Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 20:03
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
How to add a network printer to Precise Puppy?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
peppedp

Joined: 29 Jan 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed 29 Jan 2014, 14:53    Post subject:  How to add a network printer to Precise Puppy?  

Hi, I made a full install of Precise Puppy 5.7.1 on an old Acer Aspire. Now I am trying to add a network printer (Xerox), but when I click in menu on Cups manage printers or on CUPS printer wizard, I always get a Xdialog window asking me if I want to add a new printer. I click "yes" and I get only an Help Surfer windows. How can I install another printer manager?
Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3393
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Wed 29 Jan 2014, 17:08    Post subject:  

If you read that again, it says "Do you need help adding a Printer".
Do not click on it and you should have the Cups interface appear using your browser.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peppedp

Joined: 29 Jan 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jan 2014, 06:04    Post subject:  

Hi 8-bit and thank you for your answer. The problem is that my browser doesn't start and never started since I installed puppy. I had to install firefox as new browser, cause I couldn't browse internet… any solution? Can you tell me the address to insert in navigation bar in my firefox?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8715

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jan 2014, 08:15    Post subject:  

localhost:631 ...or localhost:631/admin

The 'install printer' wizard also unpacks the drivers so usually has to be run even if you manually open the browser. changiung browsers upsets this delicate wizard apparently....you could rummage around in /usr/local/bin if you want to fix it.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9264
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jan 2014, 09:25    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:
The 'install printer' wizard also unpacks the drivers

This was true in old Puppies with CUPS 1.1.23. But it doesn't happen any more. Gutenprint PPDs are now generated dynamically.

Many new Puppies have replaced the old cups_shell front-end with the one attached below, Precise being the exception. It only requires that /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser be linked to your actual browser program.
cups_shell_rcrsn-1.1.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  cups_shell_rcrsn-1.1.pet 
Filesize  532 Bytes 
Downloaded  104 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8715

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jan 2014, 09:53    Post subject:  

Quote:
But it doesn't happen any more. Gutenprint PPDs are now generated dynamically.

thats what I meant.. genppd is run by the wizard and then the ppd are deleted afterwards...... I don't remember any unpacking going on with 1.1.... but I added it myself at the time as puppy still had that other print system than never seemed to work.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9264
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jan 2014, 10:07    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:
thats what I meant.. genppd is run by the wizard and then the ppd are deleted afterwards.

Is this still true in Precise?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8715

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jan 2014, 10:13    Post subject:  

Quote:
Is this still true in Precise?

good question... don't know is the poor answer.

I did wonder that squashing the unpacked ppd would take up the same room as the genppd package so seemed a little pointless. A bit like gzipping the firmware for analogue modems.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0548s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0065s) ][ GZIP on ]