Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 05:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Frisbee Network Manager - Beta 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 20 of 27 [396 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, ..., 25, 26, 27 Next
Author Message
Mike7

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 130

PostPosted: Wed 19 Feb 2014, 03:00    Post subject:  

Richard-

I re-booted and ran through the advanced boot options. They are all in the form:
Code:
/vmlinuz initrd=/initrd.gz pfix=xxx

where one of the choices for xxx is RAM. These boot codes can also be edited.

Should I use it? (I still don't know what it means.)

M.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike7

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 130

PostPosted: Wed 19 Feb 2014, 03:01    Post subject:  

Richard-

I re-booted and ran through the advanced boot options. They are all in the form:
Code:
/vmlinuz initrd=/initrd.gz pfix=xxx

where one of the choices for xxx is RAM. These boot codes can also be edited.

Should I use it? (I still don't know what it means.)

M.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1529
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Wed 19 Feb 2014, 18:06    Post subject:  

Mike7,
Yes. replace the xxx with ram. Instead of booting with your pupsave file (assuming there is one on your flash drive), you boot to a new pupsave (personal data) environment, just as you did initially the first time you booted your drive. Then when you reboot or power down, you can save to a new pupsave file.

That's how it works in general, from a CD or frugal installation. I do not know whether the flash drive installation handles input arguments the same way as with CDs, where you would enter "puppy pfix=ram" as soon as the initial splash screen appears. I expect that the "flash screen" should be self explanatory, since the CD startup screen is.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Sat 22 Feb 2014, 17:19    Post subject: /etc/init.d/frisbee  

I checked that this was present in frisbee-1.2-alpha-20130905.pet
Is this the latest version of frisbee?

I'm on some earlier version of frisbee ( actually I'm on alphaos )

I think there is a bug in /etc/init.d/frisbee at the end handling restart

Code:
if [[ $1 == "restart" ]] ; then
   if [[ ! -z $WIFI_IF ]] ; then
      reset-wpa
   fi
   reset-dhcp
fi


From my read $WIFI_IF will always be of zero length!

I would have it something like

Code:
if [[ $1 == "restart" ]] ; then
   WIFI_IF=`cat /etc/frisbee/interface 2>/dev/null`
        [  $WIFI_IF ] && export INTERFACE=$WIFI_IF
   if [[ ! -z $WIFI_IF ]] ; then
      reset-wpa
   fi
   reset-dhcp
fi


I could use a pair of extra eyes on this though? Anyone can confirm or deny?

Maybe this doesnt matter cause in /usr/local/bin/frisbee
they dont use "/etc/init.d/frisbee restart" so it should only matter on commandline.
They use directly

Code:

. /usr/local/frisbee/func
...
reset-wpa
reset-dhcpcd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 1836
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Sun 23 Feb 2014, 19:38    Post subject:  

Bonjour,
@rerwin
I told you in a PM that the network tray icon popup suggests "Enable wireless network" though user currentlly has no wifi card or connection on his pc/laptop. Isn't it confusing and unseemly for user to be encouraged doing something which has no reason to be done?... and not be able to connect or disconnect from the network using this tray icon?

Do you plan to change this?

Cordialement.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1529
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 24 Feb 2014, 19:24    Post subject:  

Argolance,
Oops! I completely forgot about that issue during my hiatus from frisbee (to work on lupu 5.2.8.6). Thanks for reminding me. I am now fixing it, to set the indicator for the wireless menu item only if a wireless interface is found.

Scooby,
Thanks for pointing out that fundamental error. I am fixing it but within the context of npierce's new code that waits for wpa_supplicant to be ready, before resetting dhcpcd.

Both of you, as well as npierce, please inspect my coding in the attached difference listing of /etc/init.d/frisbee. I think it is correct, but would like other eyes to verify that. Thank you.
Richard
diff-init.d_frisbee.txt.gz
Description  Difference listing of frisbee initialization script with fixes for Argolance and Scooby
gz

 Download 
Filename  diff-init.d_frisbee.txt.gz 
Filesize  964 Bytes 
Downloaded  139 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
r4dic4l

Joined: 05 Feb 2014
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue 25 Feb 2014, 01:17    Post subject:    

playdayz wrote:
I made a one-click Pet for Lucid 5.2 that contains frisbee, dhcpcd, xpupsay, and the wpa-supplicant--everything needed

Thanks jemimah.

Works awesome on my FDD Lucid 5.2
Thanks, playdaz.

@ jemimah:
You may have single-handedly brought me back to Linux; it's WLAN issues have plagued me. I may seem to be sucking up, but I always wanted to run Linux as main OS but couldn't stay connected to g00gle long enough to figure it out. lol

Thanks to all that have contributed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 1836
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Tue 25 Feb 2014, 14:13    Post subject:  

Bonsoir,
Quote:
please inspect my coding in the attached difference listing of /etc/init.d/frisbee. I think it is correct, but would like other eyes to verify that. Thank you.
As far as I know, there is not much chance I can "verify" the quality of your code lines... More: I don't know how to use the tarball above! Embarassed
I will eventually polish/finish the French translation and suggest some little things like the one above, as simple user... but I admit I cannot very likely do more!

Cordialement.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Tue 25 Feb 2014, 15:46    Post subject:  

rerwin wrote:

Both of you, as well as npierce, please inspect my coding in the attached difference listing of /etc/init.d/frisbee. I think it is correct, but would like other eyes to verify that. Thank you.
Richard


As far as I can see it looks good
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1529
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sat 08 Mar 2014, 16:16    Post subject: frisbee-1.2-20140303-beta uplaoded, replacing 20140209  

Argolance, Scooby, npierce, frisbee fans,
I have implemented the above fixes and have made the wireless tab a bit more useful when no wireless interfaces are installed. I added tests for the presence of any such interfaces wherever a test is made regarding the current interface, which might be left over after a dongle is unplugged. Although the last-used interface name is retained, it now gets cleared (eventually) if you uncheck the "Enable Wireless" box. Now, that box and the Diagnostic button remain enabled when the rest of the wireless tab is disabled. I also added peebee's recommendation to unblock a wireless interface before using it.

Please try the new version, which I plan to include in lupu 5.2.8.6 shortly (unless you find a bug):
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=757398#757398
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike7

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 130

PostPosted: Sat 08 Mar 2014, 20:28    Post subject:  

Hi, Richard.

Sorry to take so long in responding, but I have persnickety health issues that I have to deal with now and then.

Quote:
replace the xxx with ram. . . I do not know whether the flash drive installation handles input arguments the same way as with CDs. . . I expect that the "flash screen" should be self explanatory, since the CD startup screen is.

The boot flash screen I get has a list of "advanced" boot choices, one of which is "Copy OS files to RAM for boosted performance". This is the one that writes:
Code:
/vmlinuz initrd=/initrd.gz pfix=ram

I don't know if it also creates a new pupsave file, but I always click on this choice when booting so that everything runs in ram, and I have never lost any saved files by doing so. I don't think it's actually doing a virgen boot, or creating an empty pupsave file.

In any case, I frequently back up my pupsave files, and will do a special .bak backup before editing the three lines in /usr/sbin/Pwireless, as you suggest.

Thanks for your help with this. I'll let you know how it turns out.

Cheers.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 1836
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Mon 10 Mar 2014, 19:09    Post subject:  

Bonsoir,
I admit all this became somewhat confusing now (for me but perhaps for any other user who may be interesting in testing this latest beta release): I had recently to reinstall my Puppy (further to a new laptop) and would like to know exactly what has to be installed (or not!) for things working properly. Network tray xxx? dhcpcd xxx?, wpa_supplicant xxx? While using network tray 2.7.2, the tray icon stays "dead" (though the connection is duly active) and doesn't show network activity... Something is missing?

Suggestion: Why all these different tray icons? Only 5 would be enough and much more simple/clearer, whatever is the connection mode: dead, blank, in, out and both...

Cordialement.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1529
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Tue 11 Mar 2014, 00:02    Post subject:  

Argolance,
Which puppy are you starting with? With precise-5.7.1 or lucid pup 5.2.8.6 or any with frisbee-1.x, you need only the 1.2 beta pet.

Note that network_tray-2.7.2 is 01micko's creation, which I have not worked with other than to conclude that it re-implements the old Frisbee icons (as I recall). What is it about 2.7.2 that makes it better than 2.7? Just curious, in case I want to steal an idea from it.
Richard

Correction: network_tray-2.7.2 adds to 2.7, "icons on rightclick menu and the IP address shown in the tooltip". Those are good features, although I chose not to take any action regarding getting it into woof. By now, it may have been incorporated into the woof-CE world -- I have not been following that effort, although I hope to join it someday.
R

Last edited by rerwin on Wed 12 Mar 2014, 23:15; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 1836
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Wed 12 Mar 2014, 10:03    Post subject:  

Hello rerwin,
rerwin wrote:
Argolance,
Which puppy are you starting with? With precise-5.7.1 or lucid pup 5.2.8.6 or any with frisbee-1.x, you need only the 1.2 beta pet.

I am running ToOpPy 1.0 (based on Puppy "Precise" 5.4.3)...
Quote:
Note that network_tray-2.7.2 is 01micko's creation, which I have not worked with other than to conclude that it re-implements the old Frisbee icons (as I recall). What is it about 2.7.2 that makes it better than 2.7? Just curious, in case I want to steal an idea from it.
Richard

There are so many things "downloadable", and pages (in english!) to read. I don't know exactly if the 01micko's creation is better than the simple 2.7 one, I just downloaded and installed it because I thought it was the only "good" one (latest one!).

Question Please, where could I get the latest pot file?

Thank you a lot.

Cordialement.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1529
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Wed 12 Mar 2014, 19:11    Post subject:  

Argolance,
Note that frisbee-1.x was created for puppies 5.5 and later. So your 5.4.3-based pup may not be completely compatible. But Frisbee-1.x may still work with it -- but it will be an experiment.

I recommend starting by installing the packages in the "frisbee kits" available on pages 15 and 17 of this thread and then the two beta packages on page 19. To simplify the task, I have combines the kits and betas into an experimental "frisbee_kit-1.2", attached.

However, if you want to keep network_tray-2.7.2, skip installing the network_tray-2.7 package in the kit. You should install the pgprs package in the kit, for consistency with frisbee.

I have downloaded your ToOpPy 1.0, so can use it to assist you with any adaptation needed to make the kit work with ToOpPy.

Be sure to use a new pupsave file, considering this is only an experiment at this point. Good luck with it.

The network_tray-2.7 .pot file is in the network_tray-2.7 pet package, as:
/usr/share/doc/nls/network_tray/network_tray.pot

I am sure that, by now, someone has already made the language files for it in precise pup 5.6.1 or 5.7.1.
Richard
frisbee-1.2_puppy-5.5_kit-20140303.tar.gz
Description  Experimental consolidated frisbee kit ONLY for use in puppies that do not already contain frisbee-1.x.
gz

 Download 
Filename  frisbee-1.2_puppy-5.5_kit-20140303.tar.gz 
Filesize  121.88 KB 
Downloaded  123 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 20 of 27 [396 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, ..., 25, 26, 27 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1106s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0142s) ][ GZIP on ]