Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Sep 2014, 18:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
PeasyWiFi - a reliable WiFi connection manager
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 8 [106 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 307

PostPosted: Sat 09 Aug 2014, 15:18    Post subject:  

greengeek wrote:
I would be keen to see a desktop icon called 'reconnect' for use in situations where you know that the router has been reset and you know that all that is required is for PWF to retry the connection.


You could easily make one yourself if you are using the feature on the "Auto" tab

In puppy apparently you use rox to create a shortcut on desktop
drag peasywifi_auto from your Startup folder onto to the desktop

I use a different desktop manager so I tried it using a slightly different approach
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9113
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 09 Aug 2014, 15:36    Post subject:  

Scooby wrote:
Got connection and not especially difficult

Excellent. Thank you for this report.

Quote:
being able to copy label of Xdialog from button "status" maybe a --textbox instead of --msgbox?

What do you want to copy out of that box?

Quote:
restart automagically after config file edit...Maybe you could edit file with Xdialog and make it modal .. when Xdialog exits, restart

I wanted PWF to be backwards compatible with old Puppies, so it only uses basic gtkdialog3 features. With the current method, it's just two clicks - one to quit and one to restart. Could you suggest some alternate code? I could put a Restart button on the toolbar.

Quote:
In what scenario do you use abort button? if it hangs?

Yes. Particularly during the dhcpcd stage of connection.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9113
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 09 Aug 2014, 15:40    Post subject:  

Scooby wrote:
In puppy apparently you use rox to create a shortcut on desktop
drag peasywifi_auto from your Startup folder onto to the desktop

Exactly. There is a nice big icon in /usr/share/pixmaps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 307

PostPosted: Sat 09 Aug 2014, 15:47    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:

What do you want to copy out of that box?

I thought of a scenario where you were helping other users
and it would be beneficial for them to copy paste status
so you could get an idea what was happening.
(IP, Kernel Module, Firmware, Rfkill status)

rcrsn51 wrote:

I wanted PWF to be backwards compatible with old Puppies, so it only uses basic gtkdialog3 features. With the current method, it's just two clicks - one to quit and one to restart. Could you suggest some alternate code? I could put a Restart button on the toolbar.


Okay I edited earlier post but will add my suggestion here also

rcrsn51 wrote:

The problem is that the drop-down Profiles list cannot be updated on-the-fly in Gtkdialog3.


Checkout example at the bottom of http://code.google.com/p/gtkdialog/wiki/combobox
Perhaps PROFILELIST could be stored in a file and then updated after new one added as in example?
Then I believe it would be possible to update Profileslist on-the-fly

If you like I could try coding it according to above and see if it's possible
It would be nice to do it without restart, right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9113
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 09 Aug 2014, 16:06    Post subject:  

There are two scenarios that require a restart - after changing the configuration and after creating a profile.

I have always tried to keep PWF simple and avoid using advanced gtkdialog features.

At this stage of the project, I am not really interested in major changes. So I am going to release v2.7 with a Restart button on the toolbar. That should be good enough.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 307

PostPosted: Sat 09 Aug 2014, 16:46    Post subject:  

I urge you to reconsider

In 15 minutes I got the "make profile" working
It's quick 'n dirty with no cleanup


Try this file peasywifi

What I did

line 550:

from

Code:
PROFILELIST=""
for P in $PROFILEPATH/*.conf; do
  PP=$(basename $P ".conf")
  PROFILELIST=$PROFILELIST"<item>"$PP"</item>"
done


to

Code:

build_profile_list() {
    echo -e "\c" > /tmp/profileslist
    for P in $PROFILEPATH/*.conf; do
        PP=$(basename $P ".conf")
        echo "$PP" >> /tmp/profileslist
    done
}
export -f build_profile_list

build_profile_list


line 575:

from

Code:
$PROFILELIST


to
Code:
<input>cat /tmp/profileslist</input>


changed line 639:
(i.e. added two lines)

from
Code:
<action>MAKE</action>

to

Code:

<action>MAKE</action>
<action>build_profile_list</action>
<action>refresh:PROFILE</action>


Maybe this is considered advanced or may break backwards compatibility
but it would be more user-friendly. I hope you will add it but If you choose
another way I think I let it be present in alphaos port.

Last edited by Scooby on Sat 09 Aug 2014, 17:11; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9113
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 09 Aug 2014, 17:08    Post subject:  

Code:
<input>cat /tmp/profileslist</input>

That doesn't work in gtkdialog3. See the example here.

Quote:
I think I let it be present in alphaos port.

Feel free to do so. I am trying to wrap up this project and move on to other things.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 307

PostPosted: Sat 09 Aug 2014, 17:21    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Code:
<input>cat /tmp/profileslist</input>

That doesn't work in gtkdialog3. See the example here.

That's a pity, it's better to go with restart button then

What is your version of gtkdialog
mine is
Code:

>gtkdialog --version
gtkdialog version 0.8.4


rcrsn51 wrote:

Quote:
I think I let it be present in alphaos port.

Feel free to do so. I am trying to wrap up this project and move on to other things.

Thank you, I think it is a lot better without restart but I can understand
your wish for backwards compatibility
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2542
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 09 Aug 2014, 17:22    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Scooby wrote:
In puppy apparently you use rox to create a shortcut on desktop..drag peasywifi_auto from your Startup folder onto to the desktop

Exactly. There is a nice big icon in /usr/share/pixmaps.

Thank you. This is an excellent suggestion and I now have a lovely icon on the desktop. (downloaded about 50 wifi icons from the web and chose one that matches my decor)
cheers !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
B.K. Johnson

Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Sat 09 Aug 2014, 20:08    Post subject: PeasyWiFi - a reliable WiFi connection manager  

Quote:
rcrsn51 wrote
Quote:
Scooby wrote:
In puppy apparently you use rox to create a shortcut on desktop
drag peasywifi_auto from your Startup folder onto to the desktop

Exactly. There is a nice big icon in /usr/share/pixmaps.


Using version 2.5, I did not see peasywifi_auto in Startup; found peasywifi_tray there.

B.K. Johnson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9113
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 09 Aug 2014, 20:15    Post subject: Re: PeasyWiFi - a reliable WiFi connection manager  

B.K. Johnson wrote:
Using version 2.5, I did not see peasywifi_auto in Startup; found peasywifi_tray there.

You have to make it yourself. Open the Auto tab. This is explained in the Help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9113
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 09 Aug 2014, 21:47    Post subject:  

PWF v2.7 has a Restart button on the toolbar. Use it after you have changed your configuration or created a profile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 307

PostPosted: Mon 11 Aug 2014, 16:06    Post subject:  

FYI

Shared a version of peasywifi for alphaos here
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9113
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 11 Aug 2014, 17:04    Post subject:  

Nice. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9113
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 25 Aug 2014, 08:29    Post subject:  

PWF v2.8 has several changes.

a. Faster auto-connection at bootup. (Some unnecessary sleeps were removed.)
b. Bugfixes for ndiswrapper.
c. Optional support for configuring Ethernet ports. See below.

The WiFi profile folder is now /etc/pwf/wifi. If you have some WiFi profiles elsewhere, move them here. Delete your current /root/.peasywifi configuration file and restart PWF.

-------------------------

PWF can now manage both your wired Ethernet ports and WiFi. This is an OPTIONAL feature that makes PWF a basic replacement for other Puppy network managers.

1. Open the folder /etc/rc.d. Rename the file rc.network as rc.network.wiz. Rename rc.network.pwf as rc.network.

2. Open the file /usr/local/bin/defaultconnect. Set it to "exec connectwizard"

3. Reboot. By default, PWF will connect to eth0 using DHCP.

Run PWF and open the new Ethernet tab. Use it to configure your Ethernet ports - enable, disable, DHCP, static.

Ethernet connections are made at bootup.

For example, suppose that your built-in port has died and you replace it with a USB-Ethernet adapter. Just disable eth0 and enable eth1 with DHCP. Click the Check button to see the Ethernet profiles in /etc/pwf/ethernet.

Last edited by rcrsn51 on Thu 28 Aug 2014, 15:26; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 8 [106 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0965s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0064s) ][ GZIP on ]