(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 26 Oct 2020, 15:41
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
My Puppy slowed way down
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Author Message
jpmcbooks

Joined: 12 Oct 2013
Posts: 22
Location: St. Louis

PostPosted: Tue 23 Sep 2014, 11:03    Post subject:  My Puppy slowed way down  

I installed puppy linux on my wife's computer about 8 months ago and it worked relativley well on her pentium4 tower . Now it is slow as molasses .
What can I do to speed it up?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Fossil


Joined: 13 Dec 2005
Posts: 1172
Location: Gloucestershire, UK.

PostPosted: Tue 23 Sep 2014, 13:49    Post subject:  

A bit more information would not go amiss. What version of Puppy? Frugal or full install? A Pentium 4 tower, but what processor, hard drive, memory?
Does the Puppy install work alright - aside from being 'slow'? Is the hard drive functioning correctly? Is the Puppy folder full of downloaded items and the usual flotsam collected over a period of time?
Try this first. Purge the browser cache. Then, assuming a frugal install, create a folder or series of folders outside the Puppy install and transfer all videos, pictures and any other large file download to there. Then reboot and see if that makes Puppy run faster!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 1502
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 23 Sep 2014, 18:05    Post subject:  

A great test is to boot into Puppy using the pfix=ram boot parameter.

This doesn't use your save file. If your puppy still goes slowly, the problem is probably hardware related. If your pup works well, then you have to investigate further into your install.

Note, this is for a frugal installation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpmcbooks

Joined: 12 Oct 2013
Posts: 22
Location: St. Louis

PostPosted: Wed 24 Sep 2014, 11:31    Post subject: puppy runs slow
Subject description: slow running
 

Im using a Dell Dimension 3000 computer with a Intel Celeron 2.4 ghz
I got a St3160815a ide 160gb drive. running 5.6 puppy I believe is full install not frugal (how can I determine this?) The drive passes a butterfly pattern test and cpu passed diags on Microscope diags. The PS fan is working good. memtest is good.

Fossil: My wife only has about 3 or pdf files saved nothing else , no movies music etc.
How do I purge the firefox browser?
Where is the save folder in the file browser?
p310don: If it is frugal , how do I boot using pfix=ram

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Fossil


Joined: 13 Dec 2005
Posts: 1172
Location: Gloucestershire, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 24 Sep 2014, 15:04    Post subject:  

Puppy "5.6". I'm guessing Slacko, not Precise, as you mention Firefox.
In Seamonkey it would have been: Preferences, Advanced (click the down-arrow), Cache. Clear Cache (it might also be wise to limit the amount of useage by creating a maximum size - cache disk space. As I'm not using Slacko, the Firefox equivalent browser Preferences may or may not be slightly different, although the same principal applies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpmcbooks

Joined: 12 Oct 2013
Posts: 22
Location: St. Louis

PostPosted: Wed 24 Sep 2014, 22:32    Post subject: slow puppy
Subject description: other issues
 

Now the firefox browser has exploded the picture on the homepage of yahoo.com
it takes up the whole screen. Yahoo is working fine on another computer. everything else is normal on screen ,
I installed seamonkey and it does the same thing! any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Fossil


Joined: 13 Dec 2005
Posts: 1172
Location: Gloucestershire, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 25 Sep 2014, 05:03    Post subject:  

Browser, Preferences, Appearance, "Resize large images to fit into browser window?"
What video resolution are you running at?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpmcbooks

Joined: 12 Oct 2013
Posts: 22
Location: St. Louis

PostPosted: Thu 25 Sep 2014, 11:04    Post subject: puppy slow
Subject description: additional problem
 

Fossil:
Im at work now , will check that out this evening.
The problem is limited to yahoo's picture on homepage , all other pages and sites work ok . If it was resolution setting it would affect everything would'nt it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8427
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 25 Sep 2014, 14:19    Post subject:  

Yahoo trouble?

They want you to update your browser. Not my method, but good for beginners. This, or spoof it's user agent.

_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpmcbooks

Joined: 12 Oct 2013
Posts: 22
Location: St. Louis

PostPosted: Thu 25 Sep 2014, 15:23    Post subject: slow puppy
Subject description: other issues
 

Semme: I read the update link and will look into it.
I installed the latest version of seamonkey and it does the same thing. Should'nt that have fixed it if it was a update issue?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8427
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 25 Sep 2014, 15:48    Post subject:  

SM's NOT FF. It works without the tail-end here.. Yep >> the "user agent switcher" extension.
Quote:
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux i686; rv:32.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/32.0 SeaMonkey/2.29.1

Without the extension, you'll need a "user.js" file to handle the edit:
Code:
// Yahoo homepage rendering fix
user_pref("general.useragent.override", "Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux i686; rv:32.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/32.0");

==

Now about the "puppy pfix=ram" boot.. Any quicker?

_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 1625
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Thu 25 Sep 2014, 18:44    Post subject:  

I'm not sure if this will help but I wrote a script for myself to clean out the junk from Root every once in a while. I called it CleanCache2 and made a menu entry that will appear under Business or Spreadsheets. It doesn't get everything but for me it gets the stuff that can be big. If you use this, please be sure there's nothing you downloaded that you didn't move from root.

Below is my amateur script or you can download the pet (includes menu entry mentioned above) at:

http://www.complianceman.com/puppy2

It's the 2nd to last file on the bottom.

# Dump to Clean
cd /
rm /root/*
cd /
rm /root/downloads/*
cd /
rm -rf /root/.cache/*
cd /
rm -rf /root/.thumbnails/*
cd /
rm /root/Downloads/*
cd /
rm /root/.mozilla/*
cd /
rm /root/.Trash/*
cd /
rm -r /root/.opera/cache/*
cd /
rm -r /tmp/Youtube/*
rmdir /tmp/Youtube
cd /
rm -rf /root/.mozilla/firefox/*/Cache/*
rm -rf /root/.mozilla/firefox/*/thumbnails/*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpmcbooks

Joined: 12 Oct 2013
Posts: 22
Location: St. Louis

PostPosted: Thu 25 Sep 2014, 22:15    Post subject: slow puppy
Subject description: hdwr problem
 

I loaded ubuntu 14.04.1 32 bit and it runs very slow also. I am convinced that I have a computer hardware problem not software. I'm not sure what, fans work memory test ok
maybe I try cleaning it out of dust.

Thank you all for your support. I guess this topic is closed being it is not a puppy issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 2190
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Thu 25 Sep 2014, 23:24    Post subject:  

I would try reloading puppy onto a USB Flash Stick. I have noticed that certain HDD's get slow with age due to rewrites. Also configuring the browser is very important... Firefox is Edit --> Preferences. One does not want to save cookies, and should set the the cache to zero. Do not enable reporting in the Advanced --> Data Choices tab, and in Security UNcheck site attacks and forgeries. All these things in the FireFox browser tend to slow down older computers.

I have to ask is any other OS loaded?, and what Firefox version are you now using?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1862s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0764s) ][ GZIP on ]