Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 13:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
Extended Monitor Possible?
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1073

PostPosted: Thu 18 Mar 2010, 13:09    Post_subject:  

edoc wrote:
So it is merely a matter of loading KDE or GNOME?


Only if the clouds would part and Angels would descend from heaven to serenade me while I work. lol
I had hoped that running KDE or GNOME would have resolved it. However it didnt. I still dont believe its an XORG issue. I'm now leaning to the idea that its a limitation of how Puppy interacts with XORG.

I've posted some Screenshots to show you the effect on my desktop. You can see in the panel that KDE detects both monitors... but it mirrors them, which is why they are stacked. When I go to the thing to extend it... well you can see the dialog. I get the same result whether I use KDE3 or KDE4.
SS2.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  SS2.png 
Filesize  173.67 KB 
Downloaded  444 Time(s) 
SS1.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  SS1.png 
Filesize  194.74 KB 
Downloaded  429 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu 18 Mar 2010, 13:31    Post_subject:  

Try this.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=47603

Boot with the VGA connected. It'll only extend the desktop if both resolutions fit in the "max screen" size. I'm still trying to figure out how it computes the max screen size.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu 18 Mar 2010, 13:47    Post_subject:  

Ok I figured it out. You need to edit your xorg.conf and specify the virtual screen size like so.

Code:
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     24
#....there might be some more entries. Add the following line
Virtual 2880 1050
EndSubSection


Pick a size that both monitors fit in. Then you can use zarfy to configure where you want the monitors to be.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1073

PostPosted: Thu 18 Mar 2010, 14:19    Post_subject:  

jemimah,
I tried it out but it didnt work for me.
Info: Laptop Screen = 1280x768, External 1024x768
Booted with VGA attached, xorgwizard detected monitor @ 1024x768.
Loaded WM, ran zarfy, and still only got mirroring no extension. (however zarfy did detect the different resolutions of my screens just like KDE does)
Then Edited the conf and ran zarfy... still only got mirroring.
I was unable to move the screens around and position them.
Then restarted X with changes to xorg.conf and X refused to load, until I reset it to its original settings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu 18 Mar 2010, 14:39    Post_subject:  

You have to move the little red and blue boxes around, it can be tricky to drag them. It does work, I just tested.

Zarfy sort of freaks out if you make the virtual screen size too big or oddly shaped so be sure to maximize its window so you can see it all.

Or you can just use xrandr from the command line to do the same thing.
http://blog.tripmeter.in/2009/04/setting-up-extended-monitor-on-fedora-core-10-xfce/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1073

PostPosted: Thu 18 Mar 2010, 14:48    Post_subject:  

jemimah wrote:
You have to move the little red and blue boxes around, it can be tricky to drag them. It does work, I just tested.

Yea I tried dragging them around on my system... they didnt move at all. I dont have time to test more now, but its possible that something else on my system is the reason its not working.

I've run xandr before and it detects both monitors. I'll fool around with it more when I have the time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
bones01

Joined: 11 Aug 2008
Posts: 371
Location: Melbourne, Aus

PostPosted: Mon 12 Apr 2010, 17:50    Post_subject:  

Thanks for the comments and advice found here. I'll give them a try today and see how things go.

I'm using xvesa, so not real confident of success. No harm in trying though.

_________________
Dell Latitude D630 running Puppy 5.2.8 frugal, Macpup 525 frugal (if I can get it working again)
Precise Puppy 5.4 live DVD
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Cadejo

Joined: 29 Jun 2009
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Fri 21 Mar 2014, 18:15    Post_subject:  

Team,

I found this in searching for the answer, and it worked!

Check it out.
[url] http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Xorg_RandR_1.2#the_Virtual_screen [/url]

It outlines the general concept of a virtual screen that XORG uses. In it, it outlines an example, exceprt from the site:

"To turn the VGA monitor back on, with its viewport to the right of the laptop monitor:

Code:
 $  xrandr --output VGA --auto --right-of LVDS


This will probably give an error message similar to:

Code:
 xrandr: screen cannot be larger than 1600x1600 (desired size 2624x1200)
"

It then points you to make an entry in the "screen" section in /etc/X11/xorg.conf



Code:
  # ADD A VIRTUAL LINE TO PROVIDE FOR THE LARGEST SCREENS YOU WILL HOTPLUG
           Virtual              2048 2048


Anyways, JWM freaks out so I wrote a quick bash and put it in my start up.


Code:
#! /bin/sh
xrandr --output LVDS --auto --right-of VGA-0
jwm -restart


don't to forget to chmod +x the script! I hope this works for you all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
marcos90

Joined: 07 Sep 2011
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Sat 26 Apr 2014, 16:00    Post_subject:  

-Precise latest version
-Lcd monitor 17 inch and LED monitor 26 inch .
-Motherboard Intel with integrated D-sub and HDMI .

For me , this was the best solution . I wanted an extended monitor without installing complicated softwares or drivers like nvidia stuff .
The only "difficult" part was as mentionated before was the "drag" to configure the layout position .


jemimah wrote:
Try this.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=47603

Boot with the VGA connected. It'll only extend the desktop if both resolutions fit in the "max screen" size. I'm still trying to figure out how it computes the max screen size.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0693s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0046s) ][ GZIP on ]