PeasyWiFi - a reliable WiFi connection manager

Post Reply
Message
Author
Scooby
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 09:04

#81 Post by Scooby »

I urge you to reconsider

In 15 minutes I got the "make profile" working
It's quick 'n dirty with no cleanup


Try this file peasywifi

What I did

line 550:

from

Code: Select all

PROFILELIST=""
for P in $PROFILEPATH/*.conf; do
  PP=$(basename $P ".conf")
  PROFILELIST=$PROFILELIST"<item>"$PP"</item>"
done
to

Code: Select all

build_profile_list() {
    echo -e "\c" > /tmp/profileslist 
    for P in $PROFILEPATH/*.conf; do
        PP=$(basename $P ".conf")
        echo "$PP" >> /tmp/profileslist
    done
}
export -f build_profile_list 

build_profile_list
line 575:

from

Code: Select all

$PROFILELIST
to

Code: Select all

<input>cat /tmp/profileslist</input>
changed line 639:
(i.e. added two lines)

from

Code: Select all

<action>MAKE</action>

to

Code: Select all

<action>MAKE</action>
<action>build_profile_list</action>
<action>refresh:PROFILE</action>
Maybe this is considered advanced or may break backwards compatibility
but it would be more user-friendly. I hope you will add it but If you choose
another way I think I let it be present in alphaos port.
Last edited by Scooby on Sat 09 Aug 2014, 21:11, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
rcrsn51
Posts: 13096
Joined: Tue 05 Sep 2006, 13:50
Location: Stratford, Ontario

#82 Post by rcrsn51 »

Code: Select all

<input>cat /tmp/profileslist</input>
That doesn't work in gtkdialog3. See the example here.
I think I let it be present in alphaos port.
Feel free to do so. I am trying to wrap up this project and move on to other things.

Scooby
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 09:04

#83 Post by Scooby »

rcrsn51 wrote:

Code: Select all

<input>cat /tmp/profileslist</input>
That doesn't work in gtkdialog3. See the example here.
That's a pity, it's better to go with restart button then

What is your version of gtkdialog
mine is

Code: Select all

>gtkdialog --version
gtkdialog version 0.8.4 
rcrsn51 wrote:
I think I let it be present in alphaos port.
Feel free to do so. I am trying to wrap up this project and move on to other things.
Thank you, I think it is a lot better without restart but I can understand
your wish for backwards compatibility

User avatar
greengeek
Posts: 5789
Joined: Tue 20 Jul 2010, 09:34
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

#84 Post by greengeek »

rcrsn51 wrote:
Scooby wrote:In puppy apparently you use rox to create a shortcut on desktop..drag peasywifi_auto from your Startup folder onto to the desktop
Exactly. There is a nice big icon in /usr/share/pixmaps.
Thank you. This is an excellent suggestion and I now have a lovely icon on the desktop. (downloaded about 50 wifi icons from the web and chose one that matches my decor)
cheers !

B.K. Johnson
Posts: 807
Joined: Mon 12 Oct 2009, 17:11

PeasyWiFi - a reliable WiFi connection manager

#85 Post by B.K. Johnson »

rcrsn51 wrote
Scooby wrote:
In puppy apparently you use rox to create a shortcut on desktop
drag peasywifi_auto from your Startup folder onto to the desktop
Exactly. There is a nice big icon in /usr/share/pixmaps.
Using version 2.5, I did not see peasywifi_auto in Startup; found peasywifi_tray there.

B.K. Johnson

User avatar
rcrsn51
Posts: 13096
Joined: Tue 05 Sep 2006, 13:50
Location: Stratford, Ontario

Re: PeasyWiFi - a reliable WiFi connection manager

#86 Post by rcrsn51 »

B.K. Johnson wrote:Using version 2.5, I did not see peasywifi_auto in Startup; found peasywifi_tray there.
You have to make it yourself. Open the Auto tab. This is explained in the Help.

User avatar
rcrsn51
Posts: 13096
Joined: Tue 05 Sep 2006, 13:50
Location: Stratford, Ontario

#87 Post by rcrsn51 »

PWF v2.7 has a Restart button on the toolbar. Use it after you have changed your configuration or created a profile.

Scooby
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 09:04

#88 Post by Scooby »

FYI

Shared a version of peasywifi for alphaos here

User avatar
rcrsn51
Posts: 13096
Joined: Tue 05 Sep 2006, 13:50
Location: Stratford, Ontario

#89 Post by rcrsn51 »

Nice. Thank you.

User avatar
rcrsn51
Posts: 13096
Joined: Tue 05 Sep 2006, 13:50
Location: Stratford, Ontario

#90 Post by rcrsn51 »

PWF can now manage both your wired Ethernet ports and WiFi. This is an optional (but recommended) feature that lets PWF completely replace the other Puppy network managers. Ethernet connections are automatically made at bootup. By default, PWF will connect to eth0 using DHCP.

See the instructions on the main page for disabling the other connection managers.

Run PWF and open the Ethernet tab. Use it to configure your Ethernet ports - enable, disable, DHCP, static.

For example, suppose that your built-in port has died and you replace it with a USB-Ethernet adapter. Just disable eth0 and enable eth1 with DHCP. Click the Check button to see the Ethernet profiles in /etc/pwf/ethernet.

a. DHCP - a dummy file named ethx.dhcp exists.
b. Static - a file named ethx.static exists containing details of the static setup.
c. Disabled - no file exists.

Update: The Ethernet section has a new Reconnect button. It lets you quickly switch from wireless back to wired without needing to reboot. This feature is designed to work when PWF is the primary network manager.

Update: Some wireless 3g dongles present themselves as Ethernet interfaces like usb0. You can verify this with the command

Code: Select all

ifconfig -a
1. Use the Names tool to set ETH1 as usb0.
2. Restart PWF and open the Ethernet section.
3. Configure the new usb0 interface for DHCP.
4. Optionally, select your current eth0 interface and configure it as Disabled.
5. Click Check. You should see a dummy file named "usb0.dhcp".
6. Click Reconnect.

-------------------------
Last edited by rcrsn51 on Mon 25 Jun 2018, 14:15, edited 17 times in total.

Pelo

PeasyWIFI est magique en France

#91 Post by Pelo »

PeasyWIFI est magique en France. (is magic !)
My settings : Computer Medion P7624 (low-cost).
Wifi driver iwlagn wext
ADSL supplier : SFR WIFI FON
public network

Just to click on open, and choose SFR WIFI FON among the three proposals. And open seamonkey in my Racy 5.3, write my very secret password, and we go.
"Parfait, bravo !" s'exclame Pelo, en français, bien sûr.
Attachments
peasywifi.jpg
ah pas de chance !
(39.68 KiB) Downloaded 204 times
Last edited by Pelo on Fri 10 Oct 2014, 06:01, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
rcrsn51
Posts: 13096
Joined: Tue 05 Sep 2006, 13:50
Location: Stratford, Ontario

Re: PeasyWIFI est magique en France

#92 Post by rcrsn51 »

Pelo wrote:PeasyWIFI est magique en France.
Merci!
Just to click on open, and choose SFR WIFI FON among the three proposals. And open seamonkey in my Racy 5.3, write my very secret password, and we go.
So you never need to create a profile?
Wifi driver iwlagn wext
Other users have reported problems with these iwl drivers disconnecting. It's nice to hear that PWF works for you.

I would be very interested in hearing from anyone who is now managing their wired Ethernet through PWF.

Thanks.
Bill

Pelo

Better than words, a video

#93 Post by Pelo »

Better than words, a video. I speak french, but everyone will see how easy is the connection Click for it.
After all day long working (playing) with my Racy 5.3, alwaus surfing to forums, wireless connected, with ...
PeasyWifi. No break, Not only one. Aussi, merci again.
I remasterized my Racy 30 minutes ago, with different video tools (Avidemux 2.5.1 runs audio on Racy if you add it some libADM), Xvidcap, pupsaveconfig, etc...) and PeasysyWifi.
The question i am asking myself : should i have to remove built-in SNS and other connection wizards ? I didn't do.
All is working nice with the new ISO. Wireless connected in ... 15 seconds.
Ethernet : i am 600 kms far from my box. sorry, no cable available.
:) 29aug2014: wifi instable super Lucid, Peasywifi ! all become Ok, no disturb with deconnect.
Last edited by Pelo on Fri 29 Aug 2014, 01:56, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
greengeek
Posts: 5789
Joined: Tue 20 Jul 2010, 09:34
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

#94 Post by greengeek »

Does anyone know if Puppy has an inbuilt mechanism to handle the situation where a wifi router changes its broadcast channel? I had a problem at work with a wireless printer dropping off the network because it had no mechanism for keeping up with the channel changes that were occurring.

Could some of the wifi dropoffs being experienced by some Puppy users be triggered by such a channel change issue?

gcmartin

#95 Post by gcmartin »

greengeek wrote:... I had a problem at work with a wireless printer dropping off the network because it had no mechanism for keeping up with the channel changes that were occurring. ...
Some companies may have routers where they regularly do a "wireless shift channel change" as some sort of security measure. There are several ways to combat this. One of the prevalent for some printers is a technology where it polls and should a timeout occur, it will recycle the network request for service. This, of course, assumes that the wifi network name has NOT changed, merely the broadcast channel. The reconnect will occur on whatever the new channel is used by the router.

Not sure how a PUP handle this, with the various Wifi subsystems available.

User avatar
rcrsn51
Posts: 13096
Joined: Tue 05 Sep 2006, 13:50
Location: Stratford, Ontario

#96 Post by rcrsn51 »

PWF v2.9 has a few cosmetic changes.

The poorly named View button on the toolbar has been moved to the Profile section and renamed Check. This makes it consistent with the Check button in Ethernet.

The original View button is now called Info and runs the Puppy ipinfo utility.

Scooby
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 09:04

Re: PeasyWIFI est magique en France

#97 Post by Scooby »

rcrsn51 wrote: I would be very interested in hearing from anyone who is now managing their wired Ethernet through PWF.
I will have use of this feature and give feedback
Not much time at the moment though

gcmartin

#98 Post by gcmartin »

I will test. BUT, assuming it addresses Wired and addresses WiFi, would a more appropriate name be in order showing its wider use... assuming successful tests?

gcmartin

#99 Post by gcmartin »

Tested Ethernet using EmSee V2.2
  1. AOpen PPM and remove installed PeasyWiFi (PeasyWiFi taskbar entry remained after unninstall)
  2. Install PeasyWiFi V2.9
  3. Open terminal
  4. "down" eth0 via

    Code: Select all

    ifconfig eth0 down
  5. Open PeasyWiFi via taskbar
  6. Click the Ethernet Tab (I see nothing which indicates a DHCP connection ability)
  7. Go back to first Tab and click "connect"
    Status: No eth0 connection
  8. Click Restart button
    Status: No eth0 connection
Results Summary
I see no way to start/restart the DHCP connection from "Puppy Easy" (pEasyWifi)

User avatar
rcrsn51
Posts: 13096
Joined: Tue 05 Sep 2006, 13:50
Location: Stratford, Ontario

#100 Post by rcrsn51 »

As with all Puppy connection managers, PWF does Ethernet connections at bootup. Did you not try that? I will add a message to make this more obvious.

As you know, PWF once had a toolbar button for reconnecting eth0. But it was removed several versions ago in favour of rebooting.

The Connect screen is for WiFi connections only, not Ethernet. The only profile you could have picked would be for a WiFi connection. So of course, it could not bring up eth0.
I see no way to start/restart the DHCP connection from "Puppy Easy" (pEasyWifi)
Give it a rest. Unlike other Puppy developers who eventually give in to your incessant wheedling, I have no intention of renaming the program.

Thanks for testing.

Post Reply