Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Sep 2014, 22:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
X-slacko-2.1
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 8 of 14 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 Next
Author Message
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2868
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Thu 13 Feb 2014, 19:08    Post_subject:  

Hey, rg66, when you get the time, I've got a question. Why is it that the "my computer locks up when I install a non-PPM package" goes away in Slacko 1.0 (still haven't upgraded Embarassed ) after installing a PPM package? I'm genuinely curious about that... seems very odd.
_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 504
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Thu 13 Feb 2014, 22:47    Post_subject:  

starhawk wrote:
Hey, rg66, when you get the time, I've got a question. Why is it that the "my computer locks up when I install a non-PPM package" goes away in Slacko 1.0 (still haven't upgraded Embarassed ) after installing a PPM package? I'm genuinely curious about that... seems very odd.


I have no idea why it does that, it has been fixed since the file overwrite check has been removed.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2868
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Fri 14 Feb 2014, 19:36    Post_subject:  

starhawk wrote:
Bit of a nasty bug in X-Slacko 1.0 -- dunno if it's some weird interaction with my hardware (it's happened before) or not.

Any time I install a PET from the forum, or ANY package (happens with compatible Slackware TXZ's and with DEB's as well), a minute or two after I tell PetGet to install, the system 'soft freezes' -- mouse can move, but clicks don't register. If I do CTRL+ALT+BKSP it doesn't get to a # prompt, but freezes hard at the desktop instead -- and sometimes it doesn't even get that far!


NOT FIXED in X-Slacko 1.1 PAE. Running that on my Acer Asppire 5532 (despite my typical anti-PAE stance, it is useful in some narrow circumstances...) -- tried to install Chrome 32 from the forum and it did the same thing.

I've noticed that after installing a PET from PPM, which somehow fixes this bug, on shutdown I see something like "slackosave.3fs mounted top layer, session already saved" instead of the prior "Saving session to slackosave.3fs..." but I don't know if that has anything to do with it or not.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 504
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Sat 15 Feb 2014, 03:57    Post_subject:  

@ starhawk

The bug was fixed in 1.1, are you using a 1.0 save file? Try it in RAM and see what happens.

The shutdown message should depend on what pupsave mode you're in. Frugal to HD should give the "slackosave.3fs mounted top layer, session already saved" message. The other one is maybe for USB flash, not sure. Check pupsave config in Control panel > System.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2868
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sat 15 Feb 2014, 16:42    Post_subject:  

Was using a fresh install with ext3 savefile on another system -- I can try it running from RAM but I really don't expect anything different and I'd rather not ding up the FS on that drive any more than I have to Wink I know from experience that hard reboots are not Puppy-friendly, even on ext3...

Both installs (netbook and second system) are frugal to SSD -- pmedia=ataflash. Also, I was wrong; it's the netbook is the one giving me "session already saved" -- the other system still has to save on shutdown. Probably that's because I'm using a browser SFS on that system in addition to the savefile...

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 504
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Sun 16 Feb 2014, 05:32    Post_subject:  

starhawk wrote:
Was using a fresh install with ext3 savefile on another system -- I can try it running from RAM but I really don't expect anything different and I'd rather not ding up the FS on that drive any more than I have to Wink I know from experience that hard reboots are not Puppy-friendly, even on ext3...

Both installs (netbook and second system) are frugal to SSD -- pmedia=ataflash. Also, I was wrong; it's the netbook is the one giving me "session already saved" -- the other system still has to save on shutdown. Probably that's because I'm using a browser SFS on that system in addition to the savefile...


With pmedia=ataflash it will act like a USB flash drive and give options when to save in pupsave config. "slackosave.3fs mounted top layer, session already saved" is like a typical frugal install, saving in real time. "Saving session to slackosave.3fs..." is like a flash save, default is every 30 min I think. Sounds like one of your comps doesn't have pmedia=ataflash in menu.lst.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2868
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sun 16 Feb 2014, 12:09    Post_subject:  

I can fix that. But it won't fix the package installer Sad
_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2868
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sat 29 Mar 2014, 19:00    Post_subject:  

BUG REPORT
...of a bug already reported. This is further coverage...

So I've been re-setting-up my Acer laptop today, for various reasons. I installed X-Slacko 1.1 PAE on there. Before installing *anything else* I installed a PET using PPM for some boring game thing that I'll never play. This is the fix for the PetGet bug in X-Slacko 1.0 PAE per the ISO in this thread.

Every two or three "foreign" (not from PPM) packages I install, now, the bug reoccurs and I have to hard-reboot. I've done that FOUR TIMES.

rg66, this is most definitely NOT FIXED. I sincerely hope you will take some time to look at the code (it's well beyond me, or I'd do it myself) and figure out what the @*#$!! is going on here -- because it's a showstopper, at least for X-Slacko 1.1. I will be burning a CD of 1.0 PAE to see how it runs... if it has similar symptoms I may indeed go back to Win7. This is getting ridiculous.

System specs --
Acer Aspire 5532
Turion 64X2 CPU (I forget the speed)
4gb RAM
256gb SSD (64gb as OS partition, remainder as userdata partition)
Install of Puppy X-Slacko 1.1 PAE, frugal, to internal IDE/SATA flash media
Grub4DOS bootloader

EDIT: I gparted away 1.1 PAE and replaced it with 1.0 PAE and the fix/workaround works for me as it has in the past. rg66, whatever you did to this Pup between 1.0 and 1.1 didn't make the problem go away -- it made it WORSE.

EDIT2: something of a correction to the last edit -- the fix/workaround was not as effective as I thought, or there's something else going on. Just had the bug hit me again Sad this is getting to be a real pain in the you-know-what. rg66, I really hope you'll take a look at the code here and not just insist that you "fixed it" -- which you unfortunately but certainly did not!

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 504
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Sun 30 Mar 2014, 02:08    Post_subject:  

Download the installpkg.sh.gz below and extract it to /usr/local/petget and see if that fixes the pet install issue.
installpkg.sh.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  installpkg.sh.gz 
Filesize  9.38 KB 
Downloaded  80 Time(s) 

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2868
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sun 30 Mar 2014, 11:25    Post_subject:  

That shell script needs to be made executable after extracting -- figured that out the hard way Embarassed

I'm going to tentatively say that this fixes the issue in 1.0 -- I've installed 3 PETs and a PUP package and so far X-Slacko 1.0 is barking rather than barfing, if you know what I mean...

I'll boot X-Slacko 1.1 from LiveCD, install the script and see how things go. There is one other (minor to me) bug I'm noticing in 1.0 which is that drive icons don't show on the desktop after installing, unless you manually go in and refresh them (and even then the boot drive doesn't show!). I /know/ that's fixed in 1.1 because I didn't see it till I rolled back to 1.0... which is one of three reasons I haven't mentioned it before -- the others being that (as mentioned) it's a fairly minor bug and that I've been pestering you enough (IMO) with the much larger PetGet problem.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2868
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sun 30 Mar 2014, 11:47    Post_subject:  

Posting from X-Slacko 1.1, as LiveCD.

I installed the shell script immediately after booting, and did not install any PETs from PPM.

I've installed five PET packages and one PUP package so far and the problem has not recurred. I'm going to call this one FIXED.

I have become quite weary of fighting with OSes to get them to do what I want, and I was about ready to give up on Puppy because of this (and other similar things in the past) and just go back to Win7. I really didn't want to do that, but it was getting to the point where continuing to deal with this stuff, one thing after another, it just felt like it was too hard to keep going.

So, thank you, rg66, for truly fixing this thing. Thank you. This feels good to me...

EDIT: 12 PETs and a PUP, and counting! No problems yet...
This is good Very Happy

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Pete22


Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 239
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Sun 30 Mar 2014, 16:36    Post_subject:  X-Slacko
Sub_title: sound issues
 

I apologize for not reading all the previous posts.

I am using X-slacko pae and enjoy it very much.
However, the sound is on full blast. there is no way to lower it because
when I click on the icon it says


Gstreamer is unable to detect any sound devices. That seems strange since
it is working,

Is there a fix for this?

Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 504
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Mon 31 Mar 2014, 00:36    Post_subject: Re: X-Slacko
Sub_title: sound issues
 

Pete22 wrote:
I apologize for not reading all the previous posts.

I am using X-slacko pae and enjoy it very much.
However, the sound is on full blast. there is no way to lower it because
when I click on the icon it says


Gstreamer is unable to detect any sound devices. That seems strange since
it is working,

Is there a fix for this?

Pete


Is this a fresh install or a previous save file? Does it work if you boot into RAM? In the meantime, you can edit /etc/asound.state. Line 270 'Master Playback Volume', edit line 271 'value', 32 is 50%.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1381
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Thu 03 Apr 2014, 21:58    Post_subject:  

It seems the the link for xdg-open is broken, run this code in the terminal to fix it.
Code:
rm -f /usr/bin/xdg-open
ln -s /usr/bin/exo-open /usr/bin/xdg-open


xdg-open is needed for a number apps to function correctly, such as Pidgin and Google-Chrome need it to open files and folders.

Also Pidgin needs perl-uri for the links to work.

If anyone wants Google-Chrome I've build a sfs of the latest which includes the libnspr4 and libnss3 library files.

google-Chrome-xslacko-33.0.1750.152.sfs Size 56.6 MB (56,561,664 Bytes)

MD5 98266be7c6847bf4cd1eba037d048544

When loading sfs files I found that X needs to be restarted to update the menu, if /usr/sbin/fixmenus is edited and this code add to the bottom of the script it will then update the icon-cache and update the menu for xfce.
Code:
gtk-update-icon-cache -f -i /usr/share/icons/hicolor
touch --no-create /usr/share/applications/
perl-URI-1.60.noarch.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  perl-URI-1.60.noarch.pet 
Filesize  94.16 KB 
Downloaded  76 Time(s) 

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1381
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 04 Apr 2014, 23:18    Post_subject:  

xfce4 whiskermenu plugin

Edit: recompiled whisker menu to fix screen lock activation.

Compiled in XSlacko.

xfce4-whiskermenu-plugin-X-Slacko-i686.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  xfce4-whiskermenu-plugin-X-Slacko-i686.pet 
Filesize  183.86 KB 
Downloaded  34 Time(s) 

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 14 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0969s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0088s) ][ GZIP on ]