Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 16:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
'Maximize window' does not work for YouTube or VLC
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
pope

Joined: 01 Apr 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue 01 Apr 2014, 14:35    Post subject:  'Maximize window' does not work for YouTube or VLC
Subject description: I can resize a window to cover the whole screen but not maximize it.
 

I cant find a solution anywhere. Sorry if i suck at googling.
I run precise 5.7.1 from a usb stick in a Asus eeepc 1001ha.
External monitor out to rgb in on a LG tv.
Resolution 1920x1080.
Fullscreen works fine in ubuntu on this machine but i wanted something faster so i tried puppy.
When i try to maximize youtube or vlc i see about 25% of the picture at top left on he screen.
Someone else had the same problem but no solution?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1120

PostPosted: Tue 01 Apr 2014, 16:10    Post subject:  

Here's something similar:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=92733
I haven't waded through the whole thread, but it doesn't seem to be solved yet. However maybe you'll find some useful clues there.

I don't use an external monitor, so can't really assist on this one, but I have a suspicion that it might be related to later versions of JWM, the default WM in Puppy:

sc0ttman@http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=761394#761394 wrote:
[...]I downgraded to 574 as it DOES support 2 screens[...]

If I were you I would just try another WM (eg. IceWM, available via Puppy Package Manager) just to see if the problem persists also there?
After installing, exit to the console and type xwin icewm-session
To get back to JWM - xwin jwm

It's shot in the dark, but at least will eliminate one possibility...

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pope

Joined: 01 Apr 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu 03 Apr 2014, 06:39    Post subject:  

Cool! That works! Thanks!
Maybe someone now can get an idea of what is wrong with the original wm.

Now there is another thing. The screen is about one inch "to the right", giving a black strip at the left and icons outside the screen to the right.

I tried the xvidtune but i guess the graphics chip isnt supported.
Graphics: integrated intel GMA950
Chipset: 945GSE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5499
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 05 Apr 2014, 00:38    Post subject:  

Try auto adjust button on the monitor.
_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pope

Joined: 01 Apr 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat 05 Apr 2014, 12:21    Post subject:  

The monitor is an LG tv. It doesnt have that feature except maybe in some hidden service menu that i dont know about.

Xbmc has a calibration function to set the upper left and lower right corner and that works fine on this system so i believe that the "black stripe" should be possible to fix if i could tweak the "sync settings" or what the proper name is.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0518s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0062s) ][ GZIP on ]