Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Oct 2018, 14:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Engineering/Science/Simulation
LinuxCNC (EMC2) on Puppy
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 10 [141 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1231
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Mon 15 Sep 2014, 11:21    Post subject:  

Edited...

I added Debiandog to my hd w/frugal install. Then added lapic to the kernel boot line in Grub.

then tried starting LinuxCNC:

Code:
root@debian:~# ulimit -l 20480
root@debian:~# ulimit -l     
20480
root@debian:~# linuxcnc
LINUXCNC - 2.6.3-11-gb38797a
Machine configuration directory is '/usr/share/doc/linuxcnc/examples/sample-configs/sim/axis'
Machine configuration file is 'gantry.ini'
Starting LinuxCNC...
Error: could not insert module /usr/realtime-3.4-9-rtai-686-pae/modules/rtai_hal.ko: Operation not permitted
Realtime system did not load
Shutting down and cleaning up LinuxCNC...
RTAPI: ERROR: could not open shared memory (errno=2)
/usr/bin/linuxcnc: line 498:  3221 Segmentation fault      $HALCMD stop
RTAPI: ERROR: could not open shared memory (errno=2)
/usr/bin/linuxcnc: line 498:  3222 Segmentation fault      $HALCMD unload all
RTAPI: ERROR: could not open shared memory (errno=2)


Sad

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop dual proc, 4gb ram, frugal Tahrpup.
1999 Thinkpad 600e hacked Pent 3, overclocked 800 mHz, 490 kb running Lupu 528

Acer Iconia A1-830 Atom x86 Android tablet
www.sredmond.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Mon 15 Sep 2014, 13:12    Post subject:  

Can you confirm you also did this:
Quote:
Removed the following packages:
libgl1-mesa-glx

Installed the following packages:
libgl1-mesa-swx11 (8.0.5-4+deb7u2)
libosmesa6 (8.0.5-4+deb7u2)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Mon 15 Sep 2014, 14:15    Post subject:  

Uploaded second version DebianDog-Jwm-3.4-9-rtai-686-pae-2.iso - 234Mb:
Direct download link
md5sum 6b9d5701f10b148a24f8b7f046e51880
Previous iso removed.

Mirror download from here:
http://www.mydrive.ch/
username: guest@saintless
password: download

Edit:29.04.2016 - I have e-mail from mydrive.ch my free account will have 100Mb storage limit in a month. I had to remove all files over 100Mb limit. Uploaded text file ISO-files-Moved-Here.txt with new storage location in dropbox in case someone visits mydrive.ch. This is the new download link:
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/ca58blnh2m6hir6/AADzG7zAKLmjoo60e6KwTh0oa?dl=0

Changes:
Added lapic to the boot code line.
Removed libgl1-mesa-glx
Installed libgl1-mesa-swx11 and libosmesa6.
Remaster scripts fixed for linuxcnc /usr/share/doc/linuxcnc configuration files.
Added latest fixes for DebianDog.

Linuxcnc starts without errors on two old P-III machines.

Edit: Important note - if you already have frugal install make sure to rename live folder and any changes.dat file from previous testing before booting this new CD. Read DebianDog porteus-boot post for more detailed information.

Toni

Last edited by saintless on Fri 29 Apr 2016, 05:33; edited 5 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1231
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Mon 15 Sep 2014, 16:15    Post subject:  

Okay Toni, I will try the new version, but first want to report on the last boot attempt with the old version:

I can confirm that I removed the following packages:

libgl1-mesa-glx

and installed the following packages:

libgl1-mesa-swx11 (8.0.5-4+deb7u2)
libosmesa6 (8.0.5-4+deb7u2)

I also had done:

Code:
root@debian:~# ulimit -l 20480




Here is a new clue from dmesg though:

Code:
[  116.866320] RTAI[hal]: ERROR, LOCAL APIC CONFIGURED BUT NOT AVAILABLE/ENABLED


However, I did include lapic in the boot .Here is my entire boot stanza for debiandog in Grub:

Code:
title DebianDog frugal
rootnoverify (hd0,5)
kernel /debiandog/live/vmlinuz1 from=/mnt/sda6/debiandog edd=off changes=/mnt/sda6 nomagic base_only norootcopy lapic
initrd=/debiandog/live/initrd1.xz

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop dual proc, 4gb ram, frugal Tahrpup.
1999 Thinkpad 600e hacked Pent 3, overclocked 800 mHz, 490 kb running Lupu 528

Acer Iconia A1-830 Atom x86 Android tablet
www.sredmond.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1231
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Mon 15 Sep 2014, 17:14    Post subject:  

Note that the system that does run on this computer is LinuxCNC 2.5

And the DebianDog version of LinuxCNC is 2.6

I periodically boot back into the Ubuntu version to make sure everything works. It does. There is no "lapic" cheatcode in the Ubuntu grub stanza.


(I'm downloading the new DebianDog now)

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop dual proc, 4gb ram, frugal Tahrpup.
1999 Thinkpad 600e hacked Pent 3, overclocked 800 mHz, 490 kb running Lupu 528

Acer Iconia A1-830 Atom x86 Android tablet
www.sredmond.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1231
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Mon 15 Sep 2014, 20:59    Post subject:  

Results for the new debiandog are the same:


root@debian:~# ulimit -l 20480
root@debian:~# linuxcnc
LINUXCNC - 2.6.3-13-g7fdc948
Machine configuration directory is '/usr/share/doc/linuxcnc/examples/sample-configs/sim/axis'
Machine configuration file is 'gantry.ini'
Starting LinuxCNC...
Error: could not insert module /usr/realtime-3.4-9-rtai-686-pae/modules/rtai_hal.ko: Operation not permitted
Realtime system did not load
Shutting down and cleaning up LinuxCNC...
RTAPI: ERROR: could not open shared memory (errno=2)
/usr/bin/linuxcnc: line 498: 2994 Segmentation fault $HALCMD stop
RTAPI: ERROR: could not open shared memory (errno=2)
/usr/bin/linuxcnc: line 498: 2995 Segmentation fault $HALCMD unload all
RTAPI: ERROR: could not open shared memory (errno=2)
RTAPI: ERROR: could not open shared memory (errno=2)
Error: Module hal_lib is not currently loaded
Error: Module rtapi is not currently loaded
Error: Module rtai_math is not currently loaded
Error: Module rtai_sched is not currently loaded
Error: Module rtai_hal is not currently loaded

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop dual proc, 4gb ram, frugal Tahrpup.
1999 Thinkpad 600e hacked Pent 3, overclocked 800 mHz, 490 kb running Lupu 528

Acer Iconia A1-830 Atom x86 Android tablet
www.sredmond.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 987
Location: ¿Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.?

PostPosted: Mon 15 Sep 2014, 21:33    Post subject:  

vtpup wrote:
Results for the new debiandog are the same:

Starting LinuxCNC...
Error: could not insert module /usr/realtime-3.4-9-rtai-686-pae/modules/rtai_hal.ko: Operation not permitted
Realtime system did not load
Shutting down and cleaning up LinuxCNC...
RTAPI: ERROR: could not open shared memory (errno=2)
/usr/bin/linuxcnc: line 498: 2994 Segmentation fault $HALCMD stop


Similar problem at this link with maybe a fix
http://www.linuxcnc.org/index.php/french/forum/9-installing-linuxcnc/28055-crash-when-start-emc2-error

here is where the fix is maybe
http://wiki.linuxcnc.org/cgi-bin/wiki.pl?TroubleShooting#emc2_doesn_t_run_missing_lapic

edit: looks that saintless may have applied this fix in latest .iso


.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1231
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Mon 15 Sep 2014, 22:20    Post subject:  

Sorry perdido, but that is the same thing as manually adding "lapic" to the end of the kernel line in Grub.

And I've already done that.

##############


Out of curiosity this evening, I decided to try running DebianDog on my later T43 Thnkpad. It ran, and LinuxCNC ran. However, I later ran the Latency script and the T43 had terrible latency times -- despite being a faster and more modern computer with a more recent processor. It is unsuitable for actually running a CNC mill for that reason.

This backs up the point that older Pent 3 machines are well suited to be CNC controllers, and are often better at that than newer machines.

I also tried it on my Acer dual proc machine (the one in my sig).

Again it ran fine, as did LinuxCNC. BUT, this laptop doesn't have a parallel port. So can't be used (not that I'd want to anyway -- I believe a controller should be a dedicated machine -- not my everyday computer.

An old Pent 3 machine with parallel port is a very good bet for CNC using LinuxCNC.

I hope that we can get my (and others') TP600E cutting parts under DebianDog

It does fine under the incredibly slow Ubuntu 8.04 system now - we just need something faster and less bloated.

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop dual proc, 4gb ram, frugal Tahrpup.
1999 Thinkpad 600e hacked Pent 3, overclocked 800 mHz, 490 kb running Lupu 528

Acer Iconia A1-830 Atom x86 Android tablet
www.sredmond.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Tue 16 Sep 2014, 02:03    Post subject:  

vtpup wrote:
...Out of curiosity this evening, I decided to try running DebianDog on my later T43 Thnkpad. It ran, and LinuxCNC ran.
.........
I also tried it on my Acer dual proc machine (the one in my sig).

Again it ran fine, as did LinuxCNC.

This is kind of goog news for me because it seems the iso works but the problem is something special in your hardware or linuxcnc version 2.6 does not run on it.

Quote:
I hope that we can get my (and others') TP600E cutting parts under DebianDog

One last test for you to make with DebianDog:
1. Use frigal install with fresh (empty) save file or save folder.
2. Run the following commands in terminal:
Code:
apt-get purge linuxcnc
apt-get autoremove
apt-get -f install

The last command will check if there is any error in dpkg database. There should not be errors.
3. Open /etc/apt/sources.list and remove lines:
Code:
deb     http://buildbot.linuxcnc.org/ wheezy 2.6-rt
#deb-src http://buildbot.linuxcnc.org/ wheezy 2.6-rt

Then add new linuxcnc repo lines and save the file:
Code:
deb     http://buildbot.linuxcnc.org/ wheezy v2.5_branch-rt
deb-src http://buildbot.linuxcnc.org/ wheezy v2.5_branch-rt

4. Run the following commands in terminal:
Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install linuxcnc

Now you should have linuxcnc 2.5 installed instead 2.6.
Check if it runs on TP600E.
If it runs - Great.
If it does not don't give up hope Smile There are some more options.
Option 1 - I can upload the official debian initrd.img patched to use save file on the boot partition. Maybe it will make cnahge for you instead the porteus initrd.img.
Quote:
It does fine under the incredibly slow Ubuntu 8.04 system now - we just need something faster and less bloated.

Option 2 - I did some testing with 1.1 Gb debian linuxcnc and without much troubles made squashfs module around 400Mb with linuxcnc included and blackbox window manager. Much more to remove and needs some additions like rox.
The kernel from the ubuntu version does not run with debian initrd.img It has some changes unknown for me yet.
Is there a way to make frugal install and use save file with the ubuntu 8.4 version? I can try to make it much smaller if linuxcnc does not work again for you.
Edit: OK, I have frugall install ubuntu8.4-linuxcnc. The rest should not be much different from debian.
Edit2: I have troubles making persistent changes with casper-rw save file. Vtpup, how did you make changes persistent to upgrade linuxcnc to v 2.5? Are you using full install ubuntu8.4? I read adding persistent to the kernel boot line and making casper-rw save file is enough but it does not work for me.

I will also check dmesg message error about lapic - it might be the real problem linuxcnc does not run for you yet. I will get back on this later.

Last edited by saintless on Tue 16 Sep 2014, 08:08; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Tue 16 Sep 2014, 02:41    Post subject:  

vtpup wrote:
Here is a new clue from dmesg though:

Code:
[  116.866320] RTAI[hal]: ERROR, LOCAL APIC CONFIGURED BUT NOT AVAILABLE/ENABLED


However, I did include lapic in the boot .Here is my entire boot stanza for debiandog in Grub:

Code:
title DebianDog frugal
rootnoverify (hd0,5)
kernel /debiandog/live/vmlinuz1 from=/mnt/sda6/debiandog edd=off changes=/mnt/sda6 nomagic base_only norootcopy lapic
initrd=/debiandog/live/initrd1.xz

OK, Vtpup, this seems the main problem linuxcnc is not running for you.
Here is my dmesg output:
Code:
[    0.000000] Local APIC disabled by BIOS -- reenabling.
[    0.000000] Found and enabled local APIC!

Do not test yet my suggestion from previous post. We need to find a way to enable local apic. Maybe the ubuntu cd does that in some special way. I will check out the boot codes in ubuntu iso.

Place live folder outside /debiandog. Use simple code and only one DebianDog frugal install as me while we fix this problem.
The best way I think is to remove or move inside some folder all save files/folders and debiandog files. Then copy again /live folder from the cd on sda6.
This is the boot code I use:
Code:
title DebianDog-Porteus RTAI-kernel-testing
rootnoverify (hd0,5)
kernel /live/vmlinuz1 noauto from=/ lapic
initrd /live/initrd1.xz

Do not add edd=off. It will take more time but it will boot. Maybe edd=off is the problem for local apic.
Test if booting with this code without saving changes makes linuxcnc work.

Check also your BIOS settings. Maybe there is option to enable local apic from there.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1231
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Tue 16 Sep 2014, 11:21    Post subject:  

Okay Toni I will try all you've posted.

I just also want to thank you for all the time and effort you've invested in this. It's amazing! Truly appreciated! Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop dual proc, 4gb ram, frugal Tahrpup.
1999 Thinkpad 600e hacked Pent 3, overclocked 800 mHz, 490 kb running Lupu 528

Acer Iconia A1-830 Atom x86 Android tablet
www.sredmond.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 987
Location: ¿Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.?

PostPosted: Tue 16 Sep 2014, 14:03    Post subject:  

Some interesting info about how the IBM Thinkpad 600 BIOS handles PNP ISA in a non-standard way
http://users.wowway.com/~zlinuxman/tp600.htm#ISA


.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Revolverve

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 139
Location: 45°17'24.9"N 72°16'03.2"W

PostPosted: Tue 16 Sep 2014, 17:29    Post subject:  

Strange ,maybe not or half weird... I'll try to be clear..
All with first iso:
>Sim start fine with libgl1mesa +- bla bla, ok

(Half weird because sim dont need realtime)
>Enabled realtime in startup services ,reboot , sim wont work anymore(cannot load/find module rtai ++...process killed).
(strange)
>Could not disable from startup services ,unchecking the realtime work ,but realtime is still check if you reopen the gui ,tried save /reboot ,realtime option still enabled, look unable to be disable!!!
Confirmed with a fresh change.dat.

Not sure if realtime is needed as enabled service at boot to "physicaly" use a cnc/mill/3dprinter?? ,I think it is needed.
.I did not hook it to any machine yet
If someone with linuxcnc knowledge could confirm.
Of what I remember of live ubuntu emc2 tried years ago there was 2 emc2 choices ;1 for simulator and 1 for realtime .

Last edited by Revolverve on Tue 16 Sep 2014, 17:41; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1231
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Tue 16 Sep 2014, 17:32    Post subject:  

Toni, just to catch you up with where I am in testing:

I created two systems, one with the old system altered per your in structions to version 2.5 of linuxcnc.

And another one (after putting changes and live into another folder to keep them from interfering, and making a new /live folder with the contents from the /live on the ISO. Then I commented out my old boot stanza on grub menu.list, and copied exactly your new stanza, and booted the system. There was no EDD=off.

Both ways had the same behavior as before with the same error messages.

btw I had added EDD=off originally because the system seemed to hang when booted from SR0. I don't know why. But now it boots okay from HD without that cheatcode.

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop dual proc, 4gb ram, frugal Tahrpup.
1999 Thinkpad 600e hacked Pent 3, overclocked 800 mHz, 490 kb running Lupu 528

Acer Iconia A1-830 Atom x86 Android tablet
www.sredmond.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed 17 Sep 2014, 03:15    Post subject:  

Thanks, Revolverve, Vtpup, Perdido.

From what I read maybe linuxcnc works only in demo mode now but not for real work?
And Vtpup is the only one who can make real testing at the moment but it does not work for him even in demo mode? Smile

What I can add is the 1.1Gb Debian version works the same way for me. I need to repeat the same steps made with DebianDog to make linuxcnc start.

For the moment I have no more ideas what to test with DebianDog version. Unfortunately I can't test it for real work. Maybe someone will find a fix to make it work later...

Since there are linuxcnc live cd versions for modern hardware we are back to the starting point finding small fast linuxcnc version that works on IBM Thinkpad 600.
The only one working for now is Ubuntu8.4. I will play for a while with this one till we get some more ideas for DebianDog version.

Vtpup - I can't make this version to save changes for me from CD boot or frugal install. How did you upgraded linuxcnc in Ubuntu8.4 version. Is it full install or frugal? And what gives dmesg message about local apic (enabled or disabled) while you use Ubuntu 8.4 linuxcnc?

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 10 [141 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Engineering/Science/Simulation
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0930s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0172s) ][ GZIP on ]