Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Nov 2017, 18:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Puppy partition is permanently mounted
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Author Message
nupogodi


Joined: 01 Feb 2014
Posts: 51
Location: Koropi Greece

PostPosted: Mon 03 Feb 2014, 02:19    Post subject:  Puppy partition is permanently mounted
Subject description: Should this make me worry?
 

Hi everybody.I have done a full instalation of puppy linux everything works fine and I an satisfied with puppy.There is something that concerns me.The partition where puppy is installed is permanently mounted.Should this make me worry?I know that it is possible to catch a virus but is there any other reason that I should worry about?Can I perfom a scandisk (fsck) via the puppy live cd?Thank you in advance for your attention.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11071

PostPosted: Mon 03 Feb 2014, 05:12    Post subject:  

hmm no don't worry about those things but perhaps the need for a fsck is valid.

When I used a full install I added to rc.sysinit just before it switched the partition to read/write...or you could do it manually with a live cd now and then. If you have something like ext3 it will clean itself up but a check now and then is a good idea plus not sure if puppy closes down that cleanly...I had to add code to do so but it was some time ago.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9526
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 04 Feb 2014, 00:20    Post subject:  

Normal operation.
The partition has to be mounted all the time.
Puppy is constantly running from it.
As you do things, it is reading or writing to the partition.

Quote:
Mounting takes place before a computer can use any kind of storage device (such as a hard drive, CD-ROM, or network share). The user or their operating system must make it accessible through the computer's file system. A user can only access files on mounted media.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nupogodi


Joined: 01 Feb 2014
Posts: 51
Location: Koropi Greece

PostPosted: Tue 04 Feb 2014, 02:15    Post subject:  

Ok thank you both so much for the replies.Can you provide me more details how can I do a scandisk when that becomes necesary?
Since the puppy partition is permanetaly mounted and I know that scandisk is prohibited because all the files can be destroyed.
Can I use the puppy live cd?
Thank you in advance for your attention.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 11173
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Tue 04 Feb 2014, 02:38    Post subject:  

nupogodi wrote:
Ok thank you both so much for the replies.Can you provide me more details how can I do a scandisk when that becomes necesary?
Since the puppy partition is permanetaly mounted and I know that scandisk is prohibited because all the files can be destroyed.
Can I use the puppy live cd?
Thank you in advance for your attention.


Hello, nupogodi.

Actually, you have to use the live CD to do the scan properly. If you have only one hard
disk, there is no other way.

So load the Puppy from your CD. Once in the desktop, hover your mouse over the
sda1 icon at the bottom left. You will see in the message the type of format of the disk.
Note it down.

You will be using one of the following commands: fsck.ext2 or fsck.ext3 or fsck.ext4,
depending on the format of the partition.

So open a terminal and type
Code:
umount /mnt/sda1 # to make sure the partition is unmounted.
fsck.ext<proper number> -p -f -v /dev/sda1


The -v setting is for verbose, so you can see the report. It will take a few seconds
for it to appear though.

I have also written a little utility that will do it for you if you prefer (still from a CD boot,
this is very important).
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=742647&sort=lastpost&search_id=1516267835#742647

Good luck and best regards. Smile

musher0

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11071

PostPosted: Tue 04 Feb 2014, 07:55    Post subject:  

There's always another way Very Happy

ok in /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit you will find something like

if [ ! -d /initrd ] ; then ##full install stuff
# file system checkpoint for full only ie while still read only
echo -n "File system check" >/dev/console
e2fsck -p /dev/sda1

busybox mount -o remount,rw,noatime /
echo 'PUPMODE=2' > /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE
fi

look for the line in red and add the indigo lines just above... all puppies vary but that order of operation is needed... the initrd check is usually around to apply some operations to full only.
Make /dev/sda1 your puppy partition...

by the way here's my...kill anything left around bit I added on a netbook with a full install... such actions seemed to be only around for frugal...this may not be needed but I was getting unclean shutdowns with ext3 which affected windows access.
It goes right at the end of /etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown

killall `fuser -v -m / 2>&1 | grep F | grep -v rc.shutdown | grep -v reboot | grep -v grep | grep -v poweroff | awk '{print $4}'`

busybox umount -ar > /dev/null 2>&1

again look for the red line add the purple.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nupogodi


Joined: 01 Feb 2014
Posts: 51
Location: Koropi Greece

PostPosted: Wed 05 Feb 2014, 02:04    Post subject:  

Thank you both so much for your time I am really grateful to you.I 'll do whatever you told me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 11173
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Wed 05 Feb 2014, 05:13    Post subject:  

@mikeb
you wrote:
> # file system checkpoint for full only ie while still read only

Maybe this is a bit beyond what nupogodi asked, but I'd like to know, to improve my script:
How can the file system be read only if the Puppy is booting from the same partition?
Part of it is active and the other part is read only? Thanks in advance for any hint.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11071

PostPosted: Wed 05 Feb 2014, 07:48    Post subject:  

Ok when you first boot a full install the system partition is read only (don't ask me why) and in sysinit it makes it read write.....
Its safe to fsck a read only partition so sneaking it in works...

And I like sneaky Smile

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 11173
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Wed 05 Feb 2014, 08:55    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:
Ok when you first boot a full install the system partition is read only (don't ask me why) and in sysinit it makes it read write.....
Its safe to fsck a read only partition so sneaking it in works...

And I like sneaky Smile

mike


Thanks.

Is it the same for a frugal install? I mean is there a moment in the boot process where you
can "sneak in" an fsck for the current partition? In frugal mode, Puppy does check its own
files at every boot, but not the partition its files are on.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11071

PostPosted: Wed 05 Feb 2014, 09:32    Post subject:  

No for frugal it needs to be done in the initrd as once you hit sysinit partitions are mounted for save and perhaps sfs access.

(unless you are a weirdo like me and save loads to ram...)

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 11173
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Wed 05 Feb 2014, 09:35    Post subject:  

Thanks for the explanation.
_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0963s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0125s) ][ GZIP on ]