Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 11:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
What USB Puppy version for Toshiba Satellite?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [44 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
ardvark


Joined: 01 Jul 2013
Posts: 1098
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jul 2014, 16:28    Post subject: Re: What Puppy Linux operating System for Toshiba Satellite  

I.Christiani wrote:
Could I also use a SD memory Card instead of the CD to boot.

Thank you so much


You're welcome, glad I could help. Smile

Yes, I've read that you can boot from an SD card if your computer's BIOS sees it as a removable drive and the key word here is "if." However, I've never tried this so I can't confirm anything for you. Some computers are not able to do this.

Take a look at this video to see how this person did it. Wink

Regards...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bird Dog

Joined: 15 Jun 2014
Posts: 23
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jul 2014, 17:37    Post subject: What puppy  

Hi I Christiani congratulations and well done.The md5 sum is just a set of numbers to check that the download was good. I usually check for it after burning the cd which you can do in Pburn which is in the multimedia folder from the main menu. If everything is working it should be ok but maybe check next time.
Precise puppy is one of our mainline puppy's created by our puppy leader (presently retired) Barry Kauler I was amazed just like you how well it installed and I think you will be just as amazed at how well it runs right out of the box. Precise is my main os and I like to install it on the hard drive so you don't need the cd. You can use the Puppy Universal Installer which is in the setup folder from the main menu (bottom left corner).
Did you use the Puppy Universal Installer or are you running from the cd? You said your hard drive was broken and if it is you will need to continue running from the cd or flash drive and if you want to run from the hard drive you might need to get a new one.

Congrats again and enjoy
Thanks BD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bird Dog

Joined: 15 Jun 2014
Posts: 23
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jul 2014, 18:10    Post subject: What usb puppy  

Hi I Christiani if you do install puppy to your hard drive you will need this update http://shino.pos.to/party/bridge.cgi?puppy/opt/pup5/precise/update/openssl-fix-1.0.1-4ubuntu5.14-libssl0.9.8k-7ubuntu8.18.pet
I'm not sure if you can update this if you're running from a cd. Maybe it would update a save file.

Thanks BD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 941
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jul 2014, 21:42    Post subject: What USB Puppy version for Toshiba Satellite?
Subject description: Congratulations and Welcome
 

Congratulations, I.Christiani and Welcome to the Forum. Smile

Here is the Wikipedia explanation of Puppy.
The wiki article has a good overview of Puppy.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Puppy_Linux

You don't need a Hard Drive to run a Puppy.
You can use your Live CD to load the Puppy into RAM.
Then, you can use a flash drive to keep your PuppySaveFile.
Pretty cool, huh?

I've had good luck running Puppy-528 on Toshiba's (except for very old Toshibas, like 8-10 years old).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
I.Christiani

Joined: 22 Jul 2014
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jul 2014, 14:25    Post subject: What Puppy Linux operating System for Toshiba Satellite  

Again thanks.
I have been busy with installing Skype. Like suggested I downloaded
Quickpet and that program looked so cut out for me. The icon is on my desktop and the screen comes up under internet (trala-trala) .I click the Skype icon and then all hell brakes loose.I got a window
Fatal/root/skype-4.2.0.11-precise.sfs. As you know I am not the smartest in the box.I just can't get it to work.I tried trillions things but without success.What is wrong ?
Lost dog !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ardvark


Joined: 01 Jul 2013
Posts: 1098
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jul 2014, 15:53    Post subject:  

Hi....

A lack of computer knowledge is not an indicator of intelligence. Wink

Did you already install this program or is this what you get when you try to bring the program up?

Regards...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
I.Christiani

Joined: 22 Jul 2014
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jul 2014, 16:32    Post subject: What Puppy Linux operating System for Toshiba Satellite  

Hi Ardvark,
Thanks for responding.
Wel,I had it but now it is gone because I have shut down the computer.
When I came back it was not there anymore
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ardvark


Joined: 01 Jul 2013
Posts: 1098
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jul 2014, 21:34    Post subject:  

Hi...

Try installing this version of Skype. However, please note what I said to this person. Wink

Regards...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
I.Christiani

Joined: 22 Jul 2014
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue 05 Aug 2014, 21:43    Post subject:  

Thanks again.
I did what you wrote me and could save this time Skype-4.2.0.13-precise.sfs and Skype-4.2.0.13-precise.gz;.I tried to install it but I get in the SFS window "fatal:failed to appens'/initrd/pup-r04' to uniofs" or commands line utilities "unsquashfs and mkssquashfs".I just don't undersand what to do next and next and next. It sounds all like foreign vegetables to me !I have saved the Skype downloads in the Files and they are there if I boot up.I could also drag them to the desktop.
Also Quickpet is not responding .On every thing I click it ask me if i like to install and i click yeeeeeeeeeeeeessssssssssss.Then I get every time the cool puppy manager "Fatal:'root/skype-4.2.0.11.precise.sfs'not found.
And with all the packaches from Quickpet it sounds it failed to install.
I can get in Opera and Sea monkey and get my mail and browse the web .
Lost again.
Please save me from this mess.
Lost pup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ardvark


Joined: 01 Jul 2013
Posts: 1098
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 06 Aug 2014, 00:08    Post subject:  

Hi...

Perhaps this thread might be of help. Please read the entire thread carefully before installing anything. From what I understand, version 4.2 doesn't work any more. I just learned that here. Wink

Regards...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
I.Christiani

Joined: 22 Jul 2014
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu 07 Aug 2014, 21:15    Post subject: What USB Puppy version for Toshiba Satellite ?
Subject description: Skype is working but no sound.
 

Ardvark, Ardvark I am trilled !
Got Skype,yesssssssssss.It took for ever and I tried all kind off tricks.
I think I got it in with a download of Skype-4.3.0.37-w5.pet.Also I downloade pulseaudio-2.0.w53.pet.The last installed successfully but without 'menu"???
I am not shure what all did the trick but I could save Skype.It is in menu under internet.Could till now not install a icon on the desktop but that is for know no concern.
I can get all my usely Skype features(contacts,account etc.)I called my phone and it was ringing but I got no sound.The speaker symbol on the right (under) of taskbar is 100 % up.Where do I have to start digging ?(You know by now that I will not give up digging and I will find it ,dig,dig ,dig !!! )
HELP , where and how do I start ???
Thanks again and I hope we can Skype very soon !
Yoehooooeeeee .IIIIIOOOOOO
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ardvark


Joined: 01 Jul 2013
Posts: 1098
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 08 Aug 2014, 04:03    Post subject:  

Hi...

Ok, hopefully this page might be the solution to your sound issue. You can try installing the "libpng14.so.14.pet" and the top of the page and see if that works or you can uninstall the version of Skype I showed you and try Oscar's version here. If you try this option, you will probably need to uninstall your version of PulseAudio and install the version Oscar mentions, which is also here.

Let us know how it turns out. Smile

Regards...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
I.Christiani

Joined: 22 Jul 2014
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri 08 Aug 2014, 10:46    Post subject: What Puppy Linux operating System for Toshiba Satellite  

Thanks again.
It will take a while because I will be away for a couple of days.But as soon I get the sound I will let you know.Thanks for all your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ardvark


Joined: 01 Jul 2013
Posts: 1098
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 08 Aug 2014, 17:01    Post subject:  

You're welcome. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
I.Christiani

Joined: 22 Jul 2014
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed 20 Aug 2014, 14:46    Post subject: What USB Puppy version for Toshiba Satellite ?
Subject description: What USB Puppy version for Toshiba Satellite ?
 

Back in Business
Yes,till now that was simple,simple. Yeessss We have now Skype.(even found out how to get a Skype icon on the desktop !!!!).Thank you for helping me .
Artvark it really was easy to follow.So I Skype d with my own phone.All is good .The sound on both sides is good.
Now if I Skype from computer to computer the following happens.
I can hear the other party good.With and without video.
The other party can hear me good as I don't put the video on.
They tell me that it comes in faces and bubble babbel Donald Duck s quirking sound !!!! In other words they hear me but can't make up what I am saying.
Is there something to do about this problem ??
I tried ' Retrovol sound mixer " but that does didn't help to solve the problem.
The Skype " echo test " works.I can hear the test voice and I also hear my own voice after the recording.
What is wrong with this Puppy ?
Ohhhh,thanks again so mucho.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [44 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0957s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0120s) ][ GZIP on ]