Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 21 Nov 2014, 14:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
ALSA fix for legacy sound cards in Puppy 2x
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
nicom

Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 34
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Mon 24 Jul 2006, 06:05    Post_subject:  

I finally got around to working out how to use pnpdump. The results still leave me in confusion. The following is what I understand to the relevant bit.

Code:
# Multiple choice time, choose one only !

#     Start dependent functions: priority preferred
#       Logical device decodes 16 bit IO address lines
#             Minimum IO base address 0x0220
#             Maximum IO base address 0x0220
#             IO base alignment 16 bytes
#             Number of IO addresses required: 16
# (IO 0 (SIZE 16) (BASE 0x0220) (CHECK))
#       IRQ 5.
#             High true, edge sensitive interrupt (by default)
# (INT 0 (IRQ 5 (MODE +E)))
#       First DMA channel 1.
#             8 bit DMA only
#             Logical device is a bus master
#             DMA may execute in count by byte mode
#             DMA may not execute in count by word mode
#             DMA channel speed type F
# (DMA 0 (CHANNEL 1))
#       Next DMA channel 0 or 3.
#             8 bit DMA only
#             Logical device is a bus master
#             DMA may execute in count by byte mode
#             DMA may not execute in count by word mode
#             DMA channel speed type F
# (DMA 1 (CHANNEL 0))

#       Start dependent functions: priority acceptable
#       Logical device decodes 16 bit IO address lines
#             Minimum IO base address 0x0220
#             Maximum IO base address 0x0280
#             IO base alignment 32 bytes
#             Number of IO addresses required: 16
# (IO 0 (SIZE 16) (BASE 0x0220) (CHECK))
#       IRQ 5, 7, 9, 10 or 11.
#             High true, edge sensitive interrupt (by default)
# (INT 0 (IRQ 5 (MODE +E)))
#       First DMA channel 0, 1 or 3.
#             8 bit DMA only
#             Logical device is a bus master
#             DMA may execute in count by byte mode
#             DMA may not execute in count by word mode
#             DMA channel speed type F
# (DMA 0 (CHANNEL 0))
#       Next DMA channel 0, 1 or 3.
#             8 bit DMA only
#             Logical device is a bus master
#             DMA may execute in count by byte mode
#             DMA may not execute in count by word mode
#             DMA channel speed type F
# (DMA 1 (CHANNEL 0))

#       Start dependent functions: priority functional
#       Logical device decodes 16 bit IO address lines
#             Minimum IO base address 0x0100
#             Maximum IO base address 0x03f0
#             IO base alignment 16 bytes
#             Number of IO addresses required: 16
# (IO 0 (SIZE 16) (BASE 0x0100) (CHECK))
#       IRQ 5, 7, 9, 10 or 11.
#             High true, edge sensitive interrupt (by default)
# (INT 0 (IRQ 5 (MODE +E)))
#       First DMA channel 0, 1 or 3.
#             8 bit DMA only
#             Logical device is a bus master
#             DMA may execute in count by byte mode
#             DMA may not execute in count by word mode
#             DMA channel speed type F
# (DMA 0 (CHANNEL 0))

#     End dependent functions


When I compare my results to the discussion I found at http://www.linux-sxs.org/upgrading/pnpdump I get nothing like it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Kaos' avatar


Joined: 04 Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Location: South Wales

PostPosted: Sat 04 Nov 2006, 14:49    Post_subject: Two sound cards  

I'm one of the previously mentioned idiots. Sorry to go off on a side track, but i spotted something here that might help me. I have two working sound cards. For good but hard to explain reasons, I want to use the second one, not the one loaded first. I can use alsa wizard to switch, but I loose the change on restart.Did I miss something obvious? If I deleted the modprobe.conf entry for one of the cards, would that cause my computer to use only the other? This isn't realy relevant, I just thought the question might be something to answer in the idiots guide to Sound cards.

PS: Charge people for the guide, you'll make tonnes of money!

Exclamation Twisted Evil Exclamation
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
Nokes

Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jul 2009, 22:58    Post_subject:  

i've got a problem with my Yamaha opl3sa3 i di pretty much everything in the first post, and i still got nothing

it's an old Toshiba Satellite Pro 480cdt

EDIT: Nevermind i got it, wow this forum does help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8609

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jul 2009, 13:46    Post_subject:  

Any tips for an isa card (AD1816a)that won't do isapnp but have all the settings but the newer alsa driver will not use them as it will only accept isapnp cards so gives a card not present error.. it is and the old oss driver is fine but that means going back to the 2.4.xx kernel.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0616s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0076s) ][ GZIP on ]