Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 16 Oct 2018, 04:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Rox Bookmarks As Entry On JWM Pipe Menu [Solved]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 3 [42 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Author Message
Puppus Dogfellow


Joined: 07 Jan 2013
Posts: 1564
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Wed 23 Apr 2014, 23:25    Post subject:  

i was wondering if WillM's
Code:
#!/bin/sh
echo "<openbox_pipe_menu>"
bookmarked() {
    sed -e 's/"/\n/g' ~/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/ROX-Filer/Bookmarks.xml | sed -n '/^\//p'
}
pipe=$(
   bookmarked | while read -r line; do
       printf '%s' "<item label=\"$line\">
      <action name=\"Execute\">
      <command>rox $line</command>
      </action>
       </item>"
   done
)
printf '%s' "$pipe"
echo "</openbox_pipe_menu>"

# This opens ROX-Filer bookmarks from the Openbox desktop menu.
# Name this file bookmarks.sh
# Place in ~/.config/openbox. Make executable.
# Add the following line to ~/.config/openbox/menu.xml:
#    <menu id="Bookmarks" label="Bookmarks" execute="~/.config/openbox/bookmarks.sh"/>
# Then click on Reconfigure in the Openbox menu.


from this openbox thread


can give any insight.

the truth is, the right click on the icon is just an extra click from the bookmarks pulldown that is on all Rox windows. getting anywhere you have bookmarked from any place on the desktop seems like a bigger convenience.

(i know it just may be a question of not being yet used to it, but i'd rather stick with the jwm/rox combo if i could. i'm sure there are other advantages to the newer, slicker WM, but the only one that seems like a big deal to me is the bookmarks.)

your solution, even if it is just the icon (seems you'd rather work on that first), would obviate the need for most of my desktop icons (though i kind of had fun putting folders all over the place with whatever i chose as the icon...)

anyway, still interested in this.

Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppy_apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2012
Posts: 194

PostPosted: Sat 26 Apr 2014, 02:35    Post subject:  

Code:

./AppRun: line 12: line+=: command not found


this is strange, it only adds parsed lines to line variable

btw. thx for script, it will be easy make something similar for JWM, but i don't understand why in your Puppy we have errors, i think we have the same command interpreter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppus Dogfellow


Joined: 07 Jan 2013
Posts: 1564
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Sat 26 Apr 2014, 08:28    Post subject:  

so how do i help it find the command? (if that's how you fix a command not found error.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppy_apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2012
Posts: 194

PostPosted: Mon 28 Apr 2014, 12:57    Post subject:  

Try this command in console:

Code:

which sed


I will prepare a few scripts, so maybe one of them will work on your Puppy (other than my Slackos).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppus Dogfellow


Joined: 07 Jan 2013
Posts: 1564
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Mon 28 Apr 2014, 21:48    Post subject:  

puppy_apprentice wrote:
Try this command in console:

Code:

which sed


I will prepare a few scripts, so maybe one of them will work on your Puppy (other than my Slackos).

Code:

# which sed
/bin/sed
#


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppus Dogfellow


Joined: 07 Jan 2013
Posts: 1564
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Fri 02 May 2014, 09:30    Post subject:  

puppy_apprentice, have you seen Bookmarks viewer by disciple? all the bookmarks (that i can see--can't get the scroll bar function to work so far--i should prune the lot regardless...) work very well. GTK and ROX bookmarks...and radky's PupMenu program to get it into the JWM menu...

so,

solved?

solved with a caveat: it works and does what i had hoped this thread would produce, but it's slightly slower than actually just clicking a folder and then the ROX bookmarks pull down menu. also, and this may be because i'm not yet that familiar with radky's program, the entry for the program isn't its own slot but an offshoot of the filesystem pipe.


edit: made a menu button with

Code:
<TrayButton popup="bookmarks" icon="/root/puppy-reference/buttons icons etc/book2marks.png"border="true">exec:bm</TrayButton>


added near the top of the .jwmrc-tray.

[in an attempt for this to be helpful to others: bm=disciple's script renamed; icon=full path (location including file name) of the image of your choice. script can be found in the linked Bookmarks thread. it can be downloaded as an app, a text file, an executable, a .sh through the bm link.]

***
found out the file to edit to make a menu entry is /root/.jwmrc. all you need do is add something like
Code:

<Program label="bookmarks" icon="/mnt/home/dwnldsfff/buttons icons etc/bookmarks.png">/root/my-applications/bin/bm</Program>


wherever you want it to appear. making it into its own main category doesn't appear too difficult either. [edit: solution to this is in disciple's thread].

thanks to puppy_apprentice for helping me stick with this project and to disciple for that great script.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppus Dogfellow


Joined: 07 Jan 2013
Posts: 1564
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Wed 07 May 2014, 01:46    Post subject: link to jwm menu mod
Subject description: alternate solution that responds instantly but requires you to build a new bookmark list.
 

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=775841#775841

^alternate solution that responds instantly but requires you to build a new bookmarks list/favorites list.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 1662
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 07 May 2014, 02:28    Post subject:  

Puppus Dogfellow wrote:
found out the file to edit to make a menu entry is /root/.jwmrc..

Laughing Bad idea. Did you see the fat warning at the top of this file?
Code:
<!-- IMPORTANT, ONLY EDIT /etc/xdg/templates/_root_.jwmrc -->
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppus Dogfellow


Joined: 07 Jan 2013
Posts: 1564
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Wed 07 May 2014, 02:46    Post subject:  

MochiMoppel wrote:
Puppus Dogfellow wrote:
found out the file to edit to make a menu entry is /root/.jwmrc..

Laughing Bad idea. Did you see the fat warning at the top of this file?
Code:
<!-- IMPORTANT, ONLY EDIT /etc/xdg/templates/_root_.jwmrc -->


so far ignoring it has posed no problem, MochiMoppel.

can that file be edited with the same results? (the positive ones, i mean. i'd have edited that one, but it's skeletal compared to the one in root. i have no idea what to do with it).

i take it i may lose the changes when fixmenus is called--. it's not very often that it does, and repasting the changes takes a few seconds. jwm restarts show the changes in .jwmrc each time, so other than possible erasure when new pets are installed, is there something i should be looking out for?

thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 1662
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 07 May 2014, 03:23    Post subject:  

Puppus Dogfellow wrote:
so far ignoring it has posed no problem, MochiMoppel.
It will...
Quote:
can that file be edited with the same results? (the positive ones, i mean. i'd have edited that one, but it's skeletal compared to the one in root. i have no idea what to do with it)..
This "skeletal" concept makes it even easier to see the structure. You can leave the PUPPYMENU submenus untouched and directly create your own menu entries in the <RootMenu> section. Save the file and in a terminal run
Code:
fixmenus;jwm -reload
This will create a customized /root/.jwmrc and will reload the new menu.
Quote:
other than possible erasure when new pets are installed, is there something i should be looking out for?
Wouldn't this be reason enough to be woried? Laughing I personally don't bother to mess with /root/.jwmrc. I created my customized menu in /root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal and associated it with the tray button and right-click on desktop. When in rare cases I need the "official" menu I use Alt+F1. But that's a different story I guess...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppus Dogfellow


Joined: 07 Jan 2013
Posts: 1564
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Wed 07 May 2014, 03:44    Post subject:  

Quote:
MochiMoppel wrote:
Puppus Dogfellow wrote:
so far ignoring it has posed no problem, MochiMoppel.
It will...
Quote:
can that file be edited with the same results? (the positive ones, i mean. i'd have edited that one, but it's skeletal compared to the one in root. i have no idea what to do with it)..
This "skeletal" concept makes it even easier to see the structure. You can leave the PUPPYMENU submenus untouched and directly create your own menu entries in the <RootMenu> section. For testing save the file and in a terminal run
Code:
fixmenus;jwm -reload



Quote:

Quote:
other than possible erasure when new pets are installed, is there something i should be looking out for?
Wouldn't this be reason enough to be woried? Laughing I personally don't bother to mess with /root/.jwmrc. I created my customized menu in /root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal and associated it with the tray button and right-click on desktop. When in rare cases I need the "official" menu I use Alt+F1. But that's a different story I guess...


cool. but how do you do submenus for your added menus that way, "/additional.menu"? would that work on the existing menus?

ordinarily, i suppose it would be a reason to be worried, but i'm doing this for three computers at the same time and customizing the menus as a whole. i have so much stuff installed that pruning it is a bit like sculpting, and in a way that's how i viewed it. (i now see there's a better way but...). since this chunk of data stands on its own, moving it around or in and out or altering it here and there isn't a big deal. of course, if i knew what you know about the right way to do it, there wouldn't have been any inconvenience to have to have gotten used to in the first place.

what do you have to do to make the machine give it preference over the original one? is it just a matter of saving the one i'm fond of as "jwmrc-personal"? [it says "<!-- Personally configurable options for JWM: these override default settings and theme settings -->". I just tried your solution using the recommended file and must thank you--works great and also survives the fixmenus thing.].

on the subject of alt+f1, if you feel like giving an additional tutorial on how to associate functions with buttons, that'd be awesome.

that's a cool file--i finally see the key bindings section of it. so i (also)have a more specific question. how can i get something like

<Key mask="A" key="F10">maximize</Key>
involve the windows key? what does linux call the keys? (A is alt, right?Cntrl is C?...)

sorry for the barrage of questions and thanks for your feedback and guidance, MochiMoppel.

edit 2: your solution for the official menu seems ideal. care to share how you did it?

this can all be linked back to a customizing JWM master post. (i know you dislike going off topic).

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppus Dogfellow


Joined: 07 Jan 2013
Posts: 1564
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Thu 08 May 2014, 08:04    Post subject: How do you set a file to be looked at as an alternate menu?  

Since the main menu is activated with a root:3 command, i figure another file can be activated with a root:[(number other than three)--just noticed "exec root:3" in the jwm-tray file and have no idea what it means and assigning random buttons to random numbers wasn't very productive] command.

How do you set a file to be looked at as an alternate menu?

...

just found:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=601697

...and the f12 button. Shocked

Idea /done modding ( Rolling Eyes Embarassed Twisted Evil ) once i can remember how to reclaim the f8 key from this keyboard and make it f12...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 3 [42 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2362s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0217s) ][ GZIP on ]