Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 30 Oct 2014, 15:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Engineering/Science/Simulation
How to install MPLABX IDE in Puppy?
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
mister_electronico


Joined: 20 Jan 2008
Posts: 663
Location: Asturias_ España

PostPosted: Sun 27 May 2012, 20:01    Post_subject:  How to install MPLABX IDE in Puppy?  

I had tryed install mplabx-ide-v1.run download for linux from http://www.microchip.com/pagehandler/en-us/family/mplabx/#downloads (Downloads tab)

but I I don't know how install binary files .run in puppy

Someone can help?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1081

PostPosted: Mon 28 May 2012, 16:56    Post_subject:  

Hey mister_electronico.

Definitely I'm not a hardware_guy, but out of curiosity I downloaded mplabx-ide-v1.10-linux-installer.run and it installs and seems to work (whatever it really does Wink) fine, at least in my Lupuplus-528.005.

.run files usually are kind of self-executable archives/installers.

First of all, make sure that the file is set to be executable - open terminal window in a folder where the file is and:
Code:
chmod +x mplabx-ide-v1.10-linux-installer.run

and then:
Code:
./mplabx-ide-v1.10-linux-installer.run

Windows-like installer should appear.

I've noticed that there's no menu entry.
After installation /usr/share/applications/mplab.desktop file must be edited:
line 8: Categories=Utility
and then fixmenus in a console, to get an entry in Puppy menu.

Or run it using mplab_ide in a console.

HTH
Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mister_electronico


Joined: 20 Jan 2008
Posts: 663
Location: Asturias_ España

PostPosted: Mon 28 May 2012, 18:36    Post_subject: yes I did it  

Hi SFR thanks for you reply.

Yes I did it :

chmod +x mplabx-ide-v1.10-linux-installer.run

but when I did

./mplabx-ide-v1.10-linux-installer.run

nothing happens, gjves no message.

Maybe the problem is a frugal instalation and I am working with slacko puppy 5.31.

Or maybe I need some program for work .run flies.

Ok I'll checkit with puppy 5.28

Thanks SFR
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1081

PostPosted: Mon 28 May 2012, 20:20    Post_subject:  

Quote:
nothing happens, gjves no message.

Indeed! Shocked
Tried with Slacko, Wary and Saluki, and no go.
Sorry, but I've no idea what Lucid has those other Pups don't have...

BTW, I've noticed, that JRE-1.6 must be present in the system, too.

Good luck with this & Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mister_electronico


Joined: 20 Jan 2008
Posts: 663
Location: Asturias_ España

PostPosted: Tue 29 May 2012, 17:25    Post_subject: I got to got to the end..  

I got install MPLABX at last, I'd download Lupuplus-528.005 and I'd installed (frugal) , and later Install MPLABX but had problem with the size of pubsave, and then resize to 1024 Mb.

Install again like you did and then load the program perfect :

I made Icon_desktop for MPLAB with executable path like you said:

/usr/share/applications/mplab.desktop

The icon I used is in:

/opt/microchip/mplabx/mplab_ide/etc/mchplog48.ico

I not have any problem in load the program know so thank you very much SFR.

But when I run the program I have a problem, I can't build the project because the program said me no can't find the command "make".

I check in Google and nothing find so I think is difficult get works a big program like MPLABX in linux, because the same thing happen in Debian...

Anyway thanks againg SFR ... Greeatings|
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1081

PostPosted: Wed 30 May 2012, 05:41    Post_subject:  

Hi, good to see there is some progress. Smile
Quote:
[...] the program said me no can't find the command "make".

If this is the same "make" I'm thinking of, the solution might be "developer tools" SFS:
lupu_devx_528-4.sfs
(download, then right-click -> sfs_load, to install it).
Worth a try...

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mister_electronico


Joined: 20 Jan 2008
Posts: 663
Location: Asturias_ España

PostPosted: Wed 30 May 2012, 17:04    Post_subject: No is the make of the C compiler  

Hi SFR, the problem the command of make in not the "make" belong to the C compiler, I think is a "make" of MPLABX command. I think so,
because the program can't find this command when have to build one project.

Anyway I'll try with lupu_devx_528-4.sfs.

I need take a rest because is hard install MPLABX in linux, and I had installed Kicad too and I have problems too.

The first problem is there aren't too much information about this programs in Internet.

Thanks SFR I'll tell you my progress when I'll get it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
Freddow

Joined: 16 Aug 2013
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon 16 Sep 2013, 19:28    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Installing MPLABX IDE in Puppy
 

This thread is fairly old, but I thought I'd document my experience in case anyone is searching...

I am using a frugal installation of Precise Puppy 5.6.1.
I found that MPLABX IDE versions 1.85 and 1.90 both worked quite well in Puppy, with a bug or two.

These are the steps I went through:
1. Install the puppy development package. Puppy doesn't come with the "make" command, but it is included in this handy package. The file is called devx_precise_5.6.1.sfs. If you are not familiar with sfs files, have a look on the forum for how to download and install the one for your version of Puppy.
2. Download the Linux version of MPLABX from the Microchip downloads page (currently http://www.microchip.com/pagehandler/en-us/family/mplabx/#downloads).
3. This gives you a file like this: MPLABX-v1.90-linux-installer.run. You need to make this executable (right-click -> permissions), and then run it. The installer worked perfectly for me. The installation does take a lot of space, so you need to make sure your save file is large enough (from memory it probably needs a Gb or so).
4. You will need a compiler to suit your PIC. Microchip has a couple of free ones, I used the one called XC8. Again, this is a .run file, and it installed seamlessly for me.

I have been using the PICkit 3, and it works well - just plug it in and MPLABX recognises it.

I'll document the bug(s?) in another post, to see if anyone might be able to help me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Freddow

Joined: 16 Aug 2013
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon 16 Sep 2013, 19:42    Post_subject: Problems using the editor in MPLABX
Sub_title: MPLABX V1.85 or 1.90, Precise Puppy 5.61
 

Ok, now for my problem.
The MPLABX IDE has a very nice editor to help you write your c code. There is a problem though, which I will try to explain:
The editor works fine if I use the keyboard and don't use the mouse. If I do use the mouse, it also works fine, but then won't let me use the keyboard. So for example, I can type in the editor, but then if I highlight something with the mouse, I can no longer type. I can copy/paste etc. with the mouse, but the visible cursor disappears and I can no longer type.
There is a workaround, if I go to another file (the files are listed in tabs, so I click on another tab), then I can keyboard again. So after using the mouse, I click on another tab, then back to the one I was editing.
The problem also shows up in the occasional dialogue box. For example when I created a new project I could not give it a name, because I couldn't type in the box.

The website indicates that the program has been written for/tested on Ubuntu. Can anyone think of a difference that may cause this symptom?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Freddow

Joined: 16 Aug 2013
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu 20 Feb 2014, 00:01    Post_subject:  

Just an update, I have now installed the latest version of MPLABX 2.0. The editor problem described above remains...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mister_electronico


Joined: 20 Jan 2008
Posts: 663
Location: Asturias_ España

PostPosted: Thu 20 Feb 2014, 14:29    Post_subject: This thread is fairly old  

Yes this thread is fairly old, I put in another post

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=91638


I do not have that problem, my keyboard and my mouse work together smoothly.

I use Slacko puppy 5.6.

Could it be that some file did not have execution permission?

Maybe some library is diferent, if you need some help abour this say me.

I use MplabX 2.0 with MpLab ICD3 working perfect.


See you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
Freddow

Joined: 16 Aug 2013
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat 22 Feb 2014, 06:17    Post_subject: Re: This thread is fairly old  

mister_electronico wrote:

Could it be that some file did not have execution permission?

Maybe some library is diferent, if you need some help abour this say me.

Yes, some help would be good!
Is there anything I can do to give more information? I installed in /opt/Mplab .... I could try in /mnt/home/... like you did perhaps?
Thanks,
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mister_electronico


Joined: 20 Jan 2008
Posts: 663
Location: Asturias_ España

PostPosted: Sat 22 Feb 2014, 13:20    Post_subject: Maybe is...  

I have no idea, but I do not think that is the directory where you install the program.

I think the problem may be in the form the Java of MplabX interacting with your operating system.

I remember when I put this post, I got install MplabX in puppy 5.28, but I remember that I had a problem similar to yours.

Now I have no problem with Slacko Puppy 5.6 PAE.

I think is difficult meet any solution.

See you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Engineering/Science/Simulation
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0761s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0040s) ][ GZIP on ]