Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 18:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How to clone an XP hard disk with Slacko? .. SOLVED
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 426

PostPosted: Wed 05 Jun 2013, 01:18    Post_subject:  

Flash wrote:
Jafadmin, do you mean he should use Gparted to find out what name to use for the new drive in the dd command?


yes.

to make it more clear, "if" (Input File) should point to the source device, and "of" (output File) should point to the target device.

Ideally, this would be done from a LiveCD with neither drive mounted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
wimpy


Joined: 22 Aug 2012
Posts: 302
Location: Essex, UK

PostPosted: Wed 05 Jun 2013, 02:27    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
I believe you misread that because it would not see sdb1 or any other number because there is no partition table on the disk. It would just see sdb. This is important because only partitions are suffixed with the number. Physical entire drives are denoted just by the letters sdX, where X is the letter assigned by the kernel either at bootup or hot plugging. (older kernels use hd). It is very important when using dd to get this right.


Yes. I'm sure you are right. I was confused by the distinction between devices (sda,say) and partitions (sda1,sda2, etc) where hard disks are concerned. All the advice here has been super and I am really grateful to everybody for the replies. Hopefully, I'll be able to mark this as "Solved" when I complete the switch.

_________________
Lucid ,Precise, Carolina, Shiba_inu, Lx_pup - all frugal
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
wimpy


Joined: 22 Aug 2012
Posts: 302
Location: Essex, UK

PostPosted: Wed 30 Apr 2014, 08:06    Post_subject:  

Just an update.
I cloned the HD using dd as advised.
The main problem in puppy was that the windows partition was ntfs, and gparted would only mount it as readonly (advising me to run chkdsk in Windows). Since Windows was out (problem with the hives) I downloaded Hirens bootcd from the net. This contained a program ntfsdos which had an option to run chkdsk. I did this on the cloned HD and it found and corrected a large number of errors. I then rebooted - it went into Windows which now offered a chkdsk. I let it carry on - the cloned disk was new so should be OK. It found a huge number of errors and orphan files. I had a copy of the hives from a previous problem and using puppy gparted mounted the ntfs disk in puppy. I substituted the backup hives and rebooted into Windows OK. My wife is pleased that she's got her PC back.
My thanks to all who helped. I'll mark this as saved.

_________________
Lucid ,Precise, Carolina, Shiba_inu, Lx_pup - all frugal
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4368
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 30 Apr 2014, 10:48    Post_subject:  

Hello @Wimpy

Forgive me for asking, but, why was GParted needed for a new disk that you had "dd"?

I do understand the need for the hive, but, am failing to see the need for GParted for the Windows resurrection you were working toward on a new HDD.

Thanks in advance for the understanding you provide

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3434
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 30 Apr 2014, 21:21    Post_subject:  

I copy everything in Puppy...just through Rox file manager....

usually just works in XP.

If I went from IDE to sata I would just setup the drive
and only copy 1% of the XP files.

I reboot Puppy....delete all those 1% of new XP files...

and just copy the old files straight over.

My computer shop...
near where I used to live had a Toshiba laptop with an iffy drive...

he had cloned the drive....tried cloning it back to the new drive....

and it kept failing to hit the desktop.

I did my usual 1% install as above.

Copied all the files back as stated.

Bingo. No more problems.

He had never seen it done that way.

:::

Just to be clearer.

I just let the XP cd setup the files >> 1%...
and then cancel the copy.

I reboot with Puppy and then >> delete all the newer Windows files....
such as

Documents and Settings

Program Files

RECYCLER

System Volume Information

AUTOEXEC.bat
boot.ini

hiberfil.sys ( if it is there )

IO.SYS
ntldr
NTDETECT.com
ntldr
pagefile.sys

and I then copy the old install straight across.

I then usually boot first time into Safe mode
Hit F8 etc >> for that menu.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
wimpy


Joined: 22 Aug 2012
Posts: 302
Location: Essex, UK

PostPosted: Thu 01 May 2014, 04:51    Post_subject:  

@gcmartin The cloned drive was just as muddled as the old one. I tried the recovery console using a Windows installation disk but that could not see the Windows directories to do the hive repair. The drive had 3 partitions (Dell!!) a FAT16, NTFS and a FAT32. The NTFS drive (sda2), which contained all the Windows files, could be seen by puppy but, as I said, it was mounted read-only. After the windows chkdsk, puppy mounted sda2 fine and the hive repair was a doddle. There may have been an easier way, but I'm still a novice.

@cthisbear I didn't understand your post at all, but I'm sure it will help someone with more nous than me. Thanks, anyway, for your input.

_________________
Lucid ,Precise, Carolina, Shiba_inu, Lx_pup - all frugal
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0681s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0081s) ][ GZIP on ]