Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 15:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Engineering/Science/Simulation
OCTAVE cannot read data from lib
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Author Message
pepsis

Joined: 04 Feb 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue 04 Feb 2014, 08:57    Post subject:  OCTAVE cannot read data from lib
Subject description: Can't find definitive solution
 

Ok, i have to post new topic on this.
I run puppy lucid 528 from USB and when,

I loaded octave sfs: /mnt/home/octave-glpk-3.2.3-i486_5.29.5.sfs

and when i type octave in terminal i get this:

octave: error while loading shared libraries: /usr/local/lib/octave-3.2.3/liboctinterp.so: cannot read file data: Input/output error

I am new to puppy. But i tried finding solution to this, and there is not solution for my version of Puppy. There are a lot of solutions for Ubuntu or other distros, but not for pup.

Does any one knows how to solve this???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3809
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 04 Feb 2014, 09:38    Post subject:  

Very Happy Pepsis, Welcome to Pup mate.

Hmm, that IO error.. Can you open a terminal and tell us if there's output from this command:
Code:
du -h .Trash

Then take a look @ the results of this cmd ("L"dd) and note the not founds..
Code:
ldd /usr/bin/octave

Saying this is where she resides.

==

If you've got a link for the pkg(?), please..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pepsis

Joined: 04 Feb 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue 04 Feb 2014, 10:55    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
Very Happy Pepsis, Welcome to Pup mate.

Hmm, that IO error.. Can you open a terminal and tell us if there's output from this command:
Code:
du -h .Trash

Then take a look @ the results of this cmd ("L"dd) and note the not founds..
Code:
ldd /usr/bin/octave

Saying this is where she resides.

==

If you've got a link for the pkg(?), please..




Yes this is the download link, the one which you posted. I forgot to provide it.


After
Code:
du -h .Trash


i get
Code:
4.0K   .Trash



And after
Code:
ldd /usr/bin/octave


i get
Code:
ldd: /usr/bin/octave: No such file or directory


It seems like there is no OCTAVE in the first place? Or it si just not where it was suppose to be?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3809
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 04 Feb 2014, 10:57    Post subject:  

That "du" works >> good.

Ah, it's: ldd /usr/local/bin/octave

.. and mine works.

Maybe we go back to that I/O error.

What's your disk setup like?

Maybe you tell me where things are?

The output here too: fdisk -l

And where this sfs is..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pepsis

Joined: 04 Feb 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue 04 Feb 2014, 11:30    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
That "du" works >> good.

Ah, it's: ldd /usr/local/bin/octave

.. and mine works.

Maybe we go back to that I/O error.

What's your disk setup like?

Maybe you tell me where things are?

The output here too: fdisk -l

And where this sfs is..




sh-4.1# ldd /usr/local/bin/octave
/usr/local/bin/octave: error while loading shared libraries: /usr/local/lib/octave-3.2.3/liboctinterp.so: cannot read file data: Input/output error



fdisk :

Disk /dev/sda: 8054 MB, 8054112256 bytes
256 heads, 29 sectors/track, 2118 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 7424 * 512 = 3801088 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 2119 7865332 12 Compaq diagnostics



And sfs is in that mnt/home directory
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3809
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 04 Feb 2014, 11:46    Post subject:  

OK, it's a frugal install.

Ah, from usb..

It's file system and the fs type you saved as?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pepsis

Joined: 04 Feb 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue 04 Feb 2014, 12:07    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
OK, it's a frugal install.

Ah, from usb..

It's file system and the fs type you saved as?


I'm not sure what are you asking me.

Yes it is from USB, and it is frugal install. Although i am not sure what it means exactly. As i said, i'm new to all of this. I used to use ubuntu, back then whan i had HDD, but now i am forced to use puppy. and this way it is installed worked (and still is) fine for me, until i used it for comm, office, and browsing. But then i saw there is in fact very powerful software for puppy, and i decided to more explore this area. I expected difficulties, though.

It would help me if you told me why do ask all these q's since all solutions for other distros didn't include all this info.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3809
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 04 Feb 2014, 13:40    Post subject:  

Embarassed Pardon me, was maybe getting ahead of myself.

The questions came cause I know you have that file.. Pfind should confirm. What concerned me was the I/O error, suggesting something wrong with the drive or file system in question.

Tell us, when you saved to usb, was it to the whole drive or as a save file?

Do you remember if it was saved as ext2 or 3? The: mount cmd should confirm..

Is this a generic flash drive or something like a SanDisk?

Do you have 528 as a bootable cdrom, or how is it Pup was installed in the first place?

Again, use Pfind and you'll see the file in question resides on your system with the sfs loaded..

Ideally, and short of hw, you'd wanna run an fsck (file-system-check) on the unmounted drive.

The above, or if there's an alternate usb slot >> switch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pepsis

Joined: 04 Feb 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue 04 Feb 2014, 14:49    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
Embarassed Pardon me, was maybe getting ahead of myself.

The questions came cause I know you have that file.. Pfind should confirm. What concerned me was the I/O error, suggesting something wrong with the drive or file system in question.


Nevermind. SmileI just want to know why are you asking me all this, because i want know, and remember.... i just need to know WHY for everything Smile Something like Smith from matrix. Purpose, WHY. Those are my life Qs Smile

Quote:
Tell us, when you saved to usb, was it to the whole drive or as a save file?


I saved it as save.2fs file. I thought it was the only way to save it. And i installed it from windows, frome daemon tool ISO mounted, and saved complete.

Quote:
Do you remember if it was saved as ext2 or 3? The: mount cmd should confirm..


No it is not any of ext file systems. It is fat, since i installed it like save file

Quote:
Is this a generic flash drive or something like a SanDisk?


Silicon power USB stick, 8GB

Quote:
Do you have 528 as a bootable cdrom, or how is it Pup was installed in the first place?


I answered that. Through daemon ISO.


Quote:
Again, use Pfind and you'll see the file in question resides on your system with the sfs loaded..


Why am i gettin I/O error then? This is what is bugging me too. Evidently, the file is there.

Quote:
Ideally, and short of hw, you'd wanna run an fsck (file-system-check) on the unmounted drive.

I didn't get this one. run FSCK and look for what? Unmounted drive? What do you mean by this. How can i check drive that is unmounted? Did i get this wrong?

Quote:
The above, or if there's an alternate usb slot >> switch.


There are no other mounted drives at instalation time fo OCTAVA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3809
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 05 Feb 2014, 10:32    Post subject:  

Well, there's either a problem with the physical structure of the drive or file system corruption somewhere.

Maybe your dwnld was bad? Mine works.

You can confirm by rt-clking the file and choosing MD5sum check.
Code:
f5afe98a8a8d254b3a4e8209f374ce74

If they're the same, I'd first run a chkdsk on the drive, because I can't tell where the problem is.

If that doesn't straighten the issue, then an fsck.

To do this, you'd open a terminal on your bootdisk:
Code:
e2fsck -f -n -v /dev/sda1

The switches >> f=force check, n=read-only check, v=verbose.

If everything returns OK, run the same, swapping a -p for the -n.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Moose On The Loose


Joined: 24 Feb 2011
Posts: 515

PostPosted: Wed 05 Feb 2014, 10:57    Post subject: Re: OCTAVE cannot read data from lib
Subject description: Can't find definitive solution
 

pepsis wrote:
Ok, i have to post new topic on this.
I run puppy lucid 528 from USB and when,

I loaded octave sfs: /mnt/home/octave-glpk-3.2.3-i486_5.29.5.sfs

and when i type octave in terminal i get this:

octave: error while loading shared libraries: /usr/local/lib/octave-3.2.3/liboctinterp.so: cannot read file data: Input/output error


Let me suggest an "is it plugged in sort of thing"
On may system, if I type:

Code:

sh-4.1# ls -l /usr/local/lib/octave-3.2.3/liboctinterp.so
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 21 2013-10-27 07:58 /usr/local/lib/octave-3.2.3/liboctinterp.so -> liboctinterp.so.3.2.3


This means that the file is really a link to the one with the ".3.2.3" on the end.

Code:

sh-4.1# ls -l /usr/local/lib/octave-3.2.3/liboctinterp.so.3.2.3
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 15025153 2009-11-30 04:19 /usr/local/lib/octave-3.2.3/liboctinterp.so.3.2.3


This means that at least the file system thinks the target of the link is there.

There can be some ways this in not true on your system most involve there being something with the same name already on the system and stuff like that that seem unlikely but it could be true.

BTW: You can save typing if you know about using the middle button. Highlight text in here and then go over to the terminal and do the middle click.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Engineering/Science/Simulation
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0902s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0062s) ][ GZIP on ]