Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 16 Sep 2014, 09:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to install Grub?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
tropicalretriever

Joined: 24 Jun 2013
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sat 15 Mar 2014, 21:35    Post subject:  How to install Grub?  

I know I could find this somewhere in the forum, but I need some help. I seem to remember when I installed Slacko 5.6 that there were two options for installing grub, now there is only one "Grub for DOS". I do not have windows on my laptop and haven't used it in years. I really am stuck at this point and what I need is a step-by-step guide to installing Grub for Slacko 5.7.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3368
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Sat 15 Mar 2014, 22:13    Post subject:  

Their should also be an entry in the menu for Grub Legacy.
This allows for the old style install of the Grub bootloader.
At least that selection is there in Slacko 5.5.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5132
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 15 Mar 2014, 22:44    Post subject:  

Do not get hung up about the name Grub4dos Bootloader config.
This is still a version of Grub.
This is really a Puppified (is that a word?) version of the program.
It works very well with Puppy booting and also other Linux and Windows installs.
A lot of us use it.
Easy to update the boot menu by simply rerunning Grub4dos Bootloader config
It also keeps a backup of the previous menu.lst, to fall back to, if you have problems.
Try it. You may like it too. Very Happy

The legacy Grub is getting a little old and has some issues.

From release notes for Slacko 5.7
Quote:
There is an issue with "grub" where wireless keyboards/mice are not recognised at boot. In this case please try "grub4dos"


Quote:
Grub4DosConfig is the Gru4Dos boot loader with GUI installer.
The name 'Grub4Dos' can be confusing but it is actually 'Grub NOT ONLY for Dos'. Grub4dos supports many file system: NTFS, VFAT, EXT2, EXT3, EXT4. ReiserFS is supported by v1.6.9 and later. Grub4dos is upper compatible with (legacy) grub, can do all the legacy grub can do.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=51697

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8252

PostPosted: Sun 16 Mar 2014, 03:55    Post subject:  

Quote:
There is an issue with "grub" where wireless keyboards/mice are not recognised at boot. In this case please try "grub4dos"

Thats why I hang around here.... someone had such a problem with a lucid rebuild and some light may just have been shed on this...I never got to find out if I cured it cos feedback stopped but perhaps this could have been the unknown factor...how is another matter but we were both a little confused as his comment was that it should simply appear as a usb keyboard at boot.

To the op
yes the name is unfortunate.... grub4dos does all that grub does effectively with some nice convenience feature in relation to windows if needed but its perfectly at home with a linux only setup.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 873
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sun 16 Mar 2014, 10:24    Post subject:  

In Slacko 5.7 there is a buglet with grub4dos in the menus.
If you look in Menu>System you should see grub legacy and grub4dos both together in their usual place, but there are several extra instances of grub4dos in various other places in the menu, so if you are seeing one of those you could be distracted and fooled into thinking that grub legacy is missing.

I suggest removing those extra grub4dos menu entries. To do this go to /usr/share/applications and find the Grub4DosConfig.desktop file. Right click it and open as text and edit the categories line so it just reads Categories=X-System-memory then save and close. Open a terminal and run fixmenus followed by jwm -reload and the extra menu entries should be gone.

It depends on what you are doing and how you are doing it, but in some cases a task such as upgrading from Slacko 5.6 to Slacko 5.7 may not need a re-installation of grub if it is already installed. You may just need to run the config utility or edit the menu.lst file.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0561s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]