Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 27 Aug 2014, 17:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Akita Linux, Beta 16 ISO
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 68 of 70 [1044 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 66, 67, 68, 69, 70 Next
Author Message
partsman

Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 245
Location: OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jan 2014, 09:12    Post subject:  

@ Keef & tback
Thank you for the info I have not had a lot of time to mess with it but tring to make some Rolling Eyes
Than you for keeping the faith with Akita I will be glad to see this issue a thing of the past !
I really think sc0ttman's pkg manager will be very cool Wink
Nice find by the two of you and thanks again Wink

_________________
"PUPPY" POWERED BY PEOPLE
AKITA LINUX kernel 2.6.32.28
Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
partsman

Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 245
Location: OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jan 2014, 21:41    Post subject:  

Hello all
I belive i have the netwok issue figured out Wink
I will upload another iso soon on my custom kernel
@ tback and Keef
Thank you both as you guys pointed me in the right direction. Your feedback is very important Wink
I also will also inform scOttman. As I would like to make sure that the fix didnt break anything. lol !

_________________
"PUPPY" POWERED BY PEOPLE
AKITA LINUX kernel 2.6.32.28
Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
partsman

Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 245
Location: OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Tue 14 Jan 2014, 13:34    Post subject:  

Hello again all Smile
Well I am sorry to report that I had no success in fixing dhcp problem Crying or Very sad
I am back to square 1 Confused
However for wireless try this walkaround :
use network wizard like you normally would
after network is connected you can push the button auto dhcp button BUT
THIS IS WHERE I HAVE A PROBLEM !
It will not acquire a dhcp address ! MOST OF THE TIME ! "I DONT SEE THE THREE STAGES OF ARP BLAH BLAH " so to get a dhcp address go to pwireless classic and highlight your AP put in wep key and it will run dhcp and acquire an address Wink
NOW HERE IS WHAT I FIND STRANGE WITH B16
SOMETIMES ! I can boot up live cd and wireless works like always has in any other pup Smile BUT MOST OF THE TIME ! I HAVE TO USE THE WALKAROUND AS DESCRIBED ABOVE Crying or Very sad
I cant put my finger on what the hell is going on Confused Mad
Any Help or even a random thought would be appreciated Very Happy
Thanks again all Wink

_________________
"PUPPY" POWERED BY PEOPLE
AKITA LINUX kernel 2.6.32.28
Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2493
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue 14 Jan 2014, 14:15    Post subject:  

This kind of sounds like some of the weird problems I had with earlier puppies like ttuuxxxes 2.14x and some others - there seemed to be an incompatibility between the dhcpcd code in the puppy and my router (which was a Thomson which I have now changed)

The symptoms were annoyingly variable and whatever triggered the problem would cause the router to go into funny modes and I could only get stable dhcp lease performance immediately after turning the router off/on to get rid of lease table info or something.

All I can suggest is to keep resetting the router like this before doing each step of testing - just to see if you get more consistent results.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
partsman

Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 245
Location: OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Tue 14 Jan 2014, 19:19    Post subject:  

Hello again all
Boy I feel like an ass ! Embarassed
The network problem I have been Trying to figure out that i have described to you earlier does not seem to happen if you frugal install and soon as you get done with personal settings reboot and make your save file !
Boy do I feel like an idiot ! Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed
Thanks for your info all very sorry ! Embarassed
I was trying to start networking before making a save file Embarassed
I have done 6 frugal installs my wireless worked every time !
Again thanks ! And very sorry been chasing a ghost ! Embarassed Embarassed
I will however upload another iso soon with the pmount fix !
I dont know if I will include updated xorg or not Confused
Thanks again !

_________________
"PUPPY" POWERED BY PEOPLE
AKITA LINUX kernel 2.6.32.28
Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
partsman

Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 245
Location: OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Tue 14 Jan 2014, 19:35    Post subject:  

On the other hand is it possible to make akita install pets when not
connected to internet ?

_________________
"PUPPY" POWERED BY PEOPLE
AKITA LINUX kernel 2.6.32.28
Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4340

PostPosted: Thu 16 Jan 2014, 12:29    Post subject:  

partsman wrote:
... if you frugal install and soon as you get done with personal settings reboot and make your save file !
I always thought that was stupid. It would be simple enough to include empty compressed tarballs of various sized images to select on first boot (bz2 compression of the empty {2,3,4}fs images seems to work best) and decompress it to the same location as the sfs (decompression is actually really fast and the image compressed to a couple kb IIRC). On the plus side it would eliminate a lot of the lengthy shutdown process too. The hardest part would replacing all the dumb@$$ code for shutdown with just sync;reboot/shutdown
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
partsman

Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 245
Location: OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Thu 16 Jan 2014, 13:30    Post subject:  

Hi technosaurus Very Happy
Well the thing also with my situation is when I boot Akita in ram my Broadcom card is recognized as eth0 and after I save it is recognized as eth1 and that is where things got stuffed up ! I have known this just wasn't thinking ! Embarassed
I LOVE Akita very much ! My kernel switch works great but in order for me to enjoy games etc. I have to use the pet as described above !
Everything works awesome but after installing the xorg upgrade pet some things don't work like deadbeef wish apps etc.
I also have been hacking on Akita's ext4 support ! When I have the time Rolling Eyes
I actually have had very good luck in doing so ! but more work is needed ! I am prob. gonna start a thread soon ! When I do if you would take the time to have a look I would greatly appreciate it Wink
I will say though I plan to use a much newer kernel and compiling xorg but
this is prob outa my league Confused
Let me finish by saying as I have told sc0ttman too ! THANK YOU ! technosaurus ! for all you do for the puppy cause Wink

_________________
"PUPPY" POWERED BY PEOPLE
AKITA LINUX kernel 2.6.32.28
Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 26 Jan 2014, 07:34    Post subject:  

If anyone wants to fix the bug that requires an internet connection to install local pets (annoying, I know) ... then open up /usr/sbin/pkg in a text editor and change the last line of the check_net() function so it simply reads

echo 0

... this will fix the problem mentioned above... might cause others ... Wink

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
partsman

Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 245
Location: OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Sun 26 Jan 2014, 14:29    Post subject:  

Hello all Very Happy
Thanks sc0ttman Wink
Here is my Akita b16 v2 respin Wink
This one has the pmout fix and pet install when offline included !
Again I would like to thank sc0ttman for all of his work and for sharing !
Thanks sc0ttman ! Very Happy
Akita b16 v2 remix: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bytpn29XHbwXZHlOR3VhRGM5c2c/edit?usp=sharing
md5sum: e86417a7da2de3d0fb02f5bdc65c9370

_________________
"PUPPY" POWERED BY PEOPLE
AKITA LINUX kernel 2.6.32.28
Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 567
Location: Gatton, Queensland

PostPosted: Mon 27 Jan 2014, 05:07    Post subject:  

Thanks partsman! And sc0ttman too, of course -
I've been having troubles myself, remastering Akita 16 with the DosBoxGamesLauncher (DBGL) + all of Ronald Blakendaal's Games Archives (http://members.quicknet.nl/blankendaalr/dbgl/) "embedded" in the new iso. That, with all of the wacom drivers that sc0ttman has compiled plus all graphics software from his repository, for my son's new Medion Life graphics pad (P82019). This machine has no internet access (deliberately stand-alone), but I don't think I have had the pet install problems discussed elsewhere - though the install and dependency check procedure grew tiresome 'cos I see Akita is more or less geared for PPM-linked installs.

Oh, the test rig is a Dell 2400 with P.IV 2.8GHz cpu and only 512MB RAM - I'm wont to blame my old RW cd's, or the old burner in this desktop, for kernel panic attacks on reboot from new ISO, than to anything else at present. I'll do a frugal install of your "respin" version partsman, and see if I get any further,
Cheers Smile

_________________
Toowoomba Linux Community
http://groups.google.com/group/toowoombalinux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 27 Jan 2014, 10:57    Post subject:  

Puppyt wrote:
the install and dependency check procedure grew tiresome 'cos I see Akita is more or less geared for PPM-linked installs.

Hi Puppyt, long time no see..

I'll add an option in the GUI to disable dep check etc for local pets .. And I'll set it to not dep check by default, as I guess that is what people expect in a puppy... Although I also wanna make pkg search the current dir first, online 2nd, when installing local pets... should be nicer then...

Not sure about your remaster problems, did you try using Woofy or manual SFS edit? or remaster script?

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
partsman

Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 245
Location: OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Wed 29 Jan 2014, 23:42    Post subject:  

Hi Puppyt Very Happy
Hope things are working out with Akita for you Very Happy
Thanks for the link ! I have only recently become interested in dosbox its very cool Cool
Please do tell how Akita works out for you Wink

_________________
"PUPPY" POWERED BY PEOPLE
AKITA LINUX kernel 2.6.32.28
Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 567
Location: Gatton, Queensland

PostPosted: Sat 01 Feb 2014, 06:56    Post subject:  

So sorry - the message I posted a few days ago disappeared into the ether - I must seem terribly rude! To recount briefly, I blamed hardware issues for bad burns - recycled RW cd, unknown quality of the burner in the giveaway hardware, and low RAM (512mb). I only used the "remaster puppy" option, not the script (I have been going back and doing my homework in the interrim), and I regret that the Woofy option gave me some sort of problem that I reported in my missing post, but can't remember now. I've put in more ram (1.5Gb) and have started over again from scratch - it seems that my pupsave(s) were getting corrupted somehow in the remaster process - or previous to remaster so that everything well enough for me to miss any underlying problem.
I *thought* originally that the way I had arranged the DBGL sfs, with symlinks off-home for the game repositories, might have been part of the problem. Still researching remastering with SFS issues...
partsman, I used your "respin" version in a parallel frugal install. and after converting the jre, dosbox, dbgl and OO4kids sfs of sc0ttman's (they worked fine- thanks!), I thought to do a remaster but with the sfs' coverted to pets beforehand. It didn't work - I got pets with 0k sizes- have you been able to check that feature in your Akita version?
I had hoped today to get back to it - reckon I have to wipe the previous frugal installs entirely and start from scratch, armed now with the info from the Puppy wiki on Woofy, remaster issues etc. And I could just "suck it up" and use some burn-once cd's Smile
Thanks Again Smile

(and I have run diagnostics on the RAM and HDD - perfect bill of health there, so I reckon the only problem lies between the keyboard and the chair...)

_________________
Toowoomba Linux Community
http://groups.google.com/group/toowoombalinux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
partsman

Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 245
Location: OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Sat 01 Feb 2014, 16:49    Post subject:  

Hello Puppyt Very Happy
Yes converting sfs files to pets with Akita respin the sfs must be in its original sfs3 format Wink
Just download the SFS you want from the Akita repo and convert to pet Wink
Only convert SFS files that you want to use as SFS !
If you want to convert an SFS to a pet then do not convert the SFS to SFS4 Wink
Only convert to SFS4 if you are going to use it as an SFS Wink
I hope that makes sense Very Happy
I did try this on my Akita b16 respin and worked fine Very Happy
Please feel free to PM me if I could be of any more assistance Wink
I am new to dosbox ! But iam learning Wink very cool Cool
Thanks for the link Puppyt Wink

_________________
"PUPPY" POWERED BY PEOPLE
AKITA LINUX kernel 2.6.32.28
Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 68 of 70 [1044 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 66, 67, 68, 69, 70 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1075s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0216s) ][ GZIP on ]