Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 08:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
JWM Desktop Updates to V755 (Release) and V910 (Test)
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 14 of 16 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 Next
Author Message
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1078

PostPosted: Thu 27 Feb 2014, 14:39    Post_subject:  

Argolance wrote:
Crying or Very sad

No need to despair. Wink
Window buttons now can be i.a. in PNG or SVG formats.
Grab the latest jwmconfig3-140121 - it includes some themes and a GUI (by 01micko) to switch between them.

Greetings!
Screenshot.png
 Description   
 Filesize   28.66 KB
 Viewed   775 Time(s)

Screenshot.png


_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 1839
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Thu 27 Feb 2014, 15:52    Post_subject:  

Bonsoir,
Thanks! Very Happy
Quote:
No need to despair. Wink
Window buttons now can be i.a. in PNG or SVG formats.
Grab the latest jwmconfig3-140121 - it includes some themes and a GUI (by 01micko) to switch between them.

I already made such a script for ToOpPy (see picture below), which seems (more or less) to work like the 01micko's one but using xbm pictures and working with older JWM release.
So, I converted my pictures from xbm to png, just to test if it would work. Don't know if I well understood but (?) if my jwmrc-personal file contains these lines:
Code:
   <ButtonClose>/root/.jwm/W_buttons/Current_ButtonClose.png</ButtonClose>
   <ButtonMax>/root/.jwm/W_buttons/Current_ButtonMax.png</ButtonMax>
   <ButtonMaxActive>/root/.jwm/W_buttons/Current_ButtonMaxActive.png</ButtonMaxActive>
   <ButtonMin>/root/.jwm/W_buttons/Current_ButtonMin.png</ButtonMin>

... it should work?
Using my script or the 01 micko's one, I get the same error messages. Shocked My JWM release is 845. Isn't it the latest?
Or is it newer than yours?
Exclamation As reported above:
Quote:
Configuration Changes
JWM no longer allows custom window buttons. These buttons are now custom drawn to an appropriate size using X graphics primitives.

???

Cordialement.
204741_326x325_easyshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   20.44 KB
 Viewed   702 Time(s)

204741_326x325_easyshot.jpg


_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1078

PostPosted: Thu 27 Feb 2014, 16:19    Post_subject:  

Quote:
My JWM release is 845. Isn't it the latest?

Oh, it seems that this feature has been introduced 3 snapshots later, in s848.
BTW, the latest is s896.

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
joewing

Joined: 24 Dec 2006
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu 27 Feb 2014, 16:38    Post_subject:  

@Argolance:

As SFR mentioned, JWM now (as of snapshot 848) uses the same icon rendering code for window buttons as it uses for everything else, so you can use PNG icons etc. Unfortunately, xbm icons won't work anymore. I'll open an issue to address that (I think it would be cool to support xbm icons everywhere).

As far as transparency is concerned, JWM only sets a property on the window for the tray/menu/etc to indicate the desired transparency, so that method really doesn't allow anything more advanced than setting the opacity for the whole window. I'm not sure of an easy way around that, unfortunately.

- Joe
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 1839
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Thu 27 Feb 2014, 17:18    Post_subject:  

Thank you for answering, guys! Very Happy
Joe wrote:
I'll open an issue to address that (I think it would be cool to support xbm icons everywhere).

I think you will do the right thing! The advantage of xbm buttons is that they are displayed using the color of the title of the window. The disadvantage is that they are a bit "rough"!
It would be "cool" to have the choice!

SFR wrote:
Oh, it seems that this feature has been introduced 3 snapshots later, in s848.
BTW, the latest is s896.

.. has been (fortunately) reintroduced! Wink

Question: How to compile the source to get jwm file inside /usr/bin/jwm instead of the default /usr/bin/local/jwm?

Thanks.

Cordialement.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1078

PostPosted: Thu 27 Feb 2014, 18:08    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Question: How to compile the source to get jwm file inside /usr/bin/jwm instead of the default /usr/bin/local/jwm?

I'm using:
Code:
./configure --prefix=/usr --sysconfdir=/etc

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 1839
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Thu 27 Feb 2014, 18:56    Post_subject:  

Quite perfect! Cool
Thanks.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2385
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 27 Feb 2014, 20:18    Post_subject: Re: Fullscreen problem  

SFR wrote:
Hi Joe & Scsijon

This is an old bug, but today I found some time and patience to determine in exactly which version it appeared for the first time.

The problem is that some apps (e.g. xrick, milkytracker, hurrican) are not able to enter fullscreen mode correctly.
Hard to describe, the attached screenshot says it all.

Ok, and the version that introduces this behavior is s575. s574 and earlier are ok.

I hope it will be possible to fix this.

Thanks &
Greetings!

As it happens, I recently downgraded to s574 because of this fullscreen problem - many games and emulators do not show up right in versions later than that, as your screenshot shows. I downgraded to 574 as it DOES support 2 screens, jwm -refresh, working fullscreen and pretty much everything else..

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 1839
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Fri 28 Feb 2014, 07:25    Post_subject:  

Bonjour,
Now I am testing/using the latest JWM snapshot (896) - I succeed in having customized window buttons Very Happy - I noticed strange behaviors...
    Some icons in the system tray (ex: firewallstate...) are not displayed properly (very small or present but invisible), same thing for application windows: the right click menus of the application work but the window of the application itself is invisible (but present). When clicking on the taskbar on the running application tabs, nothing occurs.

Cordialement.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1145
Location: England

PostPosted: Fri 28 Feb 2014, 13:39    Post_subject:  

Hi Argolance (et al),

Using Precise 5.6 and 5.7.1 with jwm I have a similar problem to yours in that when boot up has completed my loudspeaker tray icon either does not show properly or sometimes does not show at all (ie leaves a blank space).

Also, the icons to the left of the Time do not always appear in the same order.

A restart of jwm, or X fixes my display.

Timewise, this started happening well before v 898. I'm not sure, but I don't think it occurred before v 874.

My regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1145
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun 02 Mar 2014, 08:23    Post_subject:  

Hi all,

Re my post immediately above:

now using v 900 update with icon hitch fixed.

Thank you Joe.

My regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 1839
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Mon 03 Mar 2014, 08:16    Post_subject:  

Bonjour,
Jasper wrote:
now using v 900 update with icon hitch fixed.

All the same! Very Happy

On the other hand, default background for desktops doesn't work anymore:
Joe's web page wrote:
Background
The default background for desktops. The type attribute determines the type of background and the text contained within this tag is the value. Valid types are:

solid
A solid color. See Colors. This is the default.
gradient
A gradient color. See Colors.
image
A stretched image.
tile
A tiled image.

For example:
Code:
<Background type="tile">/usr/share/backgrounds/Megapolis-pattern.png</Background>

The same for other types...

Cordialement.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1117

PostPosted: Mon 03 Mar 2014, 20:45    Post_subject:  

Hi everyone. It seems I should've asked this here (note, by restore I mean resize):

Quote:
About JWM: when I maximize a rox-filer window, it gets quickly restored as soon as I click on a folder, same for gnome mplayer, when a new video starts the window is automatically restored (doesn't fill the desktop anymore). Is it a feature? I've seen this in Quirky Tahr as well.

_________________
OB Precise 14.07.26 Woof-CE|Puppy Linux en español
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5754
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 04 Mar 2014, 02:11    Post_subject:  

vicmz
Right-click in the Rox-filer window and go to the options. The first options set this behavior.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1117

PostPosted: Tue 04 Mar 2014, 19:10    Post_subject:  

zigbert wrote:
vicmz
Right-click in the Rox-filer window and go to the options. The first options set this behavior.


Sigmund


Thank you Sigmund. I didn't know about that.

_________________
OB Precise 14.07.26 Woof-CE|Puppy Linux en español
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 14 of 16 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0949s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]