Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 10:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
SFS file issues / concerns (Not-Quite Solved...yet)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [26 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 453
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Sun 04 May 2014, 13:03    Post subject:  

Ahhhhh, so I'm not crazy!! I just haven't been able to recreate the issue, yet. I'm going to remove the "solved" and see if we can't get more insight here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8644

PostPosted: Sun 04 May 2014, 13:06    Post subject:  

Other thoughts are sfs loader has some hacks to overcome puppies reverse layering .... that could be another possibility if it does something in reverse when removing.

In a normal world adding and removing should not change anything.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 453
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Sun 04 May 2014, 13:09    Post subject:  

Mikeb:

What sort of scripts are you using? You wouldn't happen to have one that searches for all mounted SFS files and does an "auto-unmount" would you? If not, I might just have to slap one together and have it execute for me at shutdown or something.

Slavvo67
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8644

PostPosted: Sun 04 May 2014, 13:17    Post subject:  

Code:
echo "Remove added modules"
ls -1 /initrd | grep -E '.sfs|.lzm' | while read I ; do
   busybox mount -t aufs -o remount,del:/initrd/$I unionfs /
   busybox umount /initrd/$I
done


this is what I have in my rc.shutdown to unload added modules... but in your case the detection would be something like grep pup_ and hide the failure to unmount the core layers.

Not sure if this would help your problem as I do this to ensure a clean shutdown if running in ram but sfs are mounted from the hard drive due to limited space (in ram)

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
solo


Joined: 14 Nov 2013
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Sun 04 May 2014, 14:05    Post subject:  

I do recognize the unexplainable fluctuations in free space when installing or uninstalling. Sometimes, uninstalling a small package with the Puppy Package manager suddenly yields a lot more free space than I would expect to receive.

But I do not recall spectacular unexplainable differences where it concerns SFS files.

I do have to say, I do not use SFS-Load (on the fly) at all. I strictly load or unload SFS files through the Bootmanager SFS loader. This does mean I have to reboot every time I load or unload an SFS, but I am not bothered by that.

My pup save file is 504 MB, of which 251 mb is free. But I have Firefox, Inkscape, LibreOffice, Gimp, NVidea drivers and a nice game all loaded as SFS files. By exchanging SFS files in the Bootmanager, I can choose to load devx, java, Blender, Avidemux, Wine, or other games.

Oh I like SFS files a lot! Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8644

PostPosted: Sun 04 May 2014, 15:18    Post subject:  

Sfs files are likable.... having no limits is nice...each machine has its own set of apps to load at boot (but by filename...no boot manager) and a stock of others to load on demand. Typically there are 10-20 loaded. Also means the core pup contains core libraries and yer basic tools and a browser....handy for quick boot/fix stuff.

I also find it the cleanest way to test a new application or compile since the system is left as was after wards (or should be...hence the topic here.)

Ok people...here is my sfs loader
usage is activate /path/to/file.sfs
or add the script to rox's right click menu.
it toggles load or unload...same script.

Try it and see if you still get this strange behaviour.

mike
activate.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  activate.tar.gz 
Filesize  1.18 KB 
Downloaded  42 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 453
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Sun 06 Jul 2014, 16:18    Post subject:  

Sorry, I'm bringing this up again! This time, same issue with Virtualbox. I think that I'll convert SFS files to pets from now on... at least the old, somewhat obsolete PPM can still recognize when a pet has been installed and remove it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8644

PostPosted: Sun 06 Jul 2014, 17:48    Post subject:  

well if you want proper sfs module handling use slax or porteus or rewrite half the scripts Smile

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 453
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Sun 06 Jul 2014, 19:45    Post subject:  

Porteus and Slax were my favorites before I went full-time puppy. Maybe I should play in their sandboxes some more...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 06 Jul 2014, 20:11    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:


Ok people...here is my sfs loader

mike


Mike, your code has this line :
Code:
RAMSIZE=`free | grep "Total:"| tr -s " " | cut -f 2 -d " "`

But my free has this output :
Code:
bash-3.00# free
             total         used         free       shared      buffers
Mem:       3972280       915184      3057096            0       181408
-/+ buffers:             733776      3238504
Swap:     23366352            0     23366352

Around here ( rc.shutdown ) :
#110405 fix 'free' applet output format different in later versions of busybox.
Barry's code in pup_event_frontend_d does it like this :
Code:
free_initrd_func() { #UniPup, runs entirely in initramfs.
 #110405 fix for later versions busybox...
 memFREEK=`free | grep -o 'Mem: .*' | tr -s ' ' | cut -f 4 -d ' '`
 swapFREEK=`free | grep -o 'Swap: .*' | tr -s ' ' | cut -f 4 -d ' '`
 SIZEFREEK=`expr $memFREEK + $swapFREEK`
 SIZEFREEM=`expr $SIZEFREEK \/ 1024`
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8644

PostPosted: Mon 07 Jul 2014, 05:23    Post subject:  

Yes free in busybox has changed... more dumb linux stuff.

It also breaks the sfs loaded in lighthouse pup.

@slavvo67 nothing to stop you adding useful parts of puppy to slax... eg the wifi handling.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [26 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0822s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0187s) ][ GZIP on ]