Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 25 Nov 2014, 23:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Blue Pup V6 Released 11th Oct 2014
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 13 of 20 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, ..., 18, 19, 20 Next
Author Message
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1021
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Thu 10 Apr 2014, 05:45    Post_subject: Re: Install to hard disc or SSD:  

Hi ETP,
thanks for that nice tuto ! Smile
Success ! boot seems faster than using the USB stick !
ETP wrote:
...
The syslinux.cfg on the Blue Pup stick then needs changing so that you can boot from that.

If the above is not working for you, please post any error messages.

All as been copied on sda9 logical ext4 partition, using Raring-3.9.9.2 (which seems to also being f2fs aware).
Here is my /mnt/sdb1/syslinux.cfg
Code:
# Boot Blue Pup ETP March 2014
default /vmlinuz root=/dev/sda9 rootwait rw

Here just got this message at start time of the boot process; boot continues OK afterwards.
Quote:
mounting /dev/root/ on / failed invalid argument


Cheers, Charlie

ps: about bios earlier posts about «BIOS struggles» on another PC than the Compaq one ... i found that i was ignorant about specificities of its bios (desktop PC Fujitsu Siemens ca. 12years old ...cpu 2,5GHz, 1.5GB Ram):
The USB stick can be seen in BIOS Diskette group; if left there, boot fails. It has to be moved in the HardDrive group instead, using the «TAB» key.
See screenshots hereunder.
So again, by digging deeper into it, i could learn something more ... thanks for that!
Charlie
bios-set.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   103.29 KB
 Viewed   905 Time(s)

bios-set.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 575
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 10 Apr 2014, 07:04    Post_subject: Install to hard disc or SSD:  

Hi Charlie,

Good news all round. Thanks for posting the BIOS shots.

You do not need that "rootwait" with a fast HDD or SSD, so you can remove it. That would then give you:

Code:
# Boot Blue Pup ETP March 2014
default /vmlinuz root=/dev/sda9 rw

_________________
Regards ETP
Accessibility Pups: -- Magoo -- The Pup With No Name -- MouseCam -- Obedient
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2156
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 10 Apr 2014, 09:00    Post_subject: Blue Pup V1, V2 & V3 (Released 2nd April 2014)  

When I installed Blue Pup V2 to the usb 3.0 flashdrive that is running
on my lenovo desktop I installed to a second usb 3.0 flashdrive while I was at it.
I installed my usual applications from QPM to the lenovo flashdrive
then took a snapshot.
I copied the audit directory from my lenovo install to my spare usb
3.0 flashdrive which is now running on my 10 year old compaq desktop.
After booting up on the compaq I chose to restore the snapshot and
rebooted, after that was finished and another reboot all the
applications are installed.

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Thu 10 Apr 2014 on Quirky Tahr 6.0.5 Linux 3.12.6 i686
0.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] RV280 [Radeon 9200] (rev 01)
oem: ATI RADEON 9200
X Server: Xorg Driver: modesetting
X.Org version: 1.15.0
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (507x285 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz
Core 0: @2800 1: @2800 MHz

I find that a fast usb 3.0 flashdrive works well when it's plugged
into a usb 2.0 port, I don't have anything with usb 1.1 to test.

Still having fun Smile
image-1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   42.73 KB
 Viewed   870 Time(s)

image-1.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3393
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Sat 12 Apr 2014, 00:11    Post_subject:  

I found that I have my Blue USB stick connected to a USB 1.1 port on my PC with the USB 2.0 ports being on the back of the PC on an add-on card.
When I fired it up this time though, the fancy tile screen got stuck waiting to connect to some site. This seemed to bring the display of a full tile screen to a halt.
Has anyone else experienced this behavior and is there a work around other than me exiting full screen and selecting a site I had bookmarked?
Also though, I may have to do a full remake of that USB stick as I had a mouse problem with a button on the mouse that inadvertently selected Move when I went to copy the library directory to another device.
I bailed on the Move and selected Copy answering Yes to merging contents and also to a number of files.
Now the directory sizes do not match and being unsure of what might be missing, A remake of the USB stick may be the easiest way to recover.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 575
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 12 Apr 2014, 03:43    Post_subject: Metro interface freezing  

Hi 8-bit,

The problem with the Metro extension started last night. It is not related to Blue and shows up in fresh installs of the extension in both Chrome and Chromium.

The problem is server related. It is not clear at present whether it is coding error, a redirection attack or someone forgot to feed the hamster.

It is a matter of waiting for normal service to be resumed. Rolling Eyes

_________________
Regards ETP
Accessibility Pups: -- Magoo -- The Pup With No Name -- MouseCam -- Obedient
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2156
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 12 Apr 2014, 06:05    Post_subject: Re: Metro interface freezing  

ETP wrote:

It is a matter of waiting for normal service to be resumed. Rolling Eyes


A temporary solution is to add the iStart extension, it's working okay.
extensions.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   29.63 KB
 Viewed   794 Time(s)

extensions.jpg

iStart.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   44.57 KB
 Viewed   791 Time(s)

iStart.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 575
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 12 Apr 2014, 13:14    Post_subject: Normal Service is Resumed.
Sub_title: Hamster not dead - just sleeping!
 

Normal Service is Resumed.
(Hamster not dead - just sleeping!)
image-1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   180.37 KB
 Viewed   710 Time(s)

image-1.png


_________________
Regards ETP
Accessibility Pups: -- Magoo -- The Pup With No Name -- MouseCam -- Obedient
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 197

PostPosted: Mon 14 Apr 2014, 06:57    Post_subject: Re: Booting from HDD or SSD with another stick or card  

ETP wrote:
What you attempted was right in principle. To achieve your aim:

...
Download the 16 Meg HDD/SSD boot image file (16MegBlueBoot.img) that I have now uploaded together with the Windows utility to flash that image on to the target boot device (win32diskimager-v0.7-binary.)
...

Engage warp drive! Smile

Thank you ETP, your instructions and boot image file worked flawlessly. I have now engaged SSD warp drive and it _is_ fast! Just to mention, GParted didn't allow creating a fat32 partition on my USB1.1 30MB drive, so I created a fat16 one. It worked for win32diskimager, which then wrote the image file to the USB key.

In your "booting QT from USB" thread you describe an 8GB USB key partition layout that includes a swap partition. My blue pup has no swap partition currently. Do you recommend creating one? My laptop has the SSD drive only plus the USB1.1 boot key. I purchased an 8GB USB2 key and I could partition it the way you describe in that other thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 575
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 14 Apr 2014, 15:26    Post_subject: Re: Booting from HDD or SSD with another stick or card  

Hi step,

Thanks for reporting your success with the 16Meg boot image.
Quote:
In your "booting QT from USB" thread you describe an 8GB USB key partition layout that includes a swap partition. My blue pup has no swap partition currently. Do you recommend creating one? My laptop has the SSD drive only plus the USB1.1 boot key. I purchased an 8GB USB2 key and I could partition it the way you describe in that other thread.

I think you may mean this post in the QT thread.
www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=745369#745369
I did make mention there of a Linux swap partition on my hard drive. (sda3-Samsung 830)
Creating one on a USB key is not a wise idea as if it sees heavy use it could wear out the key! The best place for one is on the fastest hard drive available. That begs two further questions:
Q1. Is one needed?
Q2. If so, what size should it be?

You are only likely to sometimes need one if you have < 1GB of memory or if you have more than 1GB memory, you multitask in such a way that you frequently hit 60% usage of the total memory installed. In all probability it may never get used but it acts as insurance.

There are various schools of thought on the size of swap partitions but given that it may only be insurance, I would recommend making it the same size as the amount of memory installed. On my XP box I have 2GB RAM and therefore have a 2 GB swap partition on sda3.

All Pups will automatically detect and if need be make use of a swap partition which can be created with Gparted. (There is a problem with detection of swap partitions on GPT discs in QT which I posted about later in that same thread.)

Finally, HTOP can be used to monitor the detection and usage of any swap partition.

_________________
Regards ETP
Accessibility Pups: -- Magoo -- The Pup With No Name -- MouseCam -- Obedient
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3393
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Mon 14 Apr 2014, 18:18    Post_subject:  

I am using Blue version 3 from an 8gig flash drive on my desktop and the boot to the tile screen takes a long time. I determined that this is due to the flash drive being plugged into a USB port on the front of the PC.
Those ports show up as USB 1.1 ports.
This desktop also has an add-in USB card/interface at the back of the PC.
I checked it and it is shown as being USB 2.0.
But even though the flash drive is set up to be seen as a USB hard drive, it does not show up in my PC's boot menu when plugged into those USB ports!
It does show up on the desktop if I boot from the Grub menu to another version of Puppy on my main hard drives.
I would have thought that the change in version 3 would have allowed the flash drive to be seen as a USB hard drive by the PC irregardless of what USB port it is plugged into on the same PC it was made on.
So on this desktop PC, I guess I will have to settle with using USB 1.1 and the slow speed associated with it even though the PC has USB 2.0 ports on an add-in card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4440
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 15 Apr 2014, 00:49    Post_subject:  

8-bit,this might help by using 2 USB identical sticks, both created as described in this thread.
Place one USB stick in a slow 1.1 port. Modify that USB stick's boot config file to point to a 2nd stick's F2FS partition. Plug the 2nd USB stick in a 2.0 port. This may work for you allowing faster system boot and operation. The first stick merely, then, is only a boot kicker to the faster USB port.

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 575
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 15 Apr 2014, 05:42    Post_subject:  

Hi 8-bit,

Quote:
I am using Blue version 3 from an 8gig flash drive on my desktop and the boot to the tile screen takes a long time. I determined that this is due to the flash drive being plugged into a USB port on the front of the PC.
Those ports show up as USB 1.1 ports.
This desktop also has an add-in USB card/interface at the back of the PC.
I checked it and it is shown as being USB 2.0.
But even though the flash drive is set up to be seen as a USB hard drive, it does not show up in my PC's boot menu when plugged into those USB ports!
It does show up on the desktop if I boot from the Grub menu to another version of Puppy on my main hard drives.
I would have thought that the change in version 3 would have allowed the flash drive to be seen as a USB hard drive by the PC irregardless of what USB port it is plugged into on the same PC it was made on.
So on this desktop PC, I guess I will have to settle with using USB 1.1 and the slow speed associated with it even though the PC has USB 2.0 ports on an add-in card.

1. Before trying anything else you should establish beyond doubt that your PC BIOS will not boot from the USB 2 PCI interface card at the rear.
Start by removing all sticks then shutdown & remove all mains power to the box for a couple of minutes.

2. Insert your stick in a rear port then power up entering the BIOS as you do so.

3. Check all categories of devices. The stick may appear in any one of them and may be seen as a bootable FDD, ZIP drive, HDD or USB HDD. If it does you just need to put it at the top of your boot order.

4. If it does not appear in any category check your other BIOS’s settings. In particular look for an option to boot from internal (PCI) cards. If you have such an option it will need to be turned on before returning to step 1.

If this does not resolve the problem, a hard disc install to a dedicated f2fs partition is a better proposition than the two stick approach. That would work however and you need to stay in your comfort zone. If you opt for that you do not need “2 USB identical sticks” as suggested by gcmartin. Simply use the 16meg boot image mentioned a couple of posts back. That can be placed on just about any card or stick which does not have to be fast as it only loads the 3meg kernel.

Good Luck.

_________________
Regards ETP
Accessibility Pups: -- Magoo -- The Pup With No Name -- MouseCam -- Obedient
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 575
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 16 Apr 2014, 05:51    Post_subject: Optional Upgrade for Blue Pup V2 & V3.  

Optional Upgrade for Blue Pup V2 & V3.
(bluepup-sp1.pet)

The attached pet enhances the above versions by providing easier use in the form of four screen “hot sides”. The sides are bound to specific actions which trigger when the mouse pointer touches a side. All hotkeys and key combinations remain active and can still be used.

1. Right hand side – Launches the desktop plus its panel. (This is the equivalent of pressing the right hand Windows or menu key.)

2. Left hand side – Launches the Metro interface. (This is the equivalent of pressing the left hand Windows key.)

3. Bottom of screen – Toggles Metro interface between full screen and windowed mode. It provides an alternative to pressing F11. It also comes in handy with VLC and Abiword.

4. Top of screen – Returns browser to Metro interface when you are in another site such as the “Puppy Forum”. (The equivalent of pressing Ctrl+T)

Technical:
The triggers are instant, which I preferred to requiring a short hover of the pointer. There is however a brief cooling off period to prevent duplicate actions. In use, just briefly kiss the desired screen side with the mouse pointer.

Install/Uninstall:
To install download, click on the .pet then restart X.
Uninstall via PPM.

Final Thoughts:
IMHO the addition of this dotpet to Blue lifts it into another league. It becomes more than a match for the Windows 8.1 Update released on 08th April which is to be endured rather than enjoyed.
Enjoy.
****Edit: 18th April****
The cooling off periods require further explanation. For the top & sides they are 4 seconds. For the bottom of the screen, (F11) – 2 seconds. Until those periods have expired you cannot re-trigger an action.
Tip:
If your pointer keeps inadvertently bumping into a screen edge, reduce the mouse sensitivity to make it less manic.
image-2.png
 Description   
 Filesize   213.74 KB
 Viewed   473 Time(s)

image-2.png

bluepup-sp1.pet
Description  For Blue Pup V2 and V3
pet

 Download 
Filename  bluepup-sp1.pet 
Filesize  545 Bytes 
Downloaded  118 Time(s) 

_________________
Regards ETP
Accessibility Pups: -- Magoo -- The Pup With No Name -- MouseCam -- Obedient

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 197

PostPosted: Wed 16 Apr 2014, 17:57    Post_subject: sp1 right trigger not working  

Thanks for this SP1. I agree, it enhances usability. Left and bottom triggers work as advertised. So does the top trigger, although your description somewhat misled me into thinking that it would be smart enough not to open a new tab each time it triggers. You did say "equivalent of Ctrl+T", to be fair, and that's exactly what it does. The right trigger does nothing on my netbook 1024x600. The right window key does work to minimize the metro interface and start the shortcut panel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 197

PostPosted: Thu 17 Apr 2014, 02:47    Post_subject: Re: sp1 right trigger not working  

Oh well, today SP1 isn't working but in a different way. Right trigger works as advertised. Bottom trigger stopped working - does nothing. Left trigger works as advertised. Top trigger stopped working, I think; when chromium is full screen and my mouse kisses the top border chromium displays the "you've gone full screen" popup; if chromium isn't full screen moving the mouse to top trigger does nothing at all.

Note: same netbook as in previous post. Tested after restarting blue pup - so did for previous post too.

edit: No, the right trigger still isn't working. It appeared to work when there were no apps but chromium running. Now that multiple apps are running right trigger seems to switch to one of those apps instead of opening the shortcut panel.

edit 2: it keeps restoring the YASSM select-share pulldown dialog window regardless of which other apps are also running.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 13 of 20 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, ..., 18, 19, 20 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1163s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0099s) ][ GZIP on ]