Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 01 Aug 2014, 01:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Security
Updating Puppy Carolina
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
Oh Carolina

Joined: 25 Jan 2014
Posts: 11
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 03 Feb 2014, 15:09    Post subject:  Updating Puppy Carolina
Subject description: How do I update after having fully installed onto my hard drive?
 

Hi folks,
I have Puppy Carolina fully installed on my hard drive as the only OS.

Have been running great for a couple of weeks now.I'm used to running Mint on this PC which had updates to install every few days.Does Puppy Carolina update ?If so is it a complex process?

Any advice would be much appreciated

Have a good day

Oh Carolina

Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
alphadog


Joined: 07 Dec 2010
Posts: 95
Location: Deepest Wiltshire UK

PostPosted: Mon 03 Feb 2014, 15:42    Post subject:  

To my knowledge NO variations of Puppy Linux update in the same way that Mint does. I'm bound to be corrected about this but I've never known it .
There is a new version of Carolina out see here http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=81312.
Because many Puppies are home crafted variations the devs do not have the resources and/or the time to issue continual updates.
What normally happens is that you can use the delta file of the next release to update your current version , see herehttp://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=52232.
Consequently many Puppies may have slightly older packages than
Mint or Ubuntu or Debian etc. But if you want a system that is fast and light .......then welcome.
Of course if you want the latest software you could always d/load the source code from the corresponding web site and have a go and compiling it yourself .
Good luck and have fun.

_________________
Computers are like air conditioners. They work fine until you start opening Windows. ~Author Unknown
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1328
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Mon 03 Feb 2014, 21:06    Post subject: Re: Updating Puppy Carolina
Subject description: How do I update after having fully installed onto my hard drive?
 

Oh Carolina wrote:
Does Puppy Carolina update ?If so is it a complex process?


In a nutshell no, but from time to time we create updated ISO's and Delta file updates so you can create a new ISO from the older version, this saves on large downloads, Firefox and Thunderbird auto update, everything else will need to be done manually by either seeing if there is a newer versions in the Repo or compiling them yourself.

New applications like Google-chrome will not run in Carolina, but there are still a good variety of useful application to choose from.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Oh Carolina

Joined: 25 Jan 2014
Posts: 11
Location: England

PostPosted: Tue 04 Feb 2014, 16:39    Post subject: Updating Puppy Carolina
Subject description: My Thanks to all
 

Hi guys and thanks for your help.
I've downloaded Carolina 1.2 and also tried the Delta update version but cannot get either to work.
Carolina 1.1 is working fine so I'll stick with that.
Most sincere thanks to the compiler(s). My Acer T180 would be scrap without your great little OS.

Much obliged

Oh Carolina Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rokytnji


Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 1290
Location: Pecos/ Texas

PostPosted: Tue 04 Feb 2014, 16:56    Post subject:  

Just Wondering?

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69983&sid=7edde9932ecd1320e3e413379b28662b

That burning Carolina 1.2 and picking the universal installer won';t give the upgrade option button?

When I used to run Lighthouse 32bit. I could upgrade that way.
It has been so long ago I can't remember if it was a full or
frugal install though.

I remember having to use the puppy pfix=ram boot option though.

I could do the same when I ran WolfePup also by grumpy wolfe.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Security
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0511s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0053s) ][ GZIP on ]