of ultra low frequency on a 2 mile antenna rf warms them up ...its not just for submarines Wink

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5381
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 11 Dec 2014, 07:09    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:
Well the sheep at rugby do.... 110KW of ultra low frequency on a 2 mile antenna rf warms them up ...its not just for submarines Wink

mike


Funny you should say that. I have heard locals musing upon that same point, in regard to the Beeb's big transmitter at Tacolneston, near Norwich. Something like 2 or 3 MEGAwatts, I believe... Laughing

Mike.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11269

PostPosted: Thu 11 Dec 2014, 08:00    Post subject:  

Now what you need is an aerial to grab power from such transmissions to heat your pets indirectly.

Those transmitters have valves the size of buckets.... quite impressive stuff...like steam engines.
Had a tour of Rugby when at college.


Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dogle

Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 398

PostPosted: Thu 11 Dec 2014, 09:12    Post subject:  

ISTR that, long ago, some enterprising chap successfully constructed an antenna system (in his loft?) to warm his house c/o the 400kW 198kHz Droitwich transmitter (but he got nicked for his pains).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rokytnji

Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 2288

PostPosted: Thu 11 Dec 2014, 09:44    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:
Quote:
My shop to the router is about 200 feet away, through steel walls, then through stucco walls of my house.

fails to mention that the transmitter makes the local wildlife glow in the dark Wink

mike


I guess you fellas don't know the desert makes a excellent nuclear waste dump also.

http://www.permianbasin360.com/story/d/story/wcs-looks-to-store-high-level-radioactive-waste/33560/-bMIpACrPE-Irsdl00YmiQ

Besides. We have all those empty fracking holes to fill up also.
Mad Max won't have nothing on us.

Have you ever walked through the desert at night? It is dark on a moonless night. Glowing in the dark is plus here. Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11269

PostPosted: Thu 11 Dec 2014, 10:40    Post subject:  

So wot are you working on.... uranium powered harleys???

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
neerajkolte


Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 517
Location: Pune, India.

PostPosted: Thu 11 Dec 2014, 11:20    Post subject:  

Scorpions do glow in night under black light (UV-A).

Watch out for them in desert.

_________________
"One of my most productive days was throwing away 1000 lines of code."
- Ken Thompson

“We tend to overestimate the effect of a technology in the short run and underestimate the effect in the long run.”
- Amara’s Law.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rokytnji

Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 2288

PostPosted: Thu 11 Dec 2014, 13:58    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:
So wot are you working on.... uranium powered harleys???

mike


Oil boom going on here mike. I think the smallest reactor is on a ship? No.
The glow in the dark scorpians are the ones that are translucent when the sun is up.



I've been stung by them because it is part of the environment at my ranch.
My boys. When they were kids. We had no internet then at the ranch and TV reception was from El Paso which is 100 miles west of the ranch.

They used to for entertainment. Make a box like a arena. Then put in there different insects like the links I'll post below and have insect
gladiator games to the death.

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-zIPbzDRN0Tc/T_uqLiOJP_I/AAAAAAAAAH8/Roavtp8jC0E/s1600/2012-06-21_20-31-52_219-1.jpg

https://inkyhighwayoasis.files.wordpress.com/2013/06/vinegaroon_samantha-scorpion-forums_com.jpg

http://www.badspiderbites.com/images/ann-camelspider-1.jpg

http://cdn.c.photoshelter.com/img-get/I000018iy8cVkkaA/s/700/329750004-texas-giant-centipede-scolopsendra-heros-wild-insect-on-rock-texas.jpg

https://insects.tamu.edu/images/insects/color/sunspidr.jpg

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/9/9a/Mole_cricket02.jpg

They would pull the wings off of these for the arena

http://thepersuasivewizard.com/thereisnowordpressonthiswebsite/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/IMG_0493.jpg

http://pics.davesgarden.com/pics/2006/08/29/GD_Rankin/bbd1b5.jpg

The above was one of the baddest in the arena and it's habitat was the irrigation ditches.

The version of this one. When it stung you. It could put a parasite in your brain. It is called a "Kissing Bug".

http://cdn2-b.examiner.com/sites/default/files/styles/image_content_width/hash/66/fb/66fb195c40c72d038736c4a5e939d9d5.jpg

It will kill you. The disease is called "Chagas". There is no known cure.
Always shake your boots out before putting them on. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5381
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 11 Dec 2014, 14:36    Post subject:  

@rokytnji:-

Hell, man; they are some NASTY looking buggers...urrrgh!!

Mike.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 18 of 19 [276 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0747s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0160s) ][ GZIP on ]