Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Oct 2014, 19:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Muppylinux-004 (+ 005 for testing)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 7 [101 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 07 Nov 2006, 10:32    Post subject:  

Tested Muppy 004 on my notebook at work.

No errors at all.
pup_save is created on hda1 (vfat).
The 2 .sfs copied by speedwizard are used, also OpenOffice.
Saving files in /mnt/home works.

Running from the liveCD, I could go immedeatly to the internet via network (dhcpd is run at startup in lifemode).

This PC has a huge Swap-partition, so no memory-problems could occur (it has 256 MB Ram only).

1 issue though:
I could create pup_save.3fs only, if I ran the LiveCD without the option to use all programs.
When I had chosen that, Muppy found no drive to save to.
Or was it because I had mounted hda1?
Must test again.

However, this result shows, that the basic concept in general works fine.
What we must find out, why on some PCs it acts so strange.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 07 Nov 2006, 10:54    Post subject:  

This is a very nice distro, Mark. Congratulations.

I ran 004 briefly last night from XVesa; everything seems to work.
However, it stopped at the word "shutdown" without switching off and I guess you haven't got around to the tray-opening thing, either?

As for scsi, the drives have looked and sounded (or not!) just like any other (IDE) for the last 5-6 years. I agree - don't spend any money just for testing. There must be tons of scsii scrap around. What I was suggesting was simply borrow the driver complement from DSL - everything scsi works for them and Jesse says they just loaded everything available. Probably they just got them from Klaus since they use his detection engine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1089
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue 07 Nov 2006, 11:28    Post subject:  

MU wrote:
Paul, does it also happen, when you don't use the additional programs?

Mark, sorry to take so long in answering you but the forum was !*&% again...

I just have this problem on one machine and it makes no difference if I do or do not load all the programs. I have now been able to read the error message I get every time:

"Mount: Mounting ext3 on /ext3 failed: no such file or dir
Session not saved"

This is when I choose:
(X) hda1 Filesystem: vfat Size: 8002M Free: 1363M

As you see, the error message is crazy - "ext3 on /ext3" ??

Ok, just as control, I tested 2.11 "standard" on the same machine and - guess what - same error!! So it is not Muppy that is at fault Smile

The partitions on that machine are:

hda1 vfat (gives the error message)
hda5 ntfs
hda6 vfat
hda7 swap
hda8 ext3 (pup_save.3fs in Muppy worked here)
hda9 ext3
hda10 ext3
hda11 ext3

Paul

_________________
Testing Puppy since v0.9.2 - my desktop OS since v1.0.7
Running SlaxerPup-4.12 - Puppy with a Slackware 12.2 heart Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 07 Nov 2006, 11:36    Post subject:  

Sage, the CD ejects if you don't use the additional programs.
Using additional programs, Puppy seems to have problems to unmount mupp_211.sfs from the CD, if some processes using it are still running, so the CD will not eject.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 07 Nov 2006, 11:38    Post subject:  

Paul,
"ext3 on /ext3"

I've read about that in the forum yesterday I think, but don't remember where.
Here or in the developerboard.

Will search when I'm home later.
Maybe there was posted a fix, I think Barry had replied something.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1089
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue 07 Nov 2006, 12:00    Post subject:  

After searching the forum I saw that I had already reported this as a bug in "Puppy2" in February this year !!

See http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=6253

Barry acknowledged the error but I don't think it was ever resolved. At least not in that thread...

_________________
Testing Puppy since v0.9.2 - my desktop OS since v1.0.7
Running SlaxerPup-4.12 - Puppy with a Slackware 12.2 heart Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1089
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue 07 Nov 2006, 12:07    Post subject:  

Ok, now I have tested 2.12beta on the problematic machine and I still get the bug "ext3 on /ext3" when I try to create pup_save.3fs on hda1 - so it has not been fixed...

If no one else has any ideas, I will try to find the bug tomorrow. I'm too tired to continue today.

Paul

_________________
Testing Puppy since v0.9.2 - my desktop OS since v1.0.7
Running SlaxerPup-4.12 - Puppy with a Slackware 12.2 heart Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 07 Nov 2006, 12:17    Post subject:  

http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=6253

this is what I saw, it is your thread from february Rolling Eyes

ok, so we'll have to try to find a fix on our own.
I'm tired, too, maybe at weekend I'll have enough energy to search in the initscript /sbin/init in initrd.gz for the reason (that is a long script).

sleep well Smile
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bobn9lvu


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 173

PostPosted: Tue 07 Nov 2006, 13:12    Post subject:  

MU wrote:
Thanks Bob, but I actually won't buy pieces just for tests.
I had a SCSI harddisk years ago, and it was very loud, so I would not use such a thing in a current PC.
Meanwhile 1 Gigabyte USB-sticks cost less than 20 Euro, so I will not start to fiddle around with SCSI.
If someone tells me:
"add this and that module to Muppy as I got my stuff working with it", then ok, I would do it, but I won't start tests on my own. My todo-list is too long for that Wink

Mark


Who said "buy/sell" ??? Very Happy

If someone would help with the shipping, I would donate stuff for the cause...
Like I said, it is older equipment, but very usable...
The only thing I see is that there are so many different makers of scsii controllers out there.
Wouldn't it be better to port/adapt some of the more common drivers for them???


Bob Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 07 Nov 2006, 16:56    Post subject:  

ok, feel free to send me a controller and disk, then I'll try it Smile

I think the drivers are generic? Not dependent on different manufacturers? Not shure though...

Many thanks for supporting us with some test-hardware Cool
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Wed 08 Nov 2006, 04:09    Post subject:  

Tray-opening now works, but NOT shutdown!

scsi : apparently not - please see the discussion, Mark. I had wondered whether the pseudo-generic Adaptec ASPI drivers used in 'doze would provide a suitable approach, but, according to Jesse(?) - not. DSL simply dumps all the individual drivers into its d/b.
I would be inclined to avoid ISA scsi cards now, but not 50w systems ("fast scsi II") on PCI. Although I can run scsi off ISA with DSL!

Everybody says what a nice guy Hr Klaus is - maybe you could phone him? Probably has been down this track already?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1089
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed 08 Nov 2006, 07:28    Post subject:  

Mark, I found the bug in rc.shutdown that caused my problem. Razz

Here are the details: http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?p=77327#77327

Paul

_________________
Testing Puppy since v0.9.2 - my desktop OS since v1.0.7
Running SlaxerPup-4.12 - Puppy with a Slackware 12.2 heart Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 08 Nov 2006, 09:36    Post subject:  

Thanks Paul Smile
I updated the servicepack with that bugfix Smile
http://dotpups.de/dotpups/Muppylinux/Muppy-004-211-servicepack.pup

Sage:
Quote:
However, it stopped at the word "shutdown" without switching off


Does it also happen with Puppy 2.11?
In the forum it often is recommended, to run Puppy then with the option
puppy acpi=off

Does that work?

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Wed 08 Nov 2006, 10:11    Post subject:  

Sometimes with some machines. This has been an on-going issue since the switch to 2.6 with series2 - no problems with series1.
Neither is there any consistency. I have used acpi=force/on/off and edited the rc.local as well as using these as 'cheat codes' at start up.
I think lots of folks have this issue, but assumed that you had sorted it out once and for all !!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 08 Nov 2006, 10:17    Post subject:  

No, I added no new things to the shutdown-scripts, except:
Code:
#Muppy
Mpdev=`grep PDEV1 /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE | sed -e "s/'$//" -e "s/^.*'//"`
eject /dev/$Mpdev
#Muppy end


This simply tries to eject the medium, where Muppy was booted from.
If it is a CD, it works (except the addon is mounted).
If it is a hdd it fails with an unimportant error-message of course.

So Muppy in general inherits all potential non-working issues from Puppy.
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 7 [101 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0799s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0046s) ][ GZIP on ]