Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 16 Sep 2014, 00:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Ethernet
can't access web pages anymore; PPPOE+fiber optic
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
trilobyte


Joined: 15 Aug 2010
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sun 19 Jan 2014, 11:08    Post subject:  can't access web pages anymore; PPPOE+fiber optic
Subject description: PPPOE setup OK but can't reach web pages
 

Puppy Precise 5.7.1
Broadcom 440x 10/100 ethernet card
ZTE-ZXA10-F660 fiber optic PON

I've been using Puppy for a few years and haven't had any real problems in the past with my ethernet/PPPOE connection. I have Puppy (frugal?) installed in a Windows partition a la Lin'n'Win. Although I can set up PPPOE with Roaring Penguin, I can no longer reach any web pages when I use Puppy.

I also have LinuxMint 14 installed on the same laptop in an ext4 partition and am on the internet all day long with the same ethernet card and PON. Every live CD/DVD I've ever tried with this laptop/ethernet card/PON lets me access web pages without any problems.

Maybe this stuff run under Puppy will help:

Code:
# lspci -nn | grep -i network
# 0b:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4311 802.11a/b/g [14e4:4312] (rev 01)

Code:
# ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:15:C5:19:87:B9 
          inet addr:192.168.1.11  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:298 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:200 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:30800 (30.0 KiB)  TX bytes:15893 (15.5 KiB)
          Interrupt:17

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

ppp0      Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol 
          inet addr:XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX  P-t-P:YYY.YYY.YYY.YYY  Mask:255.255.255.255
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST  MTU:1492  Metric:1
          RX packets:84 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
          RX bytes:4991 (4.8 KiB)  TX bytes:61 (61.0 B)


I didn't use the internet for a while with Puppy and this problem may have started when I switched from ADSL to FTTH. I can't ping to any URL but traceroute works just fine. Does anyone know what's wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2538
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jan 2014, 13:58    Post subject:  

I do recall reading a thread somewhere (which I can't put my finger on at the moment but I think it may have been a very old post from jpeps...) where he described a similar symptom and said that once he deleted his DNS information the problem disappeared.

When I had a similar symptom recently I tried unsuccessfully to find the DNS info that needed deleting (I guess it could be in multiple places...) and I had to resort to deleting my savefile instead. Could you try renaming/hiding your savefile and see if the problem goes away?

EDIT : There is some really interesting background info (old but sometimes still relevant) in this post and the thread it came from:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=415943#415943
(not the thread I was originally referring to but potentially helpful for understanding some pppoe issues...)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ardvark


Joined: 01 Jul 2013
Posts: 973
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jan 2014, 19:04    Post subject:  

Hi...

Out of curiosity, why would you receive this output...

Code:
# 0b:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4311 802.11a/b/g [14e4:4312] (rev 01)


for what is supposed to be an ethernet connection? The above is a wireless adapter. No mention of such is listed in your output of ifconfig.

Regards...

_________________
Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ loves and cares about you most of all!

PLEASE READ! You don't have to end up here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trilobyte


Joined: 15 Aug 2010
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jan 2014, 08:38    Post subject: wireless vs. ethernet  

@ardvark: You'll have to ask the folks who wrote lspci why they did that. What do you get when you run
Code:
# lspci -nn | grep -i network
Your wireless card or your ethernet card or both or something else?

Both my ethernet and wireless cards are made by Broadcom. What I should have posted is
Code:
# lspci -nn | grep Ethernet
03:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4401-B0 100Base-TX [14e4:170c] (rev 02)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ardvark


Joined: 01 Jul 2013
Posts: 973
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jan 2014, 19:15    Post subject: Re: wireless vs. ethernet  

trilobyte wrote:
@ardvark: You'll have to ask the folks who wrote lspci why they did that. What do you get when you run
Code:
# lspci -nn | grep -i network
Your wireless card or your ethernet card or both or something else?


Interestingly enough, I get nothing...

Code:
#  lspci -nn | grep -i network
#


I'm guessing that's because I'm connected to a wireless network using my USB wireless adapter, not through the ethernet.

But what do you get when you just run...

Code:
lspci -nn


I would hope that your ethernet chipset would show correctly there. If not, there's a problem. Pciutils doesn't normally behave that way. Question

Regards...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Ethernet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1020s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0086s) ][ GZIP on ]