Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 30 Mar 2015, 05:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
CompizPup - an experiment
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 6 [78 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1738
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Mon 26 May 2014, 02:07    Post subject: CompizPup-14.03.1-s57-pae-250514  

CompizPup-14.03.1-s57-pae-250514

New version uploaded to bring it into line with LxPup14.03-sp1

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BobSongs


Joined: 06 Feb 2008
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Sun 06 Jul 2014, 23:33    Post subject:  

Just finished downloading this version of Puppy for a test run.

LXDE is a nice, light desktop. Heavier than JWM, but JWM was never a favorite of mine. Since LxPup caught me since I first tried it, I'll give this release a test run.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1738
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Sun 17 Aug 2014, 05:29    Post subject: CompizPup 14.08 beta  

CompizPup-14.08.01-s6-nopae.iso

New version - beta pre-release as based on Slacko6Beta2 (Slacko 5.9.3) k3.4.94 non-pae

Same changes as for LxPup14.08 - Slackware14.1 components, latest version PCManFM etc.

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1738
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Wed 22 Oct 2014, 08:55    Post subject: CompizPup14.10  

New version:
CompizPup-14.10.00-s6-nopae.iso

LxPanel updated to version 0.7.1 + brought into line with LxPup14.10

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mekalu2k4

Joined: 22 Apr 2014
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Thu 01 Jan 2015, 09:48    Post subject: testing compiz on compizpup
Subject description: can you provide instructions or video?
 

Hi,

I have downloaded and tested compizpup on my dell xps 18.4 inch tablet/ intel i5/ 8gb ram/ 500gb hdd. Here are my observations.

- compizpup is lightening fast. windows are great. almost all features worked well.

- touch did not work. I am aware that puppy also does not have this. However, touch is working in its basic form on fatdog64 and tablet can be used.

- compiz worked fine. However, I did not get the 3-d cube on the screen (showing different screens on different sides) yet. Not sure how to get this as we see in pictures or videos on web. I am a noob. Can you post some instructions step-by-step how to configure compiz?

Also note that I do not have nvidia on my machine. But most threads suggest that compiz works on builtin intel graphics (intel 4400) cards.

Edit (addition): Is it possible to add a onboard (on screen keyboard) to this distro?

Thanks for your efforts and looking forward to hear from you...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1738
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Thu 01 Jan 2015, 10:11    Post subject: Re: testing compiz on compizpup
Subject description: can you provide instructions or video?
 

mekalu2k4 wrote:
However, I did not get the 3-d cube on the screen (showing different screens on different sides) yet. Not sure how to get this as we see in pictures or videos on web. I am a noob. Can you post some instructions step-by-step how to configure compiz?

Edit (addition): Is it possible to add a onboard (on screen keyboard) to this distro?


Using Google:

http://askubuntu.com/questions/86977/how-to-correctly-enable-desktop-cube-in-unity-3d

from pkgs.org:(not tested)

http://pkgs.org/archlinux/archlinux-community-i686/xvkbd-3.5-1-i686.pkg.tar.xz.html

rename from tar.xz to .txz to install

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mekalu2k4

Joined: 22 Apr 2014
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Thu 01 Jan 2015, 10:41    Post subject: Re: testing compiz on compizpup
Subject description: can you provide instructions or video?
 

Hi Peebee,
Thanks for you quick post. Much appreciated.
peebee wrote:


Using Google:

http://askubuntu.com/questions/86977/how-to-correctly-enable-desktop-cube-in-unity-3d


Tried this already on (even on Ubuntu). But having issues.
1. This article is about Ubuntu. Not for compizpup. The major attraction of compizpup is compiz itself. We do not have any simple step-by-step resource to configure. This will definitely keep users away.

2. This article mentions about third button on the mouse. First of all mouse has long disappeared. Then a third button? How to get around this?

3. Not just me. Me and my pals (a bunch of happily retired guys) here are happy to see compizpup, but cannot configure this. But we are not really into computers, we are not nerds.

peebee wrote:

from pkgs.org:(not tested)

http://pkgs.org/archlinux/archlinux-community-i686/xvkbd-3.5-1-i686.pkg.tar.xz.html

rename from tar.xz to .txz to install


Thanks for the keyboard. This worked like a charm. But onboard is looking more flashy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1738
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Thu 01 Jan 2015, 13:52    Post subject: Re: testing compiz on compizpup
Subject description: can you provide instructions or video?
 

mekalu2k4 wrote:
We do not have any simple step-by-step resource to configure.
First of all mouse has long disappeared. Then a third button? How to get around this?


Hi again

I'm not sure Compiz is intended to be used on systems without a proper keyboard and mouse.....

This guide may help with mouse and key bindings....
http://wiki.compiz.org/CCSM

Afraid I'm not a regular or experienced Compiz user.....I suggest just trying things and see what happens Wink maybe on an experimental install....

Cheers
PeeBee

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mekalu2k4

Joined: 22 Apr 2014
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Fri 16 Jan 2015, 15:17    Post subject: compizpup - tested over time - it is very nice
Subject description: but needs keyboard, mouse to operate
 

Hi PeeBee,

I have been using 'compizpup 14.10' on 18.4 inch/ touch tablet/dell xps. Excellent - this is all I can say. Firstly - it is blazing fast! and then secondly - I have used also this in live mode on old 7inch netbook/ atom n270 /1gb ram machine [without HDD]- worked nicely.

However, the downsides are:
1. no touch support, so one needs keyboard and mouse [Yes - both]

2. Compiz worked, but I have noted that one needs to get this to work through a series of trail and error/ experimentation. The compiz screens of this OS are different from ubuntu; so the online tools really did not help; but one can basically use them to start with.

If 'touch' feature added, then this distro can be a killer.

Thumbs up and Salutes for your contribution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1738
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Sat 17 Jan 2015, 11:14    Post subject: Re: compizpup - tested over time - it is very nice
Subject description: but needs keyboard, mouse to operate
 

mekalu2k4 wrote:
If 'touch' feature added, then this distro can be a killer.


Hi mekalu2k4

As I'm sure you know, touch is not really offered yet in mainstream pups.

See:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=808275

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96577

When it is, and assuming its slackware based, then a compizpup might be possible (though not sure that compiz is being actively developed any more?)

Lots of "ifs" there - so don't hold your breath!!

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mekalu2k4

Joined: 22 Apr 2014
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Sun 18 Jan 2015, 20:40    Post subject: compizpup - tested over time - it is very nice
Subject description: issues with compiz are not critical
 

Hi Peebee,

There is not much happening with Compiz. Where as kwin is picking up. As of today, both are almost same, just that kwin is being developed actively, I believe.

However, one point to now. Either compiz or kwin - it is not critical component of OS. Both are just cosmetic, bells and whistles in nature. Next thing is - one tries to get these things to work and OS/ graphics card drivers get messed up; and that can result in poor performance of overall environment.

I am glad to note that Utbuntu touch is about to get released, so future is bright for linux users. Let us see how things go.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mekalu2k4

Joined: 22 Apr 2014
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jan 2015, 19:39    Post subject: how to install compizpup into the hard drive of laptop?
Subject description: no universal installer in compizpup?
 

Hi Peebee,

I am able to use compizpup in live mode, booting the machine with a USB of compizpup ISO.

However, want to install compizpup into the hard drive of laptop. So, how to do this? I am not seeing any universal installer in compizpup menus.

Please help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mekalu2k4

Joined: 22 Apr 2014
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jan 2015, 20:32    Post subject: Re: how to install compizpup into the hard drive of laptop?
Subject description: no universal installer in compizpup?
 

mekalu2k4 wrote:
Hi Peebee,

I am able to use compizpup in live mode, booting the machine with a USB of compizpup ISO.

However, want to install compizpup into the hard drive of laptop. So, how to do this? I am not seeing any universal installer in compizpup menus.

Please help.


My apologies, I found the menu item. It perfectly installed, perfectly working from HDD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mekalu2k4

Joined: 22 Apr 2014
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Thu 22 Jan 2015, 11:56    Post subject: few questions on compizpup
Subject description: session saving and kingsoft office
 

Sometimes, to get answers for simple tasks we need to read a lot. And there are too many questions, issues that I need answers.

For example, I want to know
1. I installed compizpup in frugal mode. Now how to save the session?

2. I have installed kingsoft office, but not finding menu links to start the word, powerpoint. how to to do this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1738
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Thu 22 Jan 2015, 13:05    Post subject: Re: few questions on compizpup
Subject description: session saving and kingsoft office
 

mekalu2k4 wrote:
Sometimes, to get answers for simple tasks we need to read a lot. And there are too many questions, issues that I need answers.

For example, I want to know
1. I installed compizpup in frugal mode. Now how to save the session?

2. I have installed kingsoft office, but not finding menu links to start the word, powerpoint. how to to do this?


When you reboot you will be prompted to create a save folder / file.

Where did you install kingsoft from? If its not from the slacko repository then it may not have menu items that are compatible with the compizpup menu structure which is the puppy menu structure.

You will need to find the .desktop files in /usr/share/applications and edit them with regard to category to be consistent with items that do show in the menu - e.g. abiword etc

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 6 [78 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0988s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0135s) ][ GZIP on ]