Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Jul 2020, 12:08
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy Revitalized as 5.2.8.7 - Nov., 2017 - Final
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 70 [1039 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, ..., 68, 69, 70 Next
Author Message
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 2005
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Fri 14 Feb 2014, 17:17    Post subject: LibreOffice-4.1.5 Available for Download  

For those of you using LibreOffice and wanting the latest 4.1 bugfix, I have uploaded 4.1.5 to the Supplemental SFS files directory. The direct link to the file is:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/vm8wlis2bplfv77/LibreOffice-4.1.5_en-US_gz.sfs
md5sum: b145a60368720867eb206f517867da72 LibreOffice-4.1.5_en-US_gz.sfs

Of course, if you are using lupulibre this is not appropriate. LibreOffice -4.1.5 will be part of the next lupulibre ISO, the next time I upgrade the set of "lupus".

Note that first time users of LibreOffice may need to run "fixmenus" to install the LibreOffice menu entries. (The "load SFS" utility may take care of that for you.)
Richard

Update 2/16/2014: In working with LibreOffice 4.1.4 and 4.1.5 I get a long message regarding the file I use. That happens with both lupu and lupusuper2 (sulu2), but not in precise-5.6.1 (and I presume, 5.7.1). Google searches suggest the problem lies with some "lib..." files. I will look into that soon so that the next upload set is fixed, probably with replacements from precise. I post this to assure you that I am aware of the problem. I am not sure whether it actually impacts work on the document, but am using Precise for the document I am trying to finish.
R

Follow-up to update: I got nowhere trying to find a usable fix, but found that the message is not issued if the file name contains no space characters. Any fix for that would go into the source code of GTK-2, which is beyond what is reasonable to attempt for lupu. I assume the requirement for file names without spaces is an old one, that apparently was fixed between lucid and precise ubuntu releases. So, be warned about file names with spaces in them.
R

Last edited by rerwin on Wed 19 Feb 2014, 18:18; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 4491
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 14 Feb 2014, 23:43    Post subject:  

rerwin: Great job so far mate.

Still have to test On my evil Dell>>> for wireless.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 907
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Sat 15 Feb 2014, 12:15    Post subject: Help with connections  

Help, please.

I can't get both wired and wireless network connections to be working after booting.

They are eth0 and eth1 on this Dell Latitude D610.
tg3 and ipw2200, according to SNS.

I think I tried a boot without save file, and eth0 was working.
Then I set up eth1 for WPA.
Made save file; rebooted.
This time only the wireless was working.

Of course I could use SNS after booting, to activate the interface which wasn't working.

But how can I have wired and wireless available at startup?

Or is there a script I could set to run which would make sure both are working?


Thank you,

Sheldon Isaac

_________________
Dell E6410: BusterPup, BionicPup64, Xenial, etc
Intel DQ35JOE, Dell Vostro 430
Dell Inspiron, Acer Aspire One, EeePC 1018P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 2005
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Wed 19 Feb 2014, 19:33    Post subject:  

sheldonisaac wrote:
But how can I have wired and wireless available at startup?
I cannot advise you on SNS and Network Wizard, but I am interested in supporting that with frisbee-1.x. Unless you find that frisbee already solves the issue, we can take the problem over to the Frisbee thread and work it together.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
majorfoo

Joined: 07 Mar 2011
Posts: 449
Location: Wish I knew

PostPosted: Mon 24 Feb 2014, 17:56    Post subject: Missing library for someone using brother HL2140 printer  

I have been trying for past week or so to get my Brother HL2140 Laser printer to work using Lupu 3HD 5.2.8.6 and Lupu 528-006.

Today, I finally looked at error log in printer administration (mange printers) and found missing library = libssl.so.1.0.0
I was unable to locate this library, so I copied it from luci-001 series that Playdayz created.

This posted under Hardware / Printer section of forum

As information.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
as77

Joined: 25 Feb 2014
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Tue 25 Feb 2014, 07:11    Post subject: mobile broadband?  

Incredibly difficult to find a good Puppy for this Amilo L7320GW

I'm looking for a smoothly and silently (in RAM) running live-Linux.
Net connection using mobile broadband with Huawei modems (now E367)
To be used by a lady in a neighbouring city after XP soon dies

Slacko-5.5-4G: messy broadband settings show some signs of life
Lupu 528-005: messy broadband settings show some signs of life
Saluki 05, 10 and 23 boot to a blank screen
Slacko-5.6-PAE boots to a blank screen
Fluppy 13 boots to a blank screen
4.3.1 and 5.6 tried and deleted. As well as several other versions.
(Had to start using CD-RW's)

Q: why not have a boot prompt with tips to avoid blank screen?

Q: why not take Ubuntu's nice broadband connection code?

Last edited by as77 on Sun 02 Mar 2014, 01:43; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13942
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 25 Feb 2014, 13:43    Post subject:  

as77,

Start a topic about your problem in the beginners section of the forum.
Pick a specific version of Puppy you want to use.
Pick the latest one of that version.
Example:
Slacko 5.6 not Slacko 5.5
Blank screens, at startup, are usually cured by some simple boot option entries.
Quote:
Slacko-5.5-4G: messy broadband settings show some signs of life

Statements like this help no one. Shocked
You do what?
You see what?
If you could answer these questions, help would be much easier for everyone.
If You Need Help
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=90471

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
as77

Joined: 25 Feb 2014
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Tue 25 Feb 2014, 15:18    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Pick a specific version of Puppy you want to use.

No way! Must pick a version which does not boot in a black screen!
Giving at least a boot prompt to start xorgwizard

bigpup wrote:
Pick the latest one of that version.
Example: Slacko 5.6 not Slacko 5.5

Should the revitalized 5286 work OK? It doesn't ...

bigpup wrote:
Blank screens, at startup, are usually cured by some simple boot option entries.

So at boot time there should be a boot prompt with instructions?
Very often there is not

Last edited by as77 on Sun 02 Mar 2014, 01:48; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 2005
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Tue 25 Feb 2014, 19:29    Post subject:  

Thanks, bigpup, for replying to as77. I googled and found this about the graphics peculiarities of the Amilo L7320GW:
http://www.linlap.com/fujitsu_amilo_l7320gw

And it related to the original ubuntu lucid lynx, so seems relevant to lucid pup.

Here is another version of that solution from http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1341937:
Quote:
Re: Fujitsu L7320GW

Hi,
Previously in Jaunty I solved this by using the below in /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Section "Device"
Identifier "Configured Video Device"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Monitor "Configured Monitor"
Device "Configured Video Device"
DefaultDepth 16
Subsection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 16
Modes "1280x800" "1024x768" "800x600"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Hope it helps

Last edited by SpearZ; December 8th, 2009 at 06:18 PM.


The appropriate xorg driver for this is 'openchrome', which is already in the lucid pups.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Volhout

Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 547

PostPosted: Thu 27 Feb 2014, 04:41    Post subject: amilio 7320  

Hi AS77,

1/ When puppy boots there is a 5 second window in which you can stop the auto configuring startup (that in your case results in a startup with blank screen) and get a prompt where you can boot with different parameters. This also gives the possibility to manually configure your video. Once you hit the right configuration (and have a storage file created) you should be okay.

2/ You are right about the Ubuntu broadband connection. It is a good example of how simple life can be. SNS (Simple Network Setup) in puppy linux comes close, but Frisbee (another tool) is more versatile, connects better, but has so many features users get overwhelmed. Maybe your post will trigger developers for puppy to improve this particular feature, or copy Ubuntu's.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bruno

Joined: 08 Mar 2012
Posts: 139
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Thu 27 Feb 2014, 19:05    Post subject: Figaro's password manager  

The included version of Figaro's Password Manager is an older version: 0.76
The latest version is 0.79, it has some bugfixes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bruno

Joined: 08 Mar 2012
Posts: 139
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri 28 Feb 2014, 07:58    Post subject: Gnumeric  

The included Gnumeric is also an old version.
Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
as77

Joined: 25 Feb 2014
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Sat 01 Mar 2014, 03:35    Post subject: Re: amilio 7320  

Volhout wrote:
...When puppy boots there is a 5 second window in which you can stop the auto configuring startup (that in your case results in a startup with blank screen) and get a prompt where you can boot with different parameters.

Thanks for the good advice! Yes, sometimes I get a boot prompt, sometimes not even that.

Maybe there could be a .config file to edit before burning (on a CD-RW anyway)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 01 Mar 2014, 18:28    Post subject: Re: amilio 7320  

Volhout wrote:
Hi AS77,

1/ When puppy boots there is a 5 second window in which you can stop the auto configuring startup (that in your case results in a startup with blank screen) and get a prompt where you can boot with different parameters. This also gives the possibility to manually configure your video. Once you hit the right configuration (and have a storage file created) you should be okay.

2/ You are right about the Ubuntu broadband connection. It is a good example of how simple life can be. SNS (Simple Network Setup) in puppy linux comes close, but Frisbee (another tool) is more versatile, connects better, but has so many features users get overwhelmed. Maybe your post will trigger developers for puppy to improve this particular feature, or copy Ubuntu's.

Yes indeed I should not be lazy
I should to a schreensot to show why I get severly over whalemd.

I will try a simple one and you guys teach me to make better example.
So give me some hour and I edit this post with some picks

Will be editd later today/night

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
as77

Joined: 25 Feb 2014
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Sun 02 Mar 2014, 01:40    Post subject: Blank screen hardware and 3G not fully supported  

My set of problems with Amilo L7380GW and live-cd is complicated
- display Via S3 Unichrome Pro 64MB is not recognized
- or trying to use Openchrome fails, only generic VESA works
- very often I even get no boot prompt to start xorgwizard
- mobile broadband USB-modem is at first not recognized
- or maybe not at all

BTW: I'd love to see some discipline in naming Pyppy versions
- version say "5.99" gets forked to a very old sounding "1.00"
- better yet to have a timestamp like in Ubuntu, say "12.10"
- or date "20140302" as part of the name
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 70 [1039 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, ..., 68, 69, 70 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0749s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0184s) ][ GZIP on ]