Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Oct 2014, 06:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Puppeee 4.4 back again
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Author Message
Mike7

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 130

PostPosted: Fri 27 Dec 2013, 13:15    Post subject:  Puppeee 4.4 back again  

Hi, all.

Back in March, I succeeded in installing Puppeee 4.4 on a 4G pendrive for use with my Asus eeepc 1000HA. I could boot the pendrive and everything was working fine until I lost the op sys for some reason. I had medical issues at the time and couldn't continue.

However, I was later able to re-install Puppeee 4.4 on the same pendrive, and I have been using it happily ever since. Like I said in March, it's a great operating system, and I love the apps.

Don't get me wrong, though. It has a lot of bugs, which is natural for an unfinished project. For example, the suspend function (either by the key sequence or the shutdown window choices) doesn't usually work. Does anybody know why, or how to fix it?

Recently I've had a very vexing problem with Nicoedit. After a forced reboot (low RAM), Nicoedit now opens with a black workspace. No files can be loaded into it. The Nicoedit window is just totally blacked out, except for the drop-down menus and toolbars, which appear normally.

Can anyone here suggest a fix? I miss Nicoedit a lot. I was using it as my main text editor.

Aside from these problems, I love Puppeee 4.4. The included apps are so plentiful and work so well that I haven't needed to install any pets yet. Wireless is fast, and gets me connected when Windows and other Linux versions don't. Plus the pendrive installation routine devised by the Puppeee authors is the cleverest one around, and worked like a charm for me.

I know I should probably switch to Slacko or another recent Puppy, but I'm so content with Puppeee 4.4 that I don't feel like it.

Season's greetings, and thanks again to everyone here in the forum.

Cheers!

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 851
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Fri 27 Dec 2013, 14:22    Post subject:  

hey mike

I am hoping somebody will take on the puppeee baton, it has stood the test of time well enough but could really use a makeover.....

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike7

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 130

PostPosted: Sun 29 Dec 2013, 12:28    Post subject:  

Hi, Ally. Nice to hear from you.

It would indeed be nice if someone gave it a makeover. I’ve got a list of bugs that need working on.

In the meantime, if someone could help me out with my suspend and Nicoedit problems, that would be great.

Cheers!

Mike

P.S. I wonder how many of these Asus eeePCs are still in use? Must be quite a few, since mine is still running so well (knock on wood).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 851
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Sun 29 Dec 2013, 13:46    Post subject:  

there are 4 in my family, good little tools

I just migrated my daughters systems to pemasu's exprimo which works very well - suspend works!

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1484
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 29 Dec 2013, 15:13    Post subject:  

Hello Mike7

I can't help you with your suspend problem,
but this
Mike7 wrote:
...Recently I've had a very vexing problem with Nicoedit. After a forced reboot (low RAM), Nicoedit now opens with a black workspace. No files can be loaded into it. The Nicoedit window is just totally blacked out, except for the drop-down menus and toolbars, which appear normally.


sounds like it may be a corrupt config file: /root/.NicoEdit.rc
as i can create a similar situation by deliberately corrupting the said config file.

The only difference is i CAN load a file, it appears that it hasn't been loaded,
but if i select all (Ctrl+A) it then becomes visible.


Maybe (to satisfy my curiosity Wink ) you could try loading a file and selecting all,
just to see if it is in fact loading it.


To fix the problem, the simplest thing would be to delete the config file,
it will be re-created when you next run Nicoedit.

Hope this helps
CatDude
.
test.png
 Description   
 Filesize   31.18 KB
 Viewed   736 Time(s)

test.png


_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4253
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sun 29 Dec 2013, 20:51    Post subject:  

Hello, guys.

About the black BG in NicoEdit, a couple of suggestions:

1) close NicoEdit if it's open, remove the /root/.nicodeitrc file, and re-start NicoEdit.
Chances are that NicoEdit can recreate its own "rc" file.

2) If that doesn't work, the following by technosaurus a while back (but where in the haystack that is this forum !?) Wink

Code:
style "default"
{
     GtkTextView::cursor_color ="#32022B"
     base[NORMAL] = "ivory2"
     base[ACTIVE]   = "#4d4b43"
     base[SELECTED] = "#a09a84"
     text[NORMAL]   = "#37161C"
     text[ACTIVE]   ="#e5e2d5"
     text[SELECTED] = "#264F26"
}
class "GtkTextView" style "default"
# Fin de l'import du code de technosaurus


You add the above code at the top of the file : /root/.gtkrc.mine
(The color codes are not technosaurus's original colors, I toyed a lot with it.)
This little configuration code should give you some control over the editor's colors.

If you don't have a configuration file called .gtkrc.mine in root, create one by simply typing
from console:
Code:
> ~/.gtkrc.mine


3) Is it possible to change the color of the font (characters) in NicoEdit to white on black?

4) If nothing else works, be happy with geany? Rolling Eyes

But I do hope that something will work! BFN.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike7

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 130

PostPosted: Wed 01 Jan 2014, 14:43    Post subject:  

Hi, Ally.

Quote:
I just migrated my daughters systems to pemasu's exprimo which works very well - suspend works!


I've been reading the exprimo threads. Interesting. I'm sure I'll end up upgrading to exprimo or one of the other recent versions of Puppy. For now, though, I've gotten used to Puppeee4.4 and want to keep it tuned up.

I have a lot to learn about Linux, and a working system that I'm already familiar with is probably the best way to do it.

Happy New Year!

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike7

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 130

PostPosted: Wed 01 Jan 2014, 15:00    Post subject:  

Hi, CatDude.

Quote:
sounds like it may be a corrupt config file: /root/.NicoEdit.rc
as i can create a similar situation by deliberately corrupting the said config file.

The only difference is i CAN load a file, it appears that it hasn't been loaded,
but if i select all (Ctrl+A) it then becomes visible.


Maybe (to satisfy my curiosity Wink ) you could try loading a file and selecting all,
just to see if it is in fact loading it.


You're right. It does.


Quote:
To fix the problem, the simplest thing would be to delete the config file, it will be re-created when you next run Nicoedit.


It worked! Thank you very much.

Question: Do all the apps have .rc files that are re-created when you run them?

Cheers and Happy New Year.

Mike

[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike7

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 130

PostPosted: Wed 01 Jan 2014, 15:18    Post subject:  

Hi, musher0.

Deleting the nicoedit.rc file solved the problem.

I'm interested in your code, though, for future experimentation.

Quote:
Code:
style "default"
{
     GtkTextView::cursor_color ="#32022B"
     base[NORMAL] = "ivory2"
     base[ACTIVE]   = "#4d4b43"
     base[SELECTED] = "#a09a84"
     text[NORMAL]   = "#37161C"
     text[ACTIVE]   ="#e5e2d5"
     text[SELECTED] = "#264F26"
}
class "GtkTextView" style "default"
# Fin de l'import du code de technosaurus


Coupla questions about it:
- Does it set the default colors for all text apps?
- Can theme colors still be changed with the usual tools?
- Can it be just as easily removed from gtkrc.mine?

Thanks, and Happy New Year!

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BJF

Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 186
Location: Lower Hutt, New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 10 Jan 2014, 14:38    Post subject:  

Morning All,

My 2c worth slightly off-topic: My Eeepc is 4 years old now and hasn't missed a beat. Loved Puppeee and currently running Saluki. A very happy Eeep user.

Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4253
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jan 2014, 17:46    Post subject:  

Mike7 wrote:
Hi, musher0.

Deleting the nicoedit.rc file solved the problem.

I'm interested in your code, though, for future experimentation.

Quote:
Code:
style "default"
{
     GtkTextView::cursor_color ="#32022B"
     base[NORMAL] = "ivory2"
     base[ACTIVE]   = "#4d4b43"
     base[SELECTED] = "#a09a84"
     text[NORMAL]   = "#37161C"
     text[ACTIVE]   ="#e5e2d5"
     text[SELECTED] = "#264F26"
}
class "GtkTextView" style "default"
# Fin de l'import du code de technosaurus


Coupla questions about it:
- Does it set the default colors for all text apps?
- Can theme colors still be changed with the usual tools?
- Can it be just as easily removed from gtkrc.mine?

Thanks, and Happy New Year!

Mike


Hello, Mike.

Thanks for the interest. Answers to your questions:
Q1: No
Q2: Yes
Q3: Yes

It would be best to track down technosaurus' message in the forum, or PM and ask
him, since he discovered it. I know it's not in
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=155256164&t=46629
(a nicoedit thread), I just checked.

BFN.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike7

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 130

PostPosted: Sun 02 Feb 2014, 01:38    Post subject:  

Hi, musher0.

Thanks for your reply and the answers to my questions. Sorry for the delay, but I've been out of things since the holidays <grin>.

Cheers!

Mike7
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike7

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 130

PostPosted: Sun 02 Feb 2014, 01:43    Post subject:  

Hi, BJF.

Quote:
Loved Puppeee and currently running Saluki.


Is Saluki superior to Puppeee 4.4 (updated apps, bug fixes, etc.)? Would you recommend switching to Saluki?

Thanks.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0874s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0038s) ][ GZIP on ]