Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 01:43
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Akita Linux, Beta 16 ISO
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 69 of 70 [1044 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 67, 68, 69, 70 Next
Author Message
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 568
Location: Gatton, Queensland

PostPosted: Sat 01 Feb 2014, 19:02    Post subject:  

Thanks partsman! Was just trying again before I saw your post - will try that out again shortly. So I jumped a step too far - typical Smile Still getting some strange "error with mounting sr0" when trying to use Woofy and the iso on the cd burner - I suspect my ancient RW cd's are throwing small spanners in the remastering works. Burning afresh with new cds and will keep you posted
Cheers

_________________
Toowoomba Linux Community
http://groups.google.com/group/toowoombalinux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
partsman

Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 261
Location: OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Sat 01 Feb 2014, 19:26    Post subject:  

I too get an error when I first try to mount SR0 but it always mounts on the second try Wink
I am not sure why this happens Confused Been that way since I started using Akita but never caused any problems Very Happy Then again i have never used Woofy to remaster either Shocked

_________________
"PUPPY" POWERED BY PEOPLE
AKITA LINUX kernel 2.6.32.28
Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2386
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 01 Feb 2014, 22:06    Post subject:  

Puppyt wrote:
Still getting some strange "error with mounting sr0" when trying to use Woofy and the iso on the cd burner

is that during woofy or using the jwm drive icons? I get it using the jwm desktop drive icons for CD drives... which my fault , not yours (or your CDs...) .. using the rox desktop fixes this for me..

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
partsman

Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 261
Location: OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Sat 01 Feb 2014, 23:17    Post subject:  

Yes sc0ttman that is a better way of explaining it ! when you use JWM icon Wink
But like I said always works 2nd time Wink So far not a big deal Wink

_________________
"PUPPY" POWERED BY PEOPLE
AKITA LINUX kernel 2.6.32.28
Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 568
Location: Gatton, Queensland

PostPosted: Sun 02 Feb 2014, 00:49    Post subject:  

Thanks guys - I think I have to go back to Remastering-101 again though (after I get over this accursed man-cold). Yes, I was in the jwm drive-icon scenario. Just now I did a big remaster (628mb) with all the dosbox/dbgl/jre stuff installed first as pets. Nothing to show for it in the menus on bootup, unfortunately. I tried both in sc0ttman's 'novo' and partsman's 'respun' versions. Both in Woofy this time - looks like an absolutely indispensable tool. The right-click option on custom-puppy.iso for burn2cd dropped out early and coastered that particular cd unfortunately. (I noted too that after rebooting both OS's with their respective sfs' loaded on shutdown, hdd frugal installs, the sfs' fail to stay resident and ask to be re-loaded. Is this something you have seen before?) Hmm after a lie-down I'll start over, noting all my steps taken to report back to you to see where I might have tripped up. Off to buy more blank CD's - seems I should re-read the Akita thread a little more closely too, for the more obvious gotcha's,
Bye for now Smile

_________________
Toowoomba Linux Community
http://groups.google.com/group/toowoombalinux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
balloon


Joined: 02 Oct 2013
Posts: 46
Location: Miyagi, Japan

PostPosted: Fri 21 Feb 2014, 04:06    Post subject:  Akita......  

I am sorry by a contribution with it being now when 3 years pass soon.
The following contents are originally shown and should be contributed soon.


Is Akita from Akita, Japan?


Akita (秋田) is the Japanese area(prefecture) name.

The kind of the dog includes "Akita-Inu". (秋田犬)
"Inu" (犬, or read with "ken") is Japanese and is a "dog".

The Akita-Inu is originally a big dog.
The Google photo result in the Japanese name:
https://www.google.co.jp/search?q=%E7%A7%8B%E7%94%B0%E7%8A%AC&tbm=isch


There was the attention from a name at first in Japan:

http://sakurapup.browserloadofcoolness.com/viewtopic.php?t=2070
(Forum of Japanese edition)

But problems occur frequently from-based Puppy
and do not spread in Japan...

It is unusual for distribution with the Japanese name to be born.
It was good and found it!

_________________
BALLOON a.k.a. Fu-sen. ふうせん Fu-sen. (old: 2 8 6) from Japan
Precise-571JP (Japanese Edition)
Puppy Food ぱぴ〜ふ〜ど http://puppylinux-food.zohosites.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
balloon


Joined: 02 Oct 2013
Posts: 46
Location: Miyagi, Japan

PostPosted: Fri 21 Feb 2014, 04:47    Post subject: Re: Akita......  

Because it was a thing written in by mistake, I deleted it.
_________________
BALLOON a.k.a. Fu-sen. ふうせん Fu-sen. (old: 2 8 6) from Japan
Precise-571JP (Japanese Edition)
Puppy Food ぱぴ〜ふ〜ど http://puppylinux-food.zohosites.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2668
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 01 Mar 2014, 23:14    Post subject:
Subject description: CD checksum error during boot. Not a bad burn!
 

Hi scottman, sorry if this has already been addressed but I couldn't find any reference in this thread - I'm convinced that the version of Isomaster in Akita is faulty (I'm testing with Akita 14 beta). It seems to carry a bug that has been in all of the 4.20 series pups. In short, isomaster creates an iso which seems good, and burns ok, but when used to boot generates the following message:
Code:
ISOLINUX 3.63 2008-04-10 isolinux: Image checksum error, sorry....
Boot failed: press any key to retry

I suspect this may only occur with certain isos, but I have not isolated it further yet. I can generate the failure consistently with the particular iso I am remastering and it seems to be the same fault that is referenced in these posts:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=41101
http://208.109.22.214/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=38649&sid=85d375c0b859c980e1943ef30d411117

As far as I can tell the fault is triggered by the byte length of certain files in the iso, but the real culprit is the version of isomaster not being able to cope with those different file lengths.

If I use pup 431 to do the isomaster step it works perfectly, but if I use Akita14b isomaster I consistently create an iso that burns perfectly to an unbootable coaster. I suspect that you have not seen this fault because you probably always use woofy, and that obviously uses a different method of assembling the iso which avoids the "byte boundary" issue. Various posts also suggest that using the cli to manually do a mkiso works perfectly, but that doesn't help anyone who tries to use isomaster.

In the hope that you (or anyone...) has time to verify what I am saying (and hopefully identify a suitable version of Isomaster to replace the current one) here is the exact procedure I am using to consistently repeat the failure:

1) Download TurbopupAlpha3a from here:
https://ia801009.us.archive.org/4/items/Puppy_Linux_Turbopup/turbopup42-alpha3a.iso
(Save a copy of it on an external drive for later testing with the isomaster in pup431)
Boot Akita and copy this iso into /root.

2) Mount the iso and copy the pup_420turbo.sfs from the iso into /root (then unmount the iso)

3) Unsquash the sfs as follows:
Code:
unsquashfs pup_420turbo.sfs
(a directory called squashfs-root is created and populated with the files from the expanded sfs)

Delete the original pup_420turbo.sfs from /root (to make room for the new one)

Reform the sfs (without making any changes) as follows:
Code:
mksquashfs squashfs-root pup_420turbo.sfs
(This creates a new sfs that in theory should be exactly the same as the original one because we made no changes. In fact it seems to be slightly different in size, but ignore that as it does not affect the final functionality [even though it is this difference that probably triggers the faulty isomaster to be revealed...]. Save a copy of this new sfs on an external drive so that we can use it for further testing later

Start isomaster, look for the alpha3a iso in /root and doubleclick it so that you can see the contents displayed in the lower pane.

Click the pup_420turbo.sfs in the lower pane, then click "remove" so that the original sfs is now gone from the bottom pane.

In the upper pane (ie: displaying /root) click on the newly created pup_420turbo.sfs then click "add" so that it gets added into the lower pane.

Choose "file, save as" and save the new iso project as something like TurbopupAlpha3a_unsquashed_resquashed_isomastered.iso

Burn the iso to CD and try to boot from it. See if you get the same error as I do.

If so, try doing the last step again, but using puppy431 (which must have a different version of isomaster) ie: Boot into puppy 431, then add the TurbopupAlpha3 iso into /root and also copy the newly created sfs (which you made an external backup of...) into /root, and run isomaster again using the same method. In my testing the 431 isomaster copes perfectly with the files that Akita isomaster could not handle, and the CD burns and boots perfectly.

Hope you are still with me after all that ...
It would be great if you were able to verify this bug and incorporate a fix in the next version of Akita. (I'm hoping it is as simple as borrowing the isomaster from pup431). I think this bug created all sorts of problems for people who tried to remaster their 420 series pups and probably turned more than a few people off that version. Fortunately it looks like woofy came to the rescue, but still, I want to improve my remastering the more manual way first so I can understand how it all fits together... Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2386
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 07 Mar 2014, 12:44    Post subject:  

greengeek, why not just copy the files you need into a folder named whatever you want your ISO to be called, then right click and choose 'Create file->ISO' ..?
_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2668
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 07 Mar 2014, 12:52    Post subject:  

sc0ttman wrote:
why not just copy the files you need into a folder named whatever you want your ISO to be called, then right click and choose 'Create file->ISO' ..?

That'd be cheating Smile

You're right - there are other ways to so this, but Isomaster just happened to be the method I learnt first and I like the "manual / visual" methodology of it. Do you think it might be possible to just replace the Akita Isomaster with the 431 version? (I've never compiled anything so there may be reasons why it's not that simple so I was waiting for your more experienced opinion)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2386
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 07 Mar 2014, 12:57    Post subject:  

greengeek wrote:
sc0ttman wrote:
why not just copy the files you need into a folder named whatever you want your ISO to be called, then right click and choose 'Create file->ISO' ..?

That'd be cheating Smile

You're right - there are other ways to so this, but Isomaster just happened to be the method I learnt first and I like the "manual / visual" methodology of it. Do you think it might be possible to just replace the Akita Isomaster with the 431 version?

I can give it a try ... or you can... wont hurt to test it ...
isomaster.tar.gz
Description  isomaster from 431
gz

 Download 
Filename  isomaster.tar.gz 
Filesize  58.59 KB 
Downloaded  127 Time(s) 

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2668
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 07 Mar 2014, 13:05    Post subject:  

Thanks. I shall report back in a day or so..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 07 Mar 2014, 23:13    Post subject:  

I wanted to test Akita Linux too and so far so good.
I need to upgrade the Firefox browser from 17 to 26 sometjhing
first.

first problem issue. Akita don't allow that you symlink to a dir
or txt from sda1 to the pinboard. First time I had that problem.

Was it on purpose from the Dev?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2386
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 08 Mar 2014, 05:43    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
I wanted to test Akita Linux too and so far so good.
I need to upgrade the Firefox browser from 17 to 26 sometjhing
first.

first problem issue. Akita don't allow that you symlink to a dir
or txt from sda1 to the pinboard. First time I had that problem.

Was it on purpose from the Dev?

Akita disables the ROX pinboard by default...

To enable the ROX desktop, click on the desktop, choose Akita Setup, then click the 'Desktop Icons' button, and enable them (click Yes or something)...

Also, you can just click the update button in firefox, it will update to version 24 ... You must use the ESR Firefox version in Wary and Akita...

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 08 Mar 2014, 09:26    Post subject:  

Ah okay that explains why it is way down in the menu list
too many things to consider. My brain goes black Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 69 of 70 [1044 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 67, 68, 69, 70 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1434s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0468s) ][ GZIP on ]