Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 15 Dec 2018, 07:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Virtualization
QEMU Launcher + 32 bit QEMU pet and sfs
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 10 of 10 [147 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10
Author Message
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11209

PostPosted: Sat 11 Oct 2014, 12:16    Post subject:  

Thanks Gobbi for clearing that up...so add the global variable and give some sort of info box..

Well will get on with that and the other suggestion for boot device shortly.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gobbi

Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 243

PostPosted: Mon 13 Oct 2014, 08:16    Post subject:  

You are welcome mikeb ! I'm glad to help somehow ...

Also , on jamesbond's suggestion , I added -sdl parameter ( using Qemu from the terminal ) and the geometry of the guest desktop follows the window's one . A checkbox for this option would add one more feature , I think .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11209

PostPosted: Mon 13 Oct 2014, 08:34    Post subject:  

-sdl... i noticed the -noframe related one and others.....

Bit awkward for testing here..... makes it not in its own window?#

Ie is there a set of parameters to give a particular feature? ... what exactly does only -sdl do... match windows borders?

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gobbi

Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 243

PostPosted: Tue 14 Oct 2014, 06:04    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:
what exactly does only -sdl do... match windows borders?

From what I've seen , yes .
Maybe this library should be included by default , at least for this reason .
Additional parameters come only with -display sdl option , as I read in qemu-system-x86_64 -sdl --help in terminal ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11209

PostPosted: Tue 14 Oct 2014, 06:15    Post subject:  

Well I was wondering if there was a group of parameters to produce a desirable result...eg something akin to remote X where the virtual machine is transparent...in other words if we have a checkbox lets make the most of it Smile

I also am making the assumption we would have SDL enabled when compiled which seems to be the case for what's floating around.

I will see if I can get something running to play with this myself too...even with a workable distro I don't have any kernel acceleration with the latest releases so tends to run like sludge.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 3186
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Tue 14 Oct 2014, 11:08    Post subject:  

"-sdl" is to start qemu with sdl interface. In the past this was always the default, but newer qemu comes with gtk interface as default (if compiled with gtk).
- "QEMU_SOUND_DRV" tells qemu what *host* driver to use. By default it is oss unless it is compiled without oss driver, in which case it would be alsa.
- soundhw tells qemu what *guest* soundcard to emulate. For newer guest OSes the only sensible one is "ac97" or "hda".

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11209

PostPosted: Tue 14 Oct 2014, 11:32    Post subject:  

Ok thanks for the info.... that suggests to me -sdl by itself as an option and any others be custom preferences.

Alsa for the host makes sense to me too...avoids the annoying sound grabbing ...i think the idea is again custom options for the rest to keep the gui simple.

Think I have a working picture now.....

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11209

PostPosted: Sun 16 Nov 2014, 13:39    Post subject:  

Ok finally did an update.

Visually no difference but have added boot device, VNC and forwarding to the list of options preserved... the first one should mean your preferred boot arrangement can be set and forgotten about...still has the fallback to boot cd if there is no hard drive image.

I added the export QEMU_SOUND_DRV=alsa for testing and because its not something that could be added via the advanced option. I don't believe there are any other variables needed for general use as otherwise a separate entry box would be needed.

I also changed the help button showing all the command line options AND the audio ones too..a tooltip informs this. Also means there is help even if the QEMU package lacks it and does not rely on defaultbrowser either.

I have not added anything for SDL yet...thought better to test out the above first. I believe just adding a -sdl switch is all that's needed at a basic level.

Its also hitting a point of whether advanced options should be added...this would probably mean a tabbed interface and I am concerned that it would overwhelm a new user which is the primary target of the GUI.

Another area is usb devices... though not much has been mentioned about those.

Look forward to any feedback and suggestions..

edit.......
Originally I intended to make these gui simply as a convenience to avoid long command lines and remember parameters.
Anything added to the extras box is preserved so it could sort of be a haven for any advance usage...and if so perhaps it could become larger or a multiline box IF that's feasible (wrapping or multiple entry boxes)..at least that gives the convenience of only having to set options once.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
neerajkolte


Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 517
Location: Pune, India.

PostPosted: Tue 18 Nov 2014, 03:24    Post subject:  

Hi Mike,

I liked the idea of having tabbed interface.
Basic tab : For new users.
Advanced tab: For those who want to tweak more.

Although you said you only intended to make this gui simply as a convenience to avoid long command lines and remember parameters,
I think a text box should be added at the bottom which would show actual command combination which will run when user clicks 'run qemu' button according to the choices he made.
This would really help new users understand command parameters.
But at the same time this might complicate matters for your coding of gui. What do you think?

Thanks.

- Neeraj.

_________________
"One of my most productive days was throwing away 1000 lines of code."
- Ken Thompson

“We tend to overestimate the effect of a technology in the short run and underestimate the effect in the long run.”
- Amara’s Law.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11209

PostPosted: Tue 18 Nov 2014, 05:49    Post subject:  

Funny really...I hacked searchmonkey because its tabbed interface to me made it over complicated and inconvenient and managed to retain the advanced settings in just the one display.

On a simple level I thing there is only the -sdl switch left to add.
After that perhaps a tabbed interface...but what to include?...
Or what about as suggested the big hairy entry box where an advanced user can add as many options as they wish and they get saved for future runs?

Quote:
I think a text box should be added at the bottom which would show actual command combination which will run when user clicks 'run qemu' button according to the choices he made.

Actually if you run from the command line you would see just that...the command line is echoed for debug purposes.... so echoing that to a text box instead would be something like..... I assume we are think in terms of the way pburn does this. A bit of a trick in real time with gtkdialog...ie it something is needed to refresh the text ...could have perhaps an optional xmessage box...hmmm

OR...like pburn...the full command string is built and can be edited before running...and saved?...(not sure how saving would work with such as quotes)

food for thought...

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
neerajkolte


Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 517
Location: Pune, India.

PostPosted: Tue 18 Nov 2014, 06:02    Post subject:  

I think new user might be overwhelmed if only single tab contains all basic and advance options as well.
How about having a checkmark box. which when enabled give you all options and if disabled will only show basic clean GUI.

Thanks.

- Neeraj.

_________________
"One of my most productive days was throwing away 1000 lines of code."
- Ken Thompson

“We tend to overestimate the effect of a technology in the short run and underestimate the effect in the long run.”
- Amara’s Law.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11209

PostPosted: Tue 18 Nov 2014, 06:38    Post subject:  

hmmm thing is how exactly would I fit the 60-80+ options on one interface using the various widgets.... I see the list and it does not compute into a workable interface...hence the suggestion of a text box.
person A will want a different set of options to person B... and it does not look like one checkbox can realistically do one pile of options since there are so many variables.

My dilemma....

I don't want a gui thats bigger than yer average laptop screen Very Happy

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 10 [147 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Virtualization
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1442s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0456s) ][ GZIP on ]